San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

The San Francisco Bay

Few waterways carry the prestige and iconographic status of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. A great natural harbor, from the first years of its European discovery the Golden Gate became known as a pivotal access point to the American West. Trade ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 470 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour to Alcatraz and the subsequent tour of the old facility was exciting. The best part of this combination tour was the sunset cruise. We sailed under and around the golden gate bridge at sunset.
We were lucky to enjoy the spectacular colors of the bay's sunset and a gorgeous full moon! The staff was friendly and professional. Marcus was the online entertainer who sang and played the guitar. He was outstanding. Our entire family ranked this cruise as the best part of our entire vacation!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved it! The Alcatraz tour was very educational and the sunset bay cruise was so relaxing. We enjoyed sipping on our alcoholic beverages and listening to the live guitar music as we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset. It was the perfect way to end our day!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Donald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Chabli, was very nice and informative - and humorous. The Muir Woods were great! So beautiful and serene! Sausalito is a lovely community! The Bay Cruise was very nice as well. The only complaint we may have is that the bus was noisy - I think the a.c. may have been going out on it - - and that was distracting. But the tour itself was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz is a must see for all SF visitors. Be sure to book months early to get a tour. The Sunset Cruise is a great evening ending activity for a view of the bay area as it lights up. Very relaxing! The appetizer buffet is delicious and a great presentation by the crew. Also you can meet lots of new people to visit with and find out about them.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Glen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The sail boat was a nice way to see the bay. It was chilly on the water so the use of their jackets was wonderful.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

MICHAEL P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent time cruising the bay. Should note that out of towners might not realize how cold the bay can get when the sun goes down. All around excellent venue to see the bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

SF Bay tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Capt. Charles was awesome!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Claudia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful evening and relaxing cruise. A wonderful way to experience San Francisco Bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lovely way to see the bay and a close up view of the bridge, unfortunately it was cloudy and windy outside on the day we went but I imagine the sunset would have been spectacular, however the food and ambience on board were great, thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Hudsonfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour for the value! Tour guide Chablis was knowledgable and funny! The Bay Cruise option was just perfect, you are allowed to use that any day, so we went the next day after Muir woods, we went at sunset and it was so nice. Definitely recommend this tour. One tip: Do not be late to your bus, when they give a time to be back at the bus: be back at the bus! We did not get left behind, but some people did not make it back. All in all, great tour and the buses are very nice.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

deborah l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

That was so awesome I will recommend it to all my friends going to San Fran next trip back to the bay I will do it again Deborah leighty

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Don E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was well worth the money! We had such a great day with both the Alcatraz Tour and the Twilight Bay Cruise!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We wanted to experience San Francisco from all angles and what better way to do it than from a fantastic boat. We met Captain Charles at pier 39 before heading to our boat. We were provided with clothing before boarding. We headed out of the bay to the lighthouse with gorgeous views of the city in a peaceful location. Captain Charles has a great knowledge of the city explaining all throughout the tour. We travelled back along the bay to see the sea lions before heading to AT and T park where the Giants were playing before viewing the war ships then heading back to bay. A must to view the city with a fantastic Captain.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Mike United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting. We were able to see whales and parts of the bay were not able to drive to or see. Well worth the money. The food and trip was great

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Dan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed the sailboat ride on San Francisco Bay. It was neat sailing underneath the Golden Gate Bridge. We went in March and the weather was perfect. The crew were friendly and skilled sailors. Also, a crew member offered to take pictures of everyone which was great to capture the scenic landscape around us.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Tlmtraveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great cruise! Weather was a bit touchy at the dock but once we started out, it was gorgeous! Great crew, nice views of the bay, bridge, etc and was more personable than a larger cruise boat. My family and I had a great time and would highly recommend. There was no scripted sight narration but if you want a scenic boat ride that's a bit different than the usual stuff, this one's great.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The bus driver made this tour memorable. He gave us lots of information, and had a great sense of humor. The woods were unbelievable ..... My only disappointment was the bay cruise. Neither of us could hear the tape, and we were sitting directly in front of the speaker, very disappointing.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best way to see the bay

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Bundle up because it is cold in February! I will defiantly go again in the spring or summer. The views of the Bay Bridge and the SF skyline were phenomenal. It was definitely a highlight of my trip and it will be on my and #34;to do and #34; list on many an upcoming visit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Sheri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great way to get an overview of a lovely city - and not have to drive its crazy streets! I felt very safe with the drivers and the guides were informative - I went on several side trips they recommended. The cruise under the bridge and around Alcatraz included lots of history, had a snack bar, and covered what I wanted to know in the Bay. Good value, too!

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: San Francisco Bay Cruise Including Hop-On Hop Off Tour

Connor T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome Experience. Would love to do it again! Anyone who lives or visits the bay area needs to do this cruise. It was a great experience and was breathtaking.

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was fantastic loved visiting the Jail, a lot of history and it was also great sailing in San Francisco bay.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our hop on hop off tour was just beautiful. Our tour guide was funny and informative. We stopped at a few different places until we arrived at viewing area for golden gate bridge. The guide let us out for about ten minutes to take pictures before we continued our way into Sausalito. It was a great experience and would do it again in a heartbeat. When we returned we headed to our bay cruise. When we got on board I though it was going to be packed and uncomfortable but it was the exact opposite. There was plenty of room to walk around and take pictures. The information that was playing over the speaker was very informative, explaining just about everything about the bay you can think of. When the boat got to the bridge it was just breath taking. There were views of the bridge you could only see from taking this cruise. Then we made our way around Alcatraz. It was definitely the one thing I really wanted to see while I was in San Francisco. The views you got to see of Alcatraz from the boat were just incredible. As we made our way back in to the pier the last thing we got to see were all the sea lions just laying around. This cruise was breath taking and unforgettable.

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: Hop-On Hop Off Tour Package Including San Francisco Bay Cruise

Maegan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a very limited amount of time in the city and wanted to make sure we were able to cover as much of San Francisco as we could. The hop on hop off and the bay cruise combo is the best way to do that. Our guide did an amazing job, he was hilarious, informative, and even gave us 10 minutes to get out and take pictures once we crossed the bridge towards Sausalito. The Bay cruise portion of this tour was absolutely spectacular. From the minute you leave the pier to head towards the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, etc. you are getting all kind of information about each area you see. I was excited to be able to do this portion of the combo package, because of our limited time in the city we did not have the time to go to Alcatraz. Due to this tour I was at least able to see it from the exterior much close than I could from the pier. The buses and the boat run several times throughout the day which makes this combo very convenient and easy to use.

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: Hop-On Hop Off Tour Package Including San Francisco Bay Cruise

Philippa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Went with my jaded and moody teenagers and we had a fabulous time. Can't beat seeing the Golden Gate Bridge with the right amount of fog, then close enough to Alcatraz and under the awesome Bay Bridge. We loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message