• USD ($)
  • English

San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

The San Francisco Bay

Few waterways carry the prestige and iconographic status of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. A great natural harbor, from the first years of its European discovery the Golden Gate became known as a pivotal access point to the American West. Trade ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 258 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We booked this tour for the next day after our arrival and it being an afternoon/evening tour this was good so that we knew where we were going. The Alcatraz visit was fascinating and gave plenty of time to take the audio tour and look around afterwards at your leisure. The second part of the tour meant getting to a different wharf to catch the bay cruise but there was plenty of time to get there after the boat from Alcatraz had docked (your return time is open but departure time specific so be careful you don't overstay!). The cruise out under the golden gate and back around Alcatraz down to AT and T park (home of the San Francisco Giants Baseball team for non-Americans or lovers of the game) was great and the food of decent quality and plentiful. The musician on board was entertaining depending on your musical preferences but not to everyone's taste. We returned to the pier with the boat travelling directly into the sun setting behind the Golden Gate Bridge and it luckily being a crystal clear day the images were magnificent. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was a great way to spend the day. Our tour guide was Aaron, and he was wonderful. He knew so much about the area, he made me want to buy a book on San Fran and the Muir Woods!! We stopped along the way for some unofficial photo ops, and Aaron was filled with tips on where to go and what to do. The stop in Sausalito was a little short, but honestly I was okay with that. It's really just filled with shops and restaurants, so once I ate I was done. The bay cruise was fantastic! Lots of great photo ops, and a good way to really see the city from the middle of the bay. Would do it again.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Alcatraz was the highlight if my trip, made even more special meeting the last survivor ing prisoner who served time there. Could not fault the evening cruise under Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Bridge. Had a singer to entertain on top deck and a very lovely spread laid out, with lots left. WONDERFUL!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome cruise. Got to see underneath the Bay Bridge and Golden Gate Bridge. Great views! Highly recommend it. The crew was polite and the food provided was above our expectations.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent night out on the bay. Our server was very nice and helpful and the rest of the crew were good to. Food was excellent and it was a fun night with spectacular views.

Doing what: San Francisco Dinner Dance Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We left the doc at 4 PM a warm sunny day, as we approached the Golden Gate, the fog had rolled in. Visibility was low, but we got glimpses of the bridge, Alcatraz was also fog shrouded, but very Visible. As we headed back into the bay the sun reappeared and the city unfolded in front of us. It certainly did teach us the ways of the bay. The crew answered all of our questions. It was a good tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We enjoyed this tour. It was a nice day, but ended up in some fog in the bay. Made it very interesting. The Red and White Fleet that handled this tour were very good, informative and helpful.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We totally enjoyed the duck tour. My daughter-in-law even got to drive while in the bay! Our driver was full of interesting information about the sites we saw. The tour was everything we expected.

Doing what: San Francisco Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Considering it was raining and there were only about 20-30 of us on the cruise, it was informative and fun. Great food and bar choices and really friendly staff. Nice and warm and cozy inside. In spite of the weather, we had some great views of the Bay Bridge and the light show and wonderful narrative from the docent/musician. It was really great, even going on deck in the rain.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was knowledgeable and humorous... The tour itself was great. Though the Sausalito portion was not our cup of tea. The bay cruise was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything we expected it to be and more! Everyone involved with the Duck Tour was courteous, helpful, and accommodating. All steps ran smoothly from booking online to the tour itself. We were fortunate to have Roger be our guide who was hilarious, informative, and witty. We now know so much more about San Francisco - and we've lived in the Bay Area for 45 years!
All instructions were easy to follow, landmarks as to where to board the vehicle very clear and easy to find. We happened to hit the "most beautiful day of the year in San Francisco" which made it all the more enjoyable!

Doing what: San Francisco Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Nice relaxing time on the waters of san francisco bay. City and bridge lights as a beautiful back drop made for a romantic evening.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took the Duck tour on Fri. Oct 26th and it was fantastic! Our tour guide was informative and entertaining. Our 5 year old grandson will always remember driving the Duck in Covey Bay. He was the only young child on the tour and got to do most of the driving in the bay. Since we didn't rent a car in San Francisco it enabled us to see the streets of the city. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lovely weather made all the difference to our sunset cruise. Great value for money, nice buffet and very relaxed trip. Lovely to see the lights coming on and the bay at night. Could not hear the commentary as it didn't appear to work on the lower deck but didn't really mind.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The captain and crew were great. They were friendly, engaging and knowledgeable of the area and sights.
The catamaran cruise was delight full.
And "YES" we would recommend it to others and plan to repeat the experience next year when we return to the bay area.

The booking agent was not able to respond to our questions and had to put us on hold constantly. When the booking agent finally connected us to the Sunset Catamaran Cruise people we got our answers. Booking agent "logistics" of conveying/transmitting information the travelers/us could be more efficient and not require the traveler to "click and link" to other sites and documents.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message