San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

The San Francisco Bay

Few waterways carry the prestige and iconographic status of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. A great natural harbor, from the first years of its European discovery the Golden Gate became known as a pivotal access point to the American West. Trade ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 458 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Aaron R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a day, our guides had a lot of information about the Bay and the wildlife. We were able to see many birds, sea lions, and porpoise. Unfortunately only 1 whale off in the distance. I would do this trip again.

Doing what: Whale Watching & Wildlife Eco Tour from San Francisco

Dan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed the sailboat ride on San Francisco Bay. It was neat sailing underneath the Golden Gate Bridge. We went in March and the weather was perfect. The crew were friendly and skilled sailors. Also, a crew member offered to take pictures of everyone which was great to capture the scenic landscape around us.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Tlmtraveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great cruise! Weather was a bit touchy at the dock but once we started out, it was gorgeous! Great crew, nice views of the bay, bridge, etc and was more personable than a larger cruise boat. My family and I had a great time and would highly recommend. There was no scripted sight narration but if you want a scenic boat ride that's a bit different than the usual stuff, this one's great.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The bus driver made this tour memorable. He gave us lots of information, and had a great sense of humor. The woods were unbelievable ..... My only disappointment was the bay cruise. Neither of us could hear the tape, and we were sitting directly in front of the speaker, very disappointing.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best way to see the bay

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Bundle up because it is cold in February! I will defiantly go again in the spring or summer. The views of the Bay Bridge and the SF skyline were phenomenal. It was definitely a highlight of my trip and it will be on my and #34;to do and #34; list on many an upcoming visit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Sheri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great way to get an overview of a lovely city - and not have to drive its crazy streets! I felt very safe with the drivers and the guides were informative - I went on several side trips they recommended. The cruise under the bridge and around Alcatraz included lots of history, had a snack bar, and covered what I wanted to know in the Bay. Good value, too!

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: San Francisco Bay Cruise Including Hop-On Hop Off Tour

Connor T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome Experience. Would love to do it again! Anyone who lives or visits the bay area needs to do this cruise. It was a great experience and was breathtaking.

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was fantastic loved visiting the Jail, a lot of history and it was also great sailing in San Francisco bay.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our hop on hop off tour was just beautiful. Our tour guide was funny and informative. We stopped at a few different places until we arrived at viewing area for golden gate bridge. The guide let us out for about ten minutes to take pictures before we continued our way into Sausalito. It was a great experience and would do it again in a heartbeat. When we returned we headed to our bay cruise. When we got on board I though it was going to be packed and uncomfortable but it was the exact opposite. There was plenty of room to walk around and take pictures. The information that was playing over the speaker was very informative, explaining just about everything about the bay you can think of. When the boat got to the bridge it was just breath taking. There were views of the bridge you could only see from taking this cruise. Then we made our way around Alcatraz. It was definitely the one thing I really wanted to see while I was in San Francisco. The views you got to see of Alcatraz from the boat were just incredible. As we made our way back in to the pier the last thing we got to see were all the sea lions just laying around. This cruise was breath taking and unforgettable.

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: Hop-On Hop Off Tour Package Including San Francisco Bay Cruise

Maegan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a very limited amount of time in the city and wanted to make sure we were able to cover as much of San Francisco as we could. The hop on hop off and the bay cruise combo is the best way to do that. Our guide did an amazing job, he was hilarious, informative, and even gave us 10 minutes to get out and take pictures once we crossed the bridge towards Sausalito. The Bay cruise portion of this tour was absolutely spectacular. From the minute you leave the pier to head towards the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, etc. you are getting all kind of information about each area you see. I was excited to be able to do this portion of the combo package, because of our limited time in the city we did not have the time to go to Alcatraz. Due to this tour I was at least able to see it from the exterior much close than I could from the pier. The buses and the boat run several times throughout the day which makes this combo very convenient and easy to use.

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: Hop-On Hop Off Tour Package Including San Francisco Bay Cruise

Philippa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Went with my jaded and moody teenagers and we had a fabulous time. Can't beat seeing the Golden Gate Bridge with the right amount of fog, then close enough to Alcatraz and under the awesome Bay Bridge. We loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Tarmo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great way to see the sights of the bay, crew was very friendly and the ride was smooth.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Matthew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best value tour I've ever known. Great boat, great sail around the bay and great staff - plus they don't try to stiff you with the drinks prices.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything I expected and more.
Alcatraz was amazing, boat on time and plenty of room.
Sunset bay cruise was amazing and food was really good.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

nadege

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great experience to sail on the bay on a catamaran ! great views on Alcataz and under the bridge !
great staff as well !
just a bit too crowded but we booked for a Saturday !
highly recommended ! would do it again !

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Marleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My 8 year old granddaughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this cruise. It was a perfect day on the bay, warm and sunny. Great photo opportunities. Well worth the price. Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Trevor V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic day at Alcatraz audio tour fantastic ,and to follow it with the bay cruise capped off a great day,I would like to thank Viator it made American travel so much easier.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

victoria m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great little cruise. I would highly recommend it. Food was good, people were knowledgeable and very friendly. Take a light jacket, it got chilly on the bay. Great stops to take pics. The only minus would be the bartender situation......maybe 2 bartenders on board would be more adequate. There was a long line all night.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

James B C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice tour. I recommend this to anyone visiting San Francisco. Good crew, good food, wonderful views make this a wonderful choice for viewing the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and San Francisco from the bay. Well worth it. Bring warm clothes as it gets chilly and windy on the water.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lived in the Bay area for 12 years and can't believe this was the first time for us to do this.. so much fun, so beautiful! The crew, hors d'ouvres and beverages were perfect for the occasion: Cant wait to do it again!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Francis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour was excellent and worth the trip. Our guide, Erin, was entertaining and informative. His narration of the history of the area and the sights was helpful and enjoyable. The woods tour itself was beautiful - so peaceful, serene and informative. Amazing to be among nature in all her glory. Stop at Sausilito was nice but could have been just a little bit longer. Bay cruise was topped off this fabulous excursion. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

William T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

excellent
Alcatraz was so informative and interesting
Bay cruise was great and included good food

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had out of state visitors and we did this trip. We all enjoyed being on the bay and the views. I will definitely bring other visitors to do the cruise.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Mathias G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Allthough the weather in the bay was realy wet and windy we had a great time. Especially Golden Gate in the fog is quiet atmospheric.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message