Lying out in the middle of the San Franciscan Bay is a tiny man-made structure known as Treasure Island. Once made for the 1939 Golden Gate International Exposition, the island is now a California Historical Landmark and burgeoning trendy ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ruth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was always told, don't go on tours, they are too touristy. I wanted to have my daughter see SF at night in a safe setting. It was great! We went through neighborhoods with commentary. Stopped at the GG Bridge and Treasure Island for photo ops. The guide had a great sense of humor. I'd do it again

Doing what: San Francisco City Lights Evening Tour

ALICE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was informative and the guide, Matt, was fun. We especially enjoyed the night tour and the trip to Treasure Island via the Bay Bridge where we got great pictures of the SF waterfront skyline and lit bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Saundra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our group of five used our 2 day passes during Memorial Day weekend with Willie as our driver much of the time. Willie is a combination of knowledge and laughter....a real treasure. We all agreed the hop-on-hop off tour was a great value.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jane L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this tour, despite the cold evening, luckily it had just stopped raining.Good way of seeing San Fransisco, this was my second day. I really enjoyed the part of the journey to Treasure island over the bridge, that was fun and got to see the Golden Gate bridge for the first time. The tour guide was informative and helpful.

Doing what: San Francisco City Lights Evening Tour

Nathalie L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We liked our experience, some guides are better than others but we learned a lot about the history of San Francisco and the small treasures it has to offer. The tour covered everything that we wanted to see. Alcatraz was well worth it, especially since my husband and I enjoy history. Beautiful City and Great people!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well worth it. Just be sure to take a long a warm jacket as the winds can blow very cold when you are crossing over and spending time at Treasure Island.

Doing what: San Francisco City Lights Evening Tour

Sadie L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was fantastic! Our tour guide was hilarious and even let our trip start late so we made make the sunset at Treasure island. All in all a great night. Only mistake was not bringing a coat for the windy parts of the ride!

Doing what: San Francisco City Lights Evening Tour

Mike D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Bought the two-day, all loops pass for the Viator double-decker bus tours.
However, had we realised that the Hop-on/Hop-off City Tour included a return trip across the Golden Gate Bridge, we would not have bought the tickets for the Sausalito trip.
The City Trip was excellent. We stayed on for the full two-hours. Our guide was very knowledgable, had a good sense of humour and kept us entertained, throughout the two-hours, without getting boring. A great introduction to The City. And, of course, you can return to places, free, for the rest of the day.

The evening tour wasn't, in my opinion, as good. It is a round trip from Union Square, taking in the Golden Gate no crossing and Bay Bridge cross to Treasure Island It is not hop on/hop off and takes in much of the day tour route. Unfortunately our guide was not as articulate as the day guy and his presentation skills were further hampered by a faulty microphone.

Tip: Take an extra sweater/jacket, or both, if travelling upstairs.
We chose to travel downstairs on the Night Tour , as it was a somewhat chilly evening. The majority of passengers decided to travel on the open-top, upstairs deck. Hoevewever, because it was somewhat nippy, the majority of upstairs passengers returning after the first stop took downstairs seats and, when we returned to the bus, our seats had been taken! We managed to reclaim them, however it would be helpful if the driver or guide made it clear that only vacant seats should be taken by those wishing to swap.

All-in-all, very good value for money and would recommend.
Visited May 2015

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Molly OC W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Thank you. Only one "hiccup" in our tour when the Bus broke down at Treasure Island. Unfortunately, there was only ONE bus on that night tour so another bus had to be "called for" instead of being 15 min. behind us. thankfully, there were enough seats on the lower level to accommodate us because it was raining and foggy. It was an hour delay. But the tour is wonderful and we enjoyed all 2 days of it. Thank you again.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Tina M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Evening tour was very good and very informative. The Guide made it fun. Even stopped off for Hot chocolate at Treasure island.
We found it hard to pick the bus up at the North side of The Golden Gate Bridge, No bus stop signs. We Phoned the company to find out where to go as no Grey line workers there to help. The other bus companies there had stands and workers helping their customers and their buses seemed more regular.
Guides on the buses were friendly on all routes.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Melissa O

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I was disappointed that the night tour did not offer us transportation back to Fisherman's Wharf where we were staying. The tour guides were either trying to be too cute so that history was left out, or not enthusiastic at all. I wish the night tour had left later for a view from Treasure Island in the dark. The stops were good and the pick up/drop off times were good.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Elena C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

At the pick-up location the guide looked at my voucher and said that I wasn't on their coach. Fortunately I asked him a second time when also the driver was there and the driver confirmed that I had to board on that coach! I would have missed the tour if I didn't insist.
The coach was open-top, I was upstairs, I was freezing, but enjoying a beautiful view. The guide was funny and knowledgeable, he was speaking using a microphone, but becasue of the wind it was diffult to hear him well.
The view from Treasure Island was breathtaking.

Doing what: San Francisco City Lights Evening Tour

Eileen E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Our second and third days were Hop-On/Hop-Off bus tours. Our intention was to take this one whole loop around and then get off and on as we pleased. We have traveled to other cities where this worked very well. Unfortunately, this bus only went one way. We could get off as we pleased however, when we got back on, we had to do the entire loop again. Each loop took two hours. This was not what we wanted. Additionally, our voucher included one night tour on the Hop-On/Hop-Off which ended at Treasure Island. We thought we would be able to visit/tour Treasure Island however, all this brief stop really did for us was allow us the view of San Francisco at night from the other side of the Bay Bridge. A little disappointed as this was not what we had envisioned this stop would be.

So you ask how we enjoyed our trip. We still had a great time, but would not recommend the Hop-On/Hop-Off and have reservations about recommending the Monterey/Carmel bus trip to others.

We look forward to hearing from you regarding our above thoughts and concerns.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message