Always boasted as one of the best views in the city, Twin Peaks refers to two hills smack dab in the center of San Francisco. Twin Peaks gives visitors an easily accessible and completely free way to get your bearings on the best of downtown San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent driver. Great way to get an overview of the city then decide what to go back to and visit more in depth. Fabulous views of Golden Gate Bridge, twin peaks etc. Great start to a once in a lifetime trip!

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a really good tour showed us all the main attractions in SanFrancisco, like the golden gate bridge china town and Fishermans Wharf, Twin peaks and Lombard street .Gives you a general idea of the city.
We had a very good guide who was a wealth of information.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was absolutely perfect for me to see everything I wanted to see in San Francisco. Even though I would have loved to have gone to Alcatraz, it was perfect going around it on the boat twice and having the rest of the day to myself. From going across the Golden Gate Bridge, to seeing Haight-Ashbury, going to Twin Peaks for an over view of the entire city, to Land's End, the tour was perfect on the bus. What made it really special was the cruise. Unbeatable views of the city, bridges, and Alcatraz. I highly recommend it to anyone who only really has a day in San Francisco like I did.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day tour of San Francisco area including Sausalito and Muir Woods. Morning starts in SF traveling over the Golden Gate Bridge to Muir Woods. Fun walking amongst the tall redwoods and flowing streams in the muir forest. You have enough time to walk to the back of the trails and turn onto a return trail back to the parking lot with stops to photo. Then to Sausalito for about a 90 minute stop for lunch. Recommend quick lunch at Fish n' Chips or Burger place to save time for shopping. Travel through Golden Gate Park to Lands End for views of the GG Bridge and ocean/beaches.Back through SF city for sights of the town incuding different neighborhoods. Went to Twin Peaks on a mountain top overlooking all of the SF area. Saw SF, GG Bridge, Bay Bridge, Alcatraz, and everything surrounding. Stopped at City Hall for a quick stop. Overal a good tour to take especially if you have not been to SF a lot or first time.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Trip was absolutely fantastic! Our driver was Dave. He was engaging, greeted us nicely and gave us helpful tips along with a great tour. I think this tour is a great idea for those that want to see the highlights of the city and then go around on their own later to any particular spots that interest you. Even if that's not your plan, the half day tour actually covers a lot. My favorite stops were the Golden Gate Bridge and the view from Twin Peaks. You meet people from different states and countries on the tour, it's a wonderful experience! I did this tour in the last week of December and the weather was great. You'd definitely need a light jacket or warm sweater as the weather can get cool and warm on and off.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I can't get over how much fun I had on this tour. I visit San Francisco about twice a year and love doing all the touristy stuff, but this tour was different, it made me feel like a total insider. The view from Twin Peaks was amazing, but my absolute favorite part was walking through the eucalyptus forest. I've already recommend this tour to friends and family and I extend the same recommendation to anyone considering to book this tour. A special thanks to our guide (sorry I forgot your name) for making this such a great experience!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Hills and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had an amazing experience and truly breath-taking views of the San Francisco. The boats ride was a lot of fun and I learnt a lot about Alcatraz prison. The view of the twin peaks was wonderful.

A must for anyone visiting San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great way to get an overall view of San Francisco, the Alcatraz tour was incredibly interesting. Loved the view of the city from the twin peaks. A trip over the golden gate bridge. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Troy and Richard were our tour guides for the day. Troy took us to Sausalito and Marin Headlands. (Unfortunately Muir Woods was closed due to the government shutdown ) the Headlands were beautiful and gave us a chance to see Sequoia...not the redwoods, however they were stunning, Troy was a very knowledgeable tour guide and was able to answer all questions.
Richard took us on the city tour....I don't think there was anything he missed. He was and amazing tour guide we went to twin peaks, chiardelli chocolate, the lake house, the botanical gardens, with tales of different places we passed on the way! He even mentioned O'Shaunessey's!
I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see everything and then decide what they would like to investigate further.
Jennifer

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

While I am a native San Franciscan, I haven't lived there for fifty years. This tour was fun for me and my grandsons. I enjoyed pointing out to them the changes in the city and favorite former haunts. The tour was extensive and comprehensive and our driver/guide was excellent. The view of the city from Twin Peaks was spectacular!

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was friendly, humorous and very knowledgeable about each place we visited. He had a laid back, informal approach and this made us feel very comfortable. Snippets of information were given here and there, with the chance to talk amongst ourselves too. There was a good variety of info about places, history, geography, art, famous buildings, celebs, housing types- All interesting to a 23 year old like myself.
We stopped at a few stops and had ample time to look around. Twin Peaks gave an amazing view of the city and great photos, the Golden Gate Park drive through was also informative and lovely to see.
Our driver/guide dropped us off at Pier 39 an hour before our Alcatraz visit giving us time to see the sea lions and have a drink,
Overall, an amazing tour at a reasonable price with fantastic guides and interesting information.
My only criticism is that I wish I'd tipped him more!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour guide/driver was what made this an exceptional tour. He provided a lot of information both historical and current, which made each stop much more interesting. The Golden Gate Bridge was fogged in as well as the stop near the cliff house, however, when we reached twin peaks it was clear with a spectacular view of San Fran Area. The other highlight was our visit to the 7 painted ladies and the drive by many beautiful victorian houses. Overall, I rate this tour as very good well worth the price. Rey Waters

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

My husband and I booked the tour for the second day of our 12-day stay in beautiful San Francisco in order to get acquainted with the city before we struck out on our own. Greg, our tour guide, was extremely professional, friendly and provided great information during the day. Alcatraz was so interesting, and we didn't realize we were going to Twin Peaks- thank you, Greg! He conducted the tour at a relaxed pace, and we sure covered a lot of ground ( and water) that day. We enthusiastically recommend this excursion, particularly for first-time visitors to San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We enjoyed both of these tours. The city tour was nice; we stopped for photos at the Golden Gate Bridge, old Sutro Baths, and at Twin Peaks. I was disappointed that we didn't get to stop at the Victorians on Alamo Square, but the driver, Joe, explained that isn't allowed anymore. He let us off at the place to catch the ferry to Alcatraz, and told us where we should grab a bite to eat before the ferry left since no food is sold on the island.

Alcatraz was an extremely interesting tour. The audio guide was excellent. There is a tram for folks who can't walk the steep hill to the prison. I'm so glad we experienced it, and the views from the island were beautiful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was an experience to remember! Seeing the Golden Gate Bridge, Twin Peaks and so much more! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and his delivery was excellent. Can't wait to do it again!

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This was our first experience of Viator's ground handler Super Shuttle Sightseeing. Everything was of the highest calibre and the driver had exceptional knowledge of the city he obviously loved. The tour covered all of the most important locations. The views from Twin Peaks were amazing. I would highly recommend this as an ideal introduction to first timers to San Francisco. The afternoon trip to Alcatraz was unforgetable and the audio tour made everything come alive.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Excellent service from all staff throughout. Highly recommend this company and the trips. City tour - suggest do early on in holiday as great way of finding out where you are and what to see; punctual pick-up; friendly and knowledgable guide; modern and clean coach. Included stops at Golden Gate Bridge and Twin Peaks, both having stunning views. We were lucky enough to do the tour in the morning so the "fog" hadn't settled over the bridge and we could see it.
Alcatraz - what to say but amazing and amazing again! Suggest buying snacks on ferry and have on crossing as half the price as any sold on Wharf.
The only little downside is that this booking is for both trips in 1 day and we felt it was a bit rushed to fit it all in. We would definitely had preferred more time in Alcatraz, so to speak! That aside, we would still recommend doing both trips. Definite value for money though the experiences we had were priceless.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Steven C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Excellent trip, great way to become oriented with the cities districts. We were collected by coach from the hotel at the pre-arranged time and taken to sign in at the tour companies office. From there we were assigned a coach and set off on the tour part of the trip - this lasted about 2 hours. The driver commentary was superb - very interesting and informative. We stopped off at Golden Gate Bridge and Twin Peaks for 20 minutes to take pictures. We toured most districts and learned a lot about the history of each, buildings, film sets, earth quakes etc. We were then dropped at the pier to board the ferry to Alcatraz 15 minutes on the ferry. On Alcatraz we had an audio tour - fascinating. We were told a coach would be waiting for us at 5pm but that we could get any ferry back - they left every half hour. If we chose to have more time on Alcatraz we would have to make our own way back to the hotel. Not a problem for us as there were trams axis, but we opted to get back for the coach as we had ample time on the island. If you do this trip, do it at the begining of your stay. It will inform you of places you may wish to visit. Also, book before you go - the ferries are very busy and you will struggle to get on Alcatraz if you just turn up at the pier. This trip was great fun and very well priced we had not expected such a comprehensive tour of the city. As often is the case on these trips, a good commentary from the driver is key - and we had a particularly good driver. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

TOM A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A highly recommended tour. We had to ring and confirm our tour the day before which presented no problems - our hotel did that for us. The luxurious coach collected us on time and took us to the company's central office, near Fishermans' Wharf. Here we confirmed our tour and departed on the same coach as picked us up. The driver was extremely knowledgable and courteous. The tour started at 10am and took us all around San Francisco, stooping at points of real interest. 25 minutes at the Golden Gate and time at Twin Peaks which gave a great view over the whole of the city. After the tour, we were taken to the pier for the boat to Alcatraz included in the price. This proved to be an extremely interesting visit to the former prison. On arrival, we were given an audio headset which delivered a super commentary on the history of the prision, the daily routine of prisoners and the more infamous inmates. We departed on the last boat out of Alcatraz at 4pm arriving at the Wharf at 4.30pm. We were given a choice of what to do next, either do our own thing or collect a bus at 5pm which would have taken us back to our hotel. A highly entertaining day and extremely good value. Thank you.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Michael F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The Alcatraz tour was first rate! The audio system brought the atmosphere of the place as it used to be. An extremely interesting and often eerie experience. Am absolute must! During the tour we had plenty of opportunities to leave the coach and take photographs and explore. The Golden Gate bridge was amazing it was a beautiful day. Twin Peaks was yet another highlight! Again this trip is very good value. I am so glad we booked it!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Mary P
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Very well organised. Covers pretty much all areas of the city. Plenty of time for photos and to walk the Golden Gate and also at Twin Peaks. Very friendly, professional and interesting guide. Alcatraz definitely one of the highlights - audio tour excellent - no time pressure - return by ferry at leisure.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Nigel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

Very enjoyable with a knowledgeable guide; views from Twin Peaks were breathtaking, and Alcatraz was a great experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

We had a wonderful city tour - compliments to the bus driver. We felt we didn't have to ride the bus for 3 hours like most tours - we were able to get off and take some pictures and actually get up close to the Golden Gate Bridge, the beach and Twin Peaks. The tour to Alcatraz was also very interesting and we really liked that we could tour it on our own versus a tour group. Would definitely recommend this tour to others going to San Francisco. Thank you!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this. Did it our 1st full day in San Fran to get oriented. Our driver was funny, informative, and polite. We got good photo ops at Golden Gate and Twin Peaks. Great running commentary of the city and its history. He was also good about advice and tips on riding public transportation, scams to watch out for, restaurants, parts of town to stay out of etc... which I found very helpful since we were there for a week and planned on exploring as much as possible.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message