The newly paved grounds of Union Square, bordered by brightly lit department stores and hotels, may not at first seem like an inviting place to hang out. But perch awhile on a skinny bench or grab a coveted seat at the café in the square, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Another great experience that filled a day in SF. Easy to find in Union Square. Informative narration. Travelled over GG Bridge and back into the city. We got off in Little Italy and walked back to our hotel via Chinatown. A good way to see and learn lots in a 'foreign' city in a day.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fantastic, this is definitely an amazing way to spend a day in San Francisco. Alex our driver was a super star, very funny and friendly, he was honorary photographer for the day,taking pictures of us with the cable car. He even served lunch for us and handed out blankets,meh honestly could not do enough for everyone. We were picked up in union square and taken to he Alcatraz landing where we were on the first ferry over. Alcatraz was just incredible, nothing at all like I imagined. You get an audio tour in your language so can walk around at your own leisure. As we were on he first ferry it wasn't too busy. After Alcatraz we did our tour of San Francisco. Seeing it all whilst driving around in the only cable car tour buss was amazing. It was quite foggy so we didn't get a great view of th Golden Gate Bridge so Alex took a detour and stopped at an amazing spot so we could all get off and get our photos. The tour took us to all the great spots in San Francisco and we felt we got to see everything we wanted to see. Alex the driver really made this tour special for us and I can't praise him enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was amazing. We had perfect weather. Hot sunny no clouds no fog. City tour guide was funny knowledgeable very nice. Alcatraz was interesting but a lot of walking uphill. Catamaran was my favourite but I don't think it would have been much fun if it was cold and foggy. Helicopter ride was my husbands favourite but we had clear sunny day so the views were quite amazing. Our itinerary said shuttle driver would take us back to Union Square which wasn't quite true

Doing what: San Francisco Land, Sea, Air and Alcatraz Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an incredible experience. We knew a lot of interesting sites as The Golden Gate, The Fisherman's Wharf, The Embarcadero, Pier 36, Chinatown etc. The pick-up station was in Union Square, 2 blocks from our Hotel. Very good for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We met the motorized cable car in Union Square at 7.30am. The driver, Arturo, met us with blankets (was chilly), cereal bars, drinks and a big smile! We were driven to the ferry port to catch the 8.45am ferry to Alcatraz. Would highly recommend being early as not very busy and certainly not rushed. The headsets provided at the beginning of the tour added real atmosphere (as narrated by ex cons, guards and sound effects!) and you can go at your own pace as you can pause, rewind the narration. Look for the welcome guard as you disembark the ferry - he was a real character! We caught the 11am ferry back and was met by Arturo. Next was the Bodin Sour Dough factory for a brief tour of the famous factory and luch was provided by them - fab sandwich, crisps and cookie. We then did a tour of San Francisco, narrated all the way by Arturo, taking in lots of sights including crossing the Golden Gate bridge twice with lots of opportunities to take photos (and toilet breaks). Arturo was very keen to ensure we had lots of photos and often taking them for us just to be sure! This trip was great value for money and made even better by our driver and guide. Well done Viator another successful trip with you. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were picked up on time at Union square by an electric tram, our guide and driver ARTURO was friendly, professional, very informative, and made our day very enjoyable. We went on the 9oclock ferry to Alcatraz, they have a buggy that takes you up a very steep incline if you have walking difficulties. You are given earpieces and you walk around at your leisure . Back on our tour tram we went to see a bakery for a short tour, then sightseeing around San Francisco , over the Golden Gate Bridge and stopped underneath it on the way back. Got some lovely photos. Lunch was included plus a breakfast bar and cold drinks. Extremely enjoyable way to see all around San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Loved this tour. Travelling with kids is never easy (ages 16 and 11), especially when you want to do grown up things like a wine tour! This one is perfect.

The Muir Woods are amazing and the background info provided by our guide Andy made our walk in the woods even more entertaining. It is the perfect way to start off the day - with coffee at the end if you need it. We were then off to our first winery - welcoming and informative - a small boutique winery in the Sonoma area. Had to purchase one there with the husband in my ear asking how I was getting this back to Aus!

Lunch in Sonoma was one of the nicest and most relaxed we had - and a lot to do with that again due to Andy's inside knowledge of the places to eat. Kids were happy - we were happy - and it wasn't rushed allowing for a little walk around the town after.

Two wineries followed - again perfect choices in Napa Valley. More purchases - okay so we had to drink some while in SF! And the last one was so good for the kids with heaps of outside area for them to explore with birds and fish - beautiful location.

We chose to head straight back into SF - all of us a little tired and so glad we did. Andy took us to the most spectacular spot to view the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset - we watched the sun disappear and turned around to see the moon rising - amazing! We all were exhausted after a very full day - dropped off at Union Square - just were we wanted to go. But all had a brilliant day.

Thank you Andy - you were the perfect guide - and this is a perfect day tour even with kids in tow,

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guides were efficient, very helpful and informative. We found it a great way to see all the main sites of San Francisco. The added bonus is that you get to go over Golden Gate Bridge, but be sure to hang on to your hats as it is extremely windy. If you are looking at starting your tour from Union Square the stop is currently opposite Macy's not on the Tiffany's side as the Hotels seem to think/advise. This is not to be missed, especially if you only have a 3 day stop. We had 8 days, so we were able to spread it out a bit. Enjoy!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The bus tour guides were excellent and well informed as we took the tour from Fisherman's wharf across the bridge and through central SF. The highlights were crossing Golden Gate Bridge "take us to the bridge"", Golden Gate Park (including the museums and Japanese tea garden) and Union Square. The trip to Alcatraz was very interesting and we were fortunate to arrive just as one of the Alcatraz historical guides was starting a tour up the hill to the prison. He was excellent and gave a real insight into the reasons why Alcatraz was chosen for the prison and why it eventually was abandoned. The prison was a bit gloomy and cold with the audio guide filling in the details as to the nature of the prisioners kept there. Overall both parts of the trip were well worthwhile and I would definitely recommend this activity to all first time visitors to SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was brilliant, the tour driver was very knowledgeable and gave great tips as to how to return to areas of the city including cable car routes and other bus trips. We returned to Union Square, Chinatown and Golden Gate Park because of what we discovered on the trip.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great experience and the best way to see san fran on a short time frame. Our tour guide was DJ Paul who was super fun and not only did a terrific job informing us on the historical background of the city but hewent over and above and did it all complete with jokes and an awesome soundtrack which really expanded and added to the experience. He was also kind and helpful with any questions we had. The bus wasn't too full to find a comfortable seat and it was nice to be able to have the blue bus to differentiate between all the other. we caught the tour at union square and easily turned in our vouched for the hop on hop off tix. Would def recommend!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very convenient to our hotel in Union square. Great way to get an overview of the beautiful city of San Francisco. We had 2 days for the same low price.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We were in SF for the weekend (feb. 2-3) and were looking for things to do. I found this tour through lonely planet and thought it was a great deal. The tour allowed us to see two of the items on our list and we didn't need a rental car (we stayed in union square and took the rain to/from airport). Our tour guide, Andy, was incredibly knowledgeable. Having his insight throughout the tour was invaluable. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see these places and learn the history but wants to leave the homework to someone else. It was a perfect day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message