The newly paved grounds of Union Square, bordered by brightly lit department stores and hotels, may not at first seem like an inviting place to hang out. But perch awhile on a skinny bench or grab a coveted seat at the café in the square, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a great way to really see the city - not just the Union Square and wharf area. Be sure and go inside the Civic building - beautiful!!! Chachacha is great place to eat in Haight Ashbury.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was Katie and she was so good at her job. We got on the first bus of the day and had her to ourselves for the first part of our tour, unfortunately we got off at Union Square and in hindsight we wish we had done the whole circuit with Katie as she was very knowledgeable and friendly. As we only had one full day in San Francisco this covered everything we needed to see in a short time.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Driver waiting at baggage collection and helped with baggage to car. Very comfortable journey of about half an hour to Union Square which was very busy because of very large convention in town

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: San Francisco International Airport to Hotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very early pick up in Union square by (motorised cable car) tour through streets to pier to board ferry to the island. very eerie place but very interesting. Then back on ferry to visit special bakery and have packed lunch on the cable car. Then journey to Golden Gate Bridge. When we went over it very sunny, by time we had parked on other side it was covered in fog! Very interesting sightseeing trip in unusual transport driver very very good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were a group of 6 enjoying a day trip from our California Coastal cruise. I first heard of HOHO tour
on trip advisor and I'm glad we did. It was a little confusing at first as where to get on bus. It's best to
sit on bench facing Embarcedo, close to Aquarium. We had take a short free shuttle from our ship to get there, but could have easily walked. I agree with everyone else. It's very cold and windy going over Golden Gate Bridge. Our driver "Deon" was wonderful. He gave out blankets to anyone that needed them. You need to be dressed warmly as you are sitting on top in the open air. We only got off a few stops. I highly
recommend stopping at Chinatown. Lots of neat trinkets. Union Square has a lot of upscale shopping such
as Coach, Jimmy Choo, Barneys if you are in the mood. We spend a lot of time at Fisherman's Wharf and
Pier 39. The sea lions were out which was a nice treat for my 13 year old nephew. The Boudin Bakery has great clam chowder in the sourdough bread bowl. There's a 2nd shop in Pier 39. My sister loved the left handed store at Pier 39 as well. There was a double decker carosel and arcade games for the younger ones. We ran out of time and didn't make it to the ferry building, which was highly recommended as a place to visit. Our driver, Deon, was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed his commentary.
Overall, we enjoyed our time on the excursion with HOHO Bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a solid walking tour that features an extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and forthcoming guide who will escort you to places that the average tourist would never see. You begin at an Old Post Office with WPA-style murals, and then proceed through various lobbies of skyscrapers to see unbelievably beautiful murals, decorative patterns and stucco designs. You end up at Union Square, which means you see a good part of the Financial District. For any architecture buff, this is a must see tour.

Doing what: Art Deco Walking Tour of San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This full day excursion from San Francisco to Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive was excellent value and a highlight of my visit to California. Our tour guide, Kenneth, was very friendly and his commentary was very entertaining and informative. He was also an excellent driver. The scenery along the coastline was beautiful. There were stops along the way to take photos, visit shops and restrooms, and to buy food, drinks, etc. I visited the Aquarium in Monterey for about an hour and then for the remaining hour I enjoyed fish and chips on the sandy beach and then did some souvenir shopping. I also really enjoyed seeing Carmel and the 17-mile drive. The trip back to San Francisco as the sun went down was relaxing. It was interesting, too, as we passed by headquarters of some of the famous technology companies like Microsoft, Xerox and Google. I would definitely recommend this full day tour. We arrived back in San Francisco about 8:30pm and I had dinner near Union Square. A great day. Thanks, Kenneth!

Doing what: Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a great day. Alex our driver/guide was great. Nice small group and of we went. Scenic route to the ferry for Alcatraz tickets waiting for us on arrival. Really good audio tour timed to perfection for our return ferry. Next stop Boudins bakery at Fishermans Wharf and then our lunch waiting for us on return to the cable car( well wheeled version) Short stop at the museum of fine art then we whizzed over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very exciting. Be sure to hang on to your hats!!!. The day progressed with even more sights and interesting facts from Alex. Well worth getting up at 6 a.m. on our first day so we could walk to the pickup at Union Square in time for 7-45 departure

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

lovely tour with alex our guide who was very information, funny and helpful! we set off early with our light breakfast of snack bars we had a tour round the city first through china town and financial district then onto alcatraz where we caught the 0845 trip to alcatraz which was amazing and eerie as well the audio tour is excellent and is narrated by ex prison guards and ex prisoners. alex gave us precise times and locations where he would pick us up, we then went to the bourdin sour dough factory which is just down the street and alex again said where he would be. the factory tour was good and we got our lunch from there in a box which i thought was great. i had a vegetarian sandwich on gorgeous brown bread which every imaginable salad ingredient i could think off it was lovely also a bag of crisps and water, plus cans of cokes, lilt etc. we then journeyed on around san fransisco and ended up back at union square after approx 6 hours. really enjoyed this trip as was similar to being on a trolley as we sat on the side outside and alex kept ringing his bell! i felt like a child again and appreciated the early visit to alcatraz as it was getting really busy as we left.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best way to see San Francisco. Our guide Dan was friendly, accommodating and very knowledgeable. This trip was SO good that virtually no one left the trip during the entire loop - his remarkably witty yet informative commentary was THAT good. This tour went everywhere and served as a very useful reference for our later plans on where to visit on our own. We eventually hopped off at Union Square and took a convenient next bus when it was time to head back to our hotel. This was the best of the best!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Another great experience that filled a day in SF. Easy to find in Union Square. Informative narration. Travelled over GG Bridge and back into the city. We got off in Little Italy and walked back to our hotel via Chinatown. A good way to see and learn lots in a 'foreign' city in a day.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fantastic, this is definitely an amazing way to spend a day in San Francisco. Alex our driver was a super star, very funny and friendly, he was honorary photographer for the day,taking pictures of us with the cable car. He even served lunch for us and handed out blankets,meh honestly could not do enough for everyone. We were picked up in union square and taken to he Alcatraz landing where we were on the first ferry over. Alcatraz was just incredible, nothing at all like I imagined. You get an audio tour in your language so can walk around at your own leisure. As we were on he first ferry it wasn't too busy. After Alcatraz we did our tour of San Francisco. Seeing it all whilst driving around in the only cable car tour buss was amazing. It was quite foggy so we didn't get a great view of th Golden Gate Bridge so Alex took a detour and stopped at an amazing spot so we could all get off and get our photos. The tour took us to all the great spots in San Francisco and we felt we got to see everything we wanted to see. Alex the driver really made this tour special for us and I can't praise him enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was amazing. We had perfect weather. Hot sunny no clouds no fog. City tour guide was funny knowledgeable very nice. Alcatraz was interesting but a lot of walking uphill. Catamaran was my favourite but I don't think it would have been much fun if it was cold and foggy. Helicopter ride was my husbands favourite but we had clear sunny day so the views were quite amazing. Our itinerary said shuttle driver would take us back to Union Square which wasn't quite true

Doing what: San Francisco Land, Sea, Air and Alcatraz Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an incredible experience. We knew a lot of interesting sites as The Golden Gate, The Fisherman's Wharf, The Embarcadero, Pier 36, Chinatown etc. The pick-up station was in Union Square, 2 blocks from our Hotel. Very good for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We met the motorized cable car in Union Square at 7.30am. The driver, Arturo, met us with blankets (was chilly), cereal bars, drinks and a big smile! We were driven to the ferry port to catch the 8.45am ferry to Alcatraz. Would highly recommend being early as not very busy and certainly not rushed. The headsets provided at the beginning of the tour added real atmosphere (as narrated by ex cons, guards and sound effects!) and you can go at your own pace as you can pause, rewind the narration. Look for the welcome guard as you disembark the ferry - he was a real character! We caught the 11am ferry back and was met by Arturo. Next was the Bodin Sour Dough factory for a brief tour of the famous factory and luch was provided by them - fab sandwich, crisps and cookie. We then did a tour of San Francisco, narrated all the way by Arturo, taking in lots of sights including crossing the Golden Gate bridge twice with lots of opportunities to take photos (and toilet breaks). Arturo was very keen to ensure we had lots of photos and often taking them for us just to be sure! This trip was great value for money and made even better by our driver and guide. Well done Viator another successful trip with you. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message