• USD ($)
  • English
The newly paved grounds of Union Square, bordered by brightly lit department stores and hotels, may not at first seem like an inviting place to hang out. But perch awhile on a skinny bench or grab a coveted seat at the café in the square, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guides were efficient, very helpful and informative. We found it a great way to see all the main sites of San Francisco. The added bonus is that you get to go over Golden Gate Bridge, but be sure to hang on to your hats as it is extremely windy. If you are looking at starting your tour from Union Square the stop is currently opposite Macy's not on the Tiffany's side as the Hotels seem to think/advise. This is not to be missed, especially if you only have a 3 day stop. We had 8 days, so we were able to spread it out a bit. Enjoy!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The bus tour guides were excellent and well informed as we took the tour from Fisherman's wharf across the bridge and through central SF. The highlights were crossing Golden Gate Bridge "take us to the bridge"", Golden Gate Park (including the museums and Japanese tea garden) and Union Square. The trip to Alcatraz was very interesting and we were fortunate to arrive just as one of the Alcatraz historical guides was starting a tour up the hill to the prison. He was excellent and gave a real insight into the reasons why Alcatraz was chosen for the prison and why it eventually was abandoned. The prison was a bit gloomy and cold with the audio guide filling in the details as to the nature of the prisioners kept there. Overall both parts of the trip were well worthwhile and I would definitely recommend this activity to all first time visitors to SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was brilliant, the tour driver was very knowledgeable and gave great tips as to how to return to areas of the city including cable car routes and other bus trips. We returned to Union Square, Chinatown and Golden Gate Park because of what we discovered on the trip.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great experience and the best way to see san fran on a short time frame. Our tour guide was DJ Paul who was super fun and not only did a terrific job informing us on the historical background of the city but hewent over and above and did it all complete with jokes and an awesome soundtrack which really expanded and added to the experience. He was also kind and helpful with any questions we had. The bus wasn't too full to find a comfortable seat and it was nice to be able to have the blue bus to differentiate between all the other. we caught the tour at union square and easily turned in our vouched for the hop on hop off tix. Would def recommend!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very convenient to our hotel in Union square. Great way to get an overview of the beautiful city of San Francisco. We had 2 days for the same low price.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Where do I start? It was wonderful and our tour guide, Victoria, and Driver, Angel were amazing. We had planned to make a few stops on the way but were having such a fun time that we chose to ride all around and did get off at Union Square and back on again to go around again, to stop at Pier 39.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was my first time to SF and one of the most enjoyable, entertaining and memorable experince I had was being entertained by the loud, comical, trade mark laugh of Willie our tour guide. Truth is, that i jumped off bus, after being picked up in Union Square, at Fisherman's Wharf to do some exploring and shopping and hours later waited for another blue bus. Little did i know that it is not the color of the bus that makes the tour but the DRIVER/GUIDE!!! i got on another blue bus and got right back off at the Golden Gate bridge (cold, foggy and didn't want to stop) because i was determined to wait it out and get back on Willie's bus...wasn't sure about timing and where he was but sure enough about 30 min later another bus came and it was him...i told him about my decision to hop off and wait for the "funner" bus and he was tickled. THANKS WILLIE FOR A WONDERFUL TOUR OF A BEAUTIFUL CITY...hahahaha...hahahahaha

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our hotel was in Union Square and we were staying for a week, Saturday thru Friday, so we purchased this pass. We used it on the cable cars, the buses, the subway. We kept track of what we would have paid without this pass and we were in the black by Tuesday. You really get your money's worth with this. Bay cruise was great. Museums were great. Mass transit was fantastic.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Was very easy to catch my ride from the SF airport to my Union Square hotel. Would recommend the SuperShuttle to friends.

Doing what: San Francisco Arrival Transfer: to Hotels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We were very pleased with our city tour. The accommodations were perfect. Unfortunately there were some issues with two of the locations included in the tour, one being that the main part of the park was closed and traffic detoured and the other being that Union Square was jammed with holiday traffic so we were unable to access either of these locations. Our bus driver did everything he could to get the most out of the tour for us, but some things were just beyond his control. The tour was very enjoyable and extremely informative...I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone. The Alcatraz part of the tour was also fantastic. The bus driver made sure we got where we needed to be, gave great recommendations as to where to eat and the time frame involved. The tour itself was a once in a lifetime experience. Again I would strongly recommend this tour package to anyone interested in seeing San Francisco and the surrounding parts in a very comfortable and informative way.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

AWESOME,AWESOME,AWESOME! This was the highlight of our trip:) We were picked up at the Hilton in Union Square at 10:00 am. Arrived at the airport approximately 1/2 hour later. We were brought right to the helicopter and the pilot was waiting for us. The helicopter itself was amazing:))) Leather bucket seats, cup holders,head phones with a microphone....totally cool....I felt like I was a movie star:) The flight itself was beautiful....we saw ALL of San Francisco, Alcatraz and most importantly flew UNDER THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE!!! Yes, under the bridge....scary but, exciting at the same time. Loved the pilot....we wanted to do something later in the day and he told us about Coppola winery....OH MY GOSH!! This too is a must!!! Beautiful winery, terrific wine, fabulous food.....Would highly recommend taking the helicopter tour....It was worth every penny we spent!!! KUDOS !!!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

A profeesional service in comfortable vans which got me to my hotel in Union Square with little hassle

Doing what: San Francisco Arrival Transfer: to Hotels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

very easy and convenient! Collected our bags and folloed the directions on out viator print out ticket and found the shuttle stop with attendant straight away, he called us a shuttle and within 5minutes it picked us up and took us direct to our hotel in union square. Will use them again and recommend to anyone. MUCH cheaper than a taxi!!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Arrival Transfer: to Hotels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message