Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

A lot is said about San Francisco, both by visitors and locals alike. Foreigners often dub it "the most European" city in America. W.H. Taft called it "the city that knows how," and Rudyard Kipling was known to have said "San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gareth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A slightly late start as we waited on a few people, but that gave our guide, Earl, time to talk me through where we were going and his background in NY. The guys at the bike shop were friendly enough, although do allow an extra 5 minutes for your taxi to find the place! The tour itself was great, stopping regularly and avoiding the large hills by skirting around The Wiggle. Saw all the things I wanted to and a few more who knew the tower in the park had a 9th floor free viewing gallery!?. Lunch would have been great it is wasn't for a concert making it 5x more busy than usual according to Earl. All in all - fully recommend. If you have zero bike experience or are very unfit, do something else, but if you're either of them you're probably not even looking at this review o.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Bree B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was extremely informative and felt personal! The guides definitely make sure you are comfortable with the segway before leaving. I was not worried at all riding on the streets because the guides were so great! Looking forward to the next one I get to take with this company!

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Earl L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I did the City Pass to enjoy my trip to San Francisco to its best. I unfortunately came down with a nasty cold and it slowed me down a bit. My full day was nice and sunny that made it A out and about and the Pass is truly a budget helper and convenience. Golden Gate Park is not to be missed and the trolleys several time a treat.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Just do it !!
You won't regret it - well organised and fun - a unique way to see the sights of SF.
The lunch is fresh and just enough with ample drinks supplied.
Breakfast is a muesli bar and water so for hungry morning risers have something before getting on the tour. Pick up is central and simple to find . Our guide Atouro loved his job and it reflected in his knowledge and general Atmosphere he imparted on the tour .
Early morning visit to Alcatraz was well worth it as we were first group there so no lines and no one in front of you at most of the audio stops . tip - don't bother with the volunteer guides talk at Alcatraz - you don't have to listen to them - go straight to audio tour !!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an awesome experience. Loved Alcatraz. The tour was better than everyone expected! The tour tram driver was amazing with a lot of local knowledge. Lunch was really yummy too!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organised from start to finish and our guide gave us plenty of information about San Francisco and the sites we visited

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Diane T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well organised. Great trip. Book before you go so you get the day and time you want.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip and never felt rushed at any stopping point.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Keith.mccloy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, go early, did I remember to let you know to go early, with that bypass the first announcer, this isn't mandatory and you can hear the tour better, take pictures without hundreds in your way, etc......

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Ronald E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great first time on a Segway. Helpful, patient instructors / guides and really fun way to see the city. If only it didn't end so quickly.

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trip was fun and informative.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

lizard_b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Driver Jeanie was amazing and provided a locals insight into San Franciso and made the day very enjoyable. Alcatraz was as expected very interesting. Well done

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had an excellent experience with Jamie leading the way as our guide. Had plenty of time on Alcatraz. Had our own personal trolley and stopped at Fort Point near the Golden Gate Bridge for some unbelievable photo opportunities. Awesome trips through Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown, amongst other areas. People kept asking to join us only to be told sorry, this is a private tour :-. Jaime was extremely personable and basically offered to go anyplace we wanted. Highly recommend, well worth the price of admission.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Jamie the tour guide was WONDERFUL!! She went above and beyond to make this tour one of the best tours we have ever been on. We will definately be using Viator tours in the future.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trust me when I say I'm not a morning person, but getting up early was totally worth this tour! Our guide, Jamie, was amazing. She was so nice and friendly, and really took the extra mile in making sure we all were enjoying ourselves. If you have a little time in SF, this would be the tour to take, because you explore so many spots in the city. You definitely won't feel like you've wasted any time!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Katrina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A fantastic way to get to know the city. Our tour guide Josh was awesome. Can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

tracyo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

High praise for this tour! Our guide, Arturo, made the day. He was friendly, answered all questions and was able to provide personal insight to San Francisco and Alcatraz, and had great information. A great day was had.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Morgan i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This bike tour was the perfect way to see the unique neighborhoods and parts of the city we would have never exploded. Our tour guide Ben was fabulous and very interesting, knowledge, fun and willing to share all types of information about San Francisco past and future. We highly recommend this tour and Ben. The bike riding was easy enough for all of the different levels and ages of family members in our party. .

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Was able to see so much of the area.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

jewel f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour ! Highly recommend. The tour guide Altruro (sorry if spelt wrong) - He was great ! Very nice. It was a pleasant day. Went to two great vantage points to get good pics of the Golden Gate Bridge. The early morn access to Alcatraz was great..Was one of the first ppl up there :)

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Faye T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome...Julie was a wonderful tour guide! She made the day so fun and interesting..Would surely recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

sammy c

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

great time !!!

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Trina Tron USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Melanie was a great guide! This tour would have been 5 stars had I enjoyed actually being on a segway more than I did (maybe I'm just not coordinated enough) but the guide and company did as best they could to make me and the group feel comfortable and entertained on our tour. It was something I was always curious about trying so I'm glad that I did. Checked it off the bucket list!

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message