Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

A lot is said about San Francisco, both by visitors and locals alike. Foreigners often dub it "the most European" city in America. W.H. Taft called it "the city that knows how," and Rudyard Kipling was known to have said "San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2481 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we had a great time during the tour! using hop on hop off really maximizes our time.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Emanuele P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour of San Francisco... we did it with Uncle Adam and he was great very informative and he went out of his way to make everyone comfortable and to show us both side of San Francisco the tourist side and the side that he has come to love after being here for 10 years. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Heart of San Francisco Bike Tour

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall Excellent Trip. Tour Guide was friendly, professional and knew alot about the area. The lunch from Boudin Bakery was amazing too.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Qi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

excellent boat ride! I lived in the bay area for 3 years but this helps me discover the part of best experiences that I've not been to!

Doing what: San Francisco RocketBoat Ride

CLAIRE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great being able to be one of the first up to Alcatraz and get the audio tour early without all the crowds - really good trip. Tour guide on the city tour following was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and didn't rush at all, making sure we saw everything around San Francisco. Plus a decent lunch! Would recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

ocordinario

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

awesome experience. most of the drivers and guide were great. there were a couple of drivers that were impatient.....told riders to hurry up and can't even wait till all were in before moving the bus. Jim was exceptional and talks with all the riders and ask where they are from. very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mll43t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Ca Academy of Sciences is amazing. There is so much to see and do. We spent hours there and still didn't even come close to seeing everything. My only complaint about buying my ticket through this site is that you cannot skip the line. You still have to go to customer service or the ticket booth and get tickets. The staff member told us they have told Viator that many times and they still haven't changed it on the website.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Grant S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had so much fun on this tour. Katy our guide was very sweet and patient in the training process would love to go on another Segway tour and of course San Francisco is a beautiful city to see!

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Candace W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to see the city at your own pace. Night tour was the Best!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! All of the tour guides were excellent and helpful. Best way to see the city in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Artour was our amazing host. We really could feel how passionate he is about the tour he was providing. We learned a lot about the city in a short amount of time. He was also hilarious pretty much all day. We had so much fun and really got see more than we expected. This tour is a must book tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Shady Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic day, first boat to Alcatraz and some great inside information from our superb guide Arturo allowed us to be 4th in line for the tour. Lunch was great then the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was brilliant even with the cheesy music!!!! A must for anyone visiting SF.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth doing! Had a blast! Larry was great! So much fun!

Doing what: 3 Hour Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

Gregory R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I absolutely recommend this tour for anyone that will be in San Francisco for a couple days. We purchased the 48 hour tickets and did not regret any of it. The 48 hour ticket includes the evening tour and the Sausalito tour. We would bypass the Sausalito tour next time, but the night tour was fabulous. One note for anyone going....take WARM clothes because it gets cold on the top of that bus at night but there is no better way to see the sights and get some fabulous pictures! It's well worth every penny spent!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jean-Claude D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nous avons passé une excellente journée. Le tour de San Francisco en cable car nous a permis d'avoir un aperçu très complet de la ville. Nous sommes passé sur le Golden Gate et les arrêts photo nous ont permis de prendre de beaux clichés de chaque côté du pont. La visite d'Alcatraz est très intéressante. Dés la sortie du bateau commencer la visite et récupérer l'audio guide. Les commentaires en français sont très intéressants. Le chauffeur très sympathique a commenté la visite tout le long du trajet mais lorsqu'on ne maitrise pas bien la langue c'est parfois un peu difficile.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the tour with commentary.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Brown Ian Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative day.
Wonderful time at Alcatraz and then touring San Francisco on an old motorised trolley tram.
time also looking at Golden Gate Bridge close up.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I hope I spell her name correctly. Jamie and Betsy were AWESOME. I was worried my husband might be bored because of how long the tour was going to be however, we both had a great time. Jamie was very informative, helpful, enthusiastic, and accomodating. If anyone is considering this tour through Viator, you will not regret it. You get your money's worth and see a lot of San Francisco, besides Alcatraz, that you would normally not get to see on your own. We will be booking through Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

jacqueline_bradley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good value, particularly around transport options

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Hannah J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing we had a great day and the tour guide was excellent and really knowledgeable!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must have for traveling around the city. It gets you to all the sights.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the city pass is excellent value we used the public transport many times every day as well as the activities you could use it for

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

rhaas6530

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were the first to get on the Island as promised. It was not crowed and we could see everything. The tour guide was very informative and knew the city well. Great personality

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

alyvedzines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best way to see the city and all it has to offer...Gave us the flexibility to do what we wanted and go where we wanted and they were right there when we were ready to move on...this was the best idea ever..Will definitely use this service again in other cities where it is offered...

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message