A lot is said about San Francisco, both by visitors and locals alike. Foreigners often dub it "the most European" city in America. W.H. Taft called it "the city that knows how," and Rudyard Kipling was known to have said "San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1429 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Bill McFarland
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was very interesting. The tour driver did a good job explaining things along the route. The hour and a half at Alcatraz was a little short. Saw the entire prison building but missed a lot of other sites on island. Would still recommend the sightseeing tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

theblackcat
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our trip to the Academy of Sciences was AMAZING as usual! We have gone to this museum several times, but never get board of it, in fact ,we want to go again this spring since they will be opening a new exhibit about whales. If you have never been, you should go! Make sure to bring a packed lunch, there is a cafe in the museum, but they are a bit expensive. Take advantage of this deal, we saved about $15! :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Gave a good overview of San Francisco and good tips for enjoying the stay.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was amazing and I am so glad that we booked this tour. We was met on time and given a warm welcome by our guide who was so helpful and kind throughout the whole entire day. Alcatraz was brilliant and the tour was fantastic. There was a Boudin Bakery tour included which I didn't think was neccessary but the rest of the trip was amazing. Our tour guide took us around the whole city and across the golden gate bridge which we was not expecting. The only reason I give this tour 4 stars is that I though our time on Alcatraz was very restricted, although we got to see everything we didn't have any time spare, I think an extra hour to get back to the mainland would have been much better. I would 100% recommenrd this tour for anybody who wants to see Alcatraz and San Fran in a day! Thank you to our tour guide...he was brilliant!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

No problems checking in and obtaining our tickets. Very interesting facility.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The gentleman who ran this tour was extremely friendly, prompt, helpful and professional. As far as "early access" goes.. be prepared that you will be lining up with the hundreds of others waiting to go on to the ferry across to Alcatraz too (and we went in off season). You are basically dropped off at the wharf to get on the first ferry over to Alcatraz. Also, when you attend Boudin Bakery we were advised by the tour operator that if we made any purchases that we were entitled to a 10 percent merchant discount as you are on the cable car sightseeing tour and you have attended the upstairs museum at the bakery. This in fact is not true - as advised to me by the manager at checkout.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was good in terms of content but the time in Alcatraz is too short! We arrived there a little past 9am, listened to a welcome message that took a while, then walked up to collect the audio tour, almost 10am, told to be back on the ferry by 1045 for an 11 dep. not enough time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A nice way to see SF from a converted cable car. Breakfast is a candybar and a softdrink. Lunch is sandwich. The alcatraz visit needed another hour. Our guide, Jeff, amusing and cool!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message