Insider's Guide to San Francisco

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

A lot is said about San Francisco, both by visitors and locals alike. Foreigners often dub it "the most European" city in America. W.H. Taft called it "the city that knows how," and Rudyard Kipling was known to have said "San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved the Academy of Sciences in San Francisco! Great facility with so many cool exhibits.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

ctmechanical

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great especialy the agent or driver. Very funny , very helpfull and exceed expectation. This was the best tour of the whole vacation and she made the dfference.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Trevor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good trip, sandwich lunch
Good trip. not quite what I expected having to queue for the boat to Alcatraz. Alcatraz was wonderful. The guide our driver was excellent and went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable. Loved the visit to Fort Point lovely scenery and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jamie was a fantastic tour guide and took us to many places in the city we would not have seen without her. This was the perfect tour for our entire family. We highly recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your trip to get a good overview of the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Doreen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent buy. So handy to be able to take public transportation MUNI and streetcars for 7 days without having to figure out fares, etc. It rained most of the time we were in SF but we spent the rainiest days touring the Exploratorium the Thursday night Adult tour, the California Academy of Sciences give yourself an entire day and the Aquarium of the Bay. When the sun finally did peek through, we took advantage of the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay cruise. We never got to ride the iconic cable cars as line ups were way too long. Next time .....

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Evelyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great walking tour, covering the history of the area going back to the Gold Rush, with special emphasis on the Beat Generation. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Afterwards, I was able to take in the Beat Museum at my own pace. As a result of the tour, I'm now reading Kerouac's On the Road.

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the Alcatraz tour. Had a great time on the Segway Tour also.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an awesome tour.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jayashree P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! Our guide was superb and gave us a marvellous experience. We did this on our second day of a 5 day stay and he introduced us to the city in the best way possible. He took us to the best spots to get the most amazing photos of the Golden Gate Bridge and other landmarks. Arturo's love of the city, his knowledge and above all his superb people skills all combine to make this an extraordinary experience - don't miss it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

bskitchens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The best buy in town! We did things we wouldn't have done because it came with the trip and we loved it.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our Segway tour, I was a bit nervous but our guide Nic made the day fabulous.

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such an amazing fun experience whilst learning so much about San Francisco

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

barduhn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arturo was an amazing tour guide. Would definitely recommend this tour and would definitely take my visitors on it again. Thank you Arturo for being so friendly with my kids and I!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Collins D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Tour, Matthew was an excellent and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: San Francisco at Night: Segway Tour of North Beach, Chinatown and the Embarcadero

Lynda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arturo was our guy. Had lots of info to share. Enjoyed our trip to Alcatraz. Doing it first thing was the only way to see it. We had a perfect day for viewing the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

jeanne c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great deal to see a lot around the city for one price. It's great all your transportation included which is bonus

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Jonathan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chris was our guide and he was great. He was very knowledgable and friendly. The best part was we had some extra time and he let us go down Lombard St.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. The audio commentary was the best we have experienced.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lauren M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The loop was really scenic and it was a great way to see the city, but we were really disappointed that it was so hard to get on the night tour. The line was insanely long,

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vicki H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a great way to see all parts of the city. The day we went it was raining so we could not sit upstairs and did not get off to visit any of the sites. We just took the drive, stayed on the bus and got to see lots of interesting things. We would highly recommend this tour if you are in San Francisco.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message