San Francisco is a great city to see by foot. Ranked as the nation’s second most walkable city by an independent research group, San Francisco has plenty of neighborhoods that are safe, fun, and offer much to entice the average passer-by. The City ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Walking Tour of Chinatown exceeded my expectations. Our wonderful guide gave personal insight into the lives of Chinese immigrant in Chinatown. She was able to engage everyone in the group with ages ranging from elementary school kids to grandparents. I have been to China many times but I learned even more about the culture through this tour. My grandsons, husband and I would have missed so much if we tried to do this tour from a guide book. Don't miss this tour if you visit San Francisco

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I am so happy that I chose to go on the walking tour of Chinatown. My tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny and took me deeper into the life of Chinatown than I could have gone just exploring by myself. My favorite part was the Fortune Cooke Factory :) I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for a historical and interesting time!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was great! Linda, the tour guide actually grew up in Chinatown so the tour was very authentic. Linda was very entertaining and personable and knew everyone by name. The walking was easy, there was one point we had to walk up a steep flight of stairs. We had a bunch of older people with us and they made it just fine. There was an impromptu Lion Dance in one of the alleyways so we were able to stop and watch for a bit. It was nice that Linda was flexible this way and didn't stick to a strict regimen. There was just enough facts scattered throughout the tour to make in educational but Linda was so entertaining, it was never boring. We paid extra for the lunch at the end. It was very tasty but everyone gets only one serving of each. Luckily we had some people at our table who didn't eat everything, so we got a little more in the end, but we left wishing we could have eaten a little more. Still didn't deter from the 5 star rating! Definitely recommend to tourists and locals looking for something different to do in the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I recently moved to San Francisco and signed up for an Urban Hike to become better acquainted with my new hometown! On this hilly walk, I explored some of the city’s famous spots (like Coit Tower and Lombard Street), as well discover hidden gems (such as Jack Early Park and Macondrary Lane). Our tour guide, Alex, was really friendly and shared some engaging stories about the locations we visited. The hike isn’t too strenuous, you’ll definitely get a good calf workout. I’d suggest wearing comfortable walking shoes and bringing a bottle of water. Whether you’re a local or here on vacation, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Coit Tower, Lombard Street and North Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Had a great Walking tour, Tour Guide gave a lot of history and learned a lot about the Culture. Took the Lunch Option which was great, plenty of food

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I can't get over how much fun I had on this tour. I visit San Francisco about twice a year and love doing all the touristy stuff, but this tour was different, it made me feel like a total insider. The view from Twin Peaks was amazing, but my absolute favorite part was walking through the eucalyptus forest. I've already recommend this tour to friends and family and I extend the same recommendation to anyone considering to book this tour. A special thanks to our guide (sorry I forgot your name) for making this such a great experience!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Hills and Hidden Gems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We recently took the Little Italy walking tour and enjoyed it immensely. The food was excellent and the tour guide, Jim was very knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting or new to San Francisco.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Truly enjoyed our Chinatown walking tour! Our guide, Linda Lee was informative and humorous. Her stories were also heartwarming. I would recommend this tour to all my friends!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent walking tour. Linda Lee is fabulous. She shared stories from her childhood and was born and raised in Chinatown. I highly recommend this tour. We really enjoyed our lunch with Linda and other guests from the walking tour. Thank you Linda!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

2 hour walking tour around Chinatown. Tour guide was Linda Lee, who had a real passion for the area, the culture and for passing that information on to us, she was a great communicator. Our party visited a medicine store, food shop, fortune cookie factory and a temple, this gave us a flavour of life in Chinatown. Highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Excellent tour. One of the best I did whilst away. Guide is very knowledgeable of the area and history. She is funny, very personable. Very interested in her clients. Easy walking fun tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I definitely enjoyed this walking tour, and the guide was fantastic. She provided an educational and fun approach to venturing into Chinatown. I would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We booked this tour in August. All in all I think it is a very good deal. The walking tour was informative and the guide friendly. The tour lasted almost 3 hours. We purchased the Alcatraz option which is a must see. Truly a unique experience. Others who reviewed this tour mentioned the cable car tickets were only good on the date received. That was not the case for us. Our tickets were good anytime. One thing to note is that the cable cars are a tourist attraction so the lines at the beginning/end of the routes are very long (hour plus) and the cars are packed so you may wait a long time at a mid-point stop for a car with open spots. I would suggest taking the car after 7pm when the lines die down. Also the tickets are for a one way trip with no transfers so pay attention to where you get on or you might get a very short ride.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We missed our walking tour but did th cable car ride which my grandchildren totally enjoyed.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was lots of fun! Our Hostess was VERY sweet, knowledgable, friendly and a marvelous story teller. Walking through all the back alleys and hearing the history and the stories about specific buildings was fun. The stories of 'unusual happenings' were so interesting! Chinatown came to life for our group of four. We live in the Bay Area - and we will be back again!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message