In a city that’s only seven miles by seven miles, finding the best San Francisco neighborhood isn’t as tough as you might think. Whether you’re fresh out of college and looking to party, or are happier walking the streets window-shopping, San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome. A real amazing tour of history and information. Kathy has a wealth of knowledge and a lovely personality. We could have listened to her all day long. The tour really gave an insight into the Harvey Milk story and the history of the Castro. Prob the best your we experienced on our trip

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour with even better guides!! I am a native San Franciscan and I've always been so scared to ride a bike through San Francisco, but Ari and Gabe made me feel very safe. I couldn't believe myself riding down Market street, not at all nervous. We made a couple stops, learning about the neighborhoods and cool architecture throughout the city. I had no idea Mission Dolores was the oldest building in San Francisco! Besides the informative bike tour around the city, we stopped at really cool breweries that were surprisingly new to me - my favorite was Cervecería de MateVeza, a really small microbrewery in between Dolores Park and the Castro. They had a delicious variety of house brewed beers and savory empanadas. I was in heaven! If you have the chance, DO go on this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such a fun outing! I'm local, but I have never biked in San Francisco and this was a great way to do it. Ari and Gabe, our guides, did a great job navigating us along busy streets and made me feel safe about biking in busier areas like SoMa and the Mission. We started at 21st Amendment and they treated us to beer there, and then we traveled along a flat route to the Mission. Between stops, we got to check out all the incredible murals in Clarion Alley, and I even learned some fun facts that I didn't already know about the Mission Dolores and Dolores Park. My favorite stop was at a bar on the edge of Dolores Park, technically in the Castro, where I had an amazing locally made empanada and Yerba Mate–infused IPA. So good! I definitely recommend this tour for adventurous beer lovers who feel comfortable riding city streets.

Doing what: Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is excellent - Kathy our tour guide was both friendly and welcoming and made the your of The Castro something special. The history of the area is fascinating and a great way to spend 2/3 hours. Highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very interesting and Kathy is a very awesome and authentic person. We would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in the political and social history of "The Castro".

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had visited the Castro previously and just knew I was missing something. This tour highlighted all of the things that I missed that first time. We learned so much about the Castro culture and history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to San Francisco. Kathy was very knowledgeable and entertaining! You will receive a first hand account from someone who has been truly involved in the Castro culture. I would recommend the tour to anyone gay, straight or otherwise as it will really open your eyes to the drive for equality in America and the history of San Fran. Thanks again Kathy!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Cathy was so great. First, everyone could 'hear' her. Sometimes tour guides are not cognizant of that little detail. Cathy brought to light much of Castro history I was never aware of (as a Floridian) and even gave details she knew of it's future, the street project in progress, along with the plaques to be imbedded. The Harvey Milk history Cathy provided enhanced, for me, what I had seen in the movie 'Milk'. Now I want to see it again having my knew found knowledge. The elementary school mosaics and their representation of equality - hope for a more tolerant upcoming generation - was not only inspiring -- I would have not known they even existed had Cathy's tour not led us down the street they were on. On and on, there's so much to mention. The tour is a 'must do' for the open-minded visiting SF. Bill and Ramon

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kathy leads an informative, even emotionally moving, tour of the Castro district. Her tales, the memorials and sites tell an uplifting story of historical tragedy, courage, dedication and accomplishment in America's humanity.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Kathy is very knowledgeable about the Castro area but more importantly, she is warm and friendly. She made the tour educational and very enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Kathy was exceptionally personable and fun to walk around with. This tour should not be considered only for LGBT participants, everybody can learn a lot from Kathy and her outstanding knowledge of the area and her unique perspective of the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Paul J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Kathy was a terrific guide. The history and local knowledge Kathy shared was very informative. I felt I went away 'feeling' the history in the Castro, not only being educated upon it. This tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent. Learned a lot about the Castro District I had no knowledge of. The guide was superb and very insightful about murals, parks, hand most important, the history of the movement since its earliest days.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Groovy. What a fun way to visit (or revisit) the 60's era in San Francisco! The tour was very informative and entertaining, never a dull moment. The guide was a treat, who gave us treats! The bus was magical!

The 60's was a unique time in our national history and so much of the social activity at that time took place in San Francisco. Riding the Magic Bus through Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park wearing a flower in my hair and listening to Janis Joplin made my SF visit complete. Just ride the Magic Bus! It's a trip, man.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This tour was awesome, Cathy knows the Castro area so well, and the tour was informative and very moving. I would recommend every gay person visiting San Francisco to take the tour. If you are straight you will get a lot from it also
Thank you Cathy
One of the highlights of the week.
Graham and John,

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was a wonderful tour! Kathy, the tour guide,
was simply delightful. She is very knowledgeable about the history of the Castro and it was interesting to learn all about this neighborhood. If you are interested in learning about LGBTQ history, struggles, and successes, as well as getting a feel for the Castro neighborhood, this is the perfect tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We absolutely loved this tour. Kathy was an amazing guide and she taught us so much about Castro. We are so glad we decided to do this tour because we learned things we would have never known had we just gone and visiting the Castro on our own. We also appreciated Kathy paying for us to go into a museum at the end of the tour. This tour ended up being one of our favorite parts of our San Francisco trip!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was very insightful, I learned a lot and I loved the fact that we got to walk around Castro. The tour guide was lovely also :

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very informative. Kathy was was a great ambassador or SF and the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was great, but I think if they stopped at Haight - Ashbury and let people check out some of the stores and the area say for 30 to 45 minutes it would be even better!

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Gaya our tour guide was fantastic. So full of energy. I loved the tour. I wish they had gone a little slower or even stopped in the Haight Ashbury area as the history their was very good and it seemed like it went a little fast through there. This tour would've been five stars if there had been more people on board. Overall, we really loved it and would recommend it for anyone interested in the history of the 60s.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The pick up location is vague. Given an address but no actual storefront or kiosk. The pick up location is on the street where other tour buses pick up and drop off. The other companies had representatives waiting at the curb. Our Magic Bus was running late, kind of had to guess where to be for pickup. Could have had a rep with Magic Bus there to guide people instead of wondering what is going on. Once we got on the bus it was a fun ride. One stop was made at the conservatory. Would have been nice for the bus to stop at Haight Ashbury and check out a few shops and look around. Guide and driver were lots of fun. Overall I would recommend this tour but could use a few improvements.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Really informative tour. Nice to visit Castro as well and get informed.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

This was cheesy....did not enjoy. Thought we would at least stop in Haight/Ashbury - did not.
There were only7 people on the bus and I can see why.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message