In a city that’s only seven miles by seven miles, finding the best San Francisco neighborhood isn’t as tough as you might think. Whether you’re fresh out of college and looking to party, or are happier walking the streets window-shopping, San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is excellent - Kathy our tour guide was both friendly and welcoming and made the your of The Castro something special. The history of the area is fascinating and a great way to spend 2/3 hours. Highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very interesting and Kathy is a very awesome and authentic person. We would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in the political and social history of "The Castro".

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A GREAT way to see the sights of San Francisco. I only wished they would have had a stop at Castro Street.

The guides are very knowledgeable and the buses do run on time. Be sure to make note where they drop you off since that is the pick up point as well.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

HOHO is an excellent way to visit ANY city for the first time. They have changed the tour in recent years. It used to take you through the beautiful park with the "postcard" houses. Now they take you through other areas, returning through the Tenderloin area, you would never visit. If it is your first time in San Francisco, do take this tour. Remember to take a jacket and a scarf to hold down your hair while crossing the bridge. It is very windy ANY time of the year. The extra trip to Sausalito is worth it. It is included if you take the tour for two days. Go over around 10:30 and stay for lunch. A nice little town. Hope this helps.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had visited the Castro previously and just knew I was missing something. This tour highlighted all of the things that I missed that first time. We learned so much about the Castro culture and history.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to San Francisco. Kathy was very knowledgeable and entertaining! You will receive a first hand account from someone who has been truly involved in the Castro culture. I would recommend the tour to anyone gay, straight or otherwise as it will really open your eyes to the drive for equality in America and the history of San Fran. Thanks again Kathy!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Cathy was so great. First, everyone could 'hear' her. Sometimes tour guides are not cognizant of that little detail. Cathy brought to light much of Castro history I was never aware of (as a Floridian) and even gave details she knew of it's future, the street project in progress, along with the plaques to be imbedded. The Harvey Milk history Cathy provided enhanced, for me, what I had seen in the movie 'Milk'. Now I want to see it again having my knew found knowledge. The elementary school mosaics and their representation of equality - hope for a more tolerant upcoming generation - was not only inspiring -- I would have not known they even existed had Cathy's tour not led us down the street they were on. On and on, there's so much to mention. The tour is a 'must do' for the open-minded visiting SF. Bill and Ramon

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an incredible experience. We knew a lot of interesting sites as The Golden Gate, The Fisherman's Wharf, The Embarcadero, Pier 36, Chinatown etc. The pick-up station was in Union Square, 2 blocks from our Hotel. Very good for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kathy leads an informative, even emotionally moving, tour of the Castro district. Her tales, the memorials and sites tell an uplifting story of historical tragedy, courage, dedication and accomplishment in America's humanity.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WE WERE SURE THAT THE ALCATRAZ TOUR WAS THE BEST . THEN THE CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF SCIENCES.. BUT NO WAIT! THE BEST TOUR IN SAN FRANCISCO BY F A R IS THE HOP OFF HOP ON BUS TOUR! OH YEAH! MY DAUGHTER, GRANDSON 7, AND GRANDDAUGHTER 11, AND MYSELF WENT ON THIS TOUR, NOT ONCE, NOPE,, TWICE! AND IT WAS AMAZING.YOU GET TO GO TO EVERY AREA IN THIS CITY AND NOT HAVE TO DRIVE OR GET LOST AND THE GUIDE WAS SO FUNNY HE HAD US IN STITCHES THE ENTIRE TIME. AND THE HISTORY YOU LEARN IS WONDERFUL. . WE VISIT THIS WONDROUS CITY ONCE A YEAR, AND DIDN'T EVEN KNOW HALF OF THESE AREAS EXISTED. WE WILL NEVER FORGET THE WALK ACROSS THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE. IT WAS INCREDIBLE AND THE HOP OFF HOP ON LETS YOU OFF RIGHT AT THE ENTRANCE, PICKS YOU UP IN HALF AN HOUR. WE GOT TO SHOP IN HAIGHT ASHBURY, EAT IN CHINATOWN, RUN AROUND GOLDEN GATE PARK, AND SEE THE CITY FROM AN ANGLE THAT WE HAVE NEVER WITNESSED BEFORE. SO WORTH THE MONTY. WE WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THIS EVERY SINGLE YEAR FROM NOW ON,, NO NOT ONCE ,, PROBABLY THREE TIMES! WENDY FLIPPO, CRYSTAL ROBERTS, GREGORY ROBERTS AND JORDAN ROBERTS IN RENO, NEVADA

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WE WERE SURE THAT THE ALCATRAZ TOUR WAS THE BEST . THEN THE CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF SCIENCES.. BUT NO WAIT! THE BEST TOUR IN SAN FRANCISCO BY F A R IS THE HOP OFF HOP ON BUS TOUR! OH YEAH! MY DAUGHTER, GRANDSON 7, AND GRANDDAUGHTER 11, AND MYSELF WENT ON THIS TOUR, NOT ONCE, NOPE,, TWICE! AND IT WAS AMAZING.YOU GET TO GO TO EVERY AREA IN THIS CITY AND NOT HAVE TO DRIVE OR GET LOST AND THE GUIDE WAS SO FUNNY HE HAD US IN STITCHES THE ENTIRE TIME. AND THE HISTORY YOU LEARN IS WONDERFUL. . WE VISIT THIS WONDROUS CITY ONCE A YEAR, AND DIDN'T EVEN KNOW HALF OF THESE AREAS EXISTED. WE WILL NEVER FORGET THE WALK ACROSS THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE. IT WAS INCREDIBLE AND THE HOP OFF HOP ON LETS YOU OFF RIGHT AT THE ENTRANCE, PICKS YOU UP IN HALF AN HOUR. WE GOT TO SHOP IN HAIGHT ASHBURY, EAT IN CHINATOWN, RUN AROUND GOLDEN GATE PARK, AND SEE THE CITY FROM AN ANGLE THAT WE HAVE NEVER WITNESSED BEFORE. SO WORTH THE MONTY. WE WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THIS EVERY SINGLE YEAR FROM NOW ON,, NO NOT ONCE ,, PROBABLY THREE TIMES! WENDY FLIPPO, CRYSTAL ROBERTS, GREGORY ROBERTS AND JORDAN ROBERTS IN RENO, NEVADA

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Finding the pickup spot was a bit tricky, even though it is close to Fisherman's Wharf ( couple blocks ). Once on the tour, we got Willie as our driver/guide. He was so much fun to listen to- nothing pre recorded or boring on this tour. Definitely a great way to see the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of San Francisco including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. Our tour guide Willie was the highlight though, informative and very funny. We got off at Fisherman's Wharf and were lucky enough to pick him up again in Haight Ashbury. Fantastic way to get an orientation of SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Kathy is very knowledgeable about the Castro area but more importantly, she is warm and friendly. She made the tour educational and very enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Kathy was exceptionally personable and fun to walk around with. This tour should not be considered only for LGBT participants, everybody can learn a lot from Kathy and her outstanding knowledge of the area and her unique perspective of the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message