• USD ($)
  • English
In a city that’s only seven miles by seven miles, finding the best San Francisco neighborhood isn’t as tough as you might think. Whether you’re fresh out of college and looking to party, or are happier walking the streets window-shopping, San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Finding the pickup spot was a bit tricky, even though it is close to Fisherman's Wharf ( couple blocks ). Once on the tour, we got Willie as our driver/guide. He was so much fun to listen to- nothing pre recorded or boring on this tour. Definitely a great way to see the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of San Francisco including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. Our tour guide Willie was the highlight though, informative and very funny. We got off at Fisherman's Wharf and were lucky enough to pick him up again in Haight Ashbury. Fantastic way to get an orientation of SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Kathy is very knowledgeable about the Castro area but more importantly, she is warm and friendly. She made the tour educational and very enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Kathy was exceptionally personable and fun to walk around with. This tour should not be considered only for LGBT participants, everybody can learn a lot from Kathy and her outstanding knowledge of the area and her unique perspective of the Castro.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Paul J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Kathy was a terrific guide. The history and local knowledge Kathy shared was very informative. I felt I went away 'feeling' the history in the Castro, not only being educated upon it. This tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great way to get around the City. We loved San Franciso, so if going there definatley get the HOHO. We stayed at Fisherman's wharf so HOHO was only a block away. Very convenient.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour guide Luca was amazing. He was very funny and super entertaining. I could not have asked for more on a tour. I saw most of the city and just stayed on the bus until North Beach where I hopped off to eat lunch at an Italian Cafe.

Some of the stops include The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge Park, Alamo Square, Haight Ashbury, and Union Square. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Interesting facts and story shared by tour guides. Their office proximity to Fisherman's wharf is an added bonus. Polite tour guides.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was my first time to SF and one of the most enjoyable, entertaining and memorable experince I had was being entertained by the loud, comical, trade mark laugh of Willie our tour guide. Truth is, that i jumped off bus, after being picked up in Union Square, at Fisherman's Wharf to do some exploring and shopping and hours later waited for another blue bus. Little did i know that it is not the color of the bus that makes the tour but the DRIVER/GUIDE!!! i got on another blue bus and got right back off at the Golden Gate bridge (cold, foggy and didn't want to stop) because i was determined to wait it out and get back on Willie's bus...wasn't sure about timing and where he was but sure enough about 30 min later another bus came and it was him...i told him about my decision to hop off and wait for the "funner" bus and he was tickled. THANKS WILLIE FOR A WONDERFUL TOUR OF A BEAUTIFUL CITY...hahahaha...hahahahaha

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent. Learned a lot about the Castro District I had no knowledge of. The guide was superb and very insightful about murals, parks, hand most important, the history of the movement since its earliest days.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Groovy. What a fun way to visit (or revisit) the 60's era in San Francisco! The tour was very informative and entertaining, never a dull moment. The guide was a treat, who gave us treats! The bus was magical!

The 60's was a unique time in our national history and so much of the social activity at that time took place in San Francisco. Riding the Magic Bus through Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park wearing a flower in my hair and listening to Janis Joplin made my SF visit complete. Just ride the Magic Bus! It's a trip, man.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This tour was awesome, Cathy knows the Castro area so well, and the tour was informative and very moving. I would recommend every gay person visiting San Francisco to take the tour. If you are straight you will get a lot from it also
Thank you Cathy
One of the highlights of the week.
Graham and John,

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was a wonderful tour! Kathy, the tour guide,
was simply delightful. She is very knowledgeable about the history of the Castro and it was interesting to learn all about this neighborhood. If you are interested in learning about LGBTQ history, struggles, and successes, as well as getting a feel for the Castro neighborhood, this is the perfect tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great service, remember to validate your viator voucher at the super sightseeing HQ on Taylor and North Point @ Fishermans Wharf before boarding a bus. The blue service is not as regular as the red buses, but we didn't find this a problem. We did feel the bus should make a stop at Alamo Square and the Painted Ladies as it is on the route and is a popular destination for tourists. I have to make a special mention to one of our tour guides and driver Willie. He was full of information, good humour and songs and even took us on a 'rollercoaster trip' through the Haight. He really made an impression on our holiday!! All in all this is an excellent way to get a feel for the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message