• USD ($)
  • English
Perhaps you’ve heard, but San Francisco doesn’t have the most appealing summer months. There’s a Mark Twain quote of dubious authority, there’s the scientific explanation involving terms like ‘marine layer,’ but the simple truth of the matter is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Another excellent tour, we saw a lot of the city in a quite small time frame. The driver was excellent and gave a good informative commentary on all the various sights and the staff at the tour operators offices were very helpful. The trip across to Alcatraz and round the Island was also very enjoyable. I think on your San Francisco tours site you should advise people that the weather, even during the summer, can be foggy with rather a fresh breeze. It was like this on our tour and even though the sun came out , the Alcatraz trip still proved rather chilly and warmer jacket would have been useful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent with very caring crew unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate was a little chilly and windy cold and rainy. A typical San Francisco summer day

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was so much fun! My wife, son and I took this tour for my wife's b-day. First of all, the tour lasts for a couple of hours so you really get your money's worth. At first, it's hard to listen to the guide because the Segways are so much fun but after about 15 minutes you really have the hang of it and you can also experience the tour as well as play on the Segway. Each unit has a remote ear piece so you can easily hear the tour guide. You get to see a lot of GG Park and even "off-road" a bit. I actually learned a lot of interesting facts about the park that I didn't know and I'm from the area. The Segways are a blast and you get plenty of time to ride, sometimes even at full speed, with no worries. But...it's gets cold in San francisco! Take a coat. I highly recommend this trip and plan on taking the Chinatown Night-time tour this summer.

Doing what: Golden Gate Park Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide “Tree-Flower” welcomed us with a flower for our hair, and remained in character as a time-travelling hippie for the entire tour. Great acting job! The tour was both entertaining and educational. It not only covered Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, but the broader background of the hippie movement in San Francisco and its context in history.

Doing what: Ride the Magic Bus: A 1960s-Era San Francisco Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I must admit I was a little disappointed to be backed into the corner on this one...I did not realize Alcatraz sold out in the summer and the only way to get a ticket was to purchase this type of package, which was a substantial amount of money. Having said that - this is The only way to see San Francisco for the first time!! It literally covers everything...and the tour guides are incredibly knowledgeable, charismatic, entertaining and fun to be around! It really was an awesome experience...thank you!

Doing what: San Francisco Land, Sea, Air and Alcatraz Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A truly fantastic tour, we enjoyed every minute of it. For me the seaplane was the highlight as I'm a bit of an aviation nut but the rest of it was brilliant as well. We especially enjoyed the Urban Safari in the 'giant zebra' truck - the driver and guide were exceptional hosts and full of interesting information, stories and anecdotes. My only advice for anybody (like us) visiting San Francisco for the first time is that in Summer it isn't going to be warm. Crazy as it sounds, you definitely need a jacket to keep off the chill of the sea fog. Luckily, if you've left home without one, every shop and street vendor seems to sell them and they aren't that expensive. Better still, even if you haven't bought your own, Urban Safari provide jackets and blankets for everybody on the open-air truck. I know it's quite an expensive tour but, as an all round package, I think it was great value and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone. 100% satisfied customer!

Doing what: San Francisco Land, Sea, Air and Alcatraz Adventure

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Everything we expected. Absolutely fabulous going under the Golden Gate Bridge on a beautiful summer day in San Francisco. A fabulous event to commemorate our first wedding anniversary. Everyone from our shuttle bus drivers to our helicopter pilot was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We definitely will do it again. Thanks!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had our first annual family girls trip to San Francisco this summer. There were three generations of women ranging in age from 18 to 67. Everyone of us absolutely loved the experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a very long, but interesting day. Our guide, Andy, was a fantastic source of history and information, and his genuine love for this area was infectious. Our snapshot of Yosemite, and the drive out of San Francisco gave us a teaser of that part of the world, but travelling in early May, I would have expected fewer people. Can only imagine what it gets like during summer.

Doing what: Yosemite National Park and Giant Sequoias Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The trip to Alcatraz was great. The Hop on-Hop Off was a good way to get around. However, the wait time was 30 minutes which seemed longer than most other similar tour organizers. (15-20 min). Two times we could not get on one of the buses as they did not have enough room. I can't imagine what it would be like in the summer. The guides had a fair amount of information to share to make it interesting. However, SF is compact enough for the three of us to have taken taxis perhaps more economically. San Francisco is a great place to visit and using this tour helped to orient us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

San Francisco was freezing and foggy :(even in the middle of summer) and we were shivering through the entire tour (bring warm clothes people!!). The "Escape from the Rock" tour was a let down because it's a boat cruise close to and away from Alcatraz (beware of this tour if you wish to visit the island).

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

What must be said about this particular trip is DO NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE. The success of this trip is purely dependent on the weather in San Francisco on the day as the city is prone to fog, low cloud and mist which particularly during the summer months masks any sign of the sun. Our trip proved a total washout as we saw no sign on the sun or sunset whatsoever. The buffet on board was plentiful and we remained inside the vessel and were entertained by a solo musician.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

We didn't go on the cruise as planned. We had the tickets and waited and waited and waited in the line in the freezing cold (we were rugged up but still really cold). Took any enthusiasm away - would have helped if they'd boarded us early - so we left and passed on our tickets to a young couple for them to enjoy instead. The cruise would be great to do at a different time of year when the weather is warmer and San Francisco isn't suffering from its summer fog.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message