• USD ($)
  • English
So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1283 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Mid week no line ups. If you call ahead to confirm you can get in right away. Fun ride. Wouldn't pick up down town. Warf is easier driving. Wish we would have stopped more.
Better than a bus tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Alcatraz was the highlight if my trip, made even more special meeting the last survivor ing prisoner who served time there. Could not fault the evening cruise under Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Bridge. Had a singer to entertain on top deck and a very lovely spread laid out, with lots left. WONDERFUL!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I wish I would have known I had to go to the tour company office to get a ticket for Alcatraz prior to be dropped off at Alcatraz and standing in line at the ticket office. It was a huge inconvenience and messed up my entire day.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Booked this experience on line months before our trip. The hop-on-hop-off service was very good especially as we were staying at fishermans wharf. The Alcatraz tour was everything we hoped it would be plus more.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Was great !!! Easy very friendly staff I definitely recommend !!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a wonderful day. We had a superb guide, all was so well organised.
So glad we booked this with you.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The driver was very knowledgable and entertaining. Alcatraz was a must see.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was fantastic, our driver Arran on the coach tour was brilliant, he was so knowledgeable about San Francisco and Alcatraz was a must to see.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We booked this tour for the next day after our arrival and it being an afternoon/evening tour this was good so that we knew where we were going. The Alcatraz visit was fascinating and gave plenty of time to take the audio tour and look around afterwards at your leisure. The second part of the tour meant getting to a different wharf to catch the bay cruise but there was plenty of time to get there after the boat from Alcatraz had docked (your return time is open but departure time specific so be careful you don't overstay!). The cruise out under the golden gate and back around Alcatraz down to AT and T park (home of the San Francisco Giants Baseball team for non-Americans or lovers of the game) was great and the food of decent quality and plentiful. The musician on board was entertaining depending on your musical preferences but not to everyone's taste. We returned to the pier with the boat travelling directly into the sun setting behind the Golden Gate Bridge and it luckily being a crystal clear day the images were magnificent. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was well worth the money. The 3.5 hour coach tour was very enjoyable and seemed to fly by. We stopped at landmark locations and had plenty of time for photos. The driver of the coach was very informative and gave us useful information. The trip to Alcatraz was great too.....the ferry there and back was very punctual and the audio tour was good. This is the 2nd trip I have booked through Viator and I wouldn't hesitate to book with them again. Very happy customer :-)

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was great! Knew the history very well and was very friendly.
Made you feel at home away from home.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour they take you to so many great places to see I got some terrific photos, would recommend this tour

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Good well worth the visit . Make shure to book in advance...

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We did this tour on our first visit to San Francisco and it was amazing! Went to all the major sites and our tour guide Wolfgang was extremely knowledgable! The Alcatraz tour was also amazing! I would highly recommend this tour to everyone, excellent day out! Will definitely be returning to San Francisco!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message