So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2548 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

paulaallinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed every part of this excursion. Got a good insight of San Francisco saw very interesting places plus some off the beaten track. Arturo was an excellent guide and made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved it! Had a blast
The sunset cruise was especially great. The captain actually kept us out a bit longer so we could take advantage of the fireworks show that was not even supposed to be part of our tour. Gave us spectacular front row seats!

Loved it and so did all of our family

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Phillip P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very knowledgable driver who was the tour guide too. Good sense of humour. Plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the trolly tour by wheels and our guide was awesome. Definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Stephen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our drivers name was Denon? with the local tour operator! Out standing..............here deserves a raise! Very professional and knowledgeable.............made us feel we were at home!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Jan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day, great drivers, will recommend viator to friends.thank you.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Georgia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

City tour was fantastic. driver stopped at excellent photo opportunities.
Alcatraz was excellent too. fantastic audio tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Randy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect way to spend the day!!! On Alcatraz, Id recommend doing the audio tour first, then take your time enjoying the rest of the sites on the island. You wont be disappointed, Alcatraz is a must and you will have plenty of time to see it all. After visiting Alcatraz, we had plenty of time to explore the wharf area between piers 33 and 43.5. The cruise was wonderful. Our guide also provided the music as entertainment. He was both talented and knowledgeable. You will find an abundant assortment of food on the sunset cruise, so be hungry. The sites were too many to describe. A very special treat for us was seeing a whale under the GG Bridge. Yes, a whale. Highly recommend this tour combination.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

wendy.mathiot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the best trips ever

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Catherine J F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Arturo was awesome! So great to have a native San Franciscan who loves his city to tour us around! Highly recommend this tour!
Jill and Emily from Chicago

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Ciara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing from start to finish. It is definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Jamie was excellent, so friendly and knowledgeable about all the points of interest as we traveled around. I cannot recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Bernard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with first class informative staff to make the tour much more enjoyable. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Linda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our driver Jamie made us feel so welcome and was so cheerful and informative I can honestly say it was the best tour that I have ever been on.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Robbo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This whole day tour was a great introduction to San Francisco. The morning tour gave a superb oversight of the city and then the Alcatraz tour in the afternoon was excellent and thoroughly recommended. The audio tour gives a real insight into what it must have been like as a working prison.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

MR M E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

very happy with the tour well organised amazing experience thanktou

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

wow, one of the best tours we have ever been on. The headphones were a huge improvement over a guide, and directing you to the specific areas a plus. That and hearing the comments from actual guards and inmates. One that we will truly remember!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

mary c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thank you so much to Arturo for this fabulous trip. We saw parts of San Fransciso that we would not have visited otherwise, with plenty time for pictures and great commentary and history along the way. The Boudin bakery lunch was delicious and the tips for Alcatraz really made the experinece. Thank you Arturo. A must do for those with limited time in the city. What a day!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Julielaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thanks Joe for one of the most memorable trips we have ever been on. You made the trip an interesting and fun filled adventure. Your knowledge of the area was outstanding. I recommend anyone who wants to know about San Fransisco to take the time to experience this tour.
Alcatraz was a fascinating adventure into to world of gangsters and the infamous prison on the island. The video tour was a great way to hear the voices of the prison guards and former prisoners. A must see.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent not to be missed

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Gail M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Altruro was such a great guide. He showed us so many interesting parts of SF that after the tour we went to. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were more than satisfied with the tour and would highly recommend it . San Francisco and Alcatraz were so much easier doing it this way. We had a great time.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

jim.favara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was well worth the money. Our tour started out with a ride on an Cable car bus. Arturo our driver was a local guy, very knowledgeable, with a great sense of humor. The bus tour of the city was great because this was our 2nd day there and it gave us a great overview of all the different districts of the city. The VIP access of Alcatraz was also nice because we were the first group on the island thus we did not get stuck in a lot of the traffic. Great tour and a must do. I would recommend this for anyone who is new to the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Don E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was well worth the money! We had such a great day with both the Alcatraz Tour and the Twilight Bay Cruise!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Joseph V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Joe our tour guide was awesome. Enjoyed this tour very much and very informative. Great way to see the city

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message