So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2601 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

leneely0205

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome!!!! A must do if you are adventurous and want a guided tour for two!! So much better than big tours with lots of people! It's just you, your bestie, your go car, wind blowing thru your hair fun and exciting tour of San Fran top spots.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

Charalampos V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bus tour was very good and the bus driver was really cool. The boat ride around alcatraz and golden gate was nice too but it is very cold out in the bay so dress up warm.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Overall Excellent Trip. Tour Guide was friendly, professional and knew alot about the area. The lunch from Boudin Bakery was amazing too.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

CLAIRE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great being able to be one of the first up to Alcatraz and get the audio tour early without all the crowds - really good trip. Tour guide on the city tour following was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and didn't rush at all, making sure we saw everything around San Francisco. Plus a decent lunch! Would recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Arthur G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver was super. He was knowledgeable and friendly and was obviously proud of his city. We particularly enjoyed our visit to Alcatraz - it was fascinating and very well presented and explained everything you'd ever want to know about the prison. All in all an extremely valuable introduction to San Fransisco. Well organised.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an amazing day the city tour guide Adolfo was just brilliant lots of information but also very entertaining would recommend to anyone

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and enjoyable!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

sharath k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good trip ! Gives u lots of time, the cruise was also good.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Artour was our amazing host. We really could feel how passionate he is about the tour he was providing. We learned a lot about the city in a short amount of time. He was also hilarious pretty much all day. We had so much fun and really got see more than we expected. This tour is a must book tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Shady Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic day, first boat to Alcatraz and some great inside information from our superb guide Arturo allowed us to be 4th in line for the tour. Lunch was great then the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was brilliant even with the cheesy music!!!! A must for anyone visiting SF.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great trip from start to finish, great for familiarising oneself with the city, picture opportunities at the golden gate bridge and then a fantastic audio tour of Alcatraz, thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Jean-Claude D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nous avons passé une excellente journée. Le tour de San Francisco en cable car nous a permis d'avoir un aperçu très complet de la ville. Nous sommes passé sur le Golden Gate et les arrêts photo nous ont permis de prendre de beaux clichés de chaque côté du pont. La visite d'Alcatraz est très intéressante. Dés la sortie du bateau commencer la visite et récupérer l'audio guide. Les commentaires en français sont très intéressants. Le chauffeur très sympathique a commenté la visite tout le long du trajet mais lorsqu'on ne maitrise pas bien la langue c'est parfois un peu difficile.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz tour was ok
I was very impressed with our sunset cruise however I would recommend to a friend.
I may even book another one in the future

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Brown Ian Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative day.
Wonderful time at Alcatraz and then touring San Francisco on an old motorised trolley tram.
time also looking at Golden Gate Bridge close up.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I hope I spell her name correctly. Jamie and Betsy were AWESOME. I was worried my husband might be bored because of how long the tour was going to be however, we both had a great time. Jamie was very informative, helpful, enthusiastic, and accomodating. If anyone is considering this tour through Viator, you will not regret it. You get your money's worth and see a lot of San Francisco, besides Alcatraz, that you would normally not get to see on your own. We will be booking through Viator again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day in San Fran!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz is a must see for all SF visitors. Be sure to book months early to get a tour. The Sunset Cruise is a great evening ending activity for a view of the bay area as it lights up. Very relaxing! The appetizer buffet is delicious and a great presentation by the crew. Also you can meet lots of new people to visit with and find out about them.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

rhaas6530

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were the first to get on the Island as promised. It was not crowed and we could see everything. The tour guide was very informative and knew the city well. Great personality

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

shnshajdv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WONDERFUL TOUR! THIS IS A TOUR THAT EVERYONE VISITING SF SHOULD TAKE. IT WAS A PLEASURE USING THE EAR PHONES AND THE SPEAKER INDICATING YOUR STEPS TO TAKE.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both Alcatraz and Muir Woods were wonderful....however we did not have enough time to do both of these properly......next time I will book them individually but we did not have enough days to do that.
Sausalito was gorgeous also....I want to go there as soon as possible and spend more time.
We were forgotten at the pick up point and had to call several time to get picked up, otherwise it was very enjoyable. A little un-organized but we sure took in lots of information.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

lvjoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour. Highly recommend the early access. Well worth it! Beat all the crowds.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

SIGMUND A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great Tour to take!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful, I highly recommend it! Jamie was awesome.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message