So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1820 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill McFarland
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was very interesting. The tour driver did a good job explaining things along the route. The hour and a half at Alcatraz was a little short. Saw the entire prison building but missed a lot of other sites on island. Would still recommend the sightseeing tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Loved driving through the different neighbourhoods of San Francisco and soaking up all the history! Land's end history is really cool and so is the history of the Golden Gate Park!

Alcatraz was spooky and erie at night - would totally recommend it!

Doing what: Alcatraz at Night and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Loved driving through the different neighbourhoods of San Francisco and soaking up all the history! Land's end history is really cool and so is the history of the Golden Gate Park!

Alcatraz was spooky and erie at night - would totally recommend it!

Doing what: Alcatraz at Night and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Trip was incredible, I would highly reccommend those who intend to take this. The Tour Staff were incredible

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. I didn't have to drive around and find parking. We were the first one on Alcatraz Island as well. Our tour guide did a great job and was very friendly.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was definitely worth it! Our guide Arturo was informative, co-operative and had a vast knowledge of San Francisco. Very accommodating. So nice to tour around on the motorized cable car! Great trip across the Golden Gate Bridge and underneath it for a spectacular view. Trip to Alcatraz was good although alittle more time to explore there would have been nice. Lunch at the Boudin bakery was fabulous and we got to see a lot of places we weren't expecting! We were picked up on time, Arturo was amazing at making sure we got some great photos!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Bus Driver/Guide was outstanding............been on many tours all over the world but this guy was the best......Troy...was his name..........

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour that did not disappoint Trip to the Muir Woods was outstanding! Love the redwoods and could have stayed much longer. Sausalito was nice, but did not have much time to enjoy as we only had time to eat lunch before having to move on. Alcatraz tour was great, but you need to allow at least 2 hours to view the entire facility and grounds. Great first day in San Francisco!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Another one to cross off my bucket list, it was fantastic, got to meet an ex inmate and he autographed his book for me, highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message