So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1538 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We've been on tours all over Europe and this was better than most. We took the self guided tour. It was great
listening to the "inmates" talk about life on the Rock. I have knee trouble so was very pleased that they have a
wagon to take you to the top.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great Tour with excellent driver / tour guide who made it very interesting along the way. The trip across to Alcatraz also excellent. We would recommend this tour. Geoff, Jan and Marie (UK)

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Th tour was brilliant
Thank you

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful. Great way to see the city. Alcatraz was a great take in.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A must see and well narrated tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of Alcatraz was SO INTERESTING! I liked the fact that it was an audio tour that I listened to through headphones so I could pause as I wanted to read or take a photo. The sunset cruise was an amazing view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We went right underneath it! There was a meal served which was buffet style and it was a great variety of food. It was an absolute blast and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was a really cool guy by the name of Joe. He was quite informative and a bit comical. We got to see a lot of interesting sites during our tour and learned some interesting facts as we went along. The tour was very entertaining and an overall good value.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is an excellent way to see the city in 5 - 6 hours.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Worth the money.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed this combo tour. Alcatraz and its history is very interesting. Conditions were great for the evening sail and the food was plentiful.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really good tour much more than we expected, left to wander round Alcatraz at your own pace plenty of time to look round the island had a great time. A long walk up to the Jail house like climbing up 13 flights of stairs, not good if you have trouble health wise but they do have transport for disabled but limited places.
Then on to evening cruise round the Bay buffet was really good there was plenty of food which was very good and a complimentary drink, only disappointing thing was we missed the sunset under the Golden Gate bridge even though they tried there best to get there in time but otherwise we had a brilliant time thank you Viator.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We booked this tour on our first full day in San Francisco. Greg our tour driver gave us lots of useful information about the city. We were then able to go back to lots of the sights over the next few days. Loved the cable cars and Alcatraz was brillian!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour guide made this a an exciting visit . So much history and general information given during the day.We made use of every minute because of his advice and have lots of good memories and photos.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A brilliant day out . Erin the tour guide was excellent , the tour was a highlight of our holiday to California.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message