So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1839 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Alcatraz was amazing - so much to see and learn. San Fran tour was fantastic. Our driver/guide (Aaron) was friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgable. Great guy! We loved San Fran and would definitely highly recommend using Viator. They're organised, professional and you can use with confidence.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing tour! We highly reccomend it!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Such a good tour. Alcatraz was so interesting but take note it is a steep climb from the boat to the prison so use the bus if you need help. The city tour was also very interesting and our driver made it a very enjoyable day

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The whole experience was brilliant... Good guides,good sights,good fun......excellent!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing experience. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Alcatraz was awesome and I liked the way I could spend as much time there as I wanted. Highly recommend this tour to everyone visiting San Fran for the first time!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Love the cruise. We were very surprised by the food. We were expecting just appetizers but instead it was a buffet. Very delicious. The views were amazing too.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

Pamela B
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent tour. great time to visit alcatraz and see the rest of the city in a comfortable cable car

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was awesome!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great tour. I would thoroughly recommend the audio tour for anyone who goes as it really brings the prison alive. Very interesting and thought provoking.
The San Francisco tour was brilliant thanks to the great commentary by "Adolphie"?...he was interesting, funny and made the tour an interactive experience. I think that he made the tour come alive with his enthusiasm and narration....well done!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip. What a great price for such a good day. The tour guide was so knowledgeable and made it a highlight of our holiday.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was the best !!!!! Exceeded our expectation by a mile. Our guide was very informative and very gracious. He took pictures for us and ensure everyone was where they needed to be at the right time to Maximize the tour.. He never mentioned tips which always gets me to give

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant Tour, our guide (Arturo) was very helpful, knowledgable and articulate. he provided great information throughout the tour and always had something interesting to say and answer any questions.

Tour started on time with breakfast and photos at Union Square. down to Fishermans wharf for Alcatraz trip (which was brilliant) and then on from there.

great way to see the city in a short space of time, well managed and run.

Do take a jacket or jumper. it gets cold going across the bridge and in the shade (assuming its sunny) remember its a tourist area so you might have to queue for Alcatraz but they have you pre booked on the ferry so you get on the one you are supposed to, just might have to wait in line a bit.

try and be on time and make sure your back to the tram on time during the stops for everyones benefit. would recommend the tour to anyone, a really great way to get around the city with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is great! We met at Union Square and passed by China town and North Beach (Little Italy) on our way to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz. There we were able to walk around and explore. It is a beautiful island and the audio tour is excellent! We really enjoyed being there. We took the ferry back to SF and headed over to Boudin for lunch. The sandwiches were delicious!!!!! The day of our tour there was an accident on the Golden Gate Bridge and, although our tour guide tried different routes to take us there, we were unable to make it. However, we got to see other parts of the city not included in the original tour and learn more about the history of the city. It was really interesting! Riding the converted cable car was fun. The weather was nice and feeling the breeze was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message