So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2435 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SABINA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide!! Such a talented man who knew so much about San Francisco. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

vin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour on time and prompt. Courteous staff, clean tour bus and all great allover.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an amazing experience at a very educational facility! My boyfriend and I enjoyed our day trip to Alcatraz and our night cruise under the bridges even if it was raining. It was still super romantic and beautiful!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an amazing experience at a very educational facility! My boyfriend and I enjoyed our day trip to Alcatraz and our night cruise under the bridges even if it was raining. It was still super romantic and beautiful!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Just do it !!
You won't regret it - well organised and fun - a unique way to see the sights of SF.
The lunch is fresh and just enough with ample drinks supplied.
Breakfast is a muesli bar and water so for hungry morning risers have something before getting on the tour. Pick up is central and simple to find . Our guide Atouro loved his job and it reflected in his knowledge and general Atmosphere he imparted on the tour .
Early morning visit to Alcatraz was well worth it as we were first group there so no lines and no one in front of you at most of the audio stops . tip - don't bother with the volunteer guides talk at Alcatraz - you don't have to listen to them - go straight to audio tour !!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What an awesome experience. Loved Alcatraz. The tour was better than everyone expected! The tour tram driver was amazing with a lot of local knowledge. Lunch was really yummy too!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great. The tour at first felt a little disorganised. Might have been good to point out that its a mostly self-guided half of the day at Alcatraz. The driver in the afternoon was fantastic. HE was knowledgeable, funny, engaging and knew heaps about the City.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

htet m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fireworks experience was awesome !!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organised from start to finish and our guide gave us plenty of information about San Francisco and the sites we visited

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Rosemary A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was an amazing day. We had a very informative driver and then we finished off with the tour of Alcatraz. Our 13 year old daughter found Alcatraz very interesting and we enjoyed the recorded commentary. We definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Diane T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well organised. Great trip. Book before you go so you get the day and time you want.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip and never felt rushed at any stopping point.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Keith.mccloy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, go early, did I remember to let you know to go early, with that bypass the first announcer, this isn't mandatory and you can hear the tour better, take pictures without hundreds in your way, etc......

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide and excellent driver.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

lizard_b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Driver Jeanie was amazing and provided a locals insight into San Franciso and made the day very enjoyable. Alcatraz was as expected very interesting. Well done

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! Very informative. I loved it

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had an excellent experience with Jamie leading the way as our guide. Had plenty of time on Alcatraz. Had our own personal trolley and stopped at Fort Point near the Golden Gate Bridge for some unbelievable photo opportunities. Awesome trips through Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown, amongst other areas. People kept asking to join us only to be told sorry, this is a private tour :-. Jaime was extremely personable and basically offered to go anyplace we wanted. Highly recommend, well worth the price of admission.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Jamie the tour guide was WONDERFUL!! She went above and beyond to make this tour one of the best tours we have ever been on. We will definately be using Viator tours in the future.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trust me when I say I'm not a morning person, but getting up early was totally worth this tour! Our guide, Jamie, was amazing. She was so nice and friendly, and really took the extra mile in making sure we all were enjoying ourselves. If you have a little time in SF, this would be the tour to take, because you explore so many spots in the city. You definitely won't feel like you've wasted any time!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was fantastic loved visiting the Jail, a lot of history and it was also great sailing in San Francisco bay.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

tracyo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

High praise for this tour! Our guide, Arturo, made the day. He was friendly, answered all questions and was able to provide personal insight to San Francisco and Alcatraz, and had great information. A great day was had.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message