So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1991 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic Alcatraz was great with aidio headphones provided when walking about telling you everything you need to know not to be missed the sunset tour was also great with a good selection off food and drink on offer and the sights was spectacular the only negotiable would be it would be better on cruise if some one was telling you a bit about the sights but over all I would highly recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We LOVED this tour. We saw more than we expected. The tour guide was fun and informative! Great way to see Alcatraz and other aspects/attractions of the city!! You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip is totally worth it. I have been to San Francisco many times but it was the first time I took the tour. Fabulous!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day saw everything we wanted and more. The driver was very knowledgable and funny and Alcatraz was unique a very eerie experience. Well worth the cost and San Francisco is a fantastic city!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect tour guide...born and raised in San Francisco...knew all the great spots for pictures and was accomodating for everyones requests and very helpful with information and great driver...we were able to see unscheduled sites as well...excellent tour guide...Arturo

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour very well organised. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. We started the day with a short tour of the City on the way to Alcatraz. This was followed by a picnic style lunch and a further tour when we drove across the Golden Gate Bridge twice! A must do trip

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

John M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent value and more comfortable than a hopp on hopp off tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth the trip. The audio tour is must. You learn so much more about the island and its history.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was Captain Remarkable!!! Meet great people, had beautiful weather, and a very memorable day. Thank you VistorTours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Alcatraz Awesome - no crowds, and the tour was superb. The Trolley bus was great a little chilly when driving around, so take a cardy! Lunch was excellent didn't have time to see the boudin bakery - but no complaints. Great experience

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Segway tour was our family's favorite thing; highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed the tour, the guide was excellent. glad we did not miss it, very intresting Guide was very knowledgable about everything he took us to. No Ice for the pop or water, glad it was cool out

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful experience. Great to get out to Alcatraz early. Our driver/host was excellent and knew the city inside out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So good! Our tour guide Jamie was amazing. Great way to see San francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our driver Pete did a great job. Had to deal with closed streets that were a surprise, but he made our tour amazing!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great to be early on Alcatraz Island. There were few people and this helped get a better idea of the atmosphere. The adapted-cable car tour is a good choice to make as a first general tour of the city. Go for it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour! We were only in San Fran for a day so this tour was perfect for us.
Suggestions would be to either get the tour guides to pick us up from our hotel, and maybe to introduce a sneaky wine with lunch it was so cold so we were lucky enough to sit enclosed in the cable car 100% recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Was a good half day spent. The tour of the Alcatraz is worth it, and the bay cruise at sunset was awesome, thanks to food, drinks and the most beautiful sunset I have seen in a long long time.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

San Fran was the first stop on my tour of America and I was given the Jail and Sail tour as a birthday present.... 3 months of travelling later and I can still say it was the best part of my trip! There are no words for Alcatraz! Epic!! The evening cruise was fun and the buffet more than adequate!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Such a great experience, would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day. Very friendly staff, very helpful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day. Very friendly staff, very helpful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guid very frendly and she done a great job

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message