So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1770 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely brilliant, don't think about it just do it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing place, Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz alone is worth the trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really well worth this experience, in fact the thought the buffet on the sunset cruise was better than I thought it would be, plenty of food, great to sail under golden gate.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

an interesting piece of history

Doing what: Alcatraz at Night and San Francisco City Tour

Kathryn Q
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was great. We spent the morning at Alcatraz and the afternoon being guided around San Francisco in the Go Car. Great fun driving down Lombard Street! This tour was an excellent way to explore the City.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We've been on tours all over Europe and this was better than most. We took the self guided tour. It was great
listening to the "inmates" talk about life on the Rock. I have knee trouble so was very pleased that they have a
wagon to take you to the top.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great Tour with excellent driver / tour guide who made it very interesting along the way. The trip across to Alcatraz also excellent. We would recommend this tour. Geoff, Jan and Marie (UK)

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Th tour was brilliant
Thank you

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful. Great way to see the city. Alcatraz was a great take in.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A must see and well narrated tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of Alcatraz was SO INTERESTING! I liked the fact that it was an audio tour that I listened to through headphones so I could pause as I wanted to read or take a photo. The sunset cruise was an amazing view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We went right underneath it! There was a meal served which was buffet style and it was a great variety of food. It was an absolute blast and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was a really cool guy by the name of Joe. He was quite informative and a bit comical. We got to see a lot of interesting sites during our tour and learned some interesting facts as we went along. The tour was very entertaining and an overall good value.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Arturo was our guide for this tour. He was on time to pick us up and made the tour very enjoyable since he had so much information about San Francisco to share with all of us. He was very pleasant and took pictures of us so we could be in our pictures together.

Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message