So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Another tour well recommended Antonio our guide went out of his way to show us the scenery

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Artero was the best guide I have ever had, he knew the area as he grew up there so he alot of knowledge and shared stories that were interesting. I would recommend anyone who takes this tour to ask for Artero for there guide. we also had a handicap gentleman with us and Artero was so helpful. Thanks Artero you made our trip AWESOME!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was fantastic and our driver (Arturo) was the best. From start to finish, Arturo showed genuine concern for all of the guests and went above and beyond to make sure we were all having fun. Alcatraz and the GG Bridge is a must for all visitors and the cable car experience can't be beat!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had a great time really enjoyed the tour and our driver was really good fun... Would recommend to anyone...

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Danny did a great job from start to end. We bought the Segway tour because of the Alcatraz combo but the Segway turned to be the highlight of the day! An awesome experience for all of us my husband, my daughter 12 years old and me. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see San Francisco and have fun while doing it.

Doing what: Best Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great day, split between the two tours.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely loved the Segway tour. We were nervous at first but once we got on it was a breeze. Michael Z was our guide and he was fabulous. I didn't want it to end!!!!
One of the best parts of my San Fran trip!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a good alrounded tour with more sight seeing after Alcatraz ( which was a bonus for us)
Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our holiday. The audio was 40 mins/self guided, worked really well, info, bought the place to life as you walked around engrossed! petrol cable car - was fun to see sf

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Excellent. My favorite.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip, very efficient boarding and landing to Alcatraz and you could catch any ferry back
Sunset cruise was amazing- live singer 'marcus' was great. Food amazing shame we had eaten tea before we boarded. Thought it was just nibbles but buffet excellent and what we had very tasty. Drinks on board not over priced. Cruise amazing, went around Alcatraz good to see it from a different angel and in different light, went round angel island and into sausclido bay- lovely view of the harbour. Then sailed under the golden gate bridge at sunset- truly magical, staff very helpful and friendly always there to take pictures of you. Boat not over crowded- easy to get seats. Fab trip would recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative guide. Buss was very comfortable. Excellent way to see highlights of the city and parts that the typical visitor probably would not have seen.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the tour on Sunday July 26th at 715am, our guide was awesome and the tour was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Trip. Lots of information on Alcatraz, Also are given headphones. free to roam around the island and jail. Good gift shops.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic....there was a reservation problem but the operations manager, Grant Loveless, resolved all the issues to our entire satisfaction! What a wonderful and professional organization. I recommend all Segway tours as this is the best way to visit any new city.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide, a great way to see the city especially if you are short on time.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

See previously submitted review. Sorry, I forgot to give the 5 star rating on the review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection!!! Our tour guide Jamie was amicable and knowledgeable from start to finish. We enjoyed riding in the converted cable car, which provided us with ample opportunities for picture taking and fresh air. We arrived at Alcatraz around 8:30 am after having to pick up our tickets to get in line for our 9:00 ferry ride. The ferry ride was approx. 10-15 minutes in length. Tip: bring a light jacket, bc it was misting a bit didn't last much longer than 20 min. After arriving on the island we were greeted with a brief no longer than 5 minute welcome speech overview of what to expect. The tour is self guided which we appreciated as we could explore at our own pace. There was a substantial amount of walking included up hill toward the beginning. After arriving back at pier 33, we were driven to Boudin Bakery where our lunch was brought to us and enjoyed on the trolley car yummy sandwich, chips, and soda/water options. After we did some site seeing, followed by a trip over the golden gate bridge. Not every tour is taken over the bridge, and is dependent upon traffic. Lastly, we visited fort point, for me picture opportunities. We highly recommend this tour! If you only have time for one tour, this is a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! This is a must do if you are in San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

FANTASTIC TRIP, JAMIE WAS A GREAT TOUR GUIDE, WAS WORTH THE EARLY START TO BE AHEAD OF THE BIG CROWDS, AUDIO GUIDE WAS VERY GOOD QUALITY IN ALCATRAZ, THE TOUR OF SAN FRANCISCO WAS A REALLY GREAT DAY OUT, AND AS IT WAS OUR FIRST TIME AND FIRST DAY IT REALLY HELPED TO MAKE SENSE OF THE CITY.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

the tour guides humor and energy made this the best tour we took.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour.. what I expected and more, met some nice people.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this trip for anyone who wants to see San Francisco without having to drive. Jaime was an amazing tour guide. Her passion for the City and the knowledge she had made the tour well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message