So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2508 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

adriane s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting San Francisco

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

ctmechanical

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great especialy the agent or driver. Very funny , very helpfull and exceed expectation. This was the best tour of the whole vacation and she made the dfference.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Trevor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good trip, sandwich lunch
Good trip. not quite what I expected having to queue for the boat to Alcatraz. Alcatraz was wonderful. The guide our driver was excellent and went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable. Loved the visit to Fort Point lovely scenery and the lunch was good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

see previous comments

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

OYDEN O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was great and very complete tour of the city. First the boat trip was fantastic the views from that perspective were amazing of the city, Alcatraz and both bridges was incredible. And then the city tour on bus was excellent. When you finish that city tour you feel like you know all san francisco. Highly higly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jamie was a fantastic tour guide and took us to many places in the city we would not have seen without her. This was the perfect tour for our entire family. We highly recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your trip to get a good overview of the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mrs Theresa M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very worthwhile tour. Alcatraz is a must and the bus tour was excellent with a very knowledgeable gude, plenty of photo stops

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

grandma8206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour of San Francisco with a great guide. Missed seeing the crooked street on Lombard St. and the Coit Tower. Ended tour in Sausalito with time for lunch before our ferry ride back to Pier 39. While I really enjoyed Alcatraz, our tour of Alcatraz didn't leave the pier until 3:20. By the time we arrived I felt we really didn't have enough time and had to rush through to see everything because the last ferry left at 6:00.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Giuseppina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

fantastic tour, very well organised. My teenage children learnt a lot from this tour, and really enjoyed it.
Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the Alcatraz tour. Had a great time on the Segway Tour also.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Arlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour and great experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

timmonscorp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kabush was hilarious!!! He provided entertainment, great commentary on the history of San Francisco, safe driver and provided us with a truly enjoyable trip!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Drew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best day of our 4 day trip to San Francisco.
Sunset cruise was a highlight

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Aaron R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great information about Alcatraz that I never knew, the audio walking tour was excellent, The trip to Muir Woods was so wonderful seeing the redwoods this should be on everyone list. Our bus driver Randy did an excellent job full of information and drove like a pro.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Leland S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour guide, very friendly people on tour, perfect trip

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Janice S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour guide--full of great information!! Very thorough tour of the city.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Jayashree P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! Our guide was superb and gave us a marvellous experience. We did this on our second day of a 5 day stay and he introduced us to the city in the best way possible. He took us to the best spots to get the most amazing photos of the Golden Gate Bridge and other landmarks. Arturo's love of the city, his knowledge and above all his superb people skills all combine to make this an extraordinary experience - don't miss it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

montanom00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! The audio tour of Alcatraz was the highlight for us. The city bus tour was also fun and exciting. The tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the personal recommendations on where to dine, shop or just hang out. I've been to SF several times but never got the chance to see some of the sites provided on this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Louise T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful tour and our driver Aaron was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. He provided such great information and just wish we had longer to spend in San Francisco. The tour to Alcatraz was also a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Mike United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My only suggestion would be if you could do these tours independently of the other, i.e. on seperate days. That way you would get the most of these very in formative tours.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message