So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a good alrounded tour with more sight seeing after Alcatraz ( which was a bonus for us)
Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our holiday. The audio was 40 mins/self guided, worked really well, info, bought the place to life as you walked around engrossed! petrol cable car - was fun to see sf

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Excellent. My favorite.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip, very efficient boarding and landing to Alcatraz and you could catch any ferry back
Sunset cruise was amazing- live singer 'marcus' was great. Food amazing shame we had eaten tea before we boarded. Thought it was just nibbles but buffet excellent and what we had very tasty. Drinks on board not over priced. Cruise amazing, went around Alcatraz good to see it from a different angel and in different light, went round angel island and into sausclido bay- lovely view of the harbour. Then sailed under the golden gate bridge at sunset- truly magical, staff very helpful and friendly always there to take pictures of you. Boat not over crowded- easy to get seats. Fab trip would recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative guide. Buss was very comfortable. Excellent way to see highlights of the city and parts that the typical visitor probably would not have seen.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the tour on Sunday July 26th at 715am, our guide was awesome and the tour was great!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Trip. Lots of information on Alcatraz, Also are given headphones. free to roam around the island and jail. Good gift shops.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic....there was a reservation problem but the operations manager, Grant Loveless, resolved all the issues to our entire satisfaction! What a wonderful and professional organization. I recommend all Segway tours as this is the best way to visit any new city.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, very knowledgeable guide, a great way to see the city especially if you are short on time.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

See previously submitted review. Sorry, I forgot to give the 5 star rating on the review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection!!! Our tour guide Jamie was amicable and knowledgeable from start to finish. We enjoyed riding in the converted cable car, which provided us with ample opportunities for picture taking and fresh air. We arrived at Alcatraz around 8:30 am after having to pick up our tickets to get in line for our 9:00 ferry ride. The ferry ride was approx. 10-15 minutes in length. Tip: bring a light jacket, bc it was misting a bit didn't last much longer than 20 min. After arriving on the island we were greeted with a brief no longer than 5 minute welcome speech overview of what to expect. The tour is self guided which we appreciated as we could explore at our own pace. There was a substantial amount of walking included up hill toward the beginning. After arriving back at pier 33, we were driven to Boudin Bakery where our lunch was brought to us and enjoyed on the trolley car yummy sandwich, chips, and soda/water options. After we did some site seeing, followed by a trip over the golden gate bridge. Not every tour is taken over the bridge, and is dependent upon traffic. Lastly, we visited fort point, for me picture opportunities. We highly recommend this tour! If you only have time for one tour, this is a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! This is a must do if you are in San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

FANTASTIC TRIP, JAMIE WAS A GREAT TOUR GUIDE, WAS WORTH THE EARLY START TO BE AHEAD OF THE BIG CROWDS, AUDIO GUIDE WAS VERY GOOD QUALITY IN ALCATRAZ, THE TOUR OF SAN FRANCISCO WAS A REALLY GREAT DAY OUT, AND AS IT WAS OUR FIRST TIME AND FIRST DAY IT REALLY HELPED TO MAKE SENSE OF THE CITY.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

the tour guides humor and energy made this the best tour we took.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour.. what I expected and more, met some nice people.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this trip for anyone who wants to see San Francisco without having to drive. Jaime was an amazing tour guide. Her passion for the City and the knowledge she had made the tour well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wish we had longer on the island. There were several unexpected side sights that cut us so close to missing the assigned ferry. We were lucky to get a talk by a former prisoner and then an impromptu talk about how they open and close the cells. So we did not get to finish the tour. But the island is impressive and informative! Just wanted more time here!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time in Frisco, the city trip was superb and our driver/ guide for the city tour, Aaron, was very friendly and knowledgable first class. The trip to Alcatraz was great, the commentary made it come alive, also to learn the history of The Rock was amazing.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Greg our bus driver was the best! Perfect way to see the city and learn about Alcatraz even with with a 79 year old Mom in tow!! A little confusing getting to the ferry from the directions given - thought we were supposed to meet at the tour office first to get the tickets, but a wonderful day was had by us all!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I feel really lucky to have found this tour of San Francisco on a motorized cable car, and we had a brilliant guide. First stop is Alcatraz, followed by lunch, then the Golden Gate bridge etc. This was a great day out and I would definitely recommend as a unique way to see the sights of San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Alcatraz was great fun and informative. The Segway tour was off the scale in perfection! Would recommend the Segway tours to anyone and everyone. My whole family two adults and two boys 12 and 14 had an absolute blast.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great day out Alcatraz was a experience would recommend

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Alcatraz tour was exceptionally informative and interesting, whilst both Muir Woods and Sausalito were beautiful with fantastic scenery.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing...thanks we had a wonderful time. Worth every penny purchasing a VIP .
Thanks again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message