So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a good alrounded tour with more sight seeing after Alcatraz ( which was a bonus for us)
Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our holiday. The audio was 40 mins/self guided, worked really well, info, bought the place to life as you walked around engrossed! petrol cable car - was fun to see sf

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Excellent. My favorite.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip, very efficient boarding and landing to Alcatraz and you could catch any ferry back
Sunset cruise was amazing- live singer 'marcus' was great. Food amazing shame we had eaten tea before we boarded. Thought it was just nibbles but buffet excellent and what we had very tasty. Drinks on board not over priced. Cruise amazing, went around Alcatraz good to see it from a different angel and in different light, went round angel island and into sausclido bay- lovely view of the harbour. Then sailed under the golden gate bridge at sunset- truly magical, staff very helpful and friendly always there to take pictures of you. Boat not over crowded- easy to get seats. Fab trip would recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a well organised and informative trip, especially Alcatraz. A throughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great fun. Best experience in San Francisco. Loved Alcatraz and being there early before the crowds. Loved crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city. Cam was an excellent guide.
Fantastic memory

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Arron, was our tour guide and we had the BEST tour . I tried to get trip onto Alcatraz it did not work , yet by the end of the day we did not feel as though it mattered because it was made wonderful from the great tour guide Aaron. Thank you and we will be back.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful one day excursion. We really enjoyed it. The service was great, the driver was fun. I would highly recommend it to anyone with limited time in San Francisco. If I could arrange it for optimal pleasure, I would do Alcatraz first, then Muir Woods, and end with Salsalito. We only had 50 minutes in Salsalito because the driver had to rush us back for our 1:30 Alcatraz tour. We just made it. Would have like more time in Salsalito.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would highly recommend this trip! The pick up was really easy and the guide was very knowledgable and great fun.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing and so much fun!!!!

I wanted to go to Alcatraz but it was sold out! That's how I found this combination. I don't need to talk about Alcatraz because you already know it will be more than worth it.

I was very nervous about my Segway Tour but I had a blast. The team from City Segway Tours is very friendly, open, helpful and just so much fun. All the tour guides I have met try to make everybody feel comfortable and are concerned about your safety. So don't worry and just try it! You will definitely not regret it!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip is absolutely a fantastic way to spend a day in SF. By buying the trip package in advance you avoid the long lines to buy a ticket to Alcatraz, if they are available as trips sell out. I was there on 6/29, tickets to Alcataz were sold out until 8/3!! When you get to the Rock you get a headphone set and little radio so you can go through everything at your own pace. And the Sunset cruise is a two hour ride through SF Bay and into Sausalito and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Great photo ops along the way particularly the SF skyline at night all lit up. Nice finger food on the ship small sandwiches, salads, etc.
All in all this is a great value for the money and the best way to use your time as everything is done in advance. Great value for the price!!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. It was well run and most informative. The commentaries were were excellent. Would certainly recommend to others.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Alcatraz well worth a visit. Tour guide David was really good, informative, amusing and friendly. Went to the best viewing areas and the cable car was great fun. Lunch from Boudins was huge and good quality.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome trip. When you land, bypass the man on the mic. and go straight for the audio tour. You'll get to enjoy the prison while it's not so crowded.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great. They picked us up at our hotel and getting on the bus was easy. The city tour was really great. We had Joe for our driver and he was very knowledgeable and made it really fun. The Alcatraz tour was really interesting. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Service and quality excellent on both the Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise couldn't have asked for more really, would recommend to anyone who is looking to take advantage of a dual package

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant very enjoyable a must do if your in san francisco, Could not recommend this tour more.Thanks for the memory.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did a reverse tour of Alcatraz in the AM and city tour in afternoon, the Bay Cruise was cancelled as it was July 4th no fault of operator. We did the self guided audio tour of Alcatraz, it was very informative and easy to follow. Our tour guide, Phil Siegel from was fantastic. As we were on a small bus, he was able to take us to places that the big tour buses cannot go. He is very knowledgeable and fun, the entire afternoon was a great pleasure, we learned a lot!

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

your employees where very friendly and knowledgeable I had a wonderful time

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! Alcatraz is a must see and the sunset cruise was great! We were very lucky to have a beautiful clear day!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fascinating tour of Alcatraz, then wonderful tour of the city with Jeff, who was able to give us alternate picture spots of the GBB because of very heavy traffic. Jeff aka Billy Bob is very knowlegeable about the city history and answered all our questions with humor and grace. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It started off a little shaky with some misunderstanding on when to get picked up but once we were underway it was a lot of fun. My 18 yo daugther which doesn't usually care about history, found it very interesting with the audio tour of Alcatraz. Riding on the cable car with our very knowledgable guide Jamie, was so much fun and very informative. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Francisco, or even the locals who have never taken the time to explore their own city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Myself and my friend absolutely loved the Tour. What a unique and fun experience your tour provides. Whilst of course it can not cover as much of the city as conventional bus tours, the places visited were all very good, and we particularly welcomed the opportunity to segway down the infamous Lombard Street.

The welcome and instruction given by the Tour Leader was fantastic and he really engaged with our group throughout, offering to take photos on numerous occasions and offering advice on other things to do or see during our Stay in San Francisco.

I cannot recommend this Tour enough as very enjoyable and great value for money, doing something truly memorable, a once in a lifetime!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

mamcitamaples
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sightseeing tour was very enjoyable! We loved our guide Jaimie. She knew all of the sights that tourist would be interested in visiting. Especially loved riding around in a cable car, even with the wet weather. And don't miss the view of the Golden Gate Bridge from the fort.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting, informative, and a good value for the price.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message