So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a well organised and informative trip, especially Alcatraz. A throughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great fun. Best experience in San Francisco. Loved Alcatraz and being there early before the crowds. Loved crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in a cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the city. Cam was an excellent guide.
Fantastic memory

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Arron, was our tour guide and we had the BEST tour . I tried to get trip onto Alcatraz it did not work , yet by the end of the day we did not feel as though it mattered because it was made wonderful from the great tour guide Aaron. Thank you and we will be back.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would highly recommend this trip! The pick up was really easy and the guide was very knowledgable and great fun.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Alcatraz well worth a visit. Tour guide David was really good, informative, amusing and friendly. Went to the best viewing areas and the cable car was great fun. Lunch from Boudins was huge and good quality.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did a reverse tour of Alcatraz in the AM and city tour in afternoon, the Bay Cruise was cancelled as it was July 4th no fault of operator. We did the self guided audio tour of Alcatraz, it was very informative and easy to follow. Our tour guide, Phil Siegel from was fantastic. As we were on a small bus, he was able to take us to places that the big tour buses cannot go. He is very knowledgeable and fun, the entire afternoon was a great pleasure, we learned a lot!

Doing what: San Francisco in One Day: Alcatraz, City Tour, Golden Gate Bridge and Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We totally enjoyed our tour. Both days we had the singing tour guide, whose knowledge of the City combined with his vocal interpretations enhanced our tour and provided musical references which enable us to continue to remember the information provided. Bravo!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was amazing...

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver and host for our tour was amazing. From a smooth drive, to the interesting facts, he made the trip worth while. Great job.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Though it was a cold wet day the tour could not be dampened, so very well structured, thoroughly enjoyed.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!
Arturo our driver was excellent!
Definitely will use Viator again

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour of the city with excellent commentary of points of interest including the Golden Gate Bridge, wow! This was followed by a brilliant ferry trip to Alcatraz.
Thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really fun and the tour guide made it so much fun , I definitely recommend this tour if you are going to San Francisco

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was really interesting and exciting. By the way, san Francisco gets really windy so you'll want to bring a jacket. Alzatraz is a must see obviously but the most fun part is probably riding in the converted cable car over the bridge (complete with exciting music).

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Red line staff was great. They let us know exactly where to go and when to be there. Good sense of humour. The tour of Alcatraz was incredible. Really liked that we could do it on our own time. The sunset cruise was amazing. The dinner was fabulous and an unexpected bonus and the musicians were very talented and just the right volume. We also enjoyed her stories. Very good ambassador for the Bay Area. The staff on the boat were very friendly. Loved the white table cloths. Would do it again.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing... On time, informative, friendly guide, great sites... Was definitely worth the time and money for someone who was on a limited time schedule and myself... Would recommend highly

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message