So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent...the only thing was it would have been nicer to have the two events closer together.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great to do one the first day and a great way to make sure you get your Alcatraz booking sorted!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything I expected and more with Alcatraz the standout.
I do suggest you take some food with you as there is limited time and selection whilst on the tour

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Bus driver was excellent, knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Two separate tours......we enjoyed both. The sunset tour is on a new boat and entertainment is provided, great views at sunset and later!!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had an awesome time on this tour! Would recommend you do it, get there a bit earlier for Alcatraz tour as lines for ferry can be long, the cruise was fantastic

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The escape from Alcatraz was the next best thing than actually being on "the Rock." Great views of the city and excellent overview of the prison. The bus tour is a must. My kids got a real flavor for the city and learned quite a lot from the driver who was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This experience was a day long one but well worth it. In the morning we toured the city in a Grayline Bus with Greg as the driver. He was a fountain of knowledge and made the tour both stimulating and interesting with his anecdotes and insights into all the various parts of the city. The highlight being the visit to a lookout point over the city which gave the tourists a good perspective of the size and scale of San Francisco.
In the afternoon we visited Alcatraz, taking the ferry which was about a 20 minute excursion in itself but we were delayed somewhat in departing because of the huge number of patrons lined up to get on the boat. Certainly brought home to us how popular this iconic prison on a lump of rock is for visitors across the world.
For me this was a compelling experience as the audio provided to each person is brilliant and gives one a very clear picture of what life was like for the prisoners at this establishment until its closure in 1963. The highlight was meeting Billy Baker a former inmate in the prison, aged 81, who was signing his book ''Alcatraz'' which he wrote on his release finally from prison in his late 70s. He was a very engaging fellow and was more than happy to talk about his experiences in this hell hole over a 6 year period…but what got me most was his admission that he spent the best years of his life in Alcatraz because of the close friendships he formed with a number of fellow prisoners, all of whom were career criminals, and the strong bonds of comradeship that developed as they schemed together for better conditions in the prison or in hatching plans to escape. For all visitors to San Fran this is a compulsory destination…it will certainly have an impact on you.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was absolutely perfect for me to see everything I wanted to see in San Francisco. Even though I would have loved to have gone to Alcatraz, it was perfect going around it on the boat twice and having the rest of the day to myself. From going across the Golden Gate Bridge, to seeing Haight-Ashbury, going to Twin Peaks for an over view of the entire city, to Land's End, the tour was perfect on the bus. What made it really special was the cruise. Unbeatable views of the city, bridges, and Alcatraz. I highly recommend it to anyone who only really has a day in San Francisco like I did.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Archie was our tour director for the day. He was very entertaining and told us facts all along the way. Our first stop was Muir Woods. The place is beautiful and we had a great time walking the paths. We could have spent the entire day in Muir Woods. Archie took us a little of course to the Muir Woods beach overlook. What a beautfiul view and great picture opportunities. We had an hour in Sausalito and enjoyed our lunch. Then we headed back to SF to Fishermans Wharf where we boarded the Alcatraz Tour boat. The boat ride was enjoyable and the Alcatraz walking/audio tour was one of my favorite things of the day. I would strongly recommend Viator Tours and we were pleased with our experience. Ask for Archie, he is worth the money!!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic day out. All close by and easy to do. Don't miss Alcatraz. Very efficiently run tour. Wonderful place. The sunset cruise was also terrific. While it didn't advertise it, the food was enough for dinner. The musician Billy D made our night. He was great.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Friendly guide (Brian), plenty of time at Muir Woods, Alcatraz was fantastic. Maybe a little bit longer Sausalito is needed (especially for the shoppers).

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole experenice with the company and a whole was excellent. The Alcatraz tour was great, I would recommend the tour. it was good to hop on and off, we were able to do a lot of things, and when we wanted to spend more time on the wharf and the tours would be over the tour guide gave us great instructions to get back to our hotel.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was more than words can describe, our tour guide/bus driver talked for 3 hours, I'm sure even locals don't know about the city that he told us. Highly recommend even for locals.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very good tour. The guides on the hop on/hop off tour really know their stuff and Alcatraz is a must see! I would recommend it!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message