So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1977 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic Alcatraz was great with aidio headphones provided when walking about telling you everything you need to know not to be missed the sunset tour was also great with a good selection off food and drink on offer and the sights was spectacular the only negotiable would be it would be better on cruise if some one was telling you a bit about the sights but over all I would highly recommend

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We LOVED this tour. We saw more than we expected. The tour guide was fun and informative! Great way to see Alcatraz and other aspects/attractions of the city!! You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed the tour, the guide was excellent. glad we did not miss it, very intresting Guide was very knowledgable about everything he took us to. No Ice for the pop or water, glad it was cool out

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful experience. Great to get out to Alcatraz early. Our driver/host was excellent and knew the city inside out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So good! Our tour guide Jamie was amazing. Great way to see San francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our driver Pete did a great job. Had to deal with closed streets that were a surprise, but he made our tour amazing!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great to be early on Alcatraz Island. There were few people and this helped get a better idea of the atmosphere. The adapted-cable car tour is a good choice to make as a first general tour of the city. Go for it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour! We were only in San Fran for a day so this tour was perfect for us.
Suggestions would be to either get the tour guides to pick us up from our hotel, and maybe to introduce a sneaky wine with lunch it was so cold so we were lucky enough to sit enclosed in the cable car 100% recommend

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Was a good half day spent. The tour of the Alcatraz is worth it, and the bay cruise at sunset was awesome, thanks to food, drinks and the most beautiful sunset I have seen in a long long time.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

San Fran was the first stop on my tour of America and I was given the Jail and Sail tour as a birthday present.... 3 months of travelling later and I can still say it was the best part of my trip! There are no words for Alcatraz! Epic!! The evening cruise was fun and the buffet more than adequate!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Such a great experience, would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day. Very friendly staff, very helpful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great day. Very friendly staff, very helpful.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guid very frendly and she done a great job

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an awesome trip! We got to see so much on our first day in San Fran

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great time and there was so much to see. Arturo was our tour guide and he was wonderful. It was chilly out and he made sure we had a great time. We even had a couple extra unexpected stops on our tour that was a nice little bonus. San Francisco is a beautiful city!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip, driver / guide very knowledgable and very helpful, took us to some other very intersting places, first class tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Super tour, very, very interesting. THey even had a shuttle to take you to the top of Alcatraz if you had mobility problems, we were very impressed. Glad I wasn't an inmate though. Evening sunset cruise was very enjoyable, operated by very friendly people.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour well organised. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating tour..it was an eye opener.....do not miss this tour

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We highly recommend this tour. Cameron was a fantastic tour guide and it is so much fun to see the city on the segways. The Alcatraz tour was also very good.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message