So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1939 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Short on time? This tour will give you a great overview so you can pick and choose what you want to explore more. It is an all day tour.. Very knowledgeable guide. Loved the Alcatraz tour. Be prepared to do some walking though.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awsome. Get your tickets in advance!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Sunset Bay Cruise was our favorite part! The vessel itself was nice and the staff were incredibly friendly. We got amazing views and pictures at sunset with the Golden Gate Bridge. The appetizers they provided were also pretty good: fruit, veggies, sandwiches nothing too spectacular but nice. I must say that their home-made brownies and chocolate chip cookies were out of this world! They asked if we wanted to take some to go, we kindly declined but just them asking was very nice. Alcatraz was informative and special. I would book a tour with Viator again

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The early start at Alcatraz was well worth it to beat the crowds. Jamie was a fabulous tour guide!! Travelling over the bridge and back in the converted cable car was great fun. Highly recommend to anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

WE LOVED IT!!! The ride was very comfortable, great scenery and our guide was very knowledgable! Highly recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Well worth the money. Alcatraz was very interesting and the city tour helped us get orientated for our next day on our own. Manny was a super driver and so knowledgeable on every aspect of San Francisco. Supper at the Nanking was delicious, Manny!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip. Hotel pick up on time. Little confusing on check in but fine in the end. Good tour guide,with fascinating facts and humorous too. Drop off for Alcatraz spot on. Alcatraz was brilliant,with fantastic audio tour, worth every dollar spent. One off many highlights off our holiday. Thanks

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Flash
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The driver Arthuro was a really nice man. Courteous and knowledgeable. Went to a restaurant he recommended last night. I would use viator again for sure.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was perfect for us. Having arrived in San Francisco the day before for the first time ever, this tour gave a quick yet informative overview of San Fran. Giving us the opportunity to see all the sights and decide which ones to go back to and see more of.
Our driver (Greg) was brilliant.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you don't do this you are MAD!
The most amazing little machines you will ever get on , easy to use and very safe. Mike was our guide very friendly and gives a great tour especially down the crooked Lombard st. Grant was on the desk super friendly and informative. Thanks unforgettable !!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved this tour. Lots of fun riding on a cable car look a like vehicle. Our guide Art was fantastic. He was prompt, friendly, super energetic and accommodating. He offered to take pictures of us multiple times. He had fun music on the trip. Being from San Francisco he was full of great facts and definitely went out of his way to take us to some places I had not expected. The Alcatraz tour was awesome as expected. This is a tour no one should miss in San Francisco. Only complaint is we were supposed to be on 8:45 ferry first ones on island but ended up on 9:10. Not a huge deal though. The audio tour is a must it is narrated from inmates and officers views. You can really imagine what it was like. Only downside is that you really must move along and you can't explor too much beyond narrated tour because you have to catch ferry back. Boxed lunch from Boudin was delicious. The city part of the tour is limited by time so you won't see the city on this tour. But anywhere we passed on the way to Fisherman's wharf and Golden Gate Bridge, Art pointed things out and made every momet meaningful. Big bonuses he took us through the Presidio, a former military fort, now national park. He took us to Fort Point where we got the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge. He also took us the the Palace of Fine Arts. If you appreciate architecture you would love this. It's almost as if someone dropped a little piece of Rome in San Francisco. Massive columns and dome structure. Beautiful gardens, ponds and paths all around it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message