• USD ($)
  • English
So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1386 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good deal! Easy to get all of the tickets!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Troy was both highly entertaining and knowledgeable. Given that we only had one day to tour three sites; Alcatraz, Muir Woods and Sausalito the tour needed to be carefully scheduled and it was. We would recommend this tour to anybody visiting San Francisco but be sure to book early and take a sweater or something warm to wear on Alcatraz Island regardless of the temperature on the mainland.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good city tour with Brian. He was very friendly, funny and knowledgable. Went out of his way to get us the best photo opportunity for Golden Gate Bridge. Dropped us off for our Alcatraz trip which again was excellant. Would definately recommend this tour to others. We had booked 2 trips with Viator this year and the whole experience on both from easy booking and exciting tours was great.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was amazing got see and do a lot of things that you would not ordinarily get to do. The trip was affordable and I recommend everyone should do it.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Stephen M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent - was expecting an open top tour bus but was glad it was an air conditioned coach. We got to see the Golden Gate Bridge, cross over it and other spectacular sights in San Francisco and out tour guide was excellent. The boat trip that circled Alcatraz was also well organised and we got to see it from every angle, although the trips to view inside were fully booked. The weather was particularly good that weekend apparently not always the case for San Francisco in June, normally very foggy and you cannot see the bridge or Alcatraz when this happens, which we did not realize before we went! Overall a great day.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip,plenty of time on island, beautiful boat ride over, wonderful walk in Muir woods

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'd recommend getting to the Alcatraz 'Escape from the Rock' tour early so that you can get a good spot. I'm short so it was hard to get a good view of anything behind everyone. The trip was entertaining and informative especially thanks to our bus driver for the Muir Woods and Sausalito portion.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip is the only Saving grace that San Francisco has. I LOVED Alcatraz and the Muir Woods! They were both so beautiful!!! The Alcatraz self guided tour was so interesting and the island was so beautiful. Muir Woods was so peaceful, it's an easy stroll down the trail to see the giant redwoods. The "ocean view" at the top of the mountain is deceptive, but the Woods are beautiful. My only complaint would be more time in the Woods. Sausalito isn't anything to write home about. FOR SURE would recommend and would do again!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a very beautiful tour the scenery was breathtaking

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well paced informative and scenic tour. Tour guide was excellent...you will not be disappointed!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

tour was awesome....Muir Woods is a must as well as Alcatraz.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great informative trip. We went to Alcatraz in the morning and found it a bit of a rush so best to do city tour first and have as long as you want on the rock

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message