So you're in San Francisco and you're looking to visit what the locals call “The Rock”. Anything you need to know? In short, yes. Aside from its extensive history as a military barracks, prison, and Native American political settlement, tours ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1461 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole experenice with the company and a whole was excellent. The Alcatraz tour was great, I would recommend the tour. it was good to hop on and off, we were able to do a lot of things, and when we wanted to spend more time on the wharf and the tours would be over the tour guide gave us great instructions to get back to our hotel.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was more than words can describe, our tour guide/bus driver talked for 3 hours, I'm sure even locals don't know about the city that he told us. Highly recommend even for locals.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very good tour. The guides on the hop on/hop off tour really know their stuff and Alcatraz is a must see! I would recommend it!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting tour

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I could have skipped Sausalito, but Alcatraz and Muir Woods were amazing! Our bus driver, Aaron, was incredible! He literally did not take a breath, providing us with info all the way. He was humorous, polite, he even held someones' baby for them! I would recommend this tour, my favourite part of my San Francisco trip. (I would have liked a little more time in Muir Woods)

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alcatraz is a must see on anybody's trip to San Francisco and rightly so. A great insight into prison life history.
I really enjoyed the scenery around Muir Woods too - the Giant Redwoods have to be seen to be believed.

We did not get too much time in Sausalito so can not comment too much but it did seem to be a charming little town

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The audio tour of Alcatraz was anything but boring! Our teenagers found it just as interesting as we did. Loved that an ex- inmate was signing his book in the store. The sunset cruise had more than enough food for all the passengers aboard. It included: turkey, roast beef and vegetable sandwiches, pasta salad, fruit, vegetables , pulled pork and more. You have the choice of staying inside or being out on deck where you'd definitely need a jacket. Loved both parts of jail and Sail!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Half-Day Tour of San Francisco Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very nice tour except with the downfall that you do not get to stop at the island.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was wonderfully organised and really informative. The tour guide Really knew his stuff and it was a thoroughly enjoyable day. Will definitely use viator in the future for tours.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the highlights of my time in San Francisco. Great value for money.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We did the Bay boat tour in the morning and the city bus tour in the afternoon. It was a great way of getting a San Francisco experience
.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!! We got the only RED go-car on the lot! Easy to drive, the GPS guided tour was great! So much fun driving down lombard street - really had a great time! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome! everything went really well!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message