San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip. Oscar was our guide, he was funny and informative and gave the tour in English and Spanish. The weather cooperated which gave us a great view of Arenal. Good lunch and dinner and the Tabacon springs were pretty amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kristie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The drive was long but it was very beautiful and the hot springs were the best part of the whole trip. Both of the meals were exceptional!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Island Girl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you have never seen a volcano in your life, then here's your chance. I hadn't and it was worth it. Thankfully, we were very lucky, as our guide told us who was terrific, by the way that it was a relatively clear day, so we could see it in all its glory. A word of caution to those with physical ailments: There are a number of steps to go up to the clearing to see the volcano. If you cannot climb steps, which are created into the grassy, slightly steep and rocky hill, you will not be able to enjoy this. The Hot Springs resort visit was INCREDIBLE. Great for adults. Great for children. Yes, there is a separate area for children to enjoy. Adults, however, must be present with them at all times. You must remember to take money with you to rent towels, but the money is returned once you return the towels. There are a number of springs to choose from. You are able to go from spring to spring. Bars are available, and restaurants are on site, including a buffet. Gratuities for the guide and bus driver are welcome. Note: Included with this tour is lunch. However, alcoholic beverages and soft drinks/sodas/juices, etc. are not. Those are to be paid for separately.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite the long drive from San Jose this tour is a MUST DO!!! The day we went the weather was perfect! The Hot Springs are amazing!!! Don't forget to bring swing suit!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

inge e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour for day trip. Long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver. Beautiful scenery

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Gustavo U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great views, I would have liked to see the lake and have a short trail rather than stopping on souvenir shops. The thermal springs are awesome, I didn't expect it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Avijit K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great experience. Weather cooperated. We got to see the volcano. Hot springs was incredible. It just a very very long day so plan for it

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The trip was really good, the Tabacon Hot Springs was really relaxing and enjoyable. The property is beautiful. We would have liked more time at the volcano. The view was nice but would have liked to be closer or more time to go on one of the trails.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Alexandra L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

If you want to do a tour that takes you to see a volcano for 10 mins and spend 3 hours relaxing at springs, it and #39;s a great tour. But if you are more interested in the volcano it and #39;s not really worth it.
However, the lunch was fantastic and the guide jorge was very good too.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Alexandria E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We had a blast on this tour. It look awhile to get started, but our guide was very nice. Lunch was absolutely delicious, the volcano was stunning although mostly covered with clouds, and the hot springs were our favorite stop. I should mention the hike to the volcano is more or less walking up some stairs, but the view really is awesome. I'd recommend this tour- you get meals, transportation, and a nice informative guide. Can't go wrong. Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Rachael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Gustavo is a great tour guide! We learned so much about the Arenal area and very much enjoyed our kayaking excursion.
Thank you, Gustavo!

Doing what: Kayaking Tour on Lake Arenal

Ines U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was so nice, it's definitely a great, relaxing start to the day . The guide, Oscar, and driver, Juan Carlos, were both super nice and helpful. We spotted iguanas, birds, monkey and bats. Oscars knowledge of the plants and animals was great and he explained it all really well. His English was really good too so everyone could understand him.
We were slowly drifting down the river for probably about 1.5 to 2 hours. But it's really nice. Oscar really took his time, stopped at several places to observe animals and did a great job.
Upon arrival Juan Carlos had cut up pineapples and watermellons for us, juice and cookies were also waiting for us to enjoy while the two of them took care of the boat.
The 4.5 hours in the tour description can be misleading a bit, for me it was exactly 4 hours from hotel pick up to drop off, so don't expect to be on the river for 4 hours but it was great nonetheless. Definitely worth every penny. Those two guide also deserve a raise!

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

Mani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour and not to be missed when in the Arenal area. Our guide Javier was great and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Ines U

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was doomed from the start. Firstly, I must say that the description on Viator is wrong. Suppposedly this tour should last about 4.5 hours, the actual hanging bridges however, took maybe 1.5 hours. So I feel this should be corrected.
Also, this tour was rushed, One couple booked on this tour was late and then had to be back at the hotel at 11 for their checkout SO DON'T BOOK A 4 HOUR TOUR!!! and the guide then rushed us through everything. We arrived at the park, the guide walked too quickly to enjoy the landscape. Most of the bridges are not hanging but just normal bridges. The few hanging bridges are nice enough but we didn't really see any animals bad timing I guess. But still our guide just hurried us through, stopped only a handful of times to show us a snake or iguana and that was it. We arrived at about 8:30 and at 10 we were ushered back into the car. One couple asked to go to the souvenir shop and the guide said maximum 5 minutes, because we had to drop off the other couple at their hotel on time. I would have just left them. Once back in the car we received a little juice box and cookies while we drove back to the hotels.
This tour was not worth it. Not worth the money, not worth the time and I definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Christopher J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide Maria was very knowledgeable and had a great personality. She did a great job. Arsenal was beautiful and the Hot Springs were wonderful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Tina A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Fansastic tour! I met some nice people and really enjoyed every part of the tour. I think the hot springs was the star of the tour, however, in my opinion, they could quite easily cut down the time spent in the springs by an hour. I think we had 3 and half hours, which I think was too long and this meant that we didn't back back to San Jose until around 10:30pm. Bearing in mind that we were picked up at 6:30am in the morning, it felt like a day and a half. I enjoyed it though.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I cannot recommend this tour enough. Our guide, Max, was courteous and knowledgeable. The restaurant where we had lunch was well chosen for its location and quality of food I particularly like the guanabana, all typical Costa Rican and tasty. We were able to see the volcano clearly from the viewpoint - after a short steep climb up some steps - thanks to an earlier thunderstorm clearing away the clouds from the top. Tabacon was a little piece of paradise in a heavenly location. I tried most of the pools loved the cascading wall of water, and felt like I earned the large cocktail from the swim up bar afterwards! Dinner was buffet style, good choice with friendly and efficient service. All that was left to do was to fall asleep on the bus back to San Jose.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Terry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a Great Tour. Our Tour Guide Herne was very informative and communicated well in both Spanish and English. We chose Chicken for lunch and it was very good! We drove around the Arenal Volcano and stopped a few different places to take pictures and such. The Hot Springs was the highlight of the tour. You get approximately 4 hours to relax in the Hot springs. There is also a pool with a Bar for those who enjoy cocktails. They provide a Dinner Buffet with everything you could imagine. After a long day, our driver got us back to our Hotel Safely.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kay M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

enjoyed seeing the beautiful countryside and towns on way to volcano. Good lunch at Rancho Pearle Restaurant Baldi Spa was excellent. Met expectations based on Viator's descriptions.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Irene H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The experience was good but it didn't meet my expectations. The brochure in the business center sold a different picture and description. The guide was pretty knowledgeable and engaging. The van that picked us up from the hotel was not what was advertised on the pamphlets. Along the ride, the guide did share interesting facts about the volcano and the surrounding areas. I had pictured our tour to be more adventurous. We drove up to the national park, climbed up a few flights of stairs, and got a view of the volcano. The stop lasted no more than 20 minutes before we headed to the Tabaco Hot Springs Resort. The hot springs pools did make up for some of the disappointment. Lunch and dinner were provided. Lunch was provided before the national park stop. Good food at the restaurant we made a stop at. Dinner was provided at the resort buffet style. We had about 3 hours at the resort before having dinner and making the trip back to San Jose. It was a good experience but not worth the 100 plus paid. We were also mislead on the time we'd return to the hotel which caused us to miss the Costa Rica vs Uruguay 8pm soccer match 30 lost. The hotel representative told us we would be back to the hotel by 6pm but we didn't make it back until 1030pm huge difference. You should definitely see the volcano and definitely visit the hot springs resort but not pay over 130 to do it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Grabien was our tour guide for the day and he helped make this tour the highlight of my trip. The volcano was beautiful, but Tabacon was simply amazing. I wish I could give this more stars!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a wonderful group of people on the bus. The tour guide was friendly, personable and answered all questions...his knowledge of Costa Rican history and culture was much appreciated. One of the highlights of our trip, we loved the Baldi Hot Springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Rochelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip was very nice. I enjoyed looking at all the scenery as we drove to Arenal Volcano. I liked the stop in Sarchi for the purchasing of Souvenirs. I feel like they had a very good selection at decent prices. I am a souvenir t-shirt person, so this was exactly what I was looking for. The lunch meal we had was very tasty, especially the yucca desert that was offered to us. I enjoyed the drive through La Fortuna, it was very nice to see what the city had to offer. The Volcano was beautiful, I wish we could have gotten closer but it was still a very nice view. There were also a lot of Guava trees with ripe Guavas on them there. The best part of this day trip would have to be the visit to Tabacon Hot Springs. I have never seen hot springs before so this was exceptionally amazing to me. It felt amazing to get in. The way this hotel has it tropical landscaping and architecture set up makes this a beautiful treat. The dinner buffet was very well done. All of the food items tasted great. I really like the fresh pasta bar where a chef prepared your pasta dish to order. The ride back is a bit long and very bumpy. Besides that I feel that this was worth the price.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Zack P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was so much fun! we had never been 4 wheeling before and Im so glad this was our first experience! We went through small village communities and got to see some of the rain forest. They let you practice first to get the hang of it and observe you to make sure you are getting the hang of it. It is very easy, even if you have never ridden before, which was the case with me and my brother.

You will most likely get dirty so don't wear your good clothes. There is a lot of mud and sitting water you will go through and the other 4 wheelers will kick up mud and water on you as well. Also my brother didn't wear sunscreen and he paid for it, so don't forget to wear sunscreen and in some areas the bugs are bad so wear your bug spray. If you have a GoPro camera, wear it!! we got some great videos with it and were so glad we got to capture those memories!

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message