• USD ($)
  • English

San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip with wonderful guides.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The hot springs were wonderful and the night was ended gloriously by eating dinner in the tree tops....exquisite view. If u tend to motion sickness be prepared for the windy trip there.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely wonderful. Gorgeous view. Lunch marvelous and the hot springs are fantastic!!! Guides and drivers are terrifc. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Definitely recommend and will take this tour again when I return with my family. Thank uyoi!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice driver and guide. Good food. The hot Springs made my extremely dry skin so soft for several days later. It made for a nice day trip from San Jose.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time viewing the volcano and the hot springs were Excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area, but make sure you give 48 hour notice to get transportation because it is through a different company and can get tricky.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

J.J.
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

It was interesting to discover the 5 stars hotel and spa for testing the hot spring! Nice moments of relaxation!!! But to be in a car 8 hours and never have a explanation about the places seen on the window, or history or culture about the country was rather disappointing. The guide was not able to have a discussion in English or Spanish and never was able to answer our questions about the region we visit!!!! The atitude was so strange, he told us at the bigining of the day that he is tired but he is happy to do this job beacause he can eat at 5 stars restaurant with tourists like us??!!!!! We saw the Arenal from far....The guide ask more money if we want to see a water fall who was 5 km further...we refused this "offer", but it was so strage,we've already payed a lot for this trip!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a lovely, peaceful trip with beautiful scenrey, We saw lots of birds, monkeys, a sloth and sleeping bats! Our guide was pleasant, well informed and very helpful. The driver was equally friendly and helpful. All is all, a trip we will remember!

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was fantastic! Outer guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out so many animals that we would have otherwise have missed...including a baby eyelash viper!!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

January 29, 2014 Our guide was absolutely amazing and knowledgeable! We were a small group of four which allowed for more time having our questions answered. The bus to pick us up from our hotel arrived right on time. We even stopped to observe howler monkeys on our way to the hanging bridges. Overall, the best of all the tours we took on this trip.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow! It is very difficult to put into words the experience we had at Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs. Anyone Visiting Costa Rica this a place to visit. Viator is the company to go with. Their drivers and guides go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to explain the history and culture. Just what we were looking for, amazing! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND VIATOR

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was excellent! Be aware that it is about 4 hours to get there and another 4 back, and it's a winding ride (definitely not a good choice for those with motion sickness). The tour guide and driver were absolutely awesome. They were happy to answer any questions we had about Costa Rican culture, vegetation, economy, local festivals, and etc. The Baldi hot springs were amazing, and we had a good 4 hours to try out each of the beautifully landscaped pools ranging from cool to steamy warm.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

For the price,you can not beat it. You spend the day looking at the country side plus the attractions. Lunch a dinner included. The food was excellent.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour! I was in San Jose for business and had 1 day to explore and have fun. This tour is just perfect for that because you get to see so much of the country. But beware you are gone for more than 13 hours. Also, you should know the driving in Costa Rica can be pretty scary.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Poor! We drove 3 hours to spend 3 hours at a gifts shop, church, and restaurant... To eat barely enough! drove another hour and a half to not see a volcano! Hot springs was ok but food was average! And alcohol was expensive! Then drove 4 hours home with a screaming kid! Worst tour I have paid for!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick up was punctual, Mario the guide is excellent. Knowledgeable and friendly. Meals are delicious, and the Hot Springs is a lot of fun. I was told it was the low season, so the hot springs aren't too crowded, but the loud music can be a little annoying. But just have to go to another pool or area. Arenal Volcano isn't as interesting especially if there are no more eruptions or lava to see. But for one that has never seen a volcano before, it is good enough. Value for money. It felt like a private tour, with just a few people.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message