San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Jeannie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the guide Eugenio and the driver Edgar were a great team and took care of everything. It was a LONG day 12 hours, but a great price and a beautiful tour.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hot springs were like a natural water theme park. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

kmkilford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a brilliant tour from start to finish. It was well organised and the transfers all arrived on time apart from one which was an hour late. The hotels were all good, with the exception of the Arenal Paraiso which was amazing fantastic view of the Volcano. The hotel in Manuel Antonio Casitas Eclipse was a bit disappointing, but the restaurant over the road El Avion, more than made up for it. We saw a Sloth in a tree whilst we were eating our dinner. It came out of cover and started eating. Absolutely amazing.
I would recommend this trip to anyone. Only thing to bear in mind is that some of the transfers between places are quite long, but we met lots of lovely people on these transfers, where you can chat and compare experiences.
Well worth the money

Doing what: 11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, Arenal Volcano and Manuel Antonio National Parks

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

driver roy did a great job. Mad maxx was informative, funny, and a great example of a good coasta rican. they both deserve a pat on the back, and while doing that a raise, why not, too veterans doing what they love...

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

dan b

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

good glad I did it great view of arenal

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Anastasia W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great! It was a 15 hour tour and included expensive restaurant lunch/dinner and Guides are nice! Tips: bring breakfast (it and #39;s not included and they picked up at 7am before places are open). Bring extra water- it and #39;s ridiculous to buy! ($8-10 us for water and $13 us for deodorant) bring everything!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Britney C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time and our guide El Guapo was hilarious and took great photos. We definitely got to go fast and zoom through the jungle! Originally when we booked the tour it said we would go to the hot springs and do a mud bath at the end but we only went to a small stream nearby and came back but we were okay with that.

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

Michael K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was good. The view of the volcano was beautiful. The hot springs were interesting and fun. This part of the trip could have been an hour less. The road is rough and long so be prepared for a long day. Our tour guide was knowledgable but since we were in a smaller van without a microphone, he tended to speak and explain only to the people directly behind him. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems which caused it to have trouble going up hills and meant no ac. This added an hour to the already long return trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Britney C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A little boring and I would say save your money. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable but we mainly seen bugs and lizards on the tour. At the end we did find a howler monkey and one tucan but overall it was mainly different views of the rain forest and learning about plants and animals, which is great if you are really interested in that. I just found it to be anti-climatic.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

lexispencer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This excursion was disappointing because you only get to see the volcano from a pretty far distance. If the weather is cloudy, you only get to see part of the volcano. The hot springs were ok but not worth the long drive. This trip is all day and for our family, not worth the very long drive to and from it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

balderas.natalie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

There was a lot of driving. The total trip was 14 hours. The first shop we stopped at had low quality, and over priced souvenirs. The tour guide swore that it wasn't a tourist trap, but it was. We got to stop at a market are near the volcano which looked amazing, but we only got to stay there for 10 minutes. Bummer! : Everyone agreed that we stayed an hour too long at the hot springs and that that hour could have been used to spend time at the amazing market area. For lunch, do not pick the fish, yuck! The arroz con pollo was delicious!!!! The hot springs was pretty nice and the buffet there was stellar. Overall, the tour guide was knowledgeable, but not friendly. He seemed irritated most of the time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Guillermotravl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Before reaching the hot springs in Baldí, we enjoy the beautiful views of the volcano Arenal. Baldí is a beautiful place to spend a nice day. There are several pools with different temperatures. It has all the facilities to spend a relaxing day. It is highly recommended staying at the hotel Baldí.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

stan the man

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Verry good day trip. Long drive from San Jose but its lots of thinks to see . Baldi its nice place to relax

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Randall P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour with a great tour guide

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Emile L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Tour! Hugo was an excellent guide - very friendly and knowledgeable. Beautiful views throughout the journey and at Arenal Volcano. Had a great time at the Hot Springs! - Janelle

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. We have a fairly large group and was broken into two separate groups with two separate guides. They also arrived on time to the hotel. We had a great time and enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guides arrived slightly after the emailed arrival time, but ended up being just fine. The guides were good and took their time explaining different plants/flowers/items along the hike.

It was fun

Doing what: Half-Day Hike to Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

hot springs baths were amazing. tour guide incredible. strongly recommend it if you go to Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Maria D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Awesome, but difficult if a cloudy day and there is no way to plan that. Very courteous, knowledgeable and professional driver and tour guide Carlos and Ray

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip. Oscar was our guide, he was funny and informative and gave the tour in English and Spanish. The weather cooperated which gave us a great view of Arenal. Good lunch and dinner and the Tabacon springs were pretty amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kristie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The drive was long but it was very beautiful and the hot springs were the best part of the whole trip. Both of the meals were exceptional!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very knowledgeable host - he gave the whole tour in both Spanish and English. I wish we had a little more time to shop in Sarchi we only had 20 minutes for a Costco-sized store packed with wooden gifts, but it was by far the best bargain for souvenirs that I saw while in Costa Rica.

It was a bit cloudy/rainy when we got to Arenal so we never saw the top of the volcano, but got some good photos regardless. Afterwards, the Tabacon hot springs and resort were AMAZING - lots of springs to venture through, a spa if you're into that, and a swim up bar in the hotel pool. Plus the food buffet for dinner was incredible.

The only downside was how far this was from San Jose... about 3 hours each way, so it was a long ride back on the bus.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message