San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great tour guide! Good information. Unfortunately as was very cloudy could not see the volcano in all its majesty but it was still a great trip nonetheless.

Doing what: Half-Day Hike to Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Torn Review...
There are pros and cons to everything and I understand visiting another country (2nd trip) animals are treated differently. As a paying customer and animal lover, I expect animals to be treated with the best treatment, especially hauling horses.
The ride was great. Our guide, was good until we headed back to the ranch. I noticed that some of the horses were missing their shoes on the way to the waterfall and I mentioned it.
His response: 'It's not my job!'. Are you kidding me?!
My response: 'how would you like walking on rocks, cobblestone, and rough terrain all day?'
His response: 'ehhh- it wouldn't bother me'.
Yeah right. I did not appreciate his response and more importantly how the animals are treated. Horses are an attraction of Costa Rica and help provide jobs for locals. Mis-treating animals infuriates, saddens, and makes me feel guilty for paying a company that does not take care of their animals.

On a positive, the waterfall was awesome-- an amazing creation. I would not recommend for anyone not in shape or with bad knees due to the .70 mile stair hike (I tracked the distance).

Overall, this was a great experience, but I would recommend another outlet with healthier horses.

Doing what: Horseback Riding to La Fortuna Waterfall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

superb ,profesional knowledge guía

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A lot of agriculture,fields of different crops. Beautiful lush hills and mountains on the way to Arenal Volcano.Soaking in the hot springs topped the day off. Nice lunch and dinner!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky to have an excellent guide (Ricardo). Lots of knowledge on plants and geology!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgable on the volcano and its history. The hot springs resort is beautiful! Very relaxing!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Relaxing easy day. Tabacon is beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day trip! Good transportation and guide. The food was excellent. Definitely do Tabacon Hot Springs!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Ricardo was very helpful guide. Due to weather we couldn't see Arenal volcano, only a fog. But surrounding scenery was nice. Tabacon hot springs is a very good choice. The dinner is open buffet and very good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time. The local your company was extremely responsible and prompt. The activities were exciting and varied. The hotels were comfortable and clean. We are so glad we took this trip and our experience with Viator continues to be very favorable.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Alajuela and Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time. The local your company was extremely responsible and prompt. The activities were exciting and varied. The hotels were comfortable and clean. We are so glad we took this trip and our experience with Viator continues to be very favorable.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Alajuela and Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time. The local your company was extremely responsible and prompt. The activities were exciting and varied. The hotels were comfortable and clean. We are so glad we took this trip and our experience with Viator continues to be very favorable.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Alajuela and Guanacaste

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour was good but the tour guide English was not very good. It actually made the time on the bus annoying at times. The time spent at Hot Springs was amazing but the trip was tiring I would like to suggest to spend the night in Fortuna spend a few more hours in the hot springs and head back the next day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

The Hot Springs were excellent. The food was OK, the bus was old and not very comfortable. We also had a guest on the tour that made the trip very difficult, she was constantly insisting the driver stop for her "smoke and bathroom" break. Due to the weather, we never got close to the Volcano (the main reason for the trip). We were extremely disappointed, the driver and the guide were OK at best. The shopping stop was not worth the time, they take you to a souvenir shop and give you 15 minutes, it would be nice if it was a small artsy town, where you could pick up unique items. We will not be using this group when we return to CR.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Beautiful area. As usual, couldn't see the peak of Arenal, but still very impressive. Hot springs at Tabacon also very relaxng, and both meals were very good. Long ride there and back, and the first bus had a problem with AC, so we had to switch buses. Good drivers. Good guide (Galvin?)

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message