San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Arenal Volcano National Park

The most famous national park in Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park protects the still sizzling Arenal Volcano, one of the world’s 10 most active volcanoes. The park also encompasses 16 reserves and an amazing dozen different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice! Hot springs were fantastic!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very fun trip and I would recommend if in the area. Good tour guide and since I am afraid of heights, very scary!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip! Hotel choices, the tours, and trips were all very well planned. The punctuality of tour guides was very impressive. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend it!!

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Monteverde Cloud Forest and Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an excellent well organized tour. The tour company did not miss a beat, our hotel rooms were booked at every location and tours were timely with pick up.
I was traveling with my mother who is 78 years old. They were incredibly respectful of her. Some of the activities were strenuous, and they ensured she was safe every step of the way.

Good:
We chose the 4 star option hotel package and the hotels were very nice. The tours were well done and the guides were friendly, knowledgeable and courteous.
Advice:
Be ready for long, bumpy van rides. The roads are rough and everything is spaced apart.
In Monteverde you will do the sky walk tour, there are actually 3 things that you can do in the Reserve the sky walk, sky tram and zip lining. The sky walk is 2 hours and it is an active walk. I wished we would have done the zip lining at our own expense. People raved about it and how safe it was, and the sky tram was included with zip lining.
The bad though not bad enough to reduce the rating:
In Guanacaste we stayed at Cala Luna Hotel, elegant hotel and the food was incredible. Access to beach swimming was disappointing. The beach was close, however there was nowhere to swim unless you hiked.
The Vida Aventura Nature Park tour, they could not do the tour on the day offered and we were lucky to have a free day and switched the tour. I had mixed feelings about this tour. There was no warning that it was going to be a 3 hour van ride each way we went through Liberia. Although fun, the zip lining did not seem all that safe and the trails to some of the lines were tough. The horse riding was great and very adventurous. The electricity was out so they could not fill the pools, so we drove to another hot springs location and it was a total let down. It was just pools in the direct sun that might have been natural water, but looked just like a pool with chlorine. So due to circumstances beyond their control we did not experience their hot springs or mud bath.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Monteverde Cloud Forest and Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time! We learned so much about the local culture, agriculture, and the terrain. Our driver deserves an award and our tour guide was fluent in both english and spanish. The lunch stop was at a restaurant near the vollcano with beautiful views. The food was great. Our tour guide Mario always offered his help. Baldi Springs were exotic, clean and relaxing. My girlfriend and I were able to be alone in them because of the amount of pools they had. I feel like a kid again after flying down the water slides! This is a must do and made our trip a memory that we will share for a lifetime!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome. My only complaint is that we were not able to spend more time in the hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour of Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs. Evene with light Cloud Cover, Arenal is Jurassic-awsome to visit and the hot springs are simply unreal!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was good, but not worth the price. Our guide was great, friendly and knowledgable and the walk was pretty with the bridges. It was a good experience, but at only about 2.5 hours long and not good value. You're probably better off going to the attraction yourself-it's not far from la fortuna

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The ride was rough. We expected to get closer to the volcano but that is not the case. Baldi hot springs was good. The foods were excellent. We enjoy the company of the tourist and the foods more than the tour it self. Three stars for the foods.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I was very sad that we didn't get to see the volcano. The hot springs were awesome . So so relax.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide. Great trip, but it was a very long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Sorry to say it was too long on a bus to see a volcano that was mostly hidden in clouds
The Baldi Hot Springs were OK but the buffet dinner was mediocre
I would give it a 3 star rating if it didn't involve over 8 hours in a bus

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Must see attraction

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Karina S
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlight of this tour is definitely the Hot Spring. I was honestly going for the volcano but there was a huge cloud right on top of it. I actually met people that visited the volcano a day after me and got to see it fully with clear skies, bad luck for me I suppose. After the volcano we headed to Tabacon Hot Spring and that pretty much was it. I loved it. The place was gorgeous. The food by the pool's bar is not included but you must try their ceviche and patacones, they were the best I had in the area. Yes, the trip is long if you are coming from Sa Jose or Alahuela area but totally worth it. My guide was Hernan. he took time to talk to every person on the tour. Thank you for such a nice time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour the hot springs was out of this world. The tour guide was great but he was not to good in explaining English one thing to take into consideration although it's a Spanish speaking country not all tourist is Spanish speaking

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This felt like a bit of a gamble because we had no idea whether would be in a van with 4 well-behaved adults or a bus with 20 obnoxious ones, but it turned out to be the former. Our tour guide was helpful and extremely knowledge. Arenal and Monteverde were great, the beach a bit overly tourist.

Doing what: 9-Day Best of Northwest Costa Rica from San Jose: Arenal Volcano National Park, Monteverde Cloud Forest and Guanacaste

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide food and scenery was great hot springs amazing. Only negative is it ended up being a 16 hour day and the bus ride to and from is horrible. But not much you can do about bus ride. But other then that everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it just be well rested

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

this was a lovely tour. The tourguides were friendly and I especially enjoyed the hotsprings waterpark! Never did I think my childhood would be rekindled like that! make sure that the day isnt cloudy when u are goin to visit the Volcano...or else the volcano may not be fully visible. :)

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I have even taken. The transportation bus was old and noisy and could not hear anything. The guide did not seem to care where you can hear him or not. On the way back the bus broke down. Luckily the driver was smart and able to fix it. Got back at 11 pm back to the hotel- too late for me.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message