San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Braulio Carrillo National Park

The vast protected forest of Braulio Carrillo National Park may be divided by one of the nation’s busiest highways, but this just means easy access for travelers, as well as the possibility of picturesque views without ever having to leave the car.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From start to finish, this experience was absolutely fabulous! My guide, Eric, picked me up in front of the National Theatre at the scheduled time. Because I chose to travel during their "slow season," I actually got to enjoy a private tour, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Eric is an incredibly genuine, friendly person! He made me very comfortable and I can easily say that our conversation was one of my favorite aspects of the day. From the moment we got on the road, headed for the rainforest, he began informing me of little facts and history about Costa Rica and the different areas we were driving through, which was really interesting. We stopped to get some coffee, then headed off into the forest, where the learning continued. He is great at spotting different animals and wildlife, and stopped several times throughout the day to show me things. We saw plenty of birds, lizards, and frogs, and even "spoke" with some Howler monkeys. And the chocolate was AMAZING! I learned how the indigenous peoples actually made it, as we went through the history and different processes required to achieve that familiar and delicious flavor. I had a great time and walked away with some wonderful photos! Worth the money - best day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic Mr. Gomez was very attentive and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this tour with Urban Adventure. There were great!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it. We didn't see a ton of wildlife, but that may have been due to the time of year. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Lunch was fantastic.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Chris was a great guide to and from the rain forest Warner was a great guide at the rain forest

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed a great experience from the pick-up to the drop-off at our hotel. Eric from Urban Adventures is a biologist who is not only knowledgeable about the fauna and flora, but also informative about the culture of the Costa Rican people. Viewing Toucans, Poison Dart Frogs, Lizards, Baird's Trogon, Agouti, and other animals was amazing as well as crossing the suspension bridge over the Sarapiqui River. Learning about and taking part in the chocolate-making process at the Tirimbina Center was a wonderful experience as well. We also enjoyed a delicious local cuisine lunch with Eric. All in all, I highly recommend this enjoyable all day tour.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Whitewater rafting was brilliant! I went in the dry season so for my first time doing this activity it was perfect for me so it wasnt "too extreme". The tour guide was briliant and spoke great English and was a really nice guy. The food on the day was great, I have nothing negative to say :)

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Eric, our tour guide and interpreter, went far beyond our expectations. The tour was extremely interesting and entertaining. Eric is very knowledgeable about the rainforest and picked my daughter and I up from our
hotel on time and made our stay in Costa Rica memorable. We will, of course, return and request Eric as our
guide!!!!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thie tram provided a very interesting and different opportunity in viewing the rainforest. One way on the ride is over the canopy, the other is about half height. Would love to do this at night but don't think it is offered. Our guide, Cel, was great on the walk eapecially. He found things in the Forrest for us to see that we never would have known were there without his being able to point them out to us. Our driver, Eric was very timely and offered lots of interesting information along the way. Really enjoyed this excursion.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful experience from the moment we were picked up at purr hotel till the time we were dropped off. Eric was so knowledge about CR and the rain forest. His guided tour thru the forest was an experience in itself. He was very easy to understand and offered a lot of information and history about the country. I wish we had met Eric our first day as I felt like our half day city tour was a waste- it was not with the company offered thru via tour, but thru a hotel desk. The chocolate tasting was presented better than. Any other I have had the experience of attending before. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My husband and I had a blast! We had Reynaldo as our guide and he was fantastic! This was our first time river rafting and took to it really well with the help of Rey it was a team effort. My husband and I worked really hard and due to low waters it definitely a work out. We saw an incredible waterfall and Rey taught us about the flora and fauna in the area. We were feed an incredibly delicious lunch 3/4 of our way we stopped on a little dry bank where they catered fresh fruit and sandwiches. We even saw some indigenous Indians that live in the area! Due to this river rafting trip we are hooked and will be booking more river rafting trips in our future adventures.. Big thanks to Ray!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day with Eric who is a biologist. We had an easy hike of the biological station (loved the suspension bridges) and saw some beautiful birds, white bats and a hummingbird sitting on her nest. The chocolate tasting was very well done and we finished up with a great lunch at a local Soda.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The excursion was one of the best in Costa Rica for me so far! Great friendly stuff, very small private group and outstanding locations! During this tour, I’ve seen more species of birds, mammals and reptiles than I’ve ever seen during my 10 days stay in Costa Rica! Different frogs, lizards, beetles, monkeys, caimans, iguanas, toucans, and dozens of different birds! I can’t enumerate all of the animals that I saw. Chocolate tasting was great: tons of facts that I didn’t know about it, and delicious raw chocolate tasting made everything better! Picturesque landscape around with sunny weather made this experience very pleasant. For lunch, we had a great buffet style meal with light salad and some pastry. For amateurs and connoisseurs of the nature and wildlife this tour would be perfect! And knowledgeable stuff with positive attitude made this experience unforgettable! Thank you a lot!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The only "problem" was 1/2 rainy day, but I knew November is the wettest of the year. Anyways, even the pickup locations were in downtown San Jose, my tour guide was extremely nice and picked me up from my hotel, located in Escazu. This tour was a lot more, it was almost a private customized day.
My tour guide, Mr. Eric Gomez was a 10+. Extremely knowledgeable, friendly and flexible with the whole schedule. Tirimbina, rain forest biological reserve, was very interesting and informative. "Chocolate testing" was a lot more then testing, it was a full history, and a full presentation of chocolate making.
process in which we took part.
In short, I highly recommend this tour, Erick and Urban Adventures. Space and time does not allow to get into all details.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We expected it to be very touristy, but it was informative. We were very impressed with our guide, Jose, and his knowledge of the ecosystem. Breathtaking views from the canopy are not to be missed! We highly recommend this trip if you are in the San Jose area.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was my favorite adventure in Costa Rica!!! It is adrenaline packed and visually beautiful. Our tour guide was Christian and he made the river a perfect experience combining his knowledge of the river and surroundings and his good time attitude. If you do not book any other tour book this one. It is a must do!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message