San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Braulio Carrillo National Park

The vast protected forest of Braulio Carrillo National Park may be divided by one of the nation’s busiest highways, but this just means easy access for travelers, as well as the possibility of picturesque views without ever having to leave the car.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our whitewater rafting tour was one of our favorite things we did in Costa Rica. Our tour guide was personable and knowledgeable and kept us safe. We had so much fun! Beautiful scenery and a good length of time I think we were on the river for about 4 hours. The river was kind of low at the time we went February, but it wasnt too low or too high, so we had medium-sized rapids. So fun. The only advice I would give is to eat a lot at the breakfast they provide or bring a snack for right before you get on the water, because we did get pretty hungry by the end but they provide a late lunch after the raft trip. We would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our initial guide/driver was Carlos who drove us to the Tirembina Rainforest Centre and later for an excellent lunch at a local restaurant. Our guide at the Centre was Willy Willie?. He was excellent, extremely knowledgeable. This was the best part of the day. Willy pointed out and clearly explained everything around us. He helped us to develop our observational skills in looking for wildlife. As this is rain forest and not a zoo, you wont see everything - its best to enjoy the ones you do. After lunch we returned for the Chocolate tour, which involved a short walk through the rain forest to a covered seated area. Here Mariella gave a history of chocolate and showed us how it was extracted/processed with help from Giovanni and participants. It was interesting and entertaining, but maybe not worth an afternoon.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic tour! My friend and I were the only ones on the tour which made the overall experience very personable and enjoyable.

Both our driver (Carlos) and guide (Manuel) were professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. Manuel was a great guide and taught us so much about the rainforest. It was raining quite heavily for half the tour so we may not have seen as much wildlife as we would have liked, but Manuel was very patient and pointed out many insects, plants, frogs, toucans, and a sloth when the rain finally subsided. (He was kind enough to provide us with an umbrella as we were not prepared and we also bought ponchos from the gift shop).

The chocolate tasting almost deserves another review on it's own- I loved it! They provided an in depth account of how chocolate is harvested and processed, and they gave out so many samples. It was honestly some the best chocolate I've ever tasted.

Before driving back to San Jose, we stopped at a small local restaurant and had a delicious and traditional Costa Rican meal. Not only was the meal fantastic, but Manuel and Carlos were great company, and it felt like we were having lunch with new friends rather than taking part in a tour.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour! The guide Eric was very nice and knowledgable. He picked me up from my hotel in the morning, and took me to the Tirimbina biologic reserve. He was very good in spoting birds and animals. I had a great time. The lunch was excellent tradition Costa Rica food.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent adventure. The guide (George) was fully bilingual and extremely knowledgeable of the area's wildlife.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Eric Gomez who organized the tour was excellent - he picked me up at my hotel, was very informative and personable - I felt at ease the moment we met. I was only in Costa Rica for a few days and this tour was the main event of my visit - I am glad I chose Eric's trip - he made the visit worthwhile and I really enjoyed both the rainforest adventure and the chocolate tasting. I highly recommend this trip with Eric and appreciate his effort to make this a memorable and comfortable adventure in Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Rapids, food, and tour guides were amazing! The river is gorgeous!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From start to finish, this experience was absolutely fabulous! My guide, Eric, picked me up in front of the National Theatre at the scheduled time. Because I chose to travel during their "slow season," I actually got to enjoy a private tour, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Eric is an incredibly genuine, friendly person! He made me very comfortable and I can easily say that our conversation was one of my favorite aspects of the day. From the moment we got on the road, headed for the rainforest, he began informing me of little facts and history about Costa Rica and the different areas we were driving through, which was really interesting. We stopped to get some coffee, then headed off into the forest, where the learning continued. He is great at spotting different animals and wildlife, and stopped several times throughout the day to show me things. We saw plenty of birds, lizards, and frogs, and even "spoke" with some Howler monkeys. And the chocolate was AMAZING! I learned how the indigenous peoples actually made it, as we went through the history and different processes required to achieve that familiar and delicious flavor. I had a great time and walked away with some wonderful photos! Worth the money - best day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic Mr. Gomez was very attentive and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this tour with Urban Adventure. There were great!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it. We didn't see a ton of wildlife, but that may have been due to the time of year. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Lunch was fantastic.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Chris was a great guide to and from the rain forest Warner was a great guide at the rain forest

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed a great experience from the pick-up to the drop-off at our hotel. Eric from Urban Adventures is a biologist who is not only knowledgeable about the fauna and flora, but also informative about the culture of the Costa Rican people. Viewing Toucans, Poison Dart Frogs, Lizards, Baird's Trogon, Agouti, and other animals was amazing as well as crossing the suspension bridge over the Sarapiqui River. Learning about and taking part in the chocolate-making process at the Tirimbina Center was a wonderful experience as well. We also enjoyed a delicious local cuisine lunch with Eric. All in all, I highly recommend this enjoyable all day tour.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Whitewater rafting was brilliant! I went in the dry season so for my first time doing this activity it was perfect for me so it wasnt "too extreme". The tour guide was briliant and spoke great English and was a really nice guy. The food on the day was great, I have nothing negative to say :)

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Eric, our tour guide and interpreter, went far beyond our expectations. The tour was extremely interesting and entertaining. Eric is very knowledgeable about the rainforest and picked my daughter and I up from our
hotel on time and made our stay in Costa Rica memorable. We will, of course, return and request Eric as our
guide!!!!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thie tram provided a very interesting and different opportunity in viewing the rainforest. One way on the ride is over the canopy, the other is about half height. Would love to do this at night but don't think it is offered. Our guide, Cel, was great on the walk eapecially. He found things in the Forrest for us to see that we never would have known were there without his being able to point them out to us. Our driver, Eric was very timely and offered lots of interesting information along the way. Really enjoyed this excursion.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message