San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Braulio Carrillo National Park

The vast protected forest of Braulio Carrillo National Park may be divided by one of the nation’s busiest highways, but this just means easy access for travelers, as well as the possibility of picturesque views without ever having to leave the car.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great staff! had a great time! I highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Marie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide and great way to spend my first day of travelling alone. Couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jason Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great tour with great tour guides. Manuel was very knowledgeable throughout the trip and answered all of my questions. The hike through the rainforest was nice and walking over the suspension bridge was pretty cool as well. The guide that led the chocolate tour was great in introducing the history behind chocolate and we were able to taste it in many different forms, from the cocoa plant to an actual piece of chocolate.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

rrnlv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

GREAT TOUR AND WE HAD A GREAT TOUR GUIDE.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Rob F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a day!! We did this on day one of our holiday in Costa Rica .. and what a welcome it was!

So much fun! The river wasn't at it's highest when we went, but still an incredible experience. It was so good, we decided to go rafting again on another river. This was the better river by far.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Ekaterina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very enjoyable and interesting tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and attentive the walk in the forest was great - we saw monkeys, toucans and a red frog and the chocolate tasting with explanations was great. Not only was it tasty, but we actually learned a lot about both ancient and modern chocolate production.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a wonderful trip. The guide on the bus gave us great information about what to expect and what to do on the river. He also gave us information about the country. Our guide on the river was very good he made the trip fun and exciting. I felt well taken care of the whole time. I have always wanted to do this and I am glad I did.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Valerie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highlight of our trip!! Wish we had done this one first, and booked all day trips with Viator.
Beautiful drive, knowledgeable guides, easy walking tour but truly through a rainforest! We ate in a small local place that was the best meal of the trip. Do this!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

spyridon v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Going through the forests with a trained guide Mainor was nice. He was able to use his expertise to show me things that otherwise I would have not been able to do. The Chocolate teating was also excellent in that you got to learn the history behind chocolate and to actually see step by step the process of making cacao.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Raquel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved it! I wanted to be in the middle of a rainforest, and that is where I found myself. I could easily do the hike, which was good because I had bruises on my left leg from another activity done elsewhere, so I couldn't have done a strenuous hike, and even managed to cross the suspension bridge despite a fear of heights! Manuel was a great guide and very knowledgeable, and my only regret is that we never did finish our last conversation because suddenly we were back in San Jose and the tour was done. The rainforest was quiet that day but I did see a sloth and three iguanas and many insects and a huge ceiba tree and lianas and walking palms...honestly just being there in the middle of the rainforest was wonderful! I also enjoyed the chocolate explanation and demonstration. Next time I'm in Costa Rica I will definitely use Viator when looking at tours - do you do anything else in the Caribbean region?

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

CATHERINE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! I would highly recommend it to anyone. I was picked up at my hotel and realized that since I was the only one to book it that day, it would be a private tour. We had an exciting drive through a beautiful rainforest, through pouring rain with many waterfalls falling off the hill sides, dodging landslides. It was a bit crazy, but I never fled unsafe. My guide was very knowledgable about the rainforest preserve, showing me frogs, millipedes, a snake, toucans, and a troop of howler monkeys. He obviously loves the rainforest and wants to share its beauty with others. The chocolate demonstration was very interesting and well done, and of course delicious. After a great lunch of typical Costa Rican food and a neat roadside restaurant, we had a much calmer drive back to the city with the rain gone. It was a day well spent!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jennied7331

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more like a private tour guide for us. We were transported in a SUV by Urban Adventures Tour Agent hosted by Eric Gomez to Caribbean side of CR. There were a lot of information regarding rainforest and cocoa tasting. The hanging bridge was awesome if you hold your breath and look down the river. Bullet ant is about an inch and half, don't touch them with your finger. They are poisonous insect. We had local food for lunch next to the forest and after that it was pouring. May- November is rainy season however we love tropical rain.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Andrina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

LOVED every minute of this tour! we started off the day with a 6:15am pickup at my hostel in san jose. then we drove an hour and half to the tour company's operations center for a good hearty breakfast. after that, we drove a little more to the pacuare river with class 3-4 rapids. my friend and i did this at the end of may, during rainy season so the rivers were full of water and super fast moving. apparently, the water levels were so high and fast that we finished the course in 2 hours, instead of the usual 4 hour it takes to traverse the course. after getting absolutely soaked and knocked down by massive rapids, we went back to the operations center, took a shower in their well-kept shower facilities and ate a delicious lunch. also, there's a photographer in a kayak taking pictures of all the participants on the course- my tip is to purchase the photo package with your raft members- it's around 10/person and they will send you a link to the pictures online where you can then download. this is my first time doing whitewater rafting- it was intense and an adrenaline-filled adventure and i would totally do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Mary M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guides, food was great! Had the best time. This was my 2nd time with this company. Will do it again.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Karina S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The chocolate tasting was nothing I expected but better. I was truly impressed with all the information they gave us. I got to taste chocolate from the very beginning the fruit to the last step of the process. Timbirina rainforest was also very impressive. If you are into hiking and seeing the forest, you should do this tour. I really want it to try one of Costa Rica hanging bridges and they have a very long and impressive one or maybe I am easily impresses. Our guide Eric was very nice and knew a lot about the area and San Jose in general. During lunch we got to try Costa Rica typical food, very delicious.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Sam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic trip. Didn't know exactly what to expect, but turned out it was 27km of some of the best rapids in the world. Beautiful scenery. Our guide Mathias was one of the most professional and reassuring guides I've ever met in any adventure sport. A must.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Katie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our whitewater rafting tour was one of our favorite things we did in Costa Rica. Our tour guide was personable and knowledgeable and kept us safe. We had so much fun! Beautiful scenery and a good length of time I think we were on the river for about 4 hours. The river was kind of low at the time we went February, but it wasnt too low or too high, so we had medium-sized rapids. So fun. The only advice I would give is to eat a lot at the breakfast they provide or bring a snack for right before you get on the water, because we did get pretty hungry by the end but they provide a late lunch after the raft trip. We would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our initial guide/driver was Carlos who drove us to the Tirembina Rainforest Centre and later for an excellent lunch at a local restaurant. Our guide at the Centre was Willy Willie?. He was excellent, extremely knowledgeable. This was the best part of the day. Willy pointed out and clearly explained everything around us. He helped us to develop our observational skills in looking for wildlife. As this is rain forest and not a zoo, you wont see everything - its best to enjoy the ones you do. After lunch we returned for the Chocolate tour, which involved a short walk through the rain forest to a covered seated area. Here Mariella gave a history of chocolate and showed us how it was extracted/processed with help from Giovanni and participants. It was interesting and entertaining, but maybe not worth an afternoon.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Ashley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic tour! My friend and I were the only ones on the tour which made the overall experience very personable and enjoyable.

Both our driver (Carlos) and guide (Manuel) were professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. Manuel was a great guide and taught us so much about the rainforest. It was raining quite heavily for half the tour so we may not have seen as much wildlife as we would have liked, but Manuel was very patient and pointed out many insects, plants, frogs, toucans, and a sloth when the rain finally subsided. (He was kind enough to provide us with an umbrella as we were not prepared and we also bought ponchos from the gift shop).

The chocolate tasting almost deserves another review on it's own- I loved it! They provided an in depth account of how chocolate is harvested and processed, and they gave out so many samples. It was honestly some the best chocolate I've ever tasted.

Before driving back to San Jose, we stopped at a small local restaurant and had a delicious and traditional Costa Rican meal. Not only was the meal fantastic, but Manuel and Carlos were great company, and it felt like we were having lunch with new friends rather than taking part in a tour.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jenny Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour! The guide Eric was very nice and knowledgable. He picked me up from my hotel in the morning, and took me to the Tirimbina biologic reserve. He was very good in spoting birds and animals. I had a great time. The lunch was excellent tradition Costa Rica food.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

coabey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent adventure. The guide (George) was fully bilingual and extremely knowledgeable of the area's wildlife.

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Anne Marie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Eric Gomez who organized the tour was excellent - he picked me up at my hotel, was very informative and personable - I felt at ease the moment we met. I was only in Costa Rica for a few days and this tour was the main event of my visit - I am glad I chose Eric's trip - he made the visit worthwhile and I really enjoyed both the rainforest adventure and the chocolate tasting. I highly recommend this trip with Eric and appreciate his effort to make this a memorable and comfortable adventure in Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Jenn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Rapids, food, and tour guides were amazing! The river is gorgeous!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa Rica

Natalie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From start to finish, this experience was absolutely fabulous! My guide, Eric, picked me up in front of the National Theatre at the scheduled time. Because I chose to travel during their "slow season," I actually got to enjoy a private tour, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Eric is an incredibly genuine, friendly person! He made me very comfortable and I can easily say that our conversation was one of my favorite aspects of the day. From the moment we got on the road, headed for the rainforest, he began informing me of little facts and history about Costa Rica and the different areas we were driving through, which was really interesting. We stopped to get some coffee, then headed off into the forest, where the learning continued. He is great at spotting different animals and wildlife, and stopped several times throughout the day to show me things. We saw plenty of birds, lizards, and frogs, and even "spoke" with some Howler monkeys. And the chocolate was AMAZING! I learned how the indigenous peoples actually made it, as we went through the history and different processes required to achieve that familiar and delicious flavor. I had a great time and walked away with some wonderful photos! Worth the money - best day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message