San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Jade Museum (Museo de Jade)

Costa Rica’s jade is world famous, and the Jade Museum - or Museo de Jade - displays arguably the world’s largest collection of the precious stone. At this museum you’ll not only see a huge array of jade jewelry and artifacts, you’ll also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide was BAD and off the "cuff" with very little information or in-depth preparation. The emphasis was taking us to these out-of-the-way, no good places that had obviously paid to have tourists brought in. It wasn't a tour but a money making tourist trap at our expense. We lost three parties after the first stops and when they stopped and ushered us off at an empty hole-in-the-wall, the disgusted looks on the other tour patrons faces said it ALL!!! More left including me. I hailed a taxi and went back to my hotel.
I will never take a tour from Viator again.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Bus was late and we were waiting around for a long time to then be taken to a very big bus. Tour guide could not do anything as we had about 40-50 people to deal with instead of the normal small group. Not very informative. Did not like to be taken to a house at the end where they were trying to sell us jewelry.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good overview of city with many interesting sites. The obligatory "shop" at the end of the tour could be removed from tour.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour !!! Saw San Jose at it's best. Enjoyed seeing the celebration at the win of the soccer match. Happy people who enjoy a good party. Thank you San Jose for all your hospitality.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good overall city tour. Only downside was not having a stop and time at the central market.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was like Gilligan's Island: A five hour tour that should have been about three hours long. Between
San Jose traffic jams and picking up people at hotels most of the time was spent just driving around. Two stops were good (The Gold Museum and the Opera House) the others were not (the statue and the
tourist trap). Overall, I would suggest that people take a cab to the downtown area and do a walking tour
for a better experience of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was informative, entertaining and very knowledgeable. It was a very well organized tour and very enjoyable. I learned a lot of history and saw a beautiful theater, and was surprised by the many parks right downtown. Thank you for a perfect introduction to the urban area of Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a guide, Jorge, who talked in English and Spanish throughout the whole four hours. He was very knowledgeable about the city, the culture, the church, the National theatre and went out of his way to describe everything in both languages - fluently. We were taken on a tour of the pre-Colombian gold museum, and found out from fellow travellers, that their guide didn't show them half the things in San Jose as our guide did. Bravo Jorge!! The bus ride was not for the faint of heart - people are crazy drivers in San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour was good on overall. We drove around the city and made several stops to see some things closer. I wish we'd have more stops to see more things. For those, who wants to see more I'd recommend walking tours.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I enjoyed this tour and learned a lot about the map of San Jose and some of the more famous attractions. If it was longer, say a full day with lunch, I would pay more and recommend it even higher. However, I fully recommend this tour for someone like me, new to San Jose and Costa Rica who wishes to learn more in a short time.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good overview of San Jose for people that do not have a lot of time to explore the city in depth. Our guide was very proud of the culture and monuments of San Jose. We appreciated his knowledge and patience in answering our questions. This was a well paced pleasurable experience.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

worth doing to get to know san jose, especially if you will be staying there for awhile. you get to know a little of the area, streets of san jose is a bit confusing so this tour will at least give you an overview of the area

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour, very informative and the guide was fantastic!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great introduction to the best sites of San Jose. Learning about the history, culture and architecture from a highly educated and friendly guide made for a great afternoon. I highly recommend the tour. A taste of the national drink at the end of the tour was a pleasant and welcomed surprise.
Britt B, Mountain View, California

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The guide was wonderful but we had forgotten it would be done in several languages.....just two in our case. Everything else was fine.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

It was a good tour - glad we took it. Just disappointed that although we signed up for an English tour, the guide spoke half of it in Spanish. I don't blame him, he was trying to satisfy his spanish clients as well. Just wish it had been an English only tour.
Thanks!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

City tour was nice, pick up and drop off went on a little too long. We waited at one hotel for close to 30 minutes for a group of five to get to the bus.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excellent tour recommended para todos .

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

It's a good trip if you have 4 hours to spend and want to know some basic things about the City of San Jose, Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We enjoyed the tour so much! We got to know the history of Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good tour, to much time wasted at emarld shopping store and hotel. Very good tour guide!!! Very interesting tour well worth it.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2011

Viator uses multiple local companies. I failed to reconfirm several days before with their the other company and missed the tour. The tour company claimed they contacted my hotel, which I had never received. They refused to refund. If you don't reconfirm every single different company several days before while you are traveling, you lose money(no refund by company policy)!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

The National Theater and Museum Tour were interesting. The tour seemed to criss-cross back and forth across the city (seeing the same surroundings 3 times). The last stop was at a jewelry shop which was not shown on the schedule, and we felt captive with the doors locked and a guard at the door. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The bus driver did not acknowledge anyone, or even look up when he was introduced.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2010

A short but very effective way to get to know the capital of Costa Rica "San Jose". See the most known places with great tour guides. Great experience.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2010

Was just OK. Rain did not make it any better. Leave off trip to jewelry store.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message