The National Museum, housed in the barracks of the Bellavista Fortress, has been proudly displaying indigenous and pre-Columbian artifacts, religious artwork and geological and archeological pieces linked to Costa Rica’s rich and colorful history ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour !!! Saw San Jose at it's best. Enjoyed seeing the celebration at the win of the soccer match. Happy people who enjoy a good party. Thank you San Jose for all your hospitality.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! We had an informative walk through the city seeing markets, the Cathedral, government buildings and learned some information about Costa Rica. After the tour we were brought to an authentic restaurant for lunch. It was great to try local food with someone who knew what to order. The highlight of the day was to visit a mask maker. He had local teenagers show us how they danced in the costumes and our son got a chance to try one out too! - quite an unexpected experience! Thanks, Eric!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Costa Rica National Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Carlos was terrific. We enjoyed he walk and the sites. He was patient and fun to listen to.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Costa Rica National Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had an absolute blast. Carlos, our guide, knew all about San Jose and Costa Rica in depth. He was also just plain fun. Very flexible tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Costa Rica National Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour around San Jose which offers a view on the city from both a tourist's and a local's perspective. The tour includes insights on Costa Rican history, philosophy of life, and is done in a very interactive and friendly way.

The highlights include walking through the city centre (read what the notes on graffiti actually say, many are quite witty!:)), visiting a local market (try to buy at least 1-2 pieces of each unknown fruit you meet, it's a great way to discover new tastes!), and visiting the festival mask maker.

This tour is an excellent way to see San Jose in its full beauty and to learn more about Costa Rican history and people. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Costa Rica National Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was BAD and off the "cuff" with very little information or in-depth preparation. The emphasis was taking us to these out-of-the-way, no good places that had obviously paid to have tourists brought in. It wasn't a tour but a money making tourist trap at our expense. We lost three parties after the first stops and when they stopped and ushered us off at an empty hole-in-the-wall, the disgusted looks on the other tour patrons faces said it ALL!!! More left including me. I hailed a taxi and went back to my hotel.
I will never take a tour from Viator again.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was informative, entertaining and very knowledgeable. It was a very well organized tour and very enjoyable. I learned a lot of history and saw a beautiful theater, and was surprised by the many parks right downtown. Thank you for a perfect introduction to the urban area of Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good overview of San Jose for people that do not have a lot of time to explore the city in depth. Our guide was very proud of the culture and monuments of San Jose. We appreciated his knowledge and patience in answering our questions. This was a well paced pleasurable experience.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour, very informative and the guide was fantastic!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great introduction to the best sites of San Jose. Learning about the history, culture and architecture from a highly educated and friendly guide made for a great afternoon. I highly recommend the tour. A taste of the national drink at the end of the tour was a pleasant and welcomed surprise.
Britt B, Mountain View, California

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We enjoyed the tour so much! We got to know the history of Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Kathy B
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We've lived in Costa Rica for three years and still learned so many things about our adopted country and its capital. Well woth it!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The tour was interesting and the guide very informative. We got a great overview of the city and it's history which helped us plan the rest of our week in San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The city tour gives you a good overview of the history and beautiful culture to be had. The guide was VERY knowledgeable about the bare facts, quirks, and flavor of the town and the country!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good overall city tour. Only downside was not having a stop and time at the central market.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message