The National Museum, housed in the barracks of the Bellavista Fortress, has been proudly displaying indigenous and pre-Columbian artifacts, religious artwork and geological and archeological pieces linked to Costa Rica’s rich and colorful history ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall, I had a great experience with this tour. Our tour group was very small, which allowed us to ask lots of questions and get everywhere easily. We enjoyed learning cultural and historical details from our guide who was very helpful and nice. We ate lunch at a small local restaurant where we were the only non-locals. The value of the tour is very worthwhile for the cost. I definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to learn about the city and see a variety of places!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great and so was the weather. The guide was knowledgeable and informative. We really enjoyed the trip to the artisan mask maker!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was the only one who showed up and my guide Eric was a wonderful tour guide! He had excellent knowledge of San Jose and I soaked up all the historical and cultural details and stories! He was very patient when had to translate for I have to say this one probably one of the more relaxed and fun days I've had in a long time!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour !!! Saw San Jose at it's best. Enjoyed seeing the celebration at the win of the soccer match. Happy people who enjoy a good party. Thank you San Jose for all your hospitality.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! We had an informative walk through the city seeing markets, the Cathedral, government buildings and learned some information about Costa Rica. After the tour we were brought to an authentic restaurant for lunch. It was great to try local food with someone who knew what to order. The highlight of the day was to visit a mask maker. He had local teenagers show us how they danced in the costumes and our son got a chance to try one out too! - quite an unexpected experience! Thanks, Eric!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Carlos was terrific. We enjoyed he walk and the sites. He was patient and fun to listen to.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had an absolute blast. Carlos, our guide, knew all about San Jose and Costa Rica in depth. He was also just plain fun. Very flexible tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour around San Jose which offers a view on the city from both a tourist's and a local's perspective. The tour includes insights on Costa Rican history, philosophy of life, and is done in a very interactive and friendly way.

The highlights include walking through the city centre (read what the notes on graffiti actually say, many are quite witty!:)), visiting a local market (try to buy at least 1-2 pieces of each unknown fruit you meet, it's a great way to discover new tastes!), and visiting the festival mask maker.

This tour is an excellent way to see San Jose in its full beauty and to learn more about Costa Rican history and people. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was informative, entertaining and very knowledgeable. It was a very well organized tour and very enjoyable. I learned a lot of history and saw a beautiful theater, and was surprised by the many parks right downtown. Thank you for a perfect introduction to the urban area of Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good overview of San Jose for people that do not have a lot of time to explore the city in depth. Our guide was very proud of the culture and monuments of San Jose. We appreciated his knowledge and patience in answering our questions. This was a well paced pleasurable experience.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour, very informative and the guide was fantastic!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great introduction to the best sites of San Jose. Learning about the history, culture and architecture from a highly educated and friendly guide made for a great afternoon. I highly recommend the tour. A taste of the national drink at the end of the tour was a pleasant and welcomed surprise.
Britt B, Mountain View, California

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We enjoyed the tour so much! We got to know the history of Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Kathy B
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We've lived in Costa Rica for three years and still learned so many things about our adopted country and its capital. Well woth it!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The tour was interesting and the guide very informative. We got a great overview of the city and it's history which helped us plan the rest of our week in San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The city tour gives you a good overview of the history and beautiful culture to be had. The guide was VERY knowledgeable about the bare facts, quirks, and flavor of the town and the country!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Karina S
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was very interesting. Exactly as described, a walking tour through the city center. My tour guides were Manuel and Eric, thank you both for your time. For lunch we had typical Costa Rica food Pupusas and Chifrijo, and they were very tasty.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was lovely. Our guide was very knowledgable, and eager to show us San Jose. We leaned a great deal about the city.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Guide was excellent. Tour was as promoted except for omission of tortilla/ coffee stop. Appreciated being dropped off at our hotel. We would recommend to others.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good overview of city with many interesting sites. The obligatory "shop" at the end of the tour could be removed from tour.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good overall city tour. Only downside was not having a stop and time at the central market.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a guide, Jorge, who talked in English and Spanish throughout the whole four hours. He was very knowledgeable about the city, the culture, the church, the National theatre and went out of his way to describe everything in both languages - fluently. We were taken on a tour of the pre-Colombian gold museum, and found out from fellow travellers, that their guide didn't show them half the things in San Jose as our guide did. Bravo Jorge!! The bus ride was not for the faint of heart - people are crazy drivers in San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I enjoyed this tour and learned a lot about the map of San Jose and some of the more famous attractions. If it was longer, say a full day with lunch, I would pay more and recommend it even higher. However, I fully recommend this tour for someone like me, new to San Jose and Costa Rica who wishes to learn more in a short time.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

worth doing to get to know san jose, especially if you will be staying there for awhile. you get to know a little of the area, streets of san jose is a bit confusing so this tour will at least give you an overview of the area

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excellent tour recommended para todos .

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message