San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Orosi River Valley

The thick green forests, fertile coffee plantations and scenic mountains of the Orosi River Valley draw bird watchers, freshwater fishermen and nature lovers to the banks of the Reventazon River, as well as the pristine lake formed by the Cachi Dam. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Enrique G
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The views at the volcano in the morning were fantastic. Who knew you could walk in volcanic craters? We couldn't see the lake in the bottom though so don't really expect the view shown. The Orosi Valley is full of gorgeous scenes - something wonderful around every curve in the road. Both churches we stopped at were awe inspiring both in beauty and age. THe lunch we had was absolutely fantastic and the view from the restaurant was marvelous. Really enjoyed being outside in the Lankester garden enjoying the outdoors and all the plants. THere was a lot of driving around and it often felt like we were driving in circles around the valley but it was a beautiful drive.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Driver was very safe and knowledgeable, and our guide was great. He gave concise descriptions of what we were going to see, then gave us time to explore the sites on our own, all the while making sure he was available to answer questions if we had any. Lunch on a coffee plantation was tasty and the scenery was breathtaking. Lankester gardens was well worth the visit.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was my first tour in Costa Rica. We were lucky that we went on a very sunny and clear day. We took some great pictures and walked in the crater of the volcano. It was very cold at Irazu. You definitely need a jacket.
We stopped at a beautiful restaurant by a man made lake. The food was great, the desert was great and the coffee was the best I have had in Costa Rica. I actually bought some to bring back home.
Our guide was great. he spoke both English and Spanish. This tour is worth its money with hotel pick up and lunch.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

miguel
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Miza our guide made this trip awesome, he kept us entertain while driving through scenic views. Orosi Valley picturesque, Irazu is like you are stepping in on a different planet.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Scenery on way up to volcano is stunning. Church was beautiful as were the Lankester Gardens. Miza is an excellent, very enthusiastic guide and a safe driver.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great experience with a highly educated guide. The weather was perfect and the views spectacular. We were only three people on the tour, the van was comfortable and the lunch was very good. I never felt rushed and our guide was always there to answer any questions. We made several stops on the way, and there were many opportunities for photo shoots. A great tour and I highly recommend it.
Britt B

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The ruins and church was good to see. The valley had a breathtaking view and the volcano was spectacular. Recommend taking a sweater or a light jacket.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was absolutely striking! The volcano was magnificent! Orosi Valley was charming! Lankester was fantastic! Gina, our tour guide, was so entertaining! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide was very friendly and had a lot of knowlege about Costa Rica. I am going to use Viator for my future trips.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was one of our favorite days. The volcano has a lot less traffic than Poas and was, in my opinion, more beautiful. Plus we enjoyed the other items paired with Irazu. The Lankester garden is definitely worth it!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The tour was absolutely delightful. If you get car sick very easily, I recommend you bring some medication with you. The restaurant was excellent, the tour guide and driver were great. The locations visited were wonderful. I would highly recommed this tour!!!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Trip was good. Our tour guide Mr. Daniel was nice and new his job well. He could be a good Botany teacher the way he explained plant life. Lunch was good and on time. Only Hassel we had, they came to pick us up at 6:30v/s 8:30 web.st time. Missed breakfast shower and rush rush. Still loved it.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a lovely half day tour and we needed it since we had 5 other days of very long trips. However there has not been water in the volcano for 8 years.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I went there during the rainy season and unfortunately couldn't see much on top of the volcano... However, I think it's a great 1-day-tour to see a lot of the different and beautiful countryside. The Lankester garden on its own is worth the trip - very impressive!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message