• USD ($)
  • English

San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best trip by far. God blessed us an incredible view of the volcano for 5 minutes, just before the thick cloud rolled in. Also the waterfalls exquisite. Be prepared for a good hike over 700 steps to climb and descend. Pics with toucans on your shoulders and in the same room with the amazingly colored frogs!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was worth doing, although as i have read on numerous occasions that the summit of the volcano is always clouded over by the time, is it not time too go to the summit very early in the morning then go to the coffee plantation from there. this will give a better chance of actually being able to see the volcano summit. Waterfall gardens were beautiful and worth a visit although some of the animals were a little bit stressed out. The guide was very knowledgeable although had no control of timing for the group and was lucky not to have lost anyone during the day in La Paz.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

That tour was well worth the price!

Pros:
- Transport is all included from your hotel in San Jose so you don't have to bother with taxi drivers who cannot find their way around since hotel addresses do not mean anything there.
- The guide is very friendly and knowledgeable about the surroundings.
- All guided tours were interesting: coffee plantation, Poas volcano, animals and waterfall garden
- The lunch at the animal/waterfall garden was delicious!

Cons:
- The included breakfast was just very ordinary. It would have needed a little bit more (fruits, food choices, etc.)

Overall, that trip was super nice, especially considering how boring the city of San Jose is. That was a nice way to get out of there without the trouble of finding appropriate transportation.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was mostly a waste of time and money. We went to the coffee plantation first for breakfast (didn't eat it) and a tour (not that fascinating). Then to the volcano. By the time we got to the volcano, it was fogged in. Since they know this happens, why not go to the volcano first. Actually just skip the coffee plantation. After, they take you to what is essentially a small zoo (call it what you want, animals in cages are in a zoo). The butterflies and hummingbirds are interesting, but some sort of identification and more info on each species would have really made a difference. Lunch was good - nothing to write home about - then the walk down to the waterfalls with absolutely no explanation of what we were seeing. There was a person on our tour who wanted to practice his Spanish. He really monopolized the entire day. People in the back of the bus could not hear a thing and what we did hear was really a mixture of Spanish and English. The tour guide really needed to try to exert some control. All in all I would not recommend this. I got a better view of the volcano from the air when we flew out of Costa Rica.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

strongly suggest this tour. Unlike many other tours, this one is really the best bang for your buck, so many things all included in this tour, Volcano, Coffee Farm and Art town of Sarchi and is really worth the Price.
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and continuously explained everything, driver was professional and friendly. Definitely the highlight of my short stay in San Jose...Kudos to organizers :)

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was very well organised and did a lot in a day. Coffee Plantation trip far more enjoyable than I had expected. We actually got to see the volcano crater, which was fabulous. The trip to Le Paz was excellent, with lots to see and animals that appeared very well looked after. And we got to try strawberry wine and queso palmita on the way. All on all, a great day! Not cheap, but an easy way to see a lot easily.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Unfortunately, we went on a rainy day and could not see the volcano. It was covered in clouds. However, the Doka coffee plantation tour was great. The buffett lunch provided was very good. The tour guide was very knowledgable of the area and give a good history and point our the historice land marks. Overall, it was a good tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My favorite tour! Of course we didn't see the volcano, but I didn't expect to. It's tough with all the clouds.

Be advised that ALL of the animals you will see are in a zoo/refuge center but it was very cool all the same. I just wish I would have known and that's why I gave it four stars instead of five. You get to take photos of you with the toucans, and I got a photo of a leopard yawning that was incredible.

Max was one of the best guides I've had--instead of speaking for 15 min in English and then 15 min in Spanish, he would go back and forth, paragraph by paragraph. I like that style of interpretation so you don't feel like you are missing something that was told in the other language.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was very nice and guide was very knowledgeable. At that day it was raining close to the volcano, so we haven't seen the crater. However, they showed us a coffee plantation and beautiful place with lots of animals! Toucans, monkeys, different wild cats, hummingbirds and others! Lunch was a buffet style and tasted amazing! After the lunch we moved to the next location to see waterfalls! I've been in lots of places but these kind of waterfall I haven't seen anywhere else! I'd highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was well run, the guide was great, pretty good value. We went to the Doka coffee plantation first and had a good breakfast (typical local food). We went to the Poas volcano second, and it was all clouded in (we knew this was a possibility) so we couldn't see the crater at all, it was worth a try. Then we went to the La Paz waterfall gardens (included a good buffet lunch there). The butterfly and hummingbird gardens were great, the waterfalls were cool, the animal enclosures for the cats were a bit small and very zoo-like (it is obviously a successful business, so I would like to see them expand the habitats for the bigger animals).

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The volcano and waterfall hike was very nice, especially as we lucked out with the weather and was able to see a clear view of the craters. The coffee tour was way too long in my opinion - it took 3 hours of the tour, and it really could have been done in 20 minutes...so that was a bit frustrating as we were only given an hour at the volcano and 90 minutes at the waterfalls. I would have much rather have had more time at those places than the coffee plantation. Don't expect anything spectacular food wise - typical rice/bean fair and below average additions.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

In my opinon, this tour was way to expensive. In the morning, we went to the coffee tour, which was ok but the El Trapiche Tour in Monteverde was much better. Then, we went to the Poaz volcano. Unfortunately, it became cloudy when we arrived there, so we were not able to see the crater. The view of the second lagoon was nice. In my opinion, it would have been better to go first to the volcano and then to the coffee tour because the weather is much better in the morning. Last, we went to La Paz Waterfall garden. As soon as we arrived there, it started to rain. Torrential rain. Our guide decided to have our lunch first. This was delicous. In the afternooon, we walked through the zoo altough its was still raining. We rushed through all the different animal areas and had hardly no time to take picture from the animals. Anyhow, the cages were extremely small and I was just disappointed. The waterfalls were nice, but I could not really enjoy them because it was still raining very hard. I was really disappointed from this trip and it is really not weath the 100USD.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide, Choo Choo (sp?) was great! He was very friendly and informative. The coffe tour was great and we enjoyed being able to ake in the beautiful scenery of the plantation, learn the entire process that goes in to producing coffee, and the time in the shop at the end. Buy your coffee here! First, you get to buy coffee from the place where you actually saw the process first hand know that it's considered one of the best in Costa Rica, and second because, at $8/bag (when we were there) it's also the best deal you'll find. Poas Volcano was amazingly beautiful. We took a bit of a trek to the main crater, but it was too foggy to see anything. We took another trail that led us to a second crater, which was just beautiful. Choo Choo suggested heading back to the main crater before departing, and I'm glad he did because, by the time we got back, the fog had lifted and seeing the crater was well worth the wait and the hike. We stopped at roadside store where we got to sample "Locarno strawberries", strawberry wine, and a Vsta Rican wine, then headed to La Paz Waterfall Gardens. Lunch there was delicious - you ave to try their fried plantains - so good. The fauna and flora at the Gardens is so beautiful. There are tons of hummingbirds and the have a bit of a wildlife zoo going on with a butterfly area, frogs, monkeys, a tiger, birds, and other animals. At the end of the walk through there are paths to two waterfalls, one of which you can get close enough to feel the mist. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best day trip I've ever taken. The volcano portion was very intriguing, but the wildlife sanctuary is an absolute must for any animal lover. If you are into coffee, you will also enjoy the informative tour of the Doka coffee plantation and the delicious breakfast. Other outstanding points were the amazing Buffet lunch and the walk to the waterfalls. Even though it was raining, it was absolutely gorgeous.. Lastly, the quick stop to try fresh chocolate-dipped strawberries at a souvenir shop was the icing on the cake. Excellent value, excellent day!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message