San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip. We were surprised on how complete the coffee tour was. We couldn't see the bottom of the crater of the volcano because there were too many clouds... Although if you happen to be there on a windy day, you might get a good picture. The guide was very interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a good tour. It took us out of the City and up the mountain to the Volcano. We then decended the mountain and had activities planned the entire way. Then we toured the waterfall park and ended up at the government buildings and walking through various parts of San Jose. A great tour to get a feel for the City and the culture.. I highly recomend the tour. Excellent guide. We found out many things that we would not have found out any other way.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour! The Doka Coffee Plantation tour was wonderful and very informative. There was a wonderful 60 minute hike that we took to the volcano crater unfortunately the weather was completely cloudy and we couldn't see into the crater but the hike was incredible! The food on this tour was the best I had especially the lunch. And the butterflies were amazing! Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience. Luckily clear day for volcano

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

The tour was fine, but unfortunately the volcano was fogged in completely. You take the luck of the draw when you go on this tour. The rain forest trail to the lake was beautiful, but not worth it by itself. I would recommend a combo tour to Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfalls, which are nearby. At least that way you'd be guaranteed to see the falls and the butterflies and hummingbirds.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Max, our guide, was funny and very knowledgeable. The tour was bilingual Spanish English and Max was good at maintaining a commentary in both languages, but it did make it harder for us take in the information. The coffee plantation gave us a good breakfast and the tour was very informative - well definitely avoid de-caf from now on. The visit to the volcano was disappointing because the clouds were down and we saw nothing of it, although the cloud forest was fascinating. The souvenir stop was not really necessary. The La Paz Waterfall Gardens was well organised, basically a mini zoo and some good waterfalls. The aviary was good and you can get your picture taken with a toucan. The hummingbirds were fantastic, especially because they were not in a cage, but just lured by the food. The buffet meal was excellent. The big cats section was a little uncomfortable, especially as one or two of the cats were exhibiting repetitive behaviour. The waterfall walk was accurately described and you can get close enough to get soaked if you so desire. It was a packed tour, but generally worth the effort.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and terrific. Although we were not able to see the surface of the volcano due to the heavy fog / cloud, we had a good time. The lunch was good with real local taste. Doka Coffee Estate was interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Poas Volcano part of the trip was a bust. There were clouds so you could not see a thing. The Doka Coffee Estate tour and the tour of the church in Sarchi were very good.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide Eugene was good but overall was very disappointed in the Poas Volcano portion of the trip. Weather was horrible with heavy rain and swirling winds which guide said is percent 80% of the time. Overpriced concessions and souvenirs at the park. You need serious outdoor raingear to do this tour, not a cheap poncho that cost you $ 3 at the first break stop. If you are not properly prepared for walking uphill in weather to possibly see nothing because of visibility, plan something else. Doka Coffee Estate was informative and lunch was very good. Sarchi Oxcart and Grecia Church Stop were marginal. Would have enjoyed furniture shopping in Sarchi. Suggest you just do half day Doka Tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great excursion to Poas. The guide was very well informed and shared some great background. the trip was well organized starting with Poas volcano and then a lunch at Doka coffee. Very much enjoyed this day and recommend it for anyone going to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour. The volcano is breathtaking. :)

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The volcano was very cool. The waterfalls were beautiful so many places to take pictures. The gardens very nice especially the butterflies and we got to hold a Toucan.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Coffee tour was nice, Poas Volcano was covered in clouds and usually is during rainy season (we went beginning of December) so can't really see anything but nice walk through rainforest. La Paz waterfalls was very nice. Tour guide was good but not great, very knowledgeable about the coffee plantation though.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is well worth the money. You get three tours and two meals for a small price. Your first stop is the coffee plantation where you have a delicious breakfast. You can also stock up on coffee at the souvenir shop. The second stop is Poas volcano. Make sure you have comfortable walking shoes and bring a sweater it is pretty cool and there is a breeze. Depending on when you go it can rain so a poncho is also helpful. The higher you go the thinner the air is so be prepared to huff and puff. It is a beautiful site. The last stop on the tour is the La Paz Waterfall Garden. There are tons of animals that have been rescued at the waterfall garden they also have three natural waterfalls. This is also where you will have lunch. There is something on the buffet for everyone. Our tour guide Adrian was friendly and very informative. He was willing to answer just about any question we had.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent combination of places to visit!! only gripe is felt rushed through the coffee plantation which was unfortunate as we wanted to actually taste the different coffees and possibly buy some! also the tour guide who was excellent kept advising us not to buy any souveniers until we got to a particular stop which was very disappointing and we missed out on a couple of things we really wanted to get based on his insistence. Otherwise he was great and entertaining though. The volcano was absolutely brilliant and one of my favourite places to visit and the sanctuary and waterfalls were beautiful - perfect combination of places to visit and great way to get a taste of everything with limited time!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Unless you could have enough time to wait for the fog to go away, the crater or Lake view of Paos Volcano could hardly be seen clearly. La paz Waterfall is interesting and worth visiting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best trip by far. God blessed us an incredible view of the volcano for 5 minutes, just before the thick cloud rolled in. Also the waterfalls exquisite. Be prepared for a good hike over 700 steps to climb and descend. Pics with toucans on your shoulders and in the same room with the amazingly colored frogs!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Experienced a wonderful busy day on this tour. First, we visited the Doka Coffee Estate where the processing is the same as a century ago. Very informative and the coffee is delicious, especially the Peabody AA. Next on the itinerary was Poas Volcano and the Lagoon. Fortunately the fog lifted while there, so we were able to view the steaming caldera. Last, we went to La Paz Waterfalls and Gardens. This educational center is fantastic. Great hiking to all the falls, delicious lunch ( usually I don't care for buffets, however, this one rates A ). The exhibits were fantastic and was relieved to find out that they rehabilitate injured animals. Only those that can't survive in the wild are kept at this facility. The butterfly garden and hummingbird areas were amazing!! All in all, I would highly recommend this tour even though there is lots of walking. My husband and I are in our 70's and didn't have a problem.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I enjoyed this tour. The pick up was prompt. We started the tour having breakfast at the Doka Estate Coffee Plantation for a light breakfast. The breakfast was a little under expectation but it sufficed. The tour of the plantation was nice. I liked the walk through of the coffee process, from seed to the shelf. Then we drove through the country side to our next destination. After our arrival, We then proceeded on a short hike to the Paos Volcano. Now the view of this natural spectacle left me speechless for a moment. I also enjoyed the volcanic lake located at a higher elevation. Be prepared, it is a real trek upward, but it is a beautiful walk through the cloud forest. Then we were off to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens where we enjoyed the breath taking waterfalls and the indigenous animals, butterflies, and birds of Costa Rica. The lunch/dinner was delicious and beyond expectation. Overall this tour was wonderful and a well spent day experiencing some of the best of CR.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was worth doing, although as i have read on numerous occasions that the summit of the volcano is always clouded over by the time, is it not time too go to the summit very early in the morning then go to the coffee plantation from there. this will give a better chance of actually being able to see the volcano summit. Waterfall gardens were beautiful and worth a visit although some of the animals were a little bit stressed out. The guide was very knowledgeable although had no control of timing for the group and was lucky not to have lost anyone during the day in La Paz.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

That tour was well worth the price!

Pros:
- Transport is all included from your hotel in San Jose so you don't have to bother with taxi drivers who cannot find their way around since hotel addresses do not mean anything there.
- The guide is very friendly and knowledgeable about the surroundings.
- All guided tours were interesting: coffee plantation, Poas volcano, animals and waterfall garden
- The lunch at the animal/waterfall garden was delicious!

Cons:
- The included breakfast was just very ordinary. It would have needed a little bit more (fruits, food choices, etc.)

Overall, that trip was super nice, especially considering how boring the city of San Jose is. That was a nice way to get out of there without the trouble of finding appropriate transportation.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message