Kauai’s Na Pali Coast is famous for its seaside beauty, marine life and water sports. The 15-mile (24 km) length of coast is lined by cliffs, white-sand beaches and turquoise sea. Come here to whale watch or spot dolphins and monk seals on an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great excursion to Poas. The guide was very well informed and shared some great background. the trip was well organized starting with Poas volcano and then a lunch at Doka coffee. Very much enjoyed this day and recommend it for anyone going to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour. The volcano is breathtaking. :)

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The volcano was very cool. The waterfalls were beautiful so many places to take pictures. The gardens very nice especially the butterflies and we got to hold a Toucan.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is well worth the money. You get three tours and two meals for a small price. Your first stop is the coffee plantation where you have a delicious breakfast. You can also stock up on coffee at the souvenir shop. The second stop is Poas volcano. Make sure you have comfortable walking shoes and bring a sweater it is pretty cool and there is a breeze. Depending on when you go it can rain so a poncho is also helpful. The higher you go the thinner the air is so be prepared to huff and puff. It is a beautiful site. The last stop on the tour is the La Paz Waterfall Garden. There are tons of animals that have been rescued at the waterfall garden they also have three natural waterfalls. This is also where you will have lunch. There is something on the buffet for everyone. Our tour guide Adrian was friendly and very informative. He was willing to answer just about any question we had.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent combination of places to visit!! only gripe is felt rushed through the coffee plantation which was unfortunate as we wanted to actually taste the different coffees and possibly buy some! also the tour guide who was excellent kept advising us not to buy any souveniers until we got to a particular stop which was very disappointing and we missed out on a couple of things we really wanted to get based on his insistence. Otherwise he was great and entertaining though. The volcano was absolutely brilliant and one of my favourite places to visit and the sanctuary and waterfalls were beautiful - perfect combination of places to visit and great way to get a taste of everything with limited time!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Unless you could have enough time to wait for the fog to go away, the crater or Lake view of Paos Volcano could hardly be seen clearly. La paz Waterfall is interesting and worth visiting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best trip by far. God blessed us an incredible view of the volcano for 5 minutes, just before the thick cloud rolled in. Also the waterfalls exquisite. Be prepared for a good hike over 700 steps to climb and descend. Pics with toucans on your shoulders and in the same room with the amazingly colored frogs!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Experienced a wonderful busy day on this tour. First, we visited the Doka Coffee Estate where the processing is the same as a century ago. Very informative and the coffee is delicious, especially the Peabody AA. Next on the itinerary was Poas Volcano and the Lagoon. Fortunately the fog lifted while there, so we were able to view the steaming caldera. Last, we went to La Paz Waterfalls and Gardens. This educational center is fantastic. Great hiking to all the falls, delicious lunch ( usually I don't care for buffets, however, this one rates A ). The exhibits were fantastic and was relieved to find out that they rehabilitate injured animals. Only those that can't survive in the wild are kept at this facility. The butterfly garden and hummingbird areas were amazing!! All in all, I would highly recommend this tour even though there is lots of walking. My husband and I are in our 70's and didn't have a problem.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I enjoyed this tour. The pick up was prompt. We started the tour having breakfast at the Doka Estate Coffee Plantation for a light breakfast. The breakfast was a little under expectation but it sufficed. The tour of the plantation was nice. I liked the walk through of the coffee process, from seed to the shelf. Then we drove through the country side to our next destination. After our arrival, We then proceeded on a short hike to the Paos Volcano. Now the view of this natural spectacle left me speechless for a moment. I also enjoyed the volcanic lake located at a higher elevation. Be prepared, it is a real trek upward, but it is a beautiful walk through the cloud forest. Then we were off to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens where we enjoyed the breath taking waterfalls and the indigenous animals, butterflies, and birds of Costa Rica. The lunch/dinner was delicious and beyond expectation. Overall this tour was wonderful and a well spent day experiencing some of the best of CR.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was worth doing, although as i have read on numerous occasions that the summit of the volcano is always clouded over by the time, is it not time too go to the summit very early in the morning then go to the coffee plantation from there. this will give a better chance of actually being able to see the volcano summit. Waterfall gardens were beautiful and worth a visit although some of the animals were a little bit stressed out. The guide was very knowledgeable although had no control of timing for the group and was lucky not to have lost anyone during the day in La Paz.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

That tour was well worth the price!

Pros:
- Transport is all included from your hotel in San Jose so you don't have to bother with taxi drivers who cannot find their way around since hotel addresses do not mean anything there.
- The guide is very friendly and knowledgeable about the surroundings.
- All guided tours were interesting: coffee plantation, Poas volcano, animals and waterfall garden
- The lunch at the animal/waterfall garden was delicious!

Cons:
- The included breakfast was just very ordinary. It would have needed a little bit more (fruits, food choices, etc.)

Overall, that trip was super nice, especially considering how boring the city of San Jose is. That was a nice way to get out of there without the trouble of finding appropriate transportation.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message