San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an awesome trip and i'm so glad I booked it. To begin with, our tour guide, Eugenio, was awesome. He provided us so many details about each place we went, Doka coffee plantation, Poas Volcano and the La Paz Waterfalls, butterfly exhibit and wildlife refuge. He spoke excellent English. He encouraged us not to give up easy while looking at the Main Crater at Poas because the clouds usually clear after a bit and you can see the water. We ended up seeing the water just like the photo. Also same for the Ancient Crater laguna. Very beautiful. It was all amazing and a great day. The hiking at Poas and the waterfalls were fairly easy and could be accomplished by most people.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Max is an excellent guide, we were lucky to see the volcano in some breaks in the clouds. The animal displays at the Waterfall Park are very interesting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a great tour. I really enjoyed covering 3 things in one day. The pace is good though and I never felt rushed. Our guide Max was fantastic and was very positive, knows a lot about Costa Rica, and was very organized and kept us on schedule. There were about 15-20 people on this tour plus a guide and a driver. The driver always stays with the car so you can feel secure about leaving extra items. Breakfast at the coffee plantation was delicious. The temp at the volcano was cold so bring a sweater. Our guide Max explained everything including history during the drive and then also gave us the tour at each facility including showing us how coffee was made at Doka. Lunch was delicious at the animal sanctuary too. This was a very serene day. Every path we walked was paved and it was not strenuous at all. There are a lot of steps at the waterfalls at the end but anyone with health concerns can just walk slow. There was also plenty of bathroom breaks at each location. I would definitely use this tour operator again.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I was quite disappointed with the tour, I have to admit. It said exhilarating mountain hike before going to Doke estate - and there simply was no real hike that was part of the tour.
The guide's English was not very good and it was difficult to understand and follow what he was telling us. Also, he always repeated the same information, but didn't actually share any information with us that would have been really interesting e.g. he described in lengthy details the war heroes, war dates and all names of immigrant families of Costa Rica, but when we were at the volcano, I had to listen to another group's tour guide to find out about whether the volcano is still active, whether it is possible to walk down in the crater and where the fog came from that was rising from the volcano.
The Poas volcano and also the waterfall gardens are really beautiful and it was worth doing the tour just for this, but the description of the tour clearly does not fit to the reality.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guides were entertaining and had a lot of information. Unfortunately, it was raining and cloudy and we couldn't see any of the volcano. But the coffee tour was great and we got soaked but loved the cascades! The animals were sooo awesome and the breakfast and lunch was good! Great time

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour have it title Best of Costa Rica !!! The bus was comfortable, tour guide was informative, honest and sense of humor. The hike to the Volcano crater was enchanted path. Water fall was magnificent because it was 120 feet high and you can be so close to the water fall. Hummingbird and butterflies gardens were magical. Lunch was great and so much foods. Coffee plantation tour contained a lot of information from planting, harvest, process to coffee. It make me appreciated a cup of coffee more.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and a highlight of my time in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We started with a nice breakfast at the coffee plantation then an interesting tour of how coffee is picked and processed. We then drove up through beautiful cattle farms, strawberry growing fields and small villages with amazing valley views to the Poaz volcano. There was a short, pleasant walk in the cool air up to the rim of the volcano where we saw the crater and smelled the sulfur. Next was the rainforest preserve for a great buffet lunch and a walk through the animal rescue center. I held a toucan on my arm, saw lots of birds, parrots and macaws as well as monkeys and large jungle cats that had been rescued from private owners who could no longer care for them. The butterflies were beautiful and it was so much fun being buzzed by hummingbirds in the hummingbird garden. We then walked down through the rainforest to see three beautiful waterfalls. There were a lot of steps, mostly down but a bit of a climb back up at the end, but I didn't feel rushed, so I went at my own pace and rested as needed. These could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but I am not in perfect shape and had no problem. The waterfalls were full with all of the rain and were so worth the climb. Thank you to our guide Jorge for showing us the secret of the magic falls. One good thing about this tour is that the ride back to the city was about 1 12 hour which is shorter than the other tours I took. I arrived back at my hotel around 6, in time for dinner and not so exhausted from the drive. I have already recommended this tour to other travelers as a great day and a great value.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Average trip. Volcano Poas was not visible at all and it not advisable to get this trip duirng raining season as the chance to see the volcano are practically non-existant. The trip to the waterfall was nice. Really interesting and plenty of things to see. Food was also good. The coffee tour was ok. Breakfast was nice but small portion. The guide was knowdgeble but it miss a real human contacts/touch. He seems that we were just numbers so he was giving the minimum info without adding any extra. Even when asking extra questions he was not passionate on his answer, neither on his job

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip. We were surprised on how complete the coffee tour was. We couldn't see the bottom of the crater of the volcano because there were too many clouds... Although if you happen to be there on a windy day, you might get a good picture. The guide was very interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a good tour. It took us out of the City and up the mountain to the Volcano. We then decended the mountain and had activities planned the entire way. Then we toured the waterfall park and ended up at the government buildings and walking through various parts of San Jose. A great tour to get a feel for the City and the culture.. I highly recomend the tour. Excellent guide. We found out many things that we would not have found out any other way.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour! The Doka Coffee Plantation tour was wonderful and very informative. There was a wonderful 60 minute hike that we took to the volcano crater unfortunately the weather was completely cloudy and we couldn't see into the crater but the hike was incredible! The food on this tour was the best I had especially the lunch. And the butterflies were amazing! Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience. Luckily clear day for volcano

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

The tour was fine, but unfortunately the volcano was fogged in completely. You take the luck of the draw when you go on this tour. The rain forest trail to the lake was beautiful, but not worth it by itself. I would recommend a combo tour to Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfalls, which are nearby. At least that way you'd be guaranteed to see the falls and the butterflies and hummingbirds.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Max, our guide, was funny and very knowledgeable. The tour was bilingual Spanish English and Max was good at maintaining a commentary in both languages, but it did make it harder for us take in the information. The coffee plantation gave us a good breakfast and the tour was very informative - well definitely avoid de-caf from now on. The visit to the volcano was disappointing because the clouds were down and we saw nothing of it, although the cloud forest was fascinating. The souvenir stop was not really necessary. The La Paz Waterfall Gardens was well organised, basically a mini zoo and some good waterfalls. The aviary was good and you can get your picture taken with a toucan. The hummingbirds were fantastic, especially because they were not in a cage, but just lured by the food. The buffet meal was excellent. The big cats section was a little uncomfortable, especially as one or two of the cats were exhibiting repetitive behaviour. The waterfall walk was accurately described and you can get close enough to get soaked if you so desire. It was a packed tour, but generally worth the effort.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and terrific. Although we were not able to see the surface of the volcano due to the heavy fog / cloud, we had a good time. The lunch was good with real local taste. Doka Coffee Estate was interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Poas Volcano part of the trip was a bust. There were clouds so you could not see a thing. The Doka Coffee Estate tour and the tour of the church in Sarchi were very good.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide Eugene was good but overall was very disappointed in the Poas Volcano portion of the trip. Weather was horrible with heavy rain and swirling winds which guide said is percent 80% of the time. Overpriced concessions and souvenirs at the park. You need serious outdoor raingear to do this tour, not a cheap poncho that cost you $ 3 at the first break stop. If you are not properly prepared for walking uphill in weather to possibly see nothing because of visibility, plan something else. Doka Coffee Estate was informative and lunch was very good. Sarchi Oxcart and Grecia Church Stop were marginal. Would have enjoyed furniture shopping in Sarchi. Suggest you just do half day Doka Tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great excursion to Poas. The guide was very well informed and shared some great background. the trip was well organized starting with Poas volcano and then a lunch at Doka coffee. Very much enjoyed this day and recommend it for anyone going to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour. The volcano is breathtaking. :)

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The volcano was very cool. The waterfalls were beautiful so many places to take pictures. The gardens very nice especially the butterflies and we got to hold a Toucan.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Coffee tour was nice, Poas Volcano was covered in clouds and usually is during rainy season (we went beginning of December) so can't really see anything but nice walk through rainforest. La Paz waterfalls was very nice. Tour guide was good but not great, very knowledgeable about the coffee plantation though.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is well worth the money. You get three tours and two meals for a small price. Your first stop is the coffee plantation where you have a delicious breakfast. You can also stock up on coffee at the souvenir shop. The second stop is Poas volcano. Make sure you have comfortable walking shoes and bring a sweater it is pretty cool and there is a breeze. Depending on when you go it can rain so a poncho is also helpful. The higher you go the thinner the air is so be prepared to huff and puff. It is a beautiful site. The last stop on the tour is the La Paz Waterfall Garden. There are tons of animals that have been rescued at the waterfall garden they also have three natural waterfalls. This is also where you will have lunch. There is something on the buffet for everyone. Our tour guide Adrian was friendly and very informative. He was willing to answer just about any question we had.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent combination of places to visit!! only gripe is felt rushed through the coffee plantation which was unfortunate as we wanted to actually taste the different coffees and possibly buy some! also the tour guide who was excellent kept advising us not to buy any souveniers until we got to a particular stop which was very disappointing and we missed out on a couple of things we really wanted to get based on his insistence. Otherwise he was great and entertaining though. The volcano was absolutely brilliant and one of my favourite places to visit and the sanctuary and waterfalls were beautiful - perfect combination of places to visit and great way to get a taste of everything with limited time!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Unless you could have enough time to wait for the fog to go away, the crater or Lake view of Paos Volcano could hardly be seen clearly. La paz Waterfall is interesting and worth visiting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message