San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The whole experience was awesome but it could have been better if it wasn't raining at the volcano. We also meet so great people while on tour who we go to share our Costa Rican coffee with.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

kmkilford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw the Poas Volcano crater with no clouds when we first arrived, but it very quickly clouded up, so timing is everything, We were lucky but the earlier you get to the crater the better.
Not many people can say they have stood on top of an active volcano, but it was fabulous. Also the Le Paz waterfall gardens were great. 5 big waterfalls at least by UK standards.
My wife and I had a great day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Meredith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I did three tours in Costa Rica, and this was my favorite! The weather was perfect, the food was good, and the scenery was gorgeous! I loved the diverse activities of the trip and would highly recommend it. Bring a jacket for the volcano portion.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Ann V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour very much - we were fortunate to have perfectly clear skies and beautiful weather! Terrific views of the volcano. Be prepared for many stairs at the waterfall gardens - wear comfortable shoes! A lovely setting. My only wish is that we had time to meander a bit more. I only had one day on a work related trip, so this tour provided the opportunity to squeeze in some exploration. Tour guide was attentive and friendly.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Brittany M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The coffee at the estate wasn't that good, and I couldn't eat most of the things at their breakfast due to dietary restrictions. The volcano couldn't be seen because of fog though, this is not the fault of the tour, but after the disappointment at the coffee estate it further contributed to the dislike of the tour. The only good part of the tour was the La Paz Waterfall garden. However, since they had spent so much time at the other places, there was not enough time to thoroughly enjoy the Waterfall garden as you were bing rushed through. It would have been nice to be able to spend at least another two hours there.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A must tour. We seen a variety of things such as the Coffee Plantation. That was so informative and beautiful. The breakfast was very good to and able to sample various coffee blends. The Poas volcano was awesome. The sanctuary was so beautiful and interesting. Take your camera because there are many great photo ops. The buffet lunch was very good. Our tour guide and driver were awesome. Highly recommend this tour as you will be able to see many things in a day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Neil F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The only thing keeping it from five stars was that the volcano was clouded in by the time we got there. From what I heard from locals, if we had stopped at the volcano before the coffee plantation, we had better chances of seeing it. That said, the tours were great, the food was good, and our tour guide Oliver was amazing.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Poas Volcano is beautiful! This tour is a MUST DO!!! The day was perfect! Then La Paz Waterfalls are amazing!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Jay83

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Misty volcano, but beside all...excellent tour

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Catherine Eng C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Three great attractions in one day trip: Doka coffee plantation tour with breakfast, Poas volcano, and La Paz Garden and waterfalls, lunch included Great value for the price. Tour descriptions says this is 8 hour tour, but should plan on 10-11 hrs from hotel pick up to hotel drop off.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Juan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

IWe covered a lot of nice places during the day. The waterfalls were impressive. I also enjoyed the coffee plantation and going to the mini zoo. The only thing to be aware of is that you might not see the volcano and the lake due to the weather. In our case it was too foggy, and we could not see anything, but still it was good to go.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Joyce C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great way to spend a full day! The volcano was agreeable and we were able to get a break in the clouds to view the crater. There is a small but interesting museum at the visitor's center, along with a small café and the obligatory gift shop. Next stop was the Doha Coffee Estate where we started with a buffet lunch ok but not great and then proceeded to walk through the coffee process of getting from tree to cup. It was all very interesting and we were able to enjoy some samples before leaving for the final stop. Sarchi is a pretty little town with a history of woodworking. Our stop was at a workshop/store combination where after viewing the artisans at work, you had about 30 minutes to shop. Ordinarily this would not be my ideal way to shop - I prefer to stop at little shops that I can wander in and out of but since this is the rainy season in Costa Rica, it was nice to be able to go through a view variety of items in the comfort of one dry store. The guide Ricardo was excellent. He did a fine job in English and Spanish of explaining everything we saw and did and answering additional questions. The tour was through a local tour company and I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Rob F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really good tour. The guide was amazing at speaking both English and Spanish, and had incredible coffee knowledge!

The volcano was spectacular, as was the Waterfall gardens. The coffee estate had amazing coffee ... as you would expect!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Tina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour I did during my visit to Costa Rica. It was amazing being so close to this volcano and the entire tour had a lot of interesting elements, including the coffee tour which I enjoyed. Lunch was great and the variety of animals we saw were just fabulous and we had time to take photos which was very nice too. Highly recomended!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

dane

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour is reasonably priced. The rainforest and sceneries around Poas Volcano is really nice plus it's cold! . Doka coffee tour is fun too now i know the whole process of making my favorite drink. There are some additional stops not highlighted in the summary but are included like Strawberry store buy the strawberry with chocolate and condensed milk, butterfly garden in Doka. lastly, the Sarchi part is not that good since there's really not much too see.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

spyridon v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip I highly recomend. I especially enjoyd the Doka Coffee Estates where you get to see first hand the porcess of coffee making. Their coffee and food that was served was excellent. The Sarchi Arts and Crafts was also very good in that you got to see hand made furniture and art. Bought some nice items from there and the prices are very good considering everything is hand made. The volcano was raining up there but I still found it interesting to be close to a vocano.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an awesome trip and i'm so glad I booked it. To begin with, our tour guide, Eugenio, was awesome. He provided us so many details about each place we went, Doka coffee plantation, Poas Volcano and the La Paz Waterfalls, butterfly exhibit and wildlife refuge. He spoke excellent English. He encouraged us not to give up easy while looking at the Main Crater at Poas because the clouds usually clear after a bit and you can see the water. We ended up seeing the water just like the photo. Also same for the Ancient Crater laguna. Very beautiful. It was all amazing and a great day. The hiking at Poas and the waterfalls were fairly easy and could be accomplished by most people.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Max is an excellent guide, we were lucky to see the volcano in some breaks in the clouds. The animal displays at the Waterfall Park are very interesting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Carrie N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a great tour. I really enjoyed covering 3 things in one day. The pace is good though and I never felt rushed. Our guide Max was fantastic and was very positive, knows a lot about Costa Rica, and was very organized and kept us on schedule. There were about 15-20 people on this tour plus a guide and a driver. The driver always stays with the car so you can feel secure about leaving extra items. Breakfast at the coffee plantation was delicious. The temp at the volcano was cold so bring a sweater. Our guide Max explained everything including history during the drive and then also gave us the tour at each facility including showing us how coffee was made at Doka. Lunch was delicious at the animal sanctuary too. This was a very serene day. Every path we walked was paved and it was not strenuous at all. There are a lot of steps at the waterfalls at the end but anyone with health concerns can just walk slow. There was also plenty of bathroom breaks at each location. I would definitely use this tour operator again.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Bianca K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I was quite disappointed with the tour, I have to admit. It said exhilarating mountain hike before going to Doke estate - and there simply was no real hike that was part of the tour.
The guide's English was not very good and it was difficult to understand and follow what he was telling us. Also, he always repeated the same information, but didn't actually share any information with us that would have been really interesting e.g. he described in lengthy details the war heroes, war dates and all names of immigrant families of Costa Rica, but when we were at the volcano, I had to listen to another group's tour guide to find out about whether the volcano is still active, whether it is possible to walk down in the crater and where the fog came from that was rising from the volcano.
The Poas volcano and also the waterfall gardens are really beautiful and it was worth doing the tour just for this, but the description of the tour clearly does not fit to the reality.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Deborah M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guides were entertaining and had a lot of information. Unfortunately, it was raining and cloudy and we couldn't see any of the volcano. But the coffee tour was great and we got soaked but loved the cascades! The animals were sooo awesome and the breakfast and lunch was good! Great time

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Jennied7331

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour have it title Best of Costa Rica !!! The bus was comfortable, tour guide was informative, honest and sense of humor. The hike to the Volcano crater was enchanted path. Water fall was magnificent because it was 120 feet high and you can be so close to the water fall. Hummingbird and butterflies gardens were magical. Lunch was great and so much foods. Coffee plantation tour contained a lot of information from planting, harvest, process to coffee. It make me appreciated a cup of coffee more.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

CATHERINE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and a highlight of my time in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We started with a nice breakfast at the coffee plantation then an interesting tour of how coffee is picked and processed. We then drove up through beautiful cattle farms, strawberry growing fields and small villages with amazing valley views to the Poaz volcano. There was a short, pleasant walk in the cool air up to the rim of the volcano where we saw the crater and smelled the sulfur. Next was the rainforest preserve for a great buffet lunch and a walk through the animal rescue center. I held a toucan on my arm, saw lots of birds, parrots and macaws as well as monkeys and large jungle cats that had been rescued from private owners who could no longer care for them. The butterflies were beautiful and it was so much fun being buzzed by hummingbirds in the hummingbird garden. We then walked down through the rainforest to see three beautiful waterfalls. There were a lot of steps, mostly down but a bit of a climb back up at the end, but I didn't feel rushed, so I went at my own pace and rested as needed. These could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but I am not in perfect shape and had no problem. The waterfalls were full with all of the rain and were so worth the climb. Thank you to our guide Jorge for showing us the secret of the magic falls. One good thing about this tour is that the ride back to the city was about 1 12 hour which is shorter than the other tours I took. I arrived back at my hotel around 6, in time for dinner and not so exhausted from the drive. I have already recommended this tour to other travelers as a great day and a great value.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Nino A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Average trip. Volcano Poas was not visible at all and it not advisable to get this trip duirng raining season as the chance to see the volcano are practically non-existant. The trip to the waterfall was nice. Really interesting and plenty of things to see. Food was also good. The coffee tour was ok. Breakfast was nice but small portion. The guide was knowdgeble but it miss a real human contacts/touch. He seems that we were just numbers so he was giving the minimum info without adding any extra. Even when asking extra questions he was not passionate on his answer, neither on his job

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Veronique C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip. We were surprised on how complete the coffee tour was. We couldn't see the bottom of the crater of the volcano because there were too many clouds... Although if you happen to be there on a windy day, you might get a good picture. The guide was very interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message