San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and terrific. Although we were not able to see the surface of the volcano due to the heavy fog / cloud, we had a good time. The lunch was good with real local taste. Doka Coffee Estate was interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Poas Volcano part of the trip was a bust. There were clouds so you could not see a thing. The Doka Coffee Estate tour and the tour of the church in Sarchi were very good.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide Eugene was good but overall was very disappointed in the Poas Volcano portion of the trip. Weather was horrible with heavy rain and swirling winds which guide said is percent 80% of the time. Overpriced concessions and souvenirs at the park. You need serious outdoor raingear to do this tour, not a cheap poncho that cost you $ 3 at the first break stop. If you are not properly prepared for walking uphill in weather to possibly see nothing because of visibility, plan something else. Doka Coffee Estate was informative and lunch was very good. Sarchi Oxcart and Grecia Church Stop were marginal. Would have enjoyed furniture shopping in Sarchi. Suggest you just do half day Doka Tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great excursion to Poas. The guide was very well informed and shared some great background. the trip was well organized starting with Poas volcano and then a lunch at Doka coffee. Very much enjoyed this day and recommend it for anyone going to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour. The volcano is breathtaking. :)

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The volcano was very cool. The waterfalls were beautiful so many places to take pictures. The gardens very nice especially the butterflies and we got to hold a Toucan.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Coffee tour was nice, Poas Volcano was covered in clouds and usually is during rainy season (we went beginning of December) so can't really see anything but nice walk through rainforest. La Paz waterfalls was very nice. Tour guide was good but not great, very knowledgeable about the coffee plantation though.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is well worth the money. You get three tours and two meals for a small price. Your first stop is the coffee plantation where you have a delicious breakfast. You can also stock up on coffee at the souvenir shop. The second stop is Poas volcano. Make sure you have comfortable walking shoes and bring a sweater it is pretty cool and there is a breeze. Depending on when you go it can rain so a poncho is also helpful. The higher you go the thinner the air is so be prepared to huff and puff. It is a beautiful site. The last stop on the tour is the La Paz Waterfall Garden. There are tons of animals that have been rescued at the waterfall garden they also have three natural waterfalls. This is also where you will have lunch. There is something on the buffet for everyone. Our tour guide Adrian was friendly and very informative. He was willing to answer just about any question we had.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent combination of places to visit!! only gripe is felt rushed through the coffee plantation which was unfortunate as we wanted to actually taste the different coffees and possibly buy some! also the tour guide who was excellent kept advising us not to buy any souveniers until we got to a particular stop which was very disappointing and we missed out on a couple of things we really wanted to get based on his insistence. Otherwise he was great and entertaining though. The volcano was absolutely brilliant and one of my favourite places to visit and the sanctuary and waterfalls were beautiful - perfect combination of places to visit and great way to get a taste of everything with limited time!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Unless you could have enough time to wait for the fog to go away, the crater or Lake view of Paos Volcano could hardly be seen clearly. La paz Waterfall is interesting and worth visiting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best trip by far. God blessed us an incredible view of the volcano for 5 minutes, just before the thick cloud rolled in. Also the waterfalls exquisite. Be prepared for a good hike over 700 steps to climb and descend. Pics with toucans on your shoulders and in the same room with the amazingly colored frogs!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Experienced a wonderful busy day on this tour. First, we visited the Doka Coffee Estate where the processing is the same as a century ago. Very informative and the coffee is delicious, especially the Peabody AA. Next on the itinerary was Poas Volcano and the Lagoon. Fortunately the fog lifted while there, so we were able to view the steaming caldera. Last, we went to La Paz Waterfalls and Gardens. This educational center is fantastic. Great hiking to all the falls, delicious lunch ( usually I don't care for buffets, however, this one rates A ). The exhibits were fantastic and was relieved to find out that they rehabilitate injured animals. Only those that can't survive in the wild are kept at this facility. The butterfly garden and hummingbird areas were amazing!! All in all, I would highly recommend this tour even though there is lots of walking. My husband and I are in our 70's and didn't have a problem.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message