San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Poas Volcano National Park

There aren’t too many places in the world where you can almost touch the rim of an active volcano, but at Poas Volcano National Park you can get up close to the smoking crater. One of the world’s most accessible volcanoes, Poas Volcano is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best trip by far. God blessed us an incredible view of the volcano for 5 minutes, just before the thick cloud rolled in. Also the waterfalls exquisite. Be prepared for a good hike over 700 steps to climb and descend. Pics with toucans on your shoulders and in the same room with the amazingly colored frogs!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Experienced a wonderful busy day on this tour. First, we visited the Doka Coffee Estate where the processing is the same as a century ago. Very informative and the coffee is delicious, especially the Peabody AA. Next on the itinerary was Poas Volcano and the Lagoon. Fortunately the fog lifted while there, so we were able to view the steaming caldera. Last, we went to La Paz Waterfalls and Gardens. This educational center is fantastic. Great hiking to all the falls, delicious lunch ( usually I don't care for buffets, however, this one rates A ). The exhibits were fantastic and was relieved to find out that they rehabilitate injured animals. Only those that can't survive in the wild are kept at this facility. The butterfly garden and hummingbird areas were amazing!! All in all, I would highly recommend this tour even though there is lots of walking. My husband and I are in our 70's and didn't have a problem.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I enjoyed this tour. The pick up was prompt. We started the tour having breakfast at the Doka Estate Coffee Plantation for a light breakfast. The breakfast was a little under expectation but it sufficed. The tour of the plantation was nice. I liked the walk through of the coffee process, from seed to the shelf. Then we drove through the country side to our next destination. After our arrival, We then proceeded on a short hike to the Paos Volcano. Now the view of this natural spectacle left me speechless for a moment. I also enjoyed the volcanic lake located at a higher elevation. Be prepared, it is a real trek upward, but it is a beautiful walk through the cloud forest. Then we were off to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens where we enjoyed the breath taking waterfalls and the indigenous animals, butterflies, and birds of Costa Rica. The lunch/dinner was delicious and beyond expectation. Overall this tour was wonderful and a well spent day experiencing some of the best of CR.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour was worth doing, although as i have read on numerous occasions that the summit of the volcano is always clouded over by the time, is it not time too go to the summit very early in the morning then go to the coffee plantation from there. this will give a better chance of actually being able to see the volcano summit. Waterfall gardens were beautiful and worth a visit although some of the animals were a little bit stressed out. The guide was very knowledgeable although had no control of timing for the group and was lucky not to have lost anyone during the day in La Paz.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

That tour was well worth the price!

Pros:
- Transport is all included from your hotel in San Jose so you don't have to bother with taxi drivers who cannot find their way around since hotel addresses do not mean anything there.
- The guide is very friendly and knowledgeable about the surroundings.
- All guided tours were interesting: coffee plantation, Poas volcano, animals and waterfall garden
- The lunch at the animal/waterfall garden was delicious!

Cons:
- The included breakfast was just very ordinary. It would have needed a little bit more (fruits, food choices, etc.)

Overall, that trip was super nice, especially considering how boring the city of San Jose is. That was a nice way to get out of there without the trouble of finding appropriate transportation.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was mostly a waste of time and money. We went to the coffee plantation first for breakfast (didn't eat it) and a tour (not that fascinating). Then to the volcano. By the time we got to the volcano, it was fogged in. Since they know this happens, why not go to the volcano first. Actually just skip the coffee plantation. After, they take you to what is essentially a small zoo (call it what you want, animals in cages are in a zoo). The butterflies and hummingbirds are interesting, but some sort of identification and more info on each species would have really made a difference. Lunch was good - nothing to write home about - then the walk down to the waterfalls with absolutely no explanation of what we were seeing. There was a person on our tour who wanted to practice his Spanish. He really monopolized the entire day. People in the back of the bus could not hear a thing and what we did hear was really a mixture of Spanish and English. The tour guide really needed to try to exert some control. All in all I would not recommend this. I got a better view of the volcano from the air when we flew out of Costa Rica.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

strongly suggest this tour. Unlike many other tours, this one is really the best bang for your buck, so many things all included in this tour, Volcano, Coffee Farm and Art town of Sarchi and is really worth the Price.
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and continuously explained everything, driver was professional and friendly. Definitely the highlight of my short stay in San Jose...Kudos to organizers :)

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was very well organised and did a lot in a day. Coffee Plantation trip far more enjoyable than I had expected. We actually got to see the volcano crater, which was fabulous. The trip to Le Paz was excellent, with lots to see and animals that appeared very well looked after. And we got to try strawberry wine and queso palmita on the way. All on all, a great day! Not cheap, but an easy way to see a lot easily.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Unfortunately, we went on a rainy day and could not see the volcano. It was covered in clouds. However, the Doka coffee plantation tour was great. The buffett lunch provided was very good. The tour guide was very knowledgable of the area and give a good history and point our the historice land marks. Overall, it was a good tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My favorite tour! Of course we didn't see the volcano, but I didn't expect to. It's tough with all the clouds.

Be advised that ALL of the animals you will see are in a zoo/refuge center but it was very cool all the same. I just wish I would have known and that's why I gave it four stars instead of five. You get to take photos of you with the toucans, and I got a photo of a leopard yawning that was incredible.

Max was one of the best guides I've had--instead of speaking for 15 min in English and then 15 min in Spanish, he would go back and forth, paragraph by paragraph. I like that style of interpretation so you don't feel like you are missing something that was told in the other language.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was very nice and guide was very knowledgeable. At that day it was raining close to the volcano, so we haven't seen the crater. However, they showed us a coffee plantation and beautiful place with lots of animals! Toucans, monkeys, different wild cats, hummingbirds and others! Lunch was a buffet style and tasted amazing! After the lunch we moved to the next location to see waterfalls! I've been in lots of places but these kind of waterfall I haven't seen anywhere else! I'd highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was well run, the guide was great, pretty good value. We went to the Doka coffee plantation first and had a good breakfast (typical local food). We went to the Poas volcano second, and it was all clouded in (we knew this was a possibility) so we couldn't see the crater at all, it was worth a try. Then we went to the La Paz waterfall gardens (included a good buffet lunch there). The butterfly and hummingbird gardens were great, the waterfalls were cool, the animal enclosures for the cats were a bit small and very zoo-like (it is obviously a successful business, so I would like to see them expand the habitats for the bigger animals).

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message