San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

San Jose Central Market (Mercado Central)

The lively San Jose Central Market was founded in 1880. For free entertainment and a real taste of the local atmosphere, there’s no better place in the city! The market has more than 200 stalls, selling everything under the sun from souvenirs ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

good overall tour and guide...good intro to some of San Jose highoights

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour !!! Saw San Jose at it's best. Enjoyed seeing the celebration at the win of the soccer match. Happy people who enjoy a good party. Thank you San Jose for all your hospitality.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My buddy and I had a marvelous time with Eric and Carlos. It was like being with friends. I have never learned so much on a walking tour. These guys really knew there stuff. You could feel there passion for their country. Any and every question i asked them was replied with a heart felt answer. I do not know how they do it being on the move every day walking the streets of San Jose with tourist. Eric and Carlos shared their personal life experiences of growing up and living in Costa Rica. They shared stories of the history of the country and stories behind the architecture we viewed. So much to see and experience in San Jose. I would do this tour again just to hang out with my new pals Eric and Carlos. Thank you for making us feel like we were spending time with old friends.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good overall city tour. Only downside was not having a stop and time at the central market.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was like Gilligan's Island: A five hour tour that should have been about three hours long. Between
San Jose traffic jams and picking up people at hotels most of the time was spent just driving around. Two stops were good (The Gold Museum and the Opera House) the others were not (the statue and the
tourist trap). Overall, I would suggest that people take a cab to the downtown area and do a walking tour
for a better experience of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was like Gilligan's Island: A five hour tour that should have been about three hours long. Between
San Jose traffic jams and picking up people at hotels most of the time was spent just driving around. Two stops were good (The Gold Museum and the Opera House) the others were not (the statue and the
tourist trap). Overall, I would suggest that people take a cab to the downtown area and do a walking tour
for a better experience of San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was BAD and off the "cuff" with very little information or in-depth preparation. The emphasis was taking us to these out-of-the-way, no good places that had obviously paid to have tourists brought in. It wasn't a tour but a money making tourist trap at our expense. We lost three parties after the first stops and when they stopped and ushered us off at an empty hole-in-the-wall, the disgusted looks on the other tour patrons faces said it ALL!!! More left including me. I hailed a taxi and went back to my hotel.
I will never take a tour from Viator again.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was informative, entertaining and very knowledgeable. It was a very well organized tour and very enjoyable. I learned a lot of history and saw a beautiful theater, and was surprised by the many parks right downtown. Thank you for a perfect introduction to the urban area of Costa Rica.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a guide, Jorge, who talked in English and Spanish throughout the whole four hours. He was very knowledgeable about the city, the culture, the church, the National theatre and went out of his way to describe everything in both languages - fluently. We were taken on a tour of the pre-Colombian gold museum, and found out from fellow travellers, that their guide didn't show them half the things in San Jose as our guide did. Bravo Jorge!! The bus ride was not for the faint of heart - people are crazy drivers in San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Eduard Z
Russian Federation

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour was good on overall. We drove around the city and made several stops to see some things closer. I wish we'd have more stops to see more things. For those, who wants to see more I'd recommend walking tours.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I enjoyed this tour and learned a lot about the map of San Jose and some of the more famous attractions. If it was longer, say a full day with lunch, I would pay more and recommend it even higher. However, I fully recommend this tour for someone like me, new to San Jose and Costa Rica who wishes to learn more in a short time.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good overview of San Jose for people that do not have a lot of time to explore the city in depth. Our guide was very proud of the culture and monuments of San Jose. We appreciated his knowledge and patience in answering our questions. This was a well paced pleasurable experience.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

miguel
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

worth doing to get to know san jose, especially if you will be staying there for awhile. you get to know a little of the area, streets of san jose is a bit confusing so this tour will at least give you an overview of the area

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour, very informative and the guide was fantastic!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great introduction to the best sites of San Jose. Learning about the history, culture and architecture from a highly educated and friendly guide made for a great afternoon. I highly recommend the tour. A taste of the national drink at the end of the tour was a pleasant and welcomed surprise.
Britt B, Mountain View, California

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message