San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

San Jose Central Market (Mercado Central)

The lively San Jose Central Market was founded in 1880. For free entertainment and a real taste of the local atmosphere, there’s no better place in the city! The market has more than 200 stalls, selling everything under the sun from souvenirs ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joel L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good City Tour. Informative, we got to see a lot and visited the National Theatre and the Gold Museum. Well worth the cost. The guide was great.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We did this tour on the same day we arrive to San Jose. What a great way to start our trip. The tour guy was very informative! Central market is amazing! We drink costarican coffee and the dinner was delicious. This tour is a MUSSSSTTT DOO!!! Our group was small and perfect!!! lol If I go back to Costa Rica I will definitely do this tour again!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Joshua C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Like other reviewers we had a tough time finding the meeting spot. This is because San Jose started using road names/numbers but the locals aren't used to it yet. Once we found the spot however the rest of the evening was great. We had 2 guides for 4 people because another group had to cancel, so we never felt like we had to jockey for time or keep up with just 1 person. We were able to see parts of the city that we never would have, such as the history of the post office, behind the scenes of the Central Market, and experiencing exotic fruit. We had a great coffee, local dinner, and out of the way bar. Each guide brought their own personality and views for living as a tico, and one of them even hung out with us after the tour. I would highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Ronald S M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour of the Central Market and other sites. The public bus ride from San Jose to Escazu should be replaced with private transportation.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Liliana Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour!! Our guide Erik was excellent, we have a really good time in San José and the food of the dinner was amazing!!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Jay B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Eric was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about San Jose. We didn and #39;t focus on the touristy side of the city but more of the and #34;secret and #34; history of San Jose. Highly recommend this tour. We will definitely book another tour on our next trip.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Rachael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Eric is a wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide! We learned so much about Costa Rica from him. We enjoyed our delicious dinner, as well.
Thank you, Eric! Pura Vida!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Marina P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was ok tour. I don't think they are very organized on where to go and what to show to tourists but overall at lest you get to see the museum and theater inside and it is nice to see it.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Thea S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very informative and friendly. We enjoyed the history of Jan Jose and the markets and museums.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was an excellent tour and our tour director was very interesting and informative. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very good

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Cathy W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was just an amazing tour. After a so so week at a yoga retreat, this tour saved our vacation. We met up with Eric as arranged and he took us on a walking tour which covered many areas of the city. It was great to see a guide with a such a passion and love for his city and country. He was so easy to talk to. The tour gave us a much deeper understanding of the Costa Rican culture and way of life. The meal at the end of the tour was just delicious. Each course was paired with an outstanding wine. If I were to go back to San Jose I think I would take all of the Urban Adenture tours. The local guides really make a difference in the quality of the tours. Thanks for a wonderful tour, Eric.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

TATYANA F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great!!! Only one problem - no answer by provided local phone number,we have to use policeman to assist us.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Jason H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great time I should have gone on this tour as soon as I hit the ground, guide was awesome and San Jose was great.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

tger68

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Manuel was great. We learned history and saw saw things. He never rushed us and answered and questions. Could not ask for a better host. One complaint. Both groups of guests, mine included had difficulty finding the meeting place. Taxi drivers and police were confused and unable to help

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Diana N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide was BAD and off the "cuff" with very little information or in-depth preparation. The emphasis was taking us to these out-of-the-way, no good places that had obviously paid to have tourists brought in. It wasn't a tour but a money making tourist trap at our expense. We lost three parties after the first stops and when they stopped and ushered us off at an empty hole-in-the-wall, the disgusted looks on the other tour patrons faces said it ALL!!! More left including me. I hailed a taxi and went back to my hotel.
I will never take a tour from Viator again.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Wesley D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Bus was late and we were waiting around for a long time to then be taken to a very big bus. Tour guide could not do anything as we had about 40-50 people to deal with instead of the normal small group. Not very informative. Did not like to be taken to a house at the end where they were trying to sell us jewelry.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

nsinger

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Tour guide didnt talk much. Mainly just led us around and down a few streets. Although tour said 3 hours and that it ended with fruit tasting and coffee he just took us back to the entrance to the Central Market , handed us a couple pieces of fruit around 10:50 and dumped us.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Martha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide made it a worthwhile day seeing and hearing all about San Jose.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Larry W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good overview of city with many interesting sites. The obligatory "shop" at the end of the tour could be removed from tour.

Doing what: San Jose City Sightseeing Tour

Rebecca G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

good overall tour and guide...good intro to some of San Jose highoights

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message