San Jose ATTRACTIONS See all

Sarapiqui Canopy

You’ve heard all about Costa Rica’s famous biodiversity – and the tropical rainforest Sarapiqui Canopy is the place to experience it first-hand. Home of the endangered green macaw, and a number of famous reserves including the Braulio Carrillo ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This smaller, family-owned company was awesome! We were two families with a range of rafting experience and we decided to do the full day Class III/IV. David, Stanley, and Tonio (two of whom grew up on the Sarapiqui) were our guides and they were fantastic! i can and #39;t recommend them highly enough.

Doing what: Rafting in The Sarapiqui River Class III - IV

gerald

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Not an adventure for someone with mobility issues. Tough climb on ladders on zip line, but rewarded with some speedy zips. It and #39;s a different type of excursion I enjoyed greatly. If you done the other excursions, this is one to put on your list.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Tina A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, but Viator sold this trip on to a local tour operator who messed up my pick up times for this trip and the Manuel Antonio National Park Trip. For this trip, they turned up over an hour late even though I had confirmed the pick up time twice with them just days before. Also, the guide didn't say much on the way to Sarapiqui, which is a shame as we were a group of 6 and he could have made it a nice personal trip. He actually slept most of the way! When we reached Sarapiqui, he seemed to be wide awake and was helpful in showning us the few animals we spotted during the river cruise. The cruise itself was really relaxing and as I had already been on other tours and seen lots of animals, I didn't mind that we didn't see a lot during this trip. The zipline tour was... well, words fail me I was petrified during the entire tour and screamed my head off, but at the end I was glad I did it. I would have been awfully disappointed in myself if I had turned back and not done it. Lunch wasn't enough and the person behind the scanty buffet didn't seem to want to give anyone more than 2 strips of chicken. As I didn't like any of the other salads they provided, I asked for more chicken which they grudgingly cooked for me. All in all, I enjoyed the experience, but this is certainly not the best tour I did with Viator.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Andrea W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour - the biggest downside was the long bus trip to and from the boat/zip lining. We stayed at a downtown hotel, and the ride was nearly 2 hours. But the boat trip and zip lining were great fun, with knowledgeable guides. They were also extremely helpful with my senior citizen parents who needed extra care with stairs and walking, etc. The only other small criticism would be that it would've been nice to have a bit more explanation about the equipment and its capabilities/protections, but the guides were very capable. Overall, this was a very good excursion.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Portia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was such a great experience! Jorge was really friendly, fun and knowledgeable, making the long drive to the location feel much shorter than it was. Zip-lining was so much fun, one of the instructors took photos for us throughout and we paid 20 for a CD with the photos on - much better than us trying to take photos and potentially dropping the camera in the middle of the rainforest. When we got back the food was already prepared for us and was really lovely, traditional Costa Rican food. Jorge also showed us around the family's greenhouses which housed plants, snakes and frogs. The only slight cricitism though more with the operator's description of the tour than the tour itself: the horse-riding was not actually included and is not something they normally do for this tour, however the family kindly saddled up two of their horses for us anyway. All in all, definitely worth the money and would certainly do it again.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Brittany

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a blast! It was a 2.5 hour car ride from San Jose, and our guide actually drove his own SUV instead of a bus since the tour bus was being inspected. He was very punctual, pointed out a lot of different things during our drive, and stopped at a market so we could try different local fruits. The river cruise was nice, but the best part was ziplining. At one point you could hear monkeys in the tree we were about to zipline to! They were sitting on branches just 20 feet from us! Overall the tour felt a bit rushed, but that was mostly because our guide was afraid we would get stuck in the impending storm.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Dhiren S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great...I can give them 4 to 4.5 stars. First day tour/guide/food was great. Bus was not up to par, broke down and exchange new bus. Second trip was also good, but Pick up was about 30 minutes late. Guide was good, can be improved. Boat driver and Zipline ride leader was great.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Jorge and Carlos picked us up at the hotel at the time we confirmed via the tour comapny's website. It takes an hour and half but Jorge made it go by fast with all his facts about the rain forest. We saw crocodiles, birds, howler monkeys while on the boat. The zip lining was worth it, great food!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Albert T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We missed horse ride, which was a disappointment. Otherwise, the guide was very friendly. The group was small so that we could get to know each other well. We had a good time.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highlight of our trip: boat ride, ziplining, meal, photos. I was very apprehensive, but the zipline staff were super safety conscious and made us all have fun, even if we were scared. Ladder climbing is very difficult, but we did it. Traveling with my niece who is very ill, and the guides and staff were extremely accommodating and understanding when we had to lay back and go last for everything.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Benjamin V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

This tour was okay, but not great. The people were unorganized, the ziplining facilities were extremely unimpressive, and none of the ziplining guides spoke English. I would go find another ziplining tour instead.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Jose G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Victor our tour guide was very informative. Being handicap, Victor made every effort to ensure that I had a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

shauna t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Mauricio and driver Carlos were great. We had a pretty long ride from the hotel but it was very scenic and Mauricio pointed a lot of landmarks and gave us information about the region. We had a wonderful boat ride. We saw tons of animals on the boat ride to the zip line location. The zip line crew were very friendly and made sure we had fun and were safe. You zip on 10 different lines, two of which require you to climb pretty tall ladders. Lunch is also provided after the zip lines.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Nadia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

excellent tour! ziplining was brilliant and easily one of the highlights of my entire trip! A special thank you to the guys at the ziplining venue who helped me get through my debilitating fear of heights and actually complete all 10 stations! loved the river cruise and overall great experience!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Kathryn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The river tour was interesting. There wasn't much to see though. We got to the ziplining site and were really excited to go! The walk to the course was quite long and uphill and rocky. There are no horses. They've been outlawed. There's no truck to take you up anymore either. Not sure what happened to that, but that wasn't the worst of it. When we got to the course, it doesn't go from platform to platform as expected. You have to take TALL ladders up the side of the trees to the platforms and zipline from there. This isn't what we expected at all, and we weren't able to complete the course. It was pretty miserable, and although my sister was injured making the climb, we still had to walk back down to the post where we began. They didn't even send anyone to drive her down. They really need to show photos so people know what to expect. I give it 2 stars instead of 1 because the crew was great and the river ride was nice. I wouldn't recommend the ziplining though. If you haven't gone before, this isn't what your first experience should be like, and if you have gone before, you'll be disappointed.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Dread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The combination of the boat ride seeing all the wildlife and the ziplining is awesome! Tour guides were entertainingly awesome. Must go!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Dread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Look our for the fantastic wildlife! Tour guides are awesome! Ziplining! Ziplining! What a rush!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Dread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You have to go for the experience. Great tour!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

CarolynS

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Long bus ride but a nice day! The zip line had 6 ladders to 6 different platforms that were very high- 50-75 feet high. Although it was scary, but fun, that information about the ladders should have been in the literature so one knew what to expect. The boat ride was fun though cut short due to road construction delaying our arrival.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message