You’ve heard all about Costa Rica’s famous biodiversity – and the tropical rainforest Sarapiqui Canopy is the place to experience it first-hand. Home of the endangered green macaw, and a number of famous reserves including the Braulio Carrillo ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great...I can give them 4 to 4.5 stars. First day tour/guide/food was great. Bus was not up to par, broke down and exchange new bus. Second trip was also good, but Pick up was about 30 minutes late. Guide was good, can be improved. Boat driver and Zipline ride leader was great.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Jorge and Carlos picked us up at the hotel at the time we confirmed via the tour comapny's website. It takes an hour and half but Jorge made it go by fast with all his facts about the rain forest. We saw crocodiles, birds, howler monkeys while on the boat. The zip lining was worth it, great food!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We missed horse ride, which was a disappointment. Otherwise, the guide was very friendly. The group was small so that we could get to know each other well. We had a good time.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highlight of our trip: boat ride, ziplining, meal, photos. I was very apprehensive, but the zipline staff were super safety conscious and made us all have fun, even if we were scared. Ladder climbing is very difficult, but we did it. Traveling with my niece who is very ill, and the guides and staff were extremely accommodating and understanding when we had to lay back and go last for everything.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

This tour was okay, but not great. The people were unorganized, the ziplining facilities were extremely unimpressive, and none of the ziplining guides spoke English. I would go find another ziplining tour instead.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Victor our tour guide was very informative. Being handicap, Victor made every effort to ensure that I had a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Mauricio and driver Carlos were great. We had a pretty long ride from the hotel but it was very scenic and Mauricio pointed a lot of landmarks and gave us information about the region. We had a wonderful boat ride. We saw tons of animals on the boat ride to the zip line location. The zip line crew were very friendly and made sure we had fun and were safe. You zip on 10 different lines, two of which require you to climb pretty tall ladders. Lunch is also provided after the zip lines.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

excellent tour! ziplining was brilliant and easily one of the highlights of my entire trip! A special thank you to the guys at the ziplining venue who helped me get through my debilitating fear of heights and actually complete all 10 stations! loved the river cruise and overall great experience!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The river tour was interesting. There wasn't much to see though. We got to the ziplining site and were really excited to go! The walk to the course was quite long and uphill and rocky. There are no horses. They've been outlawed. There's no truck to take you up anymore either. Not sure what happened to that, but that wasn't the worst of it. When we got to the course, it doesn't go from platform to platform as expected. You have to take TALL ladders up the side of the trees to the platforms and zipline from there. This isn't what we expected at all, and we weren't able to complete the course. It was pretty miserable, and although my sister was injured making the climb, we still had to walk back down to the post where we began. They didn't even send anyone to drive her down. They really need to show photos so people know what to expect. I give it 2 stars instead of 1 because the crew was great and the river ride was nice. I wouldn't recommend the ziplining though. If you haven't gone before, this isn't what your first experience should be like, and if you have gone before, you'll be disappointed.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The combination of the boat ride seeing all the wildlife and the ziplining is awesome! Tour guides were entertainingly awesome. Must go!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Look our for the fantastic wildlife! Tour guides are awesome! Ziplining! Ziplining! What a rush!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You have to go for the experience. Great tour!

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Long bus ride but a nice day! The zip line had 6 ladders to 6 different platforms that were very high- 50-75 feet high. Although it was scary, but fun, that information about the ladders should have been in the literature so one knew what to expect. The boat ride was fun though cut short due to road construction delaying our arrival.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour. Great guides. Wonderful lunch. Looking forward to taking the tour again on my next visit.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fun Fun Fun
My buddy and I had a wonderful time on this tour. They were punctual and and got us to our destinations safely and with great care. There is nothing like zip lining over and through the rain forest. What an amazing feeling. The views of the landscape were beautiful. The river boat tour was nice. we saw many birds and monkeys, but only one crocodile. The tour guide Victor was informative and pleasant. We enjoyed his balance of sharing history and also letting us just take in the beauty of the tour. So worth the money. Our late lunch/dinner was delicious. I also enjoyed the wonderful people who shared this tour experience with us, we had lots of laughs.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day trip out of San Jose. A bit of a drive and worth it. The combination of boat trip and zip-lining was perfect.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Canopy tour was great. It was so much fun. I conquered my fear of highs. The guys on the canopy tour kept us safe always making sure we were connected to something at all times.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed this tour. All the tour guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The boat ride (river tour) to reach the canopy ziplining was nice and relaxing. There was a great opportunity to animal watch along the way, and we even stopped to get close up. When we arrived at the Canopy Zipline Spot, there was a demonstration and orientation for safety precautions, we were outfitted and suited and it was off to climb and zipline through the trees (point of no return). We all took a deep breath, and off we went. The first zipline, was a practice, and I got stuck, lol. However, I quickly learned how to ensure I made it all the way to the next platform. I have to admit the climb to reach the platforms, was truly a workout. However the smooth zipline ride was worth it. After we finished, we were off to dine. The food was filling and tasty. After dining, there is also a butterfly garden to see. Overall my experience was great, and the entire group was great. My only complaint is that we were split up in two groups and the camera in our group did not work, so although i have some group photos, the ziplining experience through the trees was not captured.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I recommend this tour because it is an unique experience. The views, the people and the experience were amazing

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Canopy (or ziipline) was invigorating. One would need to have some strength and lots of nerve to climb the ladders to get to the next station - but we had a blast. The guides were exceptional and very much aware of the safety responsibility. We loved the experience! The rainforest tour was really good except the weather wasn't in our favour. The food prepared for our lunch was very good, and the tour guide made us feel very comfortable. His descriptive of where we were could have been a little more informative.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Victor the guide isn't as talkative in the bus, and did not explain a lot when we pass through national parks and all. The river boat was interesting and fun, and several wildlife was spotted. The staff on the ziplines are fun and efficient. The so called poison frogs and butterflies are disappointing though. I was expecting more after the good river boat ride. Nevertheless, it was a very fun time for the trip, although it would have been better if it started earlier instead of picking up at the airport at 11am. Feels like half a day was gone by then.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message