The capital of Alajuela province, Sarchi is renowned for its arts and crafts, in particular its decorative oxcarts recalling the heyday of Costa Rica’s coffee industry. Lying almost 1,000 meters (3,280 feet) above sea level in the Cordillera ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip I highly recomend. I especially enjoyd the Doka Coffee Estates where you get to see first hand the porcess of coffee making. Their coffee and food that was served was excellent. The Sarchi Arts and Crafts was also very good in that you got to see hand made furniture and art. Bought some nice items from there and the prices are very good considering everything is hand made. The volcano was raining up there but I still found it interesting to be close to a vocano.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Doka was interesting and made for a slightly shorter trip than my other tours. The guide was just ok as he chose to give us minimal informally while driving from Doka to Grecian, whereas I noticed that other tour guides were very knowledgeable and quick to point out local landmarks, flowers, etc. I'm giving the tour 4 stars based on the tour itself and not the guide.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

It was not well planned, The estimated time to pick us was 10:30am they arrived at 11, and took us about hour and half to get to Poas didnt know we needed to go there and we had to wait for 30 minutes while the other people arrived, the get off the bus, buy something at the store and after that go about 40 minutes to arrive to Doka and have lunch... at then end we started the coffee tour around 2pm... sooo we wasted hour whole morning only we got able to do any activity.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip. We were surprised on how complete the coffee tour was. We couldn't see the bottom of the crater of the volcano because there were too many clouds... Although if you happen to be there on a windy day, you might get a good picture. The guide was very interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience. Luckily clear day for volcano

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Jose and Guillermo were amazing. So very nice and helpful. The stops were perfect and not drawn out. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

The tour was fine, but unfortunately the volcano was fogged in completely. You take the luck of the draw when you go on this tour. The rain forest trail to the lake was beautiful, but not worth it by itself. I would recommend a combo tour to Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfalls, which are nearby. At least that way you'd be guaranteed to see the falls and the butterflies and hummingbirds.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This was a really fun tour. Not an action packed tour but informative and worth the money for the sight seeing. The stops in Grecia and Sarchi were ok if youre interested in donkey carts and old buildings but the donkey cart factory in Sarchi was interesting and to buy honestly local made souvenirs and support the real Costa Ricans was a plus. The coffee tour was the best, such a beautiful place and were able to see every aspect of the coffee making process was unique. The lunch at the coffee plantation was the only drawback, just not very good. The unlimited coffee samples were very good. We had the best guide during our entire CR trip on this day trip and he made it worthwhile. Very good experience all in all.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The trip was good, the guide was knowledgeable and usually I would rate this much higher. However, the guide was humorless and rude especially to my older cousin. At the very beginning of the tour, he chastised her for taking too much time in an unpleasant voice. He was very concerned with HIS timeline and HIS plans. His humor was only sarcastic. So take the tour for it is good but I hope you do not get this guide

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Worst tour ever! Do not ware your time or money! I have never in my life reviewed anything ever, but was so disappointed in this tour I felt I must. 90% if the tour is spent in a can with no AC. The "tour" of

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and terrific. Although we were not able to see the surface of the volcano due to the heavy fog / cloud, we had a good time. The lunch was good with real local taste. Doka Coffee Estate was interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Poas Volcano part of the trip was a bust. There were clouds so you could not see a thing. The Doka Coffee Estate tour and the tour of the church in Sarchi were very good.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The first half was OK, visiting Poas, some beautiful scenery and the coffee estate. The second half after lunch was a complete waste of time, visiting a large cart (!) and a metal church, with hours of driving, for nothing.
Just to fill in time, I assume.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide Eugene was good but overall was very disappointed in the Poas Volcano portion of the trip. Weather was horrible with heavy rain and swirling winds which guide said is percent 80% of the time. Overpriced concessions and souvenirs at the park. You need serious outdoor raingear to do this tour, not a cheap poncho that cost you $ 3 at the first break stop. If you are not properly prepared for walking uphill in weather to possibly see nothing because of visibility, plan something else. Doka Coffee Estate was informative and lunch was very good. Sarchi Oxcart and Grecia Church Stop were marginal. Would have enjoyed furniture shopping in Sarchi. Suggest you just do half day Doka Tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great excursion to Poas. The guide was very well informed and shared some great background. the trip was well organized starting with Poas volcano and then a lunch at Doka coffee. Very much enjoyed this day and recommend it for anyone going to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide (Ricardo). Lots of knowledge on plants and geology!!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Beautiful nature. Only visit Doka coffee plantation was long and boring. We could not contact local agency because the phone Nr. and e-mail address on the voucher was wrong. We were not ready in time for departure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Grevin is the most talented bilingual guide we have encountered. He is knowledgeable in all aspects of this tour and he was relax and accomodating! Good example of Pura Vida in Costa Rica! Our driver was excellent as well. Great value for the money. My recommendation is a 5+STAR.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's worth doing but the guide was a bit of a jerk. Overall a good, memorable experience.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message