The capital of Alajuela province, Sarchi is renowned for its arts and crafts, in particular its decorative oxcarts recalling the heyday of Costa Rica’s coffee industry. Lying almost 1,000 meters (3,280 feet) above sea level in the Cordillera ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and terrific. Although we were not able to see the surface of the volcano due to the heavy fog / cloud, we had a good time. The lunch was good with real local taste. Doka Coffee Estate was interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Poas Volcano part of the trip was a bust. There were clouds so you could not see a thing. The Doka Coffee Estate tour and the tour of the church in Sarchi were very good.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Guide Eugene was good but overall was very disappointed in the Poas Volcano portion of the trip. Weather was horrible with heavy rain and swirling winds which guide said is percent 80% of the time. Overpriced concessions and souvenirs at the park. You need serious outdoor raingear to do this tour, not a cheap poncho that cost you $ 3 at the first break stop. If you are not properly prepared for walking uphill in weather to possibly see nothing because of visibility, plan something else. Doka Coffee Estate was informative and lunch was very good. Sarchi Oxcart and Grecia Church Stop were marginal. Would have enjoyed furniture shopping in Sarchi. Suggest you just do half day Doka Tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great excursion to Poas. The guide was very well informed and shared some great background. the trip was well organized starting with Poas volcano and then a lunch at Doka coffee. Very much enjoyed this day and recommend it for anyone going to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide (Ricardo). Lots of knowledge on plants and geology!!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Beautiful nature. Only visit Doka coffee plantation was long and boring. We could not contact local agency because the phone Nr. and e-mail address on the voucher was wrong. We were not ready in time for departure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Grevin is the most talented bilingual guide we have encountered. He is knowledgeable in all aspects of this tour and he was relax and accomodating! Good example of Pura Vida in Costa Rica! Our driver was excellent as well. Great value for the money. My recommendation is a 5+STAR.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's worth doing but the guide was a bit of a jerk. Overall a good, memorable experience.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

We were very disappointed with this tour. There was an hour and a half drive each way with no commentary. Tours we've taken with other companies have had long rides too but always with on going interesting commentary.
We stopped to see the cathedral for about 10 minutes with no time to explore the town on our town.
The other stop was the oxcart factory. This was merely one huge souvenir shop, again with no time to tour anywhere on our own.
I doubt we would use Viator again.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

strongly suggest this tour. Unlike many other tours, this one is really the best bang for your buck, so many things all included in this tour, Volcano, Coffee Farm and Art town of Sarchi and is really worth the Price.
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and continuously explained everything, driver was professional and friendly. Definitely the highlight of my short stay in San Jose...Kudos to organizers :)

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message