The capital of Alajuela province, Sarchi is renowned for its arts and crafts, in particular its decorative oxcarts recalling the heyday of Costa Rica’s coffee industry. Lying almost 1,000 meters (3,280 feet) above sea level in the Cordillera ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Beautiful nature. Only visit Doka coffee plantation was long and boring. We could not contact local agency because the phone Nr. and e-mail address on the voucher was wrong. We were not ready in time for departure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THe tour guide was very knowledlgable on Costa Rica which was great I learned a lot. It was too cloudley to see the volcano but the walk around the area was every nice.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Grevin is the most talented bilingual guide we have encountered. He is knowledgeable in all aspects of this tour and he was relax and accomodating! Good example of Pura Vida in Costa Rica! Our driver was excellent as well. Great value for the money. My recommendation is a 5+STAR.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were very fortunate to have seen activity within the volcano. The cloud cleared long enough to give us that spectacular view that we had anticipated.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The view of the volcano was breathtaking! Would recommend this tour to anyone up for great adventure.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's worth doing but the guide was a bit of a jerk. Overall a good, memorable experience.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!!! Great views of volcano, loved loved loved the Sarchi store and woodwork. This was such a great variety tour. One of the best I've done.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

We were very disappointed with this tour. There was an hour and a half drive each way with no commentary. Tours we've taken with other companies have had long rides too but always with on going interesting commentary.
We stopped to see the cathedral for about 10 minutes with no time to explore the town on our town.
The other stop was the oxcart factory. This was merely one huge souvenir shop, again with no time to tour anywhere on our own.
I doubt we would use Viator again.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

strongly suggest this tour. Unlike many other tours, this one is really the best bang for your buck, so many things all included in this tour, Volcano, Coffee Farm and Art town of Sarchi and is really worth the Price.
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and continuously explained everything, driver was professional and friendly. Definitely the highlight of my short stay in San Jose...Kudos to organizers :)

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Unfortunately, we went on a rainy day and could not see the volcano. It was covered in clouds. However, the Doka coffee plantation tour was great. The buffett lunch provided was very good. The tour guide was very knowledgable of the area and give a good history and point our the historice land marks. Overall, it was a good tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

We didn't see anything at all, too many clouds. Some of the stops seemed fake and just a way to do business for tourist to buy things (like the company and their business have something arranged already). I also was kinda saddened at the way they use Nicaraguans at the coffee plantation. I would be ashamed. I would rent a car, or find transportation, it's a hit or miss kind of thing.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Did not expect it to be this interesting or educational. LOVED IT. The coffee tour was interesting and Grecia is a beautiful town (we even saw a wedding at the church). Sarchi was an eye opener. A water powered business, talented artists. I intend to come back and purchase the furniture for my new house in a couple of years. The guide was very informative. THANK YOU!

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

I enjoyed the tour, but I would have liked more time at Poas. The coffee plantation trip was rushed due to rain. The guide made some statements that were wrong according to the coffee worker (2 days later). Good value for the money

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This is the perfect day tour as far as length. You will be picked up at 8am and dropped off by dinner time (~6pm). The volcano is a long shot as to whether or not you will see anything but clouds. Unless you take a tour that heads up to the mountains before sunrise it is not likely that you will see anything but clouds. It is very cold up there and will rain intermittently so being a water resistant jacket. The views on the way up to the volcano are amazing and I think the drive and the hike in the forest make up for not seeing anything once you get to the top. But don't count on a view at the volcano.

The coffee tour is great and very informative. The tour was somewhat shorter than I thought it would be but it is great. Lunch is provided at the coffee shop and is very good.

There is also a stop at a large Ox cart and touristy shop at the end of the day.

Overall this is a good tour if you only have a day and don't mind getting views from a bus window as it ascends the volcano. I enjoyed myself and the tour.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message