The capital of Alajuela province, Sarchi is renowned for its arts and crafts, in particular its decorative oxcarts recalling the heyday of Costa Rica’s coffee industry. Lying almost 1,000 meters (3,280 feet) above sea level in the Cordillera ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Damir M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I do recommend this to everyone who visits Costa Rica.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Lisa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I give this a 5-star rating because our tour guide, Max was one of the best guides I've ever had. We learned so much from him and he was a delight to be around. In addition, we were lucky enough to catch the view of Poas which is not easy. Be aware that you may not get a view of Poas. It is the luck of the draw. The Doka estate was much more informative than I thought. It is literally the Robert Mondavi of coffee. And finally, the Sarchi Arts was fabulous! I like this part because this is where you really learned history and culture.

My only suggestion is if we could have made a couple more stops at the local stands after the Poas visited.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Michael K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Interesting tour and explanation of the coffee production. Grecia and Sarchi were short stops which was just right. A good tour for 1/2 day.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

peter s

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

There was about two hours wasted in a mini bus doing pick-ups and linking with the main tour bus
which was going the full day tour - Doka Coffee tour being only half day.
The Doka plantation was interesting to experience all the processes involved in coffee making.
Also the mountain scenery on way to Grecia was awesome. I thought Sarchi was a beautiful and
enjoyed the souvenir centre as many of the items on sale were good quality. Lunch was included
and the veranda setting overlooking the coffee plantation and the mountains beyond was a joy.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Joan K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Very disappointing. First, our group was mixed native and English speakers which was quite annoying. The tour guide droned on and on and repeated himself non stop. We had to change tour buses, which was confusing. We were constantly late to our attractions, and got back to San Jose 2 1/2 hours late. Yes, there was some traffic, but mostly I blame the disorganized operation.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Ella F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour packs a lot of events into the allotted time. It was great to see so many different venues, and Alberto was a very entertaining tour guide! Our driver Guillermo was wonderful too. Lunch at Doka Coffee Estate was excellent. The number of people in the tour was kept to under a dozen, which made it a more personal experience.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Colleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was so funny! And he knew so much!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really informative day learning about Costa Rican coffee and beautiful ox-carts. Our guide gave his tour in English and Spanish, allowing us to practice our own Spanish skills. It was a good value for the transportation, entry fees, meal, etc. Allow for extra time getting back to San Jose because the traffic is very dense.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

JP C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a good mix of activities, and our bilingual guide was friendly, professional, and informative. Also, our driver did an excellent job of navigating smoothly on narrow and sometimes challenging roads.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Donata B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, guide and driver

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Jing Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved the three places that we visited. The places, the driver, the tour guide, the lunch are all good.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

LYNN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were promptly picked up at our hotel on the day of the tour and back again around dinner time. The local guide was very knowledgeable about the coffee plantation and its operation as well as the church at Grecia and the the ox cart and historic site and shop at Sarchi. He answered everyone's questions, gave details on the various trees, plants, sites and life of the people in the area as we drove to each of the places on the tour. The van was air conditioned and clean. We had a very good day with the guide and others on the tour a great lunch was provided at the coffee plantation as well. Would recommend the tour to others. You can add the volcano tour for the early morning as well and the others seemed to have enjoyed that part too.

I was worried about having to call Viator 24 hrs prior to the tour as we didn't have cell service in Costa Rica but we received an email a few days before we left to reconfirm our arrival which seemed to take care of things by responding to it which was easier for me.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Susan Y

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was informative and interesting. When we took the tour, we were picked up after the others in the group had taken the Poas Volcano tour so we felt like we had missed some of the history that might have been covered before joining. I would definitely recommend booking the tour that includes the Poas Volcano along with the Doka Coffe, Grecia and Sarchi portion of the tour instead. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and we learned a lot. Pick up service from our downtown San Jose hotel and return was prompt and professional.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Diana M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour but unfortunately Volcan Poas was steeped in cloud. So we did not get to see the crater but the tour of the coffee plantation was great as was the village of Sarchi. Our guide, Ed was wonderful! He was so knowledgeable and in addition had a great sense of humour!
In addition, we had a very nice buffet lunch that was included in the cost of the tour!
Excellent value for money!!! Di and Forbes

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

cecilia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour ! Tour guy is great!

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

stagecoach

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I enjoyed this tour. Only took half a day and we saw a lot. The guide was quite good---very well informed and he spoke good English. The drive wasn't terribly long and the bus and roads were pretty comfortable. The trip included a nice buffet which was good.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Joyce C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great way to spend a full day! The volcano was agreeable and we were able to get a break in the clouds to view the crater. There is a small but interesting museum at the visitor's center, along with a small café and the obligatory gift shop. Next stop was the Doha Coffee Estate where we started with a buffet lunch ok but not great and then proceeded to walk through the coffee process of getting from tree to cup. It was all very interesting and we were able to enjoy some samples before leaving for the final stop. Sarchi is a pretty little town with a history of woodworking. Our stop was at a workshop/store combination where after viewing the artisans at work, you had about 30 minutes to shop. Ordinarily this would not be my ideal way to shop - I prefer to stop at little shops that I can wander in and out of but since this is the rainy season in Costa Rica, it was nice to be able to go through a view variety of items in the comfort of one dry store. The guide Ricardo was excellent. He did a fine job in English and Spanish of explaining everything we saw and did and answering additional questions. The tour was through a local tour company and I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Ken

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour and the guides were really good. I would recommend. Some things for people to remember is that this is Costa Rica and getting to where you are going to visit and coming back is going to involved traffic, road construction, and lots of crazy drivers. I booked the tour because it was a 4 1/2 hour tour and I was suppose to go back to work when it was over. I had hotel pick-up at 10:30am and thought I would be back to hotel by, at the latest, 4pm considering traffic and dropping off other tourists. After I was picked up at 10:30am we drove around and picked up the other passengers. What I didn't know was that I was going to be meeting up with people that were on the full day tour and that didn't happen until 1:30pm which started with a lunch. That means I had to wait 3 hours before the tour even started which wasn't mentioned anywhere in the itinerary. Instead of getting back around 4pm I finally got back to the hotel, after dropping off the other passengers a little after 7pm so I missing my work at night. If I knew that I would be ending with the full day tour group I would have taken the full day tour which included the Poas volcano.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

dane

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour is reasonably priced. The rainforest and sceneries around Poas Volcano is really nice plus it's cold! . Doka coffee tour is fun too now i know the whole process of making my favorite drink. There are some additional stops not highlighted in the summary but are included like Strawberry store buy the strawberry with chocolate and condensed milk, butterfly garden in Doka. lastly, the Sarchi part is not that good since there's really not much too see.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

spyridon v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip I highly recomend. I especially enjoyd the Doka Coffee Estates where you get to see first hand the porcess of coffee making. Their coffee and food that was served was excellent. The Sarchi Arts and Crafts was also very good in that you got to see hand made furniture and art. Bought some nice items from there and the prices are very good considering everything is hand made. The volcano was raining up there but I still found it interesting to be close to a vocano.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Amber B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Doka was interesting and made for a slightly shorter trip than my other tours. The guide was just ok as he chose to give us minimal informally while driving from Doka to Grecian, whereas I noticed that other tour guides were very knowledgeable and quick to point out local landmarks, flowers, etc. I'm giving the tour 4 stars based on the tour itself and not the guide.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Wendy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

It was not well planned, The estimated time to pick us was 10:30am they arrived at 11, and took us about hour and half to get to Poas didnt know we needed to go there and we had to wait for 30 minutes while the other people arrived, the get off the bus, buy something at the store and after that go about 40 minutes to arrive to Doka and have lunch... at then end we started the coffee tour around 2pm... sooo we wasted hour whole morning only we got able to do any activity.

Doing what: Doka Coffee Tour, Grecia and Sarchi Day Trip from San Jose

Veronique C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We definitely enjoyed our day trip. We were surprised on how complete the coffee tour was. We couldn't see the bottom of the crater of the volcano because there were too many clouds... Although if you happen to be there on a windy day, you might get a good picture. The guide was very interesting.

Doing what: Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts and Craft

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message