It’s possible to wiz through the rain forest on a high-flying zip line, but slightly less-thrilling—though equally scenic—canopy tours offer travelers a calmer way to experience the wonder of the wild.  High Ropes and Hanging Bridges Tour ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great trip. Our tour guide, Jose was excellent; he was knowledgeable and seemed to really enjoy what he does. He's a great wildlife spotter! Good food at two different local restaurants. the only concern is the last hour of the drive is incredibly rocky and makes for a very rough ride.

Doing what: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Brian was a sweaty, he helped to spot birds, and wildlife such as a sloth, and monkeys. We were fed the most amazing food, they really have culinary skills. The hanging bridges were amazing we walked above the canopy on 10 individual bridges. We then went to a butterfly farm and hummingbird habitat, that was okay. Lastly we went to a coffee plantation where we were told how coffee was picked, how different roasts were made as well as cocoa and sugarcane. Very informative.

Doing what: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Must see attraction

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Viator always provides a first rate experience. They pick you up at your hotel and contract with the top local tour companies so the trip is flawless. Our trip to the cloud forest was amazing with a knowledgeable guide. In addition, we saw the hummingbird and butterfly gardens. And the bonus, on the way home in the van our guide spotted two toucans at the top of the tree -- not an easy find in Costa Rica regardless of what the tourist information says. My advice -- before you go somewhere, just book your trip with Viator online and they will get it done for you the right way. It beats the time consuming process of talking to all of the tour agencies once you get to your destination.

Doing what: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it. We didn't see a ton of wildlife, but that may have been due to the time of year. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Lunch was fantastic.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Chris was a great guide to and from the rain forest Warner was a great guide at the rain forest

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thie tram provided a very interesting and different opportunity in viewing the rainforest. One way on the ride is over the canopy, the other is about half height. Would love to do this at night but don't think it is offered. Our guide, Cel, was great on the walk eapecially. He found things in the Forrest for us to see that we never would have known were there without his being able to point them out to us. Our driver, Eric was very timely and offered lots of interesting information along the way. Really enjoyed this excursion.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was fantastic! Outer guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out so many animals that we would have otherwise have missed...including a baby eyelash viper!!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

January 29, 2014 Our guide was absolutely amazing and knowledgeable! We were a small group of four which allowed for more time having our questions answered. The bus to pick us up from our hotel arrived right on time. We even stopped to observe howler monkeys on our way to the hanging bridges. Overall, the best of all the tours we took on this trip.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We expected it to be very touristy, but it was informative. We were very impressed with our guide, Jose, and his knowledge of the ecosystem. Breathtaking views from the canopy are not to be missed! We highly recommend this trip if you are in the San Jose area.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide and driver were both VERY nice and friendly. They took great care of us. We went on a day where the sky was clear so we didn't see a lot of clouds, but instead we were able to see a lot of animals and insects instead. The drive to Monteverde was very bumpy so just expect that on the way. The butterfly garden was VERY interesting to see. They also showed us some insects that live in the Cloud Forest as well and told us interesting facts about each one of them. We also got to release new butterflies as well which was really nice.

Doing what: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tram ride through the rainforest, the experienced guide, the hike including the hanging bridge and watching animals in their natural habitat made for a great day and a wonderful experience.
Britt B

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Best Tour Ever!!! We had absolutely the best tour guide and driver in the world! Carlos and Mauricio were amazing, and we had the time of our lives. We saw so much along the way, had an a fabulous breakfast and lunch, and the rainforest was just spectacular. It's a long day, but worth making the trip. The road to Monteverde is very bumpy, but half the fun. We loved this tour!.

Doing what: Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We really enjoyed the hanging bridge tour! The hotel pickup and dropoff was a nice bonus. Our guide was very knowledgable and it's amazing he was able to spot the animals he did. Our group consisted of 8 people and the smaller size made for a more intimate setting. Would recommend for nature lovers!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

once again, all of our viator tours were very good, just as promised

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The trip was excellent! Lots had been seen and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Very nice people. Good content. The private reserve is beautiful. Good educational naturalists. Care give to your safety and to environmental preservation. We ate lunch in a jungle setting. A very pleasant day.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The pickup time turned out to be an hour later than posted, which was a minor irritation. However, the tour was very good. Our group of four loved it.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

An absolutely fantastic, unforgettable experience. This is a "must do".

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The entire trip was outstanding and enhanced by our guide on the bus and tram. However, the bus was stopped by the police on the return trip for not being properly authorized as a tourist vehicle, which caused a delay, meaning we had to deal with rush hour trafic in San Jose. The bus should have been properly licensed by the operator!

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This is a "must do" when you visit central Costa Rica! The greatest views you will ever experience and very well informed guides. Lunch was very good too!

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Everything was great.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

The guide for this tour was fantastic. We learned so much.

Doing what: Aerial Tram Atlantic from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a very informative and interesting tour. Our guide Mr. Valentine - cannot remember his first name went out of his way to answer questions and introduce thee group to interesting items within the forest. Nature decided to sleep in on our trip saw Toucans, heard some monkeys but only saw the moments of the trees. After the tram ride, a walk around the groups with the guide explaning the displays was helpful. The only negative is that our tour time was changed the evening before what if we had other plans.

Doing what: Pacific Aerial Tram Tour from Jaco

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message