Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Max is an excellent guide, we were lucky to see the volcano in some breaks in the clouds. The animal displays at the Waterfall Park are very interesting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved it! I wanted to be in the middle of a rainforest, and that is where I found myself. I could easily do the hike, which was good because I had bruises on my left leg from another activity done elsewhere, so I couldn't have done a strenuous hike, and even managed to cross the suspension bridge despite a fear of heights! Manuel was a great guide and very knowledgeable, and my only regret is that we never did finish our last conversation because suddenly we were back in San Jose and the tour was done. The rainforest was quiet that day but I did see a sloth and three iguanas and many insects and a huge ceiba tree and lianas and walking palms...honestly just being there in the middle of the rainforest was wonderful! I also enjoyed the chocolate explanation and demonstration. Next time I'm in Costa Rica I will definitely use Viator when looking at tours - do you do anything else in the Caribbean region?

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time on our tour, despite a couple of minor mishaps. The facilities at Cinco Ceibas are lovely. The snacks and lunch were simple, but delicious. We did our tour during the rainy season, and part of the boardwalk was flooded, so we could not go all the way around. It did not matter as we still saw a lot of poison dart frogs, 2 different kinds of snakes, bats, insects, flowers, and we heard howler monkeys all around us.
I chose to go kayaking as the second portion, and because of all the rain, the river was moving quite swiftly. Against my better judgment I still went, and tipped over and lost my kayak down the river. One of the guides walked me to a road where we called for help. So, despite that, we had a great day. Issac and Wilson at the Reserve were top notch. We did ask for an English speaking guide, which we didn't get, but he had some guidebooks in English so you could read about the things you saw. We were fortunate enough to be with Spanish speakers, so it worked out. The transportation was a bit lacking - a small, rickety tour van, but our driver got us safely through some very dark, rainy mountain roads, so I was glad in the end to be in a smaller vehicle. All in all, we had a great LONG day. We will definitely go back at another time to experience it again.

Doing what: Cinco Ceibas Rainforest Reserve and Adventure Park from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour !! Not to be missed.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a great trip. The guides were knowledgeable. The coffee plantation and the place with the waterfalls and animals were both very well maintained. The only downside was that I went during the rainy season and the craters were covered in clouds.

Plan to dress warmly. I had on shorts and a fleece jacket and was fine. Most people in my group had on pants, but I suspect they may have been a little warm when hiking to see the waterfalls. It's cool at the top of the mountain where you see the craters. I went in June.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great!!! Only one problem - no answer by provided local phone number,we have to use policeman to assist us.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a great tour. I really enjoyed covering 3 things in one day. The pace is good though and I never felt rushed. Our guide Max was fantastic and was very positive, knows a lot about Costa Rica, and was very organized and kept us on schedule. There were about 15-20 people on this tour plus a guide and a driver. The driver always stays with the car so you can feel secure about leaving extra items. Breakfast at the coffee plantation was delicious. The temp at the volcano was cold so bring a sweater. Our guide Max explained everything including history during the drive and then also gave us the tour at each facility including showing us how coffee was made at Doka. Lunch was delicious at the animal sanctuary too. This was a very serene day. Every path we walked was paved and it was not strenuous at all. There are a lot of steps at the waterfalls at the end but anyone with health concerns can just walk slow. There was also plenty of bathroom breaks at each location. I would definitely use this tour operator again.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a nice tour with a hike in the rainforest, right from Trimbina where the chocolate demonstration is given. They provide boots of all sizes so don't worry about your shoes. Also, the parking lot has a guard so I felt safe to leave some of my belongings in the car. This tour was a smaller group than the others with just 3 people and 2 guards. They said they try to keep it small so that attendees get personal attention, which is nice. They also walk at the pace that the group can handle. At one point, we split up and my group went with a guide on a more strenuous incline and the other guide took a more level stroll. The main guide Eric was fantastic and was smart and funny and knows a lot about the trees, birds, animals, etc. he also brought a telescope so he could show us some of the animals he spotted from far away. I am a single woman traveling alone and felt very comfortable and warmly welcomed by this group and all the other Viator guides. I definitely recommend them to everyone.

The chocolate demonstration was cute and the speaker was positive, upbeat, and funny too. We learned about the cocoa pods and watched the entire process from pod to chocolate. We sampled melted chocolate in a spoon, a small cup of hot chocolate, and a few chocolate samples and they were all so delicious, we were all in heaven. They have a nice gift shop too and such pretty grounds. There was a lot of rain recently and the suspension bridge was closed so we had to hike around it but it was still good.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a blast! It was a 2.5 hour car ride from San Jose, and our guide actually drove his own SUV instead of a bus since the tour bus was being inspected. He was very punctual, pointed out a lot of different things during our drive, and stopped at a market so we could try different local fruits. The river cruise was nice, but the best part was ziplining. At one point you could hear monkeys in the tree we were about to zipline to! They were sitting on branches just 20 feet from us! Overall the tour felt a bit rushed, but that was mostly because our guide was afraid we would get stuck in the impending storm.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I was quite disappointed with the tour, I have to admit. It said exhilarating mountain hike before going to Doke estate - and there simply was no real hike that was part of the tour.
The guide's English was not very good and it was difficult to understand and follow what he was telling us. Also, he always repeated the same information, but didn't actually share any information with us that would have been really interesting e.g. he described in lengthy details the war heroes, war dates and all names of immigrant families of Costa Rica, but when we were at the volcano, I had to listen to another group's tour guide to find out about whether the volcano is still active, whether it is possible to walk down in the crater and where the fog came from that was rising from the volcano.
The Poas volcano and also the waterfall gardens are really beautiful and it was worth doing the tour just for this, but the description of the tour clearly does not fit to the reality.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great on every level and seemed an exceptional value. Our guide Jorge provided background in English and Spanish, and each location went beyond my expectations in interest and beauty. The view of Poas was exceptional we had a break in clouds to a breathtaking view and enjoyed the short walk up. La Paz was absolutely amazing, the wildlife healthy and accessible, and the food excellent. The waterfall trail was somewhat strenuous many steps but so worth the effort. A wonderful group, and a truly wonderful day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had an awesome time. Our tour guide Manuel Madrigal was very informative and knew exactly what he was talking. About. Very knowledgable on the subject and history. I would highly recommend this tour of you like beer along with some sight seeing of the city.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice! Hot springs were fantastic!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, food was okay. Boat ride was long but lots to look at!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour and tour guide. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guides were entertaining and had a lot of information. Unfortunately, it was raining and cloudy and we couldn't see any of the volcano. But the coffee tour was great and we got soaked but loved the cascades! The animals were sooo awesome and the breakfast and lunch was good! Great time

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more like a private tour guide for us. We were transported in a SUV by Urban Adventures Tour Agent hosted by Eric Gomez to Caribbean side of CR. There were a lot of information regarding rainforest and cocoa tasting. The hanging bridge was awesome if you hold your breath and look down the river. Bullet ant is about an inch and half, don't touch them with your finger. They are poisonous insect. We had local food for lunch next to the forest and after that it was pouring. May- November is rainy season however we love tropical rain.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour have it title Best of Costa Rica !!! The bus was comfortable, tour guide was informative, honest and sense of humor. The hike to the Volcano crater was enchanted path. Water fall was magnificent because it was 120 feet high and you can be so close to the water fall. Hummingbird and butterflies gardens were magical. Lunch was great and so much foods. Coffee plantation tour contained a lot of information from planting, harvest, process to coffee. It make me appreciated a cup of coffee more.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! I would highly recommend it to anyone. I was picked up at my hotel and realized that since I was the only one to book it that day, it would be a private tour. We had an exciting drive through a beautiful rainforest, through pouring rain with many waterfalls falling off the hill sides, dodging landslides. It was a bit crazy, but I never fled unsafe. My guide was very knowledgable about the rainforest preserve, showing me frogs, millipedes, a snake, toucans, and a troop of howler monkeys. He obviously loves the rainforest and wants to share its beauty with others. The chocolate demonstration was very interesting and well done, and of course delicious. After a great lunch of typical Costa Rican food and a neat roadside restaurant, we had a much calmer drive back to the city with the rain gone. It was a day well spent!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and a highlight of my time in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We started with a nice breakfast at the coffee plantation then an interesting tour of how coffee is picked and processed. We then drove up through beautiful cattle farms, strawberry growing fields and small villages with amazing valley views to the Poaz volcano. There was a short, pleasant walk in the cool air up to the rim of the volcano where we saw the crater and smelled the sulfur. Next was the rainforest preserve for a great buffet lunch and a walk through the animal rescue center. I held a toucan on my arm, saw lots of birds, parrots and macaws as well as monkeys and large jungle cats that had been rescued from private owners who could no longer care for them. The butterflies were beautiful and it was so much fun being buzzed by hummingbirds in the hummingbird garden. We then walked down through the rainforest to see three beautiful waterfalls. There were a lot of steps, mostly down but a bit of a climb back up at the end, but I didn't feel rushed, so I went at my own pace and rested as needed. These could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but I am not in perfect shape and had no problem. The waterfalls were full with all of the rain and were so worth the climb. Thank you to our guide Jorge for showing us the secret of the magic falls. One good thing about this tour is that the ride back to the city was about 1 12 hour which is shorter than the other tours I took. I arrived back at my hotel around 6, in time for dinner and not so exhausted from the drive. I have already recommended this tour to other travelers as a great day and a great value.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time! We learned so much about the local culture, agriculture, and the terrain. Our driver deserves an award and our tour guide was fluent in both english and spanish. The lunch stop was at a restaurant near the vollcano with beautiful views. The food was great. Our tour guide Mario always offered his help. Baldi Springs were exotic, clean and relaxing. My girlfriend and I were able to be alone in them because of the amount of pools they had. I feel like a kid again after flying down the water slides! This is a must do and made our trip a memory that we will share for a lifetime!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I missed this one because I was unsure of the time difference. Default 5 Stars.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great time I should have gone on this tour as soon as I hit the ground, guide was awesome and San Jose was great.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message