Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 282 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. This was not just a beer tasting but also a very informative walking tour of the city on the way to the micro brewery. I would recommend this tour as an introduction to downtown San Jose as well as a tasting of many of the Costa Rican brewed beers.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This evening was very pleasant with good food and excellent entertainment. The view of the city from the restaurant is spectacular.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We were picked up by Manuel in a regular car that had seen better days but ran okay. He picked us up at a very convenient location instead of having to go to the National Stadium. The weather was warm but as we drove east approaching the mountains, it began to rain. During our trip I enjoyed the conversation and the numerous small waterfalls flowing beside the road. We went through the longest tunnel around San Jose. It was still raining while we were shown a butterfly collection station and while we walked through the rainforest. There are so many interesting plants to see. Unfortunately the rain kept the animals and birds hidden. We walked across the longest suspension bridge in Costa Rica twice. We then came to the chocolate making demonstration and tasting station. Very easy to understand the leader who made the presentation enjoyable and humorous. We really enjoyed this. The rain changed to a near downpour but we were still able to go outside and see cacao beans growing on trees. Manuel took us a to a very nice authentic Costa Rican restaurant nearby where they cooked a great meal on a wood burning stove. The three of us had an enjoyable conversation while we ate. We arrived by at our starting point ahead of schedule. The only reason I would not give this a 5 rating is the lack of animals and birds on our walk in the rainforest. This is not a reflection on the comany or tour but an advisement to others that there may be better times of the year to take the tour.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Beautiful area. As usual, couldn't see the peak of Arenal, but still very impressive. Hot springs at Tabacon also very relaxng, and both meals were very good. Long ride there and back, and the first bus had a problem with AC, so we had to switch buses. Good drivers. Good guide (Galvin?)

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the view of the volcano. We were able to take some awesome pictures. The TABACON Hot Springs was so worth it. This was the best hit springs I ever been to. We took our two kids and they loved it to. After working hard at work all year trust my husband and I needed this. It was greet!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the tour but didn't get to see the turtles you have to spend the night to see them since they come out in the evening. The trip was nice we got a chance to see crocodiles and moneys in the trees. It was nice seeing the villages and school seeing how some of the people live in Costa Rica. We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you want to see another side to san jose and you love beer this is the tour for you . A well run easy laid back tour filled with info and sights and glasses of micro brewed beers . Its another way of seeing a city and tapping into the local culture which many wouldn't know is there in san jose. I highly recommend this tour for a relaxing afternoon where you get to meet the locals in a relaxed setting in various local bars.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From start to finish, this experience was absolutely fabulous! My guide, Eric, picked me up in front of the National Theatre at the scheduled time. Because I chose to travel during their "slow season," I actually got to enjoy a private tour, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Eric is an incredibly genuine, friendly person! He made me very comfortable and I can easily say that our conversation was one of my favorite aspects of the day. From the moment we got on the road, headed for the rainforest, he began informing me of little facts and history about Costa Rica and the different areas we were driving through, which was really interesting. We stopped to get some coffee, then headed off into the forest, where the learning continued. He is great at spotting different animals and wildlife, and stopped several times throughout the day to show me things. We saw plenty of birds, lizards, and frogs, and even "spoke" with some Howler monkeys. And the chocolate was AMAZING! I learned how the indigenous peoples actually made it, as we went through the history and different processes required to achieve that familiar and delicious flavor. I had a great time and walked away with some wonderful photos! Worth the money - best day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Amazing nature. We enjoyed Baldi Hot Springs. Only stop in Sarchi could skip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Amazing tour to the beautiful nature. We have seen lot of birds, crocodiles and monkeys but no turtles. Organisation was confused. Oozed with several groups and often we did not know whom to go. We could not contact local agency because the phone Nr. and e-mail address on the voucher was wrong. We were not ready in time for departure.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beto was a wonderful guide--both on and off the water. Wali was a skilled driver who kept us safe on mountain roads between San Jose and the River. Beto is a skilled and sympathetic teacher. He's got clear communication skills and is able to anticipate what novice paddlers will do on the water. He got us through some challenging stretches of river and we all had a great time while doing it! I would definitely book this trip again!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Chirripó River from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day tour priced right. Tour guide and boat crew were all you could ask for. On time-food and beverage wonderful. delivered as promised.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

On time-guide wonderful great day-priced right. Delivered as promised.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message