Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 557 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip with experienced guide and driver. A lot crammed into a single day and well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great way to see the city! Our guide, Carlos was very knowledgeble and fun. The weather was great to visit the city. The lunch at a private home was lovely, although, the tour info said we were to dine in a historical Inn.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

latra2020

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding tour. No rain. Breath taking views. Great deal.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was very fun and a beautiful experience.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I have been on this tour twice. I loved it both times. I recommend it to anyone coming to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Ana C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with an early pick up at the hotel and then a pretty lengthy ride to the Arenal park area. We stopped at Sarchi at a coop and took some fun photos and purchased souveniers. Then we had lunch at La Fortuna. The guides shared information along the way. Lunch was pretty tasty! Then we went to the Arenal area. We lucked out that it was very visible. After that, we made our way to Tabacon, which was absolutely gorgeous. It was surreal to be in the hot springs when it started raining as it created this very cool steam. Dinner at Tabacon was above average. Then we headed back for into San Jose on a three hour ride. You spend a lot of time on the van. We enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers on the way there and all napped on the way back. You should definitely pack a swimsuit. Towels and small lockers are included at Tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Deallia W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent. The only disappointment was we did no see the crater of the volcano because of heavy clouds. The tour guide Jorge was good. We had a very good day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Elisabeth K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good beachday. It was what was promised...

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

clfoley

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The boat ride was great, but I thought this would be more than just a boat ride. We did not see any turtles which we were disappointed about. We did see banana plantations and stopped to see how they are cleaned and packed. We saw one howler monkey up in the tree's and lots of birds but not much else. Kind of disappointed in that......The guides were good but hard to understand at times.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Tmsantan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The booking is very miss leading as to what you are being offered. You are only paying for transportation from your hotel to the actual beach. Everything including the chairs to sit down at the beach are an extra cost. There was no wine offered and you are only provided 3 vouchers for soft drinks. The lunch was good however it is not a buffet style and is more of a plate served to you think soup kitchen line. The only saving grace for this trip was the actual staff that was very attentive and cordial.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Pavel V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The only good thing about this place is the view of the city, other than that it was terrible: bad food both not tasty and not fresh, horrible tiny bathrooms and on top of that when you sit on a toilet your entire head is visible above the tiny stall door. overpriced, takes about an hour to get to this place from San Jose, the dancing show was a joke 20 minutes of amateurs. Stay away from this place.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip. Beautiful day. Relaxing. Eduardo was knowledgeable and made sure we saw the banana plantations, pineapple plantation. Made sure we saw monkeys and lizards. Went to the black sand beaches. Tried Coconut Water. Great experience. They took good car of my 75 year old mother who had the time of her life.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We arrived in San Jose on 7th March and had pre-booked this trip for the next day. Our guide Carlos went out of his way to make sure that we really enjoyed the tour. His English was excellent. This Tour gave us a lovely flavor of the sights and sounds of the capital. We had been told by other people that San Jose is dirty and not worth looking around...We definitely did not find this to be true attall. We enjoyed looking around the Central Market stalls and spotting things that are not on sale in the UK in our markets. We saw several beautiful buildings, statues and monuments and Carlos told us a bit about their history as we walked around San Jose. We thought it was a great idea to get onto a local bus to transfer to the suburbs for lunch at a traditional Tico home. We also enjoyed meeting the patriarch of the family who had made traditional masks for festivals for many generations. This tour gives you a great flavour of San Jose with a lovely variety of experiences. We felt it was great value for money.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Jeannie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the guide Eugenio and the driver Edgar were a great team and took care of everything. It was a LONG day 12 hours, but a great price and a beautiful tour.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The whole experience was awesome but it could have been better if it wasn't raining at the volcano. We also meet so great people while on tour who we go to share our Costa Rican coffee with.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hot springs were like a natural water theme park. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Trichi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a very beatiful experience. The view is amazing :.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a pleasant walking tour with Brenda. After showing us some of the landmarks of San Jose, we had a typical lunch. In the afternoon, we visited a local figure making masks in a traditional way. Brenda's boss drove us while we were supposed to be using public transport for the tour. This was our first contact with Costa Rica and Costa Ricans. The tour constitutes an excellent introduction to the country

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

kmkilford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw the Poas Volcano crater with no clouds when we first arrived, but it very quickly clouded up, so timing is everything, We were lucky but the earlier you get to the crater the better.
Not many people can say they have stood on top of an active volcano, but it was fabulous. Also the Le Paz waterfall gardens were great. 5 big waterfalls at least by UK standards.
My wife and I had a great day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Meredith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I did three tours in Costa Rica, and this was my favorite! The weather was perfect, the food was good, and the scenery was gorgeous! I loved the diverse activities of the trip and would highly recommend it. Bring a jacket for the volcano portion.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

driver roy did a great job. Mad maxx was informative, funny, and a great example of a good coasta rican. they both deserve a pat on the back, and while doing that a raise, why not, too veterans doing what they love...

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Honeybunnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!!! Very friendly people. This was my first time zip lining. Dennis and Michael made me feel very comfortable. They were attentive, friendly and helpful. It made my first experience the best experience. I highly recommend this tour especially if it and #39;s your first time.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message