Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 578 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good way to see a few highlights in one day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I went on this tour yesterday and highly recommend it. The only concerm prior to our trip is one shared by another member of our tour group. We both had read an earlier review that the tigers were kept in too small of an enclosure. We imagined that they were being kept in small cages reminiscent of the early 1900's and were relieved to see them housed in beautiful large areas complete with waterfalls. We both expressed our disgust that anyone would suggest anything negative about their housing conditions.

Eugene was our tour guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour. One note of encouragement. Step outside of your comfort zone if needed and take the initiative to get to know the members on the tour with you. We did on this and our Viator tour the day prior which made the tours much more enjoyable. We got to know a wonderfully eclectic group of people on both tours and reallt enjoyed our few hours of shared time and experiences together!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were unable to take this tour, due to illness, so cannot rate it

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

zas07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every penny! The best tour I have been on. You get to see/do a little of everything. It helped that I had an awesome guide (Eugenio) and driver. Be prepared for a long day but it and #39;s all well timed and organized. Easy flow from one activity to the next. My favorite was La Paz Waterfall Gardens!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Mackenzie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We got to see so many more things on this tour than we would have just traveling on our own. Everything was so beautiful and our guide had so many interesting facts for us. The food was great as well.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

lmchatmon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite tour while in Costa Rica. We visited Doka Coffee Estate and were fed breakfast, which was great. We toured the estate, tasted coffee, and saw where all the magic happens. Then we went to the Poas Volcano and it was awesome! It was foggy when we arrived, but maybe two minutes later the fog moved and we were able to get some great pictures. After that, we went to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens and ate lunch a-MAZ-ing, by the way- lots of variety. The views of the waterfalls were breathtaking and the tour of the wildlife and plants was awesome as well. Our tour guide, Chewy can't think of his real name, was outstanding! We wanted to keep him for our whole vacation. You must do this tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

lmchatmon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience! The tour guides were very nice and knowledgeable and we felt safe the whole time. We had ziplined before, but the lines here are much longer than the ones at home. Lunch was great and the tour of the wildlife and plant life was nice as well. We really enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Canopy Zipline Eco-Adventure Tour from San Jose

Ellen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it, loved it, loved it. Our zip line guides, Adrian and Jonathan were so kind, understanding, funny, and friendly. I don't know what could have made it any better. What a day! An experience I'll never forget.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Ellen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome! It was very well planned. We had plenty of time at each activity. I totally recommend it.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great!! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about everything. Doka Coffee fields were very interesting, beautiful scenery while driving to poas volcano, which was the only disappointing thing, because we were not able to see the crater due to clouds. Only 30% of people get to see it!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Iliana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! There was so much to do and everyone was so friendly. The food was good and so was the service and entertainment. Overall it was a great experience, definitely would return

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are in San Jose and have just limited time to get the flavor and soul of Costa Rica, this is the tour to take. From coffee, to the volcano edge, to the amazing walk though the La Paz Waterfall Garden/Peace House, this definitely worth the fee and time.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Brooke C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide. Wonderful tour companions from different countries. Beautiful tour stops with amazing information from a guide knowledgeable in the history and current cultural setting of Costa Rica. Comfortable tour bus. Amazing tour pricing. A genuine concern for the benefit of the local community and economy.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Haynes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is All about the Hot Springs and the Dinner Buffet at Tabacón ☆ the mini bus while well air-conditioned the seats could use a little more padding - Our tour guide Eugene and driver Roy were wonderful, informative and safe. This is a Must Do tour every time I am in Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

gerald

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Not an adventure for someone with mobility issues. Tough climb on ladders on zip line, but rewarded with some speedy zips. It and #39;s a different type of excursion I enjoyed greatly. If you done the other excursions, this is one to put on your list.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

Elsa Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! The guide, Chewy, had a lot of knowledge and his English was very good! we went to a lovely place for a wonderful view of the volcano. And the spa after was fantastic! The best and most relaxing part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Boyd

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This was a terrible, tour! Our driver, Carlos, picked us up at 3:15 pm, as scheduled, but he refused to stop at the National Theatre or the Gold Museum as scheduled, because it was raining. We didn't care, but he said that, besides, the museums close at 3 pm.If this is true, who was this tour scheduled for 3:15 pm? Instead, he wanted to take us to a place I know for food. We had already eaten and refused to go with him. Instead he drove us around the city for awhile in the rain did not really point out much of anything except one neighborhood and then insisted we get out at the Diamond and Emerald place. It was raining, we didn't want to go in, but he insisted and, once again, we got very wet! Then, instead of dropping us back at our hotel to change into dry clothes, he insisted we head up the mountain to the dinner, although we were going to be at least an hour too early, to see the view How long does THIS take!. On the way, he stopped for gas why did he not do this BEFORE taking on passengers. We stayed at the station for a long time after he filled up, and the fumes were very offensive. Don't know what Carlos did, but we nearly suffocated in the car and of course he could not turn on the car and the A/C because he stayed at the pump. With windows closed, we could hardly breathe with them open, the fumes were overpowering. By the time we reached the restaurant, we were both feeling ill, and we were an hour early for the buffet. The buffet itself was adequate, as was the Costa Rican dancing, but by this time we were feeling so ill, we asked to be taken home and missed part of the entertainment, but we had no choice, as this had already been a totally disaster of a day for us. Never again! If you are planning this tour, find out about this stuff before you pay for it, as this was a TOTAL waste of our money, our time and our health!

Doing what: San Jose Super Saver: City Sightseeing plus Traditional Music and Dance Show with Dinner

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip with experienced guide and driver. A lot crammed into a single day and well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great way to see the city! Our guide, Carlos was very knowledgeble and fun. The weather was great to visit the city. The lunch at a private home was lovely, although, the tour info said we were to dine in a historical Inn.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

latra2020

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding tour. No rain. Breath taking views. Great deal.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was very fun and a beautiful experience.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message