Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 545 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip. Beautiful day. Relaxing. Eduardo was knowledgeable and made sure we saw the banana plantations, pineapple plantation. Made sure we saw monkeys and lizards. Went to the black sand beaches. Tried Coconut Water. Great experience. They took good car of my 75 year old mother who had the time of her life.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Bridget S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We arrived in San Jose on 7th March and had pre-booked this trip for the next day. Our guide Carlos went out of his way to make sure that we really enjoyed the tour. His English was excellent. This Tour gave us a lovely flavor of the sights and sounds of the capital. We had been told by other people that San Jose is dirty and not worth looking around...We definitely did not find this to be true attall. We enjoyed looking around the Central Market stalls and spotting things that are not on sale in the UK in our markets. We saw several beautiful buildings, statues and monuments and Carlos told us a bit about their history as we walked around San Jose. We thought it was a great idea to get onto a local bus to transfer to the suburbs for lunch at a traditional Tico home. We also enjoyed meeting the patriarch of the family who had made traditional masks for festivals for many generations. This tour gives you a great flavour of San Jose with a lovely variety of experiences. We felt it was great value for money.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Jeannie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the guide Eugenio and the driver Edgar were a great team and took care of everything. It was a LONG day 12 hours, but a great price and a beautiful tour.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The whole experience was awesome but it could have been better if it wasn't raining at the volcano. We also meet so great people while on tour who we go to share our Costa Rican coffee with.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hot springs were like a natural water theme park. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Trichi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a very beatiful experience. The view is amazing :.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a pleasant walking tour with Brenda. After showing us some of the landmarks of San Jose, we had a typical lunch. In the afternoon, we visited a local figure making masks in a traditional way. Brenda's boss drove us while we were supposed to be using public transport for the tour. This was our first contact with Costa Rica and Costa Ricans. The tour constitutes an excellent introduction to the country

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

kmkilford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw the Poas Volcano crater with no clouds when we first arrived, but it very quickly clouded up, so timing is everything, We were lucky but the earlier you get to the crater the better.
Not many people can say they have stood on top of an active volcano, but it was fabulous. Also the Le Paz waterfall gardens were great. 5 big waterfalls at least by UK standards.
My wife and I had a great day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Meredith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I did three tours in Costa Rica, and this was my favorite! The weather was perfect, the food was good, and the scenery was gorgeous! I loved the diverse activities of the trip and would highly recommend it. Bring a jacket for the volcano portion.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

driver roy did a great job. Mad maxx was informative, funny, and a great example of a good coasta rican. they both deserve a pat on the back, and while doing that a raise, why not, too veterans doing what they love...

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Honeybunnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!!! Very friendly people. This was my first time zip lining. Dennis and Michael made me feel very comfortable. They were attentive, friendly and helpful. It made my first experience the best experience. I highly recommend this tour especially if it and #39;s your first time.

Doing what: 6 in 1 Tour: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karen C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a great time. Just wasn't the season for the turtles!
Thank you,
Kc

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

lexispencer

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The water was at a low level and that was disappointing but our guide Stanley made the ride interesting and fun! He was funny, informative and open to our questions. Stanley was the reason the rafting turned out to be a great time! The fruit snack and jumping off the edge of the hill in to the water was an added bonus. I would recommend this excursion! Ask for Stanley - he was great!!!

Doing what: Whitewater Rafting on the Chirripó River from San Jose

Anastasia W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great! It was a 15 hour tour and included expensive restaurant lunch/dinner and Guides are nice! Tips: bring breakfast (it and #39;s not included and they picked up at 7am before places are open). Bring extra water- it and #39;s ridiculous to buy! ($8-10 us for water and $13 us for deodorant) bring everything!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Ann V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour very much - we were fortunate to have perfectly clear skies and beautiful weather! Terrific views of the volcano. Be prepared for many stairs at the waterfall gardens - wear comfortable shoes! A lovely setting. My only wish is that we had time to meander a bit more. I only had one day on a work related trip, so this tour provided the opportunity to squeeze in some exploration. Tour guide was attentive and friendly.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

mcdidi1

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the entertainment.
Everyone in our group were expecting fireworks to top off the night per the description in Viator. I would recommend that they change the wording to say that the fireworks are an extra that is not guaranteed or not mention them at all then if they do have them its a nice surprise. I'm not sure how they should word it, but the way it states it on the site right now you expect a firework show to top off the evening and they did not have any which was a disappointment to the group I was with.
Signed: Jim and Dianne Sproull

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

mcdidi1

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I was disappointed with the garbage that was washed up on the beach. I pictured being on a beautiful island with white sand and clean beaches but as we explored the coastline I saw a lot of trash which included diapers washed up on the beach. Not very appealing when you just came out of the water. The staff however was very nice and accommodating and the food was wonderful. Over all I did enjoy relaxing on the lounge chair and having drinks. Just wish the beach was clean.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Michael K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was good. The view of the volcano was beautiful. The hot springs were interesting and fun. This part of the trip could have been an hour less. The road is rough and long so be prepared for a long day. Our tour guide was knowledgable but since we were in a smaller van without a microphone, he tended to speak and explain only to the people directly behind him. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems which caused it to have trouble going up hills and meant no ac. This added an hour to the already long return trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

lexispencer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This excursion was disappointing because you only get to see the volcano from a pretty far distance. If the weather is cloudy, you only get to see part of the volcano. The hot springs were ok but not worth the long drive. This trip is all day and for our family, not worth the very long drive to and from it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Irene L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Young lady led our tour. Food part was fantastic. She did a great job showing us the 3 markets and arranging samples of unknown fruits and a great cup of coffee. Her knowledge of statues, monuments and history was a work in progress. She needs to continue to learn and read all the guidebooks she can get her hands on, Very congenial and pleasant person to spend time with.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

Brittany M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The coffee at the estate wasn't that good, and I couldn't eat most of the things at their breakfast due to dietary restrictions. The volcano couldn't be seen because of fog though, this is not the fault of the tour, but after the disappointment at the coffee estate it further contributed to the dislike of the tour. The only good part of the tour was the La Paz Waterfall garden. However, since they had spent so much time at the other places, there was not enough time to thoroughly enjoy the Waterfall garden as you were bing rushed through. It would have been nice to be able to spend at least another two hours there.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Tammy G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Long day from San Jose, got picked up at 5:30 am and got home at 8:30 pm. Boat ride is four hours and only saw a few wildlife, we did not go during turtle season which probably would have been better. The food was excellent breakfast and lunch, the ground transportation on way home was very cramped and would have liked to walk around lodge area to possibly see more wildlife on trails.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

balderas.natalie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

There was a lot of driving. The total trip was 14 hours. The first shop we stopped at had low quality, and over priced souvenirs. The tour guide swore that it wasn't a tourist trap, but it was. We got to stop at a market are near the volcano which looked amazing, but we only got to stay there for 10 minutes. Bummer! : Everyone agreed that we stayed an hour too long at the hot springs and that that hour could have been used to spend time at the amazing market area. For lunch, do not pick the fish, yuck! The arroz con pollo was delicious!!!! The hot springs was pretty nice and the buffet there was stellar. Overall, the tour guide was knowledgeable, but not friendly. He seemed irritated most of the time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message