Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 407 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip and fantastic guide. The guide was an older gentleman, I don't remember his name, but he was really enthusiastic and made the trip very enjoyable. The best parts were the riverboat ride, lunch onshore and walking the boardwalk in the rainforest. The guide pointed out a lot of wildlife, gave us a closeup look at monkeys, a two toed sloth, river birds and reptiles. I did some other tours in Costa Rica with other companies and Viator was definitely the best value for the money!.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Grabien was our tour guide for the day and he helped make this tour the highlight of my trip. The volcano was beautiful, but Tabacon was simply amazing. I wish I could give this more stars!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a wonderful group of people on the bus. The tour guide was friendly, personable and answered all questions...his knowledge of Costa Rican history and culture was much appreciated. One of the highlights of our trip, we loved the Baldi Hot Springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip was very nice. I enjoyed looking at all the scenery as we drove to Arenal Volcano. I liked the stop in Sarchi for the purchasing of Souvenirs. I feel like they had a very good selection at decent prices. I am a souvenir t-shirt person, so this was exactly what I was looking for. The lunch meal we had was very tasty, especially the yucca desert that was offered to us. I enjoyed the drive through La Fortuna, it was very nice to see what the city had to offer. The Volcano was beautiful, I wish we could have gotten closer but it was still a very nice view. There were also a lot of Guava trees with ripe Guavas on them there. The best part of this day trip would have to be the visit to Tabacon Hot Springs. I have never seen hot springs before so this was exceptionally amazing to me. It felt amazing to get in. The way this hotel has it tropical landscaping and architecture set up makes this a beautiful treat. The dinner buffet was very well done. All of the food items tasted great. I really like the fresh pasta bar where a chef prepared your pasta dish to order. The ride back is a bit long and very bumpy. Besides that I feel that this was worth the price.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Cathy W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was just an amazing tour. After a so so week at a yoga retreat, this tour saved our vacation. We met up with Eric as arranged and he took us on a walking tour which covered many areas of the city. It was great to see a guide with a such a passion and love for his city and country. He was so easy to talk to. The tour gave us a much deeper understanding of the Costa Rican culture and way of life. The meal at the end of the tour was just delicious. Each course was paired with an outstanding wine. If I were to go back to San Jose I think I would take all of the Urban Adenture tours. The local guides really make a difference in the quality of the tours. Thanks for a wonderful tour, Eric.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an awesome trip and i'm so glad I booked it. To begin with, our tour guide, Eugenio, was awesome. He provided us so many details about each place we went, Doka coffee plantation, Poas Volcano and the La Paz Waterfalls, butterfly exhibit and wildlife refuge. He spoke excellent English. He encouraged us not to give up easy while looking at the Main Crater at Poas because the clouds usually clear after a bit and you can see the water. We ended up seeing the water just like the photo. Also same for the Ancient Crater laguna. Very beautiful. It was all amazing and a great day. The hiking at Poas and the waterfalls were fairly easy and could be accomplished by most people.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Overall this turned out to be a very nice trip for me. I don't care too much for the beach but needed to go to at least one while in CR. I was picked up at the Real Intercontinental Hotel in Escazu. And taken to a drop off point to get on a tour bus. This is the part of the trip I had a issue with. That was the most compact tour bus I had ever been on. I felt that for as much as I paid for the trip I could have a little more room. I know I know, it's just how I felt. Moving on, we were given a little sack meal for breakfast. It was a ham and cheese sandwich, juice box and an apple. I have seen other reviews where people didn't appreciate that. To me it was fine, it hit the spot. I believe we drove for an hour and a half or so to the docks to get on the catamaran. It was nice it had a bar and we were served snacks for the ride to Tortuga Island. I believe it was an hour and a half cruise to the island. Very picturesque island. Clean and neat. There were a few activities to do, banana boat ride, jet ski, eco-tour of the island and just chilling. We were served lunch after about an hour of being there. It was pretty good. There was a guy singing karaoke. I love karaoke so this was great. If I had drank just one more Imperial I would have gone up to sing with him. After lunch we had about 3 or 4 more hours to do whatever.There is a gift shop that sells a little bit of everything and they rent lockers so you can store your things. Please do this if you decide to ride the Banana boats, they get flipped pretty regularly. The most awesome part of this trip was meeting the local friendly Peccary. I had never seen one before and it came right up to my beach chair and wanted me to cover it in sand. I obliged him. There were also tropical parrots and some chickens roaming around. On the cruise back they gave us fresh pineapple and watermelon as well as some delicious carrot cake and drinks. It was a nice experience.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Max is an excellent guide, we were lucky to see the volcano in some breaks in the clouds. The animal displays at the Waterfall Park are very interesting.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a very relaxing trip. In the village we were able to purchase fresh coconuts for a dollar! Only wish we did the overnight stay because we didn't get a chance to see any turtles.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved it! I wanted to be in the middle of a rainforest, and that is where I found myself. I could easily do the hike, which was good because I had bruises on my left leg from another activity done elsewhere, so I couldn't have done a strenuous hike, and even managed to cross the suspension bridge despite a fear of heights! Manuel was a great guide and very knowledgeable, and my only regret is that we never did finish our last conversation because suddenly we were back in San Jose and the tour was done. The rainforest was quiet that day but I did see a sloth and three iguanas and many insects and a huge ceiba tree and lianas and walking palms...honestly just being there in the middle of the rainforest was wonderful! I also enjoyed the chocolate explanation and demonstration. Next time I'm in Costa Rica I will definitely use Viator when looking at tours - do you do anything else in the Caribbean region?

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time on our tour, despite a couple of minor mishaps. The facilities at Cinco Ceibas are lovely. The snacks and lunch were simple, but delicious. We did our tour during the rainy season, and part of the boardwalk was flooded, so we could not go all the way around. It did not matter as we still saw a lot of poison dart frogs, 2 different kinds of snakes, bats, insects, flowers, and we heard howler monkeys all around us.
I chose to go kayaking as the second portion, and because of all the rain, the river was moving quite swiftly. Against my better judgment I still went, and tipped over and lost my kayak down the river. One of the guides walked me to a road where we called for help. So, despite that, we had a great day. Issac and Wilson at the Reserve were top notch. We did ask for an English speaking guide, which we didn't get, but he had some guidebooks in English so you could read about the things you saw. We were fortunate enough to be with Spanish speakers, so it worked out. The transportation was a bit lacking - a small, rickety tour van, but our driver got us safely through some very dark, rainy mountain roads, so I was glad in the end to be in a smaller vehicle. All in all, we had a great LONG day. We will definitely go back at another time to experience it again.

Doing what: Cinco Ceibas Rainforest Reserve and Adventure Park from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour !! Not to be missed.

Doing what: Best San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a great trip. The guides were knowledgeable. The coffee plantation and the place with the waterfalls and animals were both very well maintained. The only downside was that I went during the rainy season and the craters were covered in clouds.

Plan to dress warmly. I had on shorts and a fleece jacket and was fine. Most people in my group had on pants, but I suspect they may have been a little warm when hiking to see the waterfalls. It's cool at the top of the mountain where you see the craters. I went in June.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great!!! Only one problem - no answer by provided local phone number,we have to use policeman to assist us.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a great tour. I really enjoyed covering 3 things in one day. The pace is good though and I never felt rushed. Our guide Max was fantastic and was very positive, knows a lot about Costa Rica, and was very organized and kept us on schedule. There were about 15-20 people on this tour plus a guide and a driver. The driver always stays with the car so you can feel secure about leaving extra items. Breakfast at the coffee plantation was delicious. The temp at the volcano was cold so bring a sweater. Our guide Max explained everything including history during the drive and then also gave us the tour at each facility including showing us how coffee was made at Doka. Lunch was delicious at the animal sanctuary too. This was a very serene day. Every path we walked was paved and it was not strenuous at all. There are a lot of steps at the waterfalls at the end but anyone with health concerns can just walk slow. There was also plenty of bathroom breaks at each location. I would definitely use this tour operator again.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This is a nice tour with a hike in the rainforest, right from Trimbina where the chocolate demonstration is given. They provide boots of all sizes so don't worry about your shoes. Also, the parking lot has a guard so I felt safe to leave some of my belongings in the car. This tour was a smaller group than the others with just 3 people and 2 guards. They said they try to keep it small so that attendees get personal attention, which is nice. They also walk at the pace that the group can handle. At one point, we split up and my group went with a guide on a more strenuous incline and the other guide took a more level stroll. The main guide Eric was fantastic and was smart and funny and knows a lot about the trees, birds, animals, etc. he also brought a telescope so he could show us some of the animals he spotted from far away. I am a single woman traveling alone and felt very comfortable and warmly welcomed by this group and all the other Viator guides. I definitely recommend them to everyone.

The chocolate demonstration was cute and the speaker was positive, upbeat, and funny too. We learned about the cocoa pods and watched the entire process from pod to chocolate. We sampled melted chocolate in a spoon, a small cup of hot chocolate, and a few chocolate samples and they were all so delicious, we were all in heaven. They have a nice gift shop too and such pretty grounds. There was a lot of rain recently and the suspension bridge was closed so we had to hike around it but it was still good.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a blast! It was a 2.5 hour car ride from San Jose, and our guide actually drove his own SUV instead of a bus since the tour bus was being inspected. He was very punctual, pointed out a lot of different things during our drive, and stopped at a market so we could try different local fruits. The river cruise was nice, but the best part was ziplining. At one point you could hear monkeys in the tree we were about to zipline to! They were sitting on branches just 20 feet from us! Overall the tour felt a bit rushed, but that was mostly because our guide was afraid we would get stuck in the impending storm.

Doing what: Sarapiqui River Sightseeing Cruise and Zipline Canopy Tour from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I was quite disappointed with the tour, I have to admit. It said exhilarating mountain hike before going to Doke estate - and there simply was no real hike that was part of the tour.
The guide's English was not very good and it was difficult to understand and follow what he was telling us. Also, he always repeated the same information, but didn't actually share any information with us that would have been really interesting e.g. he described in lengthy details the war heroes, war dates and all names of immigrant families of Costa Rica, but when we were at the volcano, I had to listen to another group's tour guide to find out about whether the volcano is still active, whether it is possible to walk down in the crater and where the fog came from that was rising from the volcano.
The Poas volcano and also the waterfall gardens are really beautiful and it was worth doing the tour just for this, but the description of the tour clearly does not fit to the reality.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great on every level and seemed an exceptional value. Our guide Jorge provided background in English and Spanish, and each location went beyond my expectations in interest and beauty. The view of Poas was exceptional we had a break in clouds to a breathtaking view and enjoyed the short walk up. La Paz was absolutely amazing, the wildlife healthy and accessible, and the food excellent. The waterfall trail was somewhat strenuous many steps but so worth the effort. A wonderful group, and a truly wonderful day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had an awesome time. Our tour guide Manuel Madrigal was very informative and knew exactly what he was talking. About. Very knowledgable on the subject and history. I would highly recommend this tour of you like beer along with some sight seeing of the city.

Doing what: Best San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice! Hot springs were fantastic!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, food was okay. Boat ride was long but lots to look at!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour and tour guide. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message