Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 390 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved it! I wanted to be in the middle of a rainforest, and that is where I found myself. I could easily do the hike, which was good because I had bruises on my left leg from another activity done elsewhere, so I couldn't have done a strenuous hike, and even managed to cross the suspension bridge despite a fear of heights! Manuel was a great guide and very knowledgeable, and my only regret is that we never did finish our last conversation because suddenly we were back in San Jose and the tour was done. The rainforest was quiet that day but I did see a sloth and three iguanas and many insects and a huge ceiba tree and lianas and walking palms...honestly just being there in the middle of the rainforest was wonderful! I also enjoyed the chocolate explanation and demonstration. Next time I'm in Costa Rica I will definitely use Viator when looking at tours - do you do anything else in the Caribbean region?

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great on every level and seemed an exceptional value. Our guide Jorge provided background in English and Spanish, and each location went beyond my expectations in interest and beauty. The view of Poas was exceptional we had a break in clouds to a breathtaking view and enjoyed the short walk up. La Paz was absolutely amazing, the wildlife healthy and accessible, and the food excellent. The waterfall trail was somewhat strenuous many steps but so worth the effort. A wonderful group, and a truly wonderful day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had an awesome time. Our tour guide Manuel Madrigal was very informative and knew exactly what he was talking. About. Very knowledgable on the subject and history. I would highly recommend this tour of you like beer along with some sight seeing of the city.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice! Hot springs were fantastic!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, food was okay. Boat ride was long but lots to look at!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour and tour guide. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour! Our guides were entertaining and had a lot of information. Unfortunately, it was raining and cloudy and we couldn't see any of the volcano. But the coffee tour was great and we got soaked but loved the cascades! The animals were sooo awesome and the breakfast and lunch was good! Great time

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more like a private tour guide for us. We were transported in a SUV by Urban Adventures Tour Agent hosted by Eric Gomez to Caribbean side of CR. There were a lot of information regarding rainforest and cocoa tasting. The hanging bridge was awesome if you hold your breath and look down the river. Bullet ant is about an inch and half, don't touch them with your finger. They are poisonous insect. We had local food for lunch next to the forest and after that it was pouring. May- November is rainy season however we love tropical rain.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour have it title Best of Costa Rica !!! The bus was comfortable, tour guide was informative, honest and sense of humor. The hike to the Volcano crater was enchanted path. Water fall was magnificent because it was 120 feet high and you can be so close to the water fall. Hummingbird and butterflies gardens were magical. Lunch was great and so much foods. Coffee plantation tour contained a lot of information from planting, harvest, process to coffee. It make me appreciated a cup of coffee more.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! I would highly recommend it to anyone. I was picked up at my hotel and realized that since I was the only one to book it that day, it would be a private tour. We had an exciting drive through a beautiful rainforest, through pouring rain with many waterfalls falling off the hill sides, dodging landslides. It was a bit crazy, but I never fled unsafe. My guide was very knowledgable about the rainforest preserve, showing me frogs, millipedes, a snake, toucans, and a troop of howler monkeys. He obviously loves the rainforest and wants to share its beauty with others. The chocolate demonstration was very interesting and well done, and of course delicious. After a great lunch of typical Costa Rican food and a neat roadside restaurant, we had a much calmer drive back to the city with the rain gone. It was a day well spent!

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and a highlight of my time in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We started with a nice breakfast at the coffee plantation then an interesting tour of how coffee is picked and processed. We then drove up through beautiful cattle farms, strawberry growing fields and small villages with amazing valley views to the Poaz volcano. There was a short, pleasant walk in the cool air up to the rim of the volcano where we saw the crater and smelled the sulfur. Next was the rainforest preserve for a great buffet lunch and a walk through the animal rescue center. I held a toucan on my arm, saw lots of birds, parrots and macaws as well as monkeys and large jungle cats that had been rescued from private owners who could no longer care for them. The butterflies were beautiful and it was so much fun being buzzed by hummingbirds in the hummingbird garden. We then walked down through the rainforest to see three beautiful waterfalls. There were a lot of steps, mostly down but a bit of a climb back up at the end, but I didn't feel rushed, so I went at my own pace and rested as needed. These could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but I am not in perfect shape and had no problem. The waterfalls were full with all of the rain and were so worth the climb. Thank you to our guide Jorge for showing us the secret of the magic falls. One good thing about this tour is that the ride back to the city was about 1 12 hour which is shorter than the other tours I took. I arrived back at my hotel around 6, in time for dinner and not so exhausted from the drive. I have already recommended this tour to other travelers as a great day and a great value.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time! We learned so much about the local culture, agriculture, and the terrain. Our driver deserves an award and our tour guide was fluent in both english and spanish. The lunch stop was at a restaurant near the vollcano with beautiful views. The food was great. Our tour guide Mario always offered his help. Baldi Springs were exotic, clean and relaxing. My girlfriend and I were able to be alone in them because of the amount of pools they had. I feel like a kid again after flying down the water slides! This is a must do and made our trip a memory that we will share for a lifetime!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I missed this one because I was unsure of the time difference. Default 5 Stars.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great time I should have gone on this tour as soon as I hit the ground, guide was awesome and San Jose was great.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome. My only complaint is that we were not able to spend more time in the hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic, well-paced tour of the Poas region. A must for anyone with just a single day in San Jose.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour of Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs. Evene with light Cloud Cover, Arenal is Jurassic-awsome to visit and the hot springs are simply unreal!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful tour, it was very hot and muggie. Could only spend very short time on the beach before rushed off.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great! The guides spoke clear English, and they were very informative! We had Rafael and he was very patient and understanding with our group. The ride from the hotel to the port was smooth beautiful views of the country. The cruise and island wwee so much fun! Worth the money!

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Breakfast was ham and cheese sandwich. It was not what we expected for breakfast. The cruise, snacks, drinks and crew members were great. Lunch was good not great. There was good music entertaining while we are on the cruise and at the island. If you are looking for more activities at the island then bring extra cash for snorkeling gears or snorkeling guide.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Manuel was great. We learned history and saw saw things. He never rushed us and answered and questions. Could not ask for a better host. One complaint. Both groups of guests, mine included had difficulty finding the meeting place. Taxi drivers and police were confused and unable to help

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Sad that couldn't see volcano, but springs were,amazing.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message