Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 351 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall, I had a great experience with this tour. Our tour group was very small, which allowed us to ask lots of questions and get everywhere easily. We enjoyed learning cultural and historical details from our guide who was very helpful and nice. We ate lunch at a small local restaurant where we were the only non-locals. The value of the tour is very worthwhile for the cost. I definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to learn about the city and see a variety of places!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a good tour. It took us out of the City and up the mountain to the Volcano. We then decended the mountain and had activities planned the entire way. Then we toured the waterfall park and ended up at the government buildings and walking through various parts of San Jose. A great tour to get a feel for the City and the culture.. I highly recomend the tour. Excellent guide. We found out many things that we would not have found out any other way.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Donald and Julio provided a well organized, knowledgeable and fun tour! We packed three amazing experiences into one unforgettable day! Thank you!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour! The Doka Coffee Plantation tour was wonderful and very informative. There was a wonderful 60 minute hike that we took to the volcano crater unfortunately the weather was completely cloudy and we couldn't see into the crater but the hike was incredible! The food on this tour was the best I had especially the lunch. And the butterflies were amazing! Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

M G Parry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a delightful experience and our guide was most helpful. The crew were very efficient and caring. The catermarran was in excellent condition and very clean. The music was too intrusive. I do think that the musician should be more attentive to his audience for each sailing. If no one is dancing why keep up the blaring music? To experience the peace of fantastic scenery during the sailings was totally out of reach...as he played and sang loudly and consistently!!! One could not escape the musical intrusion.
The island setting ,food and staff were all satisfactory...a lovely special experience.. The coach trips were pleasant and with helpful informative commentaries. Thank you to guide, crew and island staff.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide on this tour was wonderful! And the boat ride through the rain forrest was really beautiful! The turtles are only in season part of the year, so we didn't see any turtles on this trip. The food was OK, but not the best.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I thought the food was mediocre--fatty, too much starch, not high quality. The show was short and much of the time involved announcement and presentation of persons celebrating birthdays and anniversaries. The setting was beautiful but it was not worth the price overall.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

M G Parry
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was a pleasant experience. I do think that couples should be given the opportunity of dining at their own table and not be responsible for offering hospitality to clients travelling alone. It so happened that the guy who was placed at out table was pleasant but rather controlled our conversation with his constant talking.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was the only one who showed up and my guide Eric was a wonderful tour guide! He had excellent knowledge of San Jose and I soaked up all the historical and cultural details and stories! He was very patient when had to translate for I have to say this one probably one of the more relaxed and fun days I've had in a long time!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic combination of tours! Unfortunately unable to see the crater or lake due to clouds/fog at Poas, but La Paz and Doka Estates were great. We were able to make the hike for the waterfalls a bit more challenging by going to every single landing and moving at a quick pace which was nice.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful experience. Very exciting being on the Lucky River and seeing all the wildlife--crocs, blue and tiger herons, howler and whitefaced monkeys, lizard, etc. It really did feel like we were on the Amazon River! Beautiful scenery.Our guide--Louis--was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and personable. Had a great breakfast and a wonderful lunch at the Evergreen Lodge in the jungle. Visiting Tortuguero Town deep in the jungle was an interesting experience. And seeing the beautiful ocean where the turtles come ashore to lay their eggs was exciting! There were many people at the dock getting ready to go on the tour. Somewhat muddy getting from the dock to the boats. All-in-all, this tour was a highlight of our Costa Rica trip!!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Late very late arrival but over all the staff made it happen and it became a amazing tour

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

Karina S
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlight of this tour is definitely the Hot Spring. I was honestly going for the volcano but there was a huge cloud right on top of it. I actually met people that visited the volcano a day after me and got to see it fully with clear skies, bad luck for me I suppose. After the volcano we headed to Tabacon Hot Spring and that pretty much was it. I loved it. The place was gorgeous. The food by the pool's bar is not included but you must try their ceviche and patacones, they were the best I had in the area. Yes, the trip is long if you are coming from Sa Jose or Alahuela area but totally worth it. My guide was Hernan. he took time to talk to every person on the tour. Thank you for such a nice time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message