Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 324 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

great experience

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice tour. Unfortunately the best time to see Tutles is in August September and then again you need to overnight as they come out to lay their eggs only at night.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I have even taken. The transportation bus was old and noisy and could not hear anything. The guide did not seem to care where you can hear him or not. On the way back the bus broke down. Luckily the driver was smart and able to fix it. Got back at 11 pm back to the hotel- too late for me.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our initial guide/driver was Carlos who drove us to the Tirembina Rainforest Centre and later for an excellent lunch at a local restaurant. Our guide at the Centre was Willy Willie?. He was excellent, extremely knowledgeable. This was the best part of the day. Willy pointed out and clearly explained everything around us. He helped us to develop our observational skills in looking for wildlife. As this is rain forest and not a zoo, you wont see everything - its best to enjoy the ones you do. After lunch we returned for the Chocolate tour, which involved a short walk through the rain forest to a covered seated area. Here Mariella gave a history of chocolate and showed us how it was extracted/processed with help from Giovanni and participants. It was interesting and entertaining, but maybe not worth an afternoon.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

fun beach day.

Doing what: Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

good volcano visit. Tabacon was fantastic

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Max, our guide, was funny and very knowledgeable. The tour was bilingual Spanish English and Max was good at maintaining a commentary in both languages, but it did make it harder for us take in the information. The coffee plantation gave us a good breakfast and the tour was very informative - well definitely avoid de-caf from now on. The visit to the volcano was disappointing because the clouds were down and we saw nothing of it, although the cloud forest was fascinating. The souvenir stop was not really necessary. The La Paz Waterfall Gardens was well organised, basically a mini zoo and some good waterfalls. The aviary was good and you can get your picture taken with a toucan. The hummingbirds were fantastic, especially because they were not in a cage, but just lured by the food. The buffet meal was excellent. The big cats section was a little uncomfortable, especially as one or two of the cats were exhibiting repetitive behaviour. The waterfall walk was accurately described and you can get close enough to get soaked if you so desire. It was a packed tour, but generally worth the effort.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Long day with only a distant look at the volcanoe. I was expecting to get a look at the crator so my expectations may have been the problem.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This started out badly when the tour guides were late then we had to wait for other people from our hotel (rudeness is part of traveling, not the tour company). Get on the road and the guide immediately starts warning of CRs unpredictable weather which was a red flag for us. The guide gave a running commentary of CR which was a nice feature, we learned some nice info about CR as a whole. Had to stop along the way to pick up some other people from a zip line tour which wouldn't have been a problem except they weren't ready and our guide was hesitant to prod them along (the rudeness factor again). Finally get to the volcano/hot springs area and sit down to a hour long lunch after sitting for 4-1/2 hours to get there after we were told it would take about 3 hours. Lunch was very good but ate up more time than expected. Then back on the bus to a scenic outlook at a volcano we couldn't see as the weather had gotten horrible during lunch. Based on the Viator tour description we thought the volcano part of the tour would have been more than standing miles from the base. Finally to the hot springs after getting stuck at the scenic outlook in rain as our guide wouldn't run back to bus in the rain. Tabacon hot springs was the high point of the day, this place was amazing, theres enough hot springs pools to satisfy everyone and the towel service was excellent and the locker rooms and showers were very clean. The dinner provided was top notch but the service to get drinks was a bit slow. We felt rushed during dinner as the guide wanted to get on the road so that lasted less than an hour. Back on the bus and we stop at a bar halfway to use the restrooms and endure harsh stares from the locals, gross toilet facilities and a longer than expected stop for the same people we waited on at the zip line stop and still the guide seems like hes friends with them so wont prod them along. All in all, over 7 hours on a bus for 3 hours in the hot springs. Very misleading Viator.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Tortuguero National Park, but if we had it to do over, we probably wouldnt have done it, at least for the price. During the turtle season, Im sure it would be really cool to do a tour to see the turtles nesting and everything. We did get to see monkeys, different varieties of birds, and even a caiman on this tour, so that was really cool. But my husband and I Im 26 and he is 32 prefer a little more adventure, and we felt that this tour is better suited for older or less active people. It was really beautiful and neat to go to Tortuguero Island, but if you do the one-day tour like we did, you only get about 45 minutes actually on land in Tortuguero. So you are basically paying for transportation and food. It was nice to have air conditioning, but we didnt realize until we got there that we could have just taken a public bus and caught the boat ride to Tortuguero for much cheaper. The meals the tour includes breakfast and lunch were delicious. And our tour guide was fantastic and very funny. Overall, we were very happy with the tour, it just wasnt the adventure that we, personally, were looking for.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We were disappointed because we only attended three pubs. The price was very expensive for what we received. At one of the pubs we got 2 samples of each beer to share between 4 people; fortunately I was with people I knew so I was comfortable to share the same glass around our table.

Doing what: San Jose Beer Tasting Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

If you are looking for a van, with chairs hard like a brick, on a bumpy road for over 1.5h to see nothing spectacular, than this tour is for you! We had 13 people for 12 seats in that old van too. And that turtle in the picture, you are not gonna see it! The tour guide got into a fight with one of the passengers are refused to take him to his hotel. Highly NOT recommended!!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Tour guide didnt talk much. Mainly just led us around and down a few streets. Although tour said 3 hours and that it ended with fruit tasting and coffee he just took us back to the entrance to the Central Market , handed us a couple pieces of fruit around 10:50 and dumped us.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour: Food, History and Architecture

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

THIS WAS AN INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE! A VERY NICE BUFFET MEAL WITH OUTSTANDING SERVICE. OPEN BAR FOR BEER, WINE, AND SODA. THE PERFORMERS WER FIRST RATE AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND ANYONE VISITING SAN JOSE TO GO SEE THIS.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message