Bustling big city or nature’s haven? Whichever way you see it, San Jose offers plenty of excitement for the first time and returning visitor alike. In fact, its obvious architecture of tall skyscrapers and expansive malls often overshadow its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good tour. We had an awesome time. Enjoyed the zip-line and the walk into the rain forest trail. Our guides were excellent.

Doing what: Canopy Zipline Eco-Adventure Tour from San Jose

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A must tour. We seen a variety of things such as the Coffee Plantation. That was so informative and beautiful. The breakfast was very good to and able to sample various coffee blends. The Poas volcano was awesome. The sanctuary was so beautiful and interesting. Take your camera because there are many great photo ops. The buffet lunch was very good. Our tour guide and driver were awesome. Highly recommend this tour as you will be able to see many things in a day.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time. The view is marvelous and the dancers very exciting and colorful. The buffet, drinks and restaurant décor were awesome. The staff very friendly and accommodating. A fun time.

Doing what: San Jose Dinner, Live Music, and Traditional Dance

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip. Oscar was our guide, he was funny and informative and gave the tour in English and Spanish. The weather cooperated which gave us a great view of Arenal. Good lunch and dinner and the Tabacon springs were pretty amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent on every level. The guide and drivers were very experienced and made sure we got the most out of the day. We saw lots of wildlife including sloths, howler and spider monkeys, birds, caiman and reptiles. I thoroughly enjoyed my day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ella F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Eric was an excellent tour guide! He cared deeply about giving us a good experience, and his knowledge about San Jose is very extensive. I'm glad we did this tour the day after we arrived in San Jose so we could get to know the city better and have more confidence exploring on our own. The tour was kept to 6 people, which made it easy to get around and ask more questions.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Kristie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The drive was long but it was very beautiful and the hot springs were the best part of the whole trip. Both of the meals were exceptional!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Joyce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great. The day was clear so we were able to see both pools.

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Jane G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

My guide Randall was pleasant and it was a nice outing. The chocolate lecture,
demonstration, and tasting was informative. We had a tasty lunch at a local
restaurant. All in all, it was a fun day. The only thing I had hoped for was to
bird.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Joyce B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Our guide was in training and did not do a very good job of explaining the various sites. A lot of missed information.

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Sam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Eric, did a great job showing us every day life in San Jose! He handled two couples with language differences with ease. He also handled a transportation return to our hotel by the airport issue for me and my wife at the end of the tour in a very professional manner. We would highly recommend this tour to future Viator customers!

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

Jason Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a great tour with great tour guides. Manuel was very knowledgeable throughout the trip and answered all of my questions. The hike through the rainforest was nice and walking over the suspension bridge was pretty cool as well. The guide that led the chocolate tour was great in introducing the history behind chocolate and we were able to taste it in many different forms, from the cocoa plant to an actual piece of chocolate.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Marie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide and great way to spend my first day of travelling alone. Couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including Chocolate Tasting

Island Girl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was nothing short of AMAZING -- from our Viator guide, who picked us up at our hotel, to the actual Canopy Tour itself. I would do this again in a heartbeat. The guides on the actual Canopy Tour were EXCEPTIONAL. Patient, personable and they were very clear about safety. Not to be missed. Highly recommended. They deserve the gratuities!

Doing what: San Jose Zipline Canopy Tour

Island Girl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you have never seen a volcano in your life, then here's your chance. I hadn't and it was worth it. Thankfully, we were very lucky, as our guide told us who was terrific, by the way that it was a relatively clear day, so we could see it in all its glory. A word of caution to those with physical ailments: There are a number of steps to go up to the clearing to see the volcano. If you cannot climb steps, which are created into the grassy, slightly steep and rocky hill, you will not be able to enjoy this. The Hot Springs resort visit was INCREDIBLE. Great for adults. Great for children. Yes, there is a separate area for children to enjoy. Adults, however, must be present with them at all times. You must remember to take money with you to rent towels, but the money is returned once you return the towels. There are a number of springs to choose from. You are able to go from spring to spring. Bars are available, and restaurants are on site, including a buffet. Gratuities for the guide and bus driver are welcome. Note: Included with this tour is lunch. However, alcoholic beverages and soft drinks/sodas/juices, etc. are not. Those are to be paid for separately.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite the long drive from San Jose this tour is a MUST DO!!! The day we went the weather was perfect! The Hot Springs are amazing!!! Don't forget to bring swing suit!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Poas Volcano is beautiful! This tour is a MUST DO!!! The day was perfect! Then La Paz Waterfalls are amazing!

Doing what: Combo Tour - Best of Costa Rica from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great!!! We went to different churches and to the National Theather! The artesanal market was huge! But the dinner at Ram Luna..... WAS AMAZING!!!!!! MUST DO!

Doing what: San Jose Super Saver: City Sightseeing plus Traditional Music and Dance Show with Dinner

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We did this tour on the same day we arrive to San Jose. What a great way to start our trip. The tour guy was very informative! Central market is amazing! We drink costarican coffee and the dinner was delicious. This tour is a MUSSSSTTT DOO!!! Our group was small and perfect!!! lol If I go back to Costa Rica I will definitely do this tour again!

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

Avijit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Zip line was awesome and if we only did the zip lining it would be worth the price. Juan was a great guide and we got to see a decent amount of animals through the rainforest. Food was subpar compared to other places in costa rica, but the experience at this place outweighs anything else

Doing what: Rainforest Adventures Costa Rica Atlantic Multi Pass

Jing Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The whole trip was wonderful, we saw many beautiful plants and some animal along the bus ride to and from the river and the river boat ride. The meals were delicious, our tour guide is very nice and knowledgeable, bus driver and boat captain are very considerate and skillful. My husband and I loved the trip. It is the highlight of our Costa Rica vacation.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Joshua C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Like other reviewers we had a tough time finding the meeting spot. This is because San Jose started using road names/numbers but the locals aren't used to it yet. Once we found the spot however the rest of the evening was great. We had 2 guides for 4 people because another group had to cancel, so we never felt like we had to jockey for time or keep up with just 1 person. We were able to see parts of the city that we never would have, such as the history of the post office, behind the scenes of the Central Market, and experiencing exotic fruit. We had a great coffee, local dinner, and out of the way bar. Each guide brought their own personality and views for living as a tico, and one of them even hung out with us after the tour. I would highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: San Jose Evening Tour with Dinner in Escazú

m S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely wonderful and informative daytrip! Our guide, Randall, could not have been better than he was. Both his English and knowledge of the area were impressive. Thank-you Randall for a terrific day,

Doing what: San Jose Walking Tour including Central Market and Lunch

inge e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour for day trip. Long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message