San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 234 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip and fantastic guide. The guide was an older gentleman, I don't remember his name, but he was really enthusiastic and made the trip very enjoyable. The best parts were the riverboat ride, lunch onshore and walking the boardwalk in the rainforest. The guide pointed out a lot of wildlife, gave us a closeup look at monkeys, a two toed sloth, river birds and reptiles. I did some other tours in Costa Rica with other companies and Viator was definitely the best value for the money!.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We went to the volcano early in the morning to avoid the rain. It was beautiful and our guide was very knowledgable. The ride to the Orosi Valley and through it was spectacular. The lunch spot was perfect: delicious food, lovely establishment, beautiful scenery. Our guide and driver were both very accommodating and kind. It was a beautiful day.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Grabien was our tour guide for the day and he helped make this tour the highlight of my trip. The volcano was beautiful, but Tabacon was simply amazing. I wish I could give this more stars!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a wonderful group of people on the bus. The tour guide was friendly, personable and answered all questions...his knowledge of Costa Rican history and culture was much appreciated. One of the highlights of our trip, we loved the Baldi Hot Springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip was very nice. I enjoyed looking at all the scenery as we drove to Arenal Volcano. I liked the stop in Sarchi for the purchasing of Souvenirs. I feel like they had a very good selection at decent prices. I am a souvenir t-shirt person, so this was exactly what I was looking for. The lunch meal we had was very tasty, especially the yucca desert that was offered to us. I enjoyed the drive through La Fortuna, it was very nice to see what the city had to offer. The Volcano was beautiful, I wish we could have gotten closer but it was still a very nice view. There were also a lot of Guava trees with ripe Guavas on them there. The best part of this day trip would have to be the visit to Tabacon Hot Springs. I have never seen hot springs before so this was exceptionally amazing to me. It felt amazing to get in. The way this hotel has it tropical landscaping and architecture set up makes this a beautiful treat. The dinner buffet was very well done. All of the food items tasted great. I really like the fresh pasta bar where a chef prepared your pasta dish to order. The ride back is a bit long and very bumpy. Besides that I feel that this was worth the price.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a very relaxing trip. In the village we were able to purchase fresh coconuts for a dollar! Only wish we did the overnight stay because we didn't get a chance to see any turtles.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice! Hot springs were fantastic!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my vacation. I loved everything. However it made for a long day. We were picked up later than when we told but the tour made up for it by 200.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time! We learned so much about the local culture, agriculture, and the terrain. Our driver deserves an award and our tour guide was fluent in both english and spanish. The lunch stop was at a restaurant near the vollcano with beautiful views. The food was great. Our tour guide Mario always offered his help. Baldi Springs were exotic, clean and relaxing. My girlfriend and I were able to be alone in them because of the amount of pools they had. I feel like a kid again after flying down the water slides! This is a must do and made our trip a memory that we will share for a lifetime!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome. My only complaint is that we were not able to spend more time in the hot springs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour of Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs. Evene with light Cloud Cover, Arenal is Jurassic-awsome to visit and the hot springs are simply unreal!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful tour, it was very hot and muggie. Could only spend very short time on the beach before rushed off.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The ride was rough. We expected to get closer to the volcano but that is not the case. Baldi hot springs was good. The foods were excellent. We enjoy the company of the tourist and the foods more than the tour it self. Three stars for the foods.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I was very sad that we didn't get to see the volcano. The hot springs were awesome . So so relax.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic! The boat ride up the river and the walk through the rain forrest was amazing. The guide, Luis, was very knowledgeable. Delicious meals provide for breakfast and lunch.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide. Great trip, but it was a very long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The day was long, but the trip was great. It is well worth the time spent on the road.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. I hurt myself and the tour guide was wonderful helping me

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to Tortuguero, definitely one of the best days that we spent in Costa Rica. Having the chance to see sloths, turtles, monkeys and more in the wild was a great experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide on this tour was wonderful! And the boat ride through the rain forrest was really beautiful! The turtles are only in season part of the year, so we didn't see any turtles on this trip. The food was OK, but not the best.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I know it is not sea turtle nesting season but tour made it sound like we would see something n there was nothing to see,, and that is part of what you are paying for!
Rest of your tour good

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Sorry to say it was too long on a bus to see a volcano that was mostly hidden in clouds
The Baldi Hot Springs were OK but the buffet dinner was mediocre
I would give it a 3 star rating if it didn't involve over 8 hours in a bus

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fabulous, the driver Christian and guide Enrique were both wonderful. Enrique especially was so friendly, fun, knowledgeable, accommodating, and kind he made the whole thing work! His knowledge of plants especially made the botanical gardens part of the tour perfect.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great hike with gorgeous views and time to enjoy the beach. Monkeys were everywhere, but we weren't able to see too many other animals. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message