San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 302 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip. Beautiful day. Relaxing. Eduardo was knowledgeable and made sure we saw the banana plantations, pineapple plantation. Made sure we saw monkeys and lizards. Went to the black sand beaches. Tried Coconut Water. Great experience. They took good car of my 75 year old mother who had the time of her life.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Eleanor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, we were well looked after and saw lots of wildlife including sloths and two kinds of monkeys, much of which we would not have spotted without the help of our knowledgeable guide. The forest is full of life and the beach is beautiful!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park

Jeannie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the guide Eugenio and the driver Edgar were a great team and took care of everything. It was a LONG day 12 hours, but a great price and a beautiful tour.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hot springs were like a natural water theme park. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Meredith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip! Be prepared for oppressive heat when you arrive to Manuel Antonio, but it's worth it to see the lovely beach and wildlife. I went on three tours while I was in Costa Rica, and I have to say this tour guide was the best. Great work!
One small suggestion: after a brutally hot day at the beach, offering a hot, late lunch outside outside is a bit uncomfortable. Maybe move it indoors?

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Arlene N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful guide by the name of Miza and it was the best day we had. It was fantastic

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

driver roy did a great job. Mad maxx was informative, funny, and a great example of a good coasta rican. they both deserve a pat on the back, and while doing that a raise, why not, too veterans doing what they love...

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Mauricio was fantastic. The pace was perfect. He didn't hurry us along but we arrived back in a timely fashion and went the extra mile to show us things not mentioned in the brochure. For example an overview of the whole valley. We are currently taking a tour of the whole country which is very good, but I would rather have Mauricio as our guide. We choose this tour because it showed us things not on the whole country tour. I highly recommend this tour and this guide if you have a little extra time in San Jose.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karen C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a great time. Just wasn't the season for the turtles!
Thank you,
Kc

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Anastasia W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great! It was a 15 hour tour and included expensive restaurant lunch/dinner and Guides are nice! Tips: bring breakfast (it and #39;s not included and they picked up at 7am before places are open). Bring extra water- it and #39;s ridiculous to buy! ($8-10 us for water and $13 us for deodorant) bring everything!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Michael K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A long and very hot day to the park but well worth it in order to see the animals in their natural environment.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Michael K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was good. The view of the volcano was beautiful. The hot springs were interesting and fun. This part of the trip could have been an hour less. The road is rough and long so be prepared for a long day. Our tour guide was knowledgable but since we were in a smaller van without a microphone, he tended to speak and explain only to the people directly behind him. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems which caused it to have trouble going up hills and meant no ac. This added an hour to the already long return trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

lexispencer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This excursion was disappointing because you only get to see the volcano from a pretty far distance. If the weather is cloudy, you only get to see part of the volcano. The hot springs were ok but not worth the long drive. This trip is all day and for our family, not worth the very long drive to and from it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Tammy G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Long day from San Jose, got picked up at 5:30 am and got home at 8:30 pm. Boat ride is four hours and only saw a few wildlife, we did not go during turtle season which probably would have been better. The food was excellent breakfast and lunch, the ground transportation on way home was very cramped and would have liked to walk around lodge area to possibly see more wildlife on trails.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

balderas.natalie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

There was a lot of driving. The total trip was 14 hours. The first shop we stopped at had low quality, and over priced souvenirs. The tour guide swore that it wasn't a tourist trap, but it was. We got to stop at a market are near the volcano which looked amazing, but we only got to stay there for 10 minutes. Bummer! : Everyone agreed that we stayed an hour too long at the hot springs and that that hour could have been used to spend time at the amazing market area. For lunch, do not pick the fish, yuck! The arroz con pollo was delicious!!!! The hot springs was pretty nice and the buffet there was stellar. Overall, the tour guide was knowledgeable, but not friendly. He seemed irritated most of the time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lisa A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Let me preface that I use Viator all the time and will continue to do so. In addition, a trip to Manuel Antonio National Park is an absolutely must see if you are visiting Costa Rica. The 1-star is simply for the tour.

You are basically paying for a shuttle to Manuel and you are on other people's time. Therefore, it would be better just to pay for a private transport or taxi to get to the park from San Jose if you do not have a rental car.

The day looks like this: 3.5 hours of driving to MANP a bad breakfast included, standing for 1.5 in line to get into the park, you have 3 hours to go to the beach and the park, meet everyone for an OK lunch, drive 3.5 hours back and miss the sunset. We missed the sunset because a family was 45 minutes late to lunch. Instead of us eating while we arrived on time, it pushed everything back. We missed out on 45 minutes spending time in MA and we missed the sunset on the drive home because there was no look out available at the time we were driving. We were 10 minutes too late. I have never been on a tour that would hold up the rest of the group for one family. Its either you make it on time or we leave without you. So basically you spend 150/pp for 3 hours in the park. You decide if it worth it.

My suggestion is to eliminate breakfast and provide black coffee and snacks in the van so we do not waste 45 minutes to eat breakfast. This tour should include a sunset watch at Jaco or right before at the many pull offs and ensure we watch it. The tour should NOT wait for people who do not follow directions, and the tour should work out a deal with the National Park to see if tour buses can get in a a certain time. That should be the benefit of paying this amount of money for a tour.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Lisa A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Let me preface that I use Viator all the time and would use them again. In addition, if you are visiting Costa Rica, a trip to Manual Antonio National Park is a must see. The 1-star rating is based on the tour.

If you want to visit MANP, my suggestion would be to use a rental car, a private transport or shuttle, or a taxi. This tour is basically a shuttle to the park except you are on other people's time.

Here is what the tour looks like: 3.5 hours of driving to the park a bad breakfast included, waiting 1.5 hour in line to get into the park, you get 3 hours to spend in the park/beach, then you meet the group for an OK lunch, and a 3.5 hour drive back and miss the sunset. One family arrived 45 minutes late to lunch which pushed everything back. This caused us to miss the sunset by 10 minutes because there was no pull off available. I have never been on a tour where they would accommodate a family who does not follow directions and meet the group on time. So not only did the families who followed direction miss out on 45 minutes of precious time in the park, we also missed the sunset. It is up to you to decide if this tour sounds like it is right for you.

My suggestion for this tour is to not stop for breakfast and waste 45 minutes. Instead provide black coffee, snacks, and fruit on the bus. Do not include a lunch and let the meet time be later so we can decide where we want to eat and to spend more time in Manual. A sunset should be included in Jaco or the town before it where there are multiple pull off spots. In addition, if a family does not follow directions on meeting time, the rest of the group should not punished by waiting for them and inflicting on their tour.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Guillermotravl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Before reaching the hot springs in Baldí, we enjoy the beautiful views of the volcano Arenal. Baldí is a beautiful place to spend a nice day. There are several pools with different temperatures. It has all the facilities to spend a relaxing day. It is highly recommended staying at the hotel Baldí.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We did a one-day tour, with Viator Great tour -- these people are so well organized. We only had one day no overnight, but others had overnights. They had it all figured out how to work with all these needs. You should probably stay overnight if you have the time, but we're still very glad we went, long day and all. Boat tours, wildlife, rainforest -- you've heard what you'll see already. Costa Rica has such diverse ecosystems! I've been to the cloud forest, the desert, the mountains, and now the rainforest -- wow. So it's definitely worth seeing. The air is so fresh, so rich. Being on the canals is a heavenly break from it all. I do hope the speeds of the boats don't hurt manatees or crocs, but that's my only concern.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved the tour. The guides were very knowledgeable and made the experience fabulous, The only draw back was we were the first to be picked up and the last to be dropped off and their were a lot of pick ups with a lot of waiting for people. Tortuguero National Park was one of my highlights of my trip to Costa Rica

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

stan the man

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Verry good day trip. Long drive from San Jose but its lots of thinks to see . Baldi its nice place to relax

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Randall P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour with a great tour guide

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Emile L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Tour! Hugo was an excellent guide - very friendly and knowledgeable. Beautiful views throughout the journey and at Arenal Volcano. Had a great time at the Hot Springs! - Janelle

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message