San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 312 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were unable to take this tour, due to illness, so cannot rate it

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

gerald

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Long drive out, but worth it. We were give breakfast, box lunch, and very early dinner. Went on weekday and wasn and #39;t too crowded. Lots of monkeys up close. It and #39;s a bit of a hike to the beach, because no vehicles are allowed in park. Once there, with additional hiking you can find very secluded areas

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Pavel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice tour, the botanical gardens were a little disappointing, especially because it started raining.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was very fun and a beautiful experience.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Ana C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with an early pick up at the hotel and then a pretty lengthy ride to the Arenal park area. We stopped at Sarchi at a coop and took some fun photos and purchased souveniers. Then we had lunch at La Fortuna. The guides shared information along the way. Lunch was pretty tasty! Then we went to the Arenal area. We lucked out that it was very visible. After that, we made our way to Tabacon, which was absolutely gorgeous. It was surreal to be in the hot springs when it started raining as it created this very cool steam. Dinner at Tabacon was above average. Then we headed back for into San Jose on a three hour ride. You spend a lot of time on the van. We enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers on the way there and all napped on the way back. You should definitely pack a swimsuit. Towels and small lockers are included at Tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

clfoley

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The boat ride was great, but I thought this would be more than just a boat ride. We did not see any turtles which we were disappointed about. We did see banana plantations and stopped to see how they are cleaned and packed. We saw one howler monkey up in the tree's and lots of birds but not much else. Kind of disappointed in that......The guides were good but hard to understand at times.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Τάσο Ψ

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour is a really long way to finally reach the park with countless hours of driving through city's traffic, villages, cloud forest, rivers and so on but reaching the park there wasnt really much of wild life to see let alone turtles due the the season.. Guide was informative and food was nice too. One has to visit the national park of Tortuguero in September to get a chance to see the turtles...

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Elisabeth K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This tour gets to nice place when you want to go swimming and lying on the beach. But if you want to see nature and wildlife than better go another nationalpark. This one is more like a pettingzoo and very touristic! You really have to watch your beggage. Monkeys seem to be a little bit agressive...

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip. Beautiful day. Relaxing. Eduardo was knowledgeable and made sure we saw the banana plantations, pineapple plantation. Made sure we saw monkeys and lizards. Went to the black sand beaches. Tried Coconut Water. Great experience. They took good car of my 75 year old mother who had the time of her life.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Eleanor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, we were well looked after and saw lots of wildlife including sloths and two kinds of monkeys, much of which we would not have spotted without the help of our knowledgeable guide. The forest is full of life and the beach is beautiful!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park

Jeannie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour and the guide Eugenio and the driver Edgar were a great team and took care of everything. It was a LONG day 12 hours, but a great price and a beautiful tour.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Syed H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hot springs were like a natural water theme park. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Meredith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip! Be prepared for oppressive heat when you arrive to Manuel Antonio, but it's worth it to see the lovely beach and wildlife. I went on three tours while I was in Costa Rica, and I have to say this tour guide was the best. Great work!
One small suggestion: after a brutally hot day at the beach, offering a hot, late lunch outside outside is a bit uncomfortable. Maybe move it indoors?

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Arlene N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful guide by the name of Miza and it was the best day we had. It was fantastic

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

driver roy did a great job. Mad maxx was informative, funny, and a great example of a good coasta rican. they both deserve a pat on the back, and while doing that a raise, why not, too veterans doing what they love...

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Mauricio was fantastic. The pace was perfect. He didn't hurry us along but we arrived back in a timely fashion and went the extra mile to show us things not mentioned in the brochure. For example an overview of the whole valley. We are currently taking a tour of the whole country which is very good, but I would rather have Mauricio as our guide. We choose this tour because it showed us things not on the whole country tour. I highly recommend this tour and this guide if you have a little extra time in San Jose.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Hosni A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Pros:
Tour guide was a blast :
Tabacón is really great, I had one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, I did not wanted to return to San José!!!!
Food was good, we had a traditional casado meal on a local restaurant, included in the price.
Dinner at Tabacón, very nice and big buffet, with seafood, fish, salads, pasta, meat, really nice.

Cons:
We really did not stop for more than 20 minutes to see the volcano... which I wan't very happy with.
The seats on the van were extremely small and unconfortable.

It's a nice trip for the price, but don't expect to see much of the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Karen C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a great time. Just wasn't the season for the turtles!
Thank you,
Kc

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Anastasia W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great! It was a 15 hour tour and included expensive restaurant lunch/dinner and Guides are nice! Tips: bring breakfast (it and #39;s not included and they picked up at 7am before places are open). Bring extra water- it and #39;s ridiculous to buy! ($8-10 us for water and $13 us for deodorant) bring everything!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Michael K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A long and very hot day to the park but well worth it in order to see the animals in their natural environment.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Michael K USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was good. The view of the volcano was beautiful. The hot springs were interesting and fun. This part of the trip could have been an hour less. The road is rough and long so be prepared for a long day. Our tour guide was knowledgable but since we were in a smaller van without a microphone, he tended to speak and explain only to the people directly behind him. On the return trip the van had mechanical problems which caused it to have trouble going up hills and meant no ac. This added an hour to the already long return trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

lexispencer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This excursion was disappointing because you only get to see the volcano from a pretty far distance. If the weather is cloudy, you only get to see part of the volcano. The hot springs were ok but not worth the long drive. This trip is all day and for our family, not worth the very long drive to and from it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message