• USD ($)
  • English
San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip with wonderful guides.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The hot springs were wonderful and the night was ended gloriously by eating dinner in the tree tops....exquisite view. If u tend to motion sickness be prepared for the windy trip there.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a lovely half day tour and we needed it since we had 5 other days of very long trips. However there has not been water in the volcano for 8 years.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The tour guide was very helpful, but the tour company should be more forthcoming in its advertising about how long this trip takes from San Jose. We were picked up at 5:40 am and didn't return until 8:30 pm. Also, much of this trip was on an unpaved, dirt road with many stones and ruts. Very uncomfortable in a small van.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome tour and operators
Was disappointed with viator as a booking agent because
tour came to pick me up an hour earlier than you told me at 5:30am and viator did not book my campions tour but did confirm and charged him for it so I had to go alone

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely wonderful. Gorgeous view. Lunch marvelous and the hot springs are fantastic!!! Guides and drivers are terrifc. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Definitely recommend and will take this tour again when I return with my family. Thank uyoi!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice driver and guide. Good food. The hot Springs made my extremely dry skin so soft for several days later. It made for a nice day trip from San Jose.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

J.J.
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A very nice trip!! We saw a lot of animals and birds. The beach is wonderful. A lot of people with kids visit this park, but if you are lucky to be in a small group with the guide, you can see a lot....

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time viewing the volcano and the hot springs were Excellent. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area, but make sure you give 48 hour notice to get transportation because it is through a different company and can get tricky.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Our day trip was great and exceeded our expectations. Our tour director (Mario) was excellent and we felt safe with the driver. Manual Antonio National Park is very beautiful, an incredible place to visit, and arguably the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. During our tour. we were provided a good breakfast, plenty of water and snacks, and a great fish late lunch. We also stopped at places to take pictures of birds, crocodiles, monkeys, etc., and were afforded opportunities to buy souvenirs. Our only concern and the reason we did not rate the tour as 5 stars, was the comfort of the van on that day. We were stuck in the rear seats of a 11 passenger Toyota van for nearly 7 hours. Our seats felt like they had no padding and with the rough roads combined for an uncomfortable ride. We would recommend this tour to anyone interested and just try to stay out of those back seats.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Too many passengers (12 and driver) were crammed in the van making it an uncomfortable ride to Tortuguero Park. (There were 5 less passengers on our return.) River was too shallow at this time of year (mid March). Although the cruise itself was enjoyable, the boat kept getting stuck in the water and one of the crew had to get into the water to push the boat forward. Tour narrator (Rosa) seemed indifferent and told us very little. She could have used the long waiting time on shore to explain about the turtles but she said nothing other than calling people "fat" and telling them that they had to sit at the front of the boat so that it wouldn't get stuck.
Lunch was excellent (both food and atmosphere). Our boat was late returning and we found that the only restrooms available on our return were locked. We saw a sloth and her baby traveling across a telephone wire on the ride home and the driver stopped so that we could take lots of photos. We narrowly missed a head on collision on the way home when our driver attempted to pass a truck in the dark and rain while we were driving through the cloud forest. We were all pretty shaken up. Didn't see any turtles but we knew that we wouldn't because of the time of year.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Driver was very safe and knowledgeable, and our guide was great. He gave concise descriptions of what we were going to see, then gave us time to explore the sites on our own, all the while making sure he was available to answer questions if we had any. Lunch on a coffee plantation was tasty and the scenery was breathtaking. Lankester gardens was well worth the visit.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

For the price,you can not beat it. You spend the day looking at the country side plus the attractions. Lunch a dinner included. The food was excellent.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was my first tour in Costa Rica. We were lucky that we went on a very sunny and clear day. We took some great pictures and walked in the crater of the volcano. It was very cold at Irazu. You definitely need a jacket.
We stopped at a beautiful restaurant by a man made lake. The food was great, the desert was great and the coffee was the best I have had in Costa Rica. I actually bought some to bring back home.
Our guide was great. he spoke both English and Spanish. This tour is worth its money with hotel pick up and lunch.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I went there during the rainy season and unfortunately couldn't see much on top of the volcano... However, I think it's a great 1-day-tour to see a lot of the different and beautiful countryside. The Lankester garden on its own is worth the trip - very impressive!

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message