San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic! The boat ride up the river and the walk through the rain forrest was amazing. The guide, Luis, was very knowledgeable. Delicious meals provide for breakfast and lunch.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The day was long, but the trip was great. It is well worth the time spent on the road.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. I hurt myself and the tour guide was wonderful helping me

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to Tortuguero, definitely one of the best days that we spent in Costa Rica. Having the chance to see sloths, turtles, monkeys and more in the wild was a great experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide on this tour was wonderful! And the boat ride through the rain forrest was really beautiful! The turtles are only in season part of the year, so we didn't see any turtles on this trip. The food was OK, but not the best.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I know it is not sea turtle nesting season but tour made it sound like we would see something n there was nothing to see,, and that is part of what you are paying for!
Rest of your tour good

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Sorry to say it was too long on a bus to see a volcano that was mostly hidden in clouds
The Baldi Hot Springs were OK but the buffet dinner was mediocre
I would give it a 3 star rating if it didn't involve over 8 hours in a bus

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fabulous, the driver Christian and guide Enrique were both wonderful. Enrique especially was so friendly, fun, knowledgeable, accommodating, and kind he made the whole thing work! His knowledge of plants especially made the botanical gardens part of the tour perfect.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great hike with gorgeous views and time to enjoy the beach. Monkeys were everywhere, but we weren't able to see too many other animals. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful experience. Very exciting being on the Lucky River and seeing all the wildlife--crocs, blue and tiger herons, howler and whitefaced monkeys, lizard, etc. It really did feel like we were on the Amazon River! Beautiful scenery.Our guide--Louis--was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and personable. Had a great breakfast and a wonderful lunch at the Evergreen Lodge in the jungle. Visiting Tortuguero Town deep in the jungle was an interesting experience. And seeing the beautiful ocean where the turtles come ashore to lay their eggs was exciting! There were many people at the dock getting ready to go on the tour. Somewhat muddy getting from the dock to the boats. All-in-all, this tour was a highlight of our Costa Rica trip!!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed the stops, lunch, guide. Good driver as well.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Karina S
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The highlight of this tour is definitely the Hot Spring. I was honestly going for the volcano but there was a huge cloud right on top of it. I actually met people that visited the volcano a day after me and got to see it fully with clear skies, bad luck for me I suppose. After the volcano we headed to Tabacon Hot Spring and that pretty much was it. I loved it. The place was gorgeous. The food by the pool's bar is not included but you must try their ceviche and patacones, they were the best I had in the area. Yes, the trip is long if you are coming from Sa Jose or Alahuela area but totally worth it. My guide was Hernan. he took time to talk to every person on the tour. Thank you for such a nice time.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

phx_sunz
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Senor George was outstanding. He took very good care of all of us. He was very patient and knowledgeable and took great care to answer all in details. Thanks a lot for showing your beautiful country to us.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Food was great. No problem with transportation either. But, you may able to get a cheaper deal if you plan it yourself. I don't think a travel guide is required.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was great! Scenery beautiful. After I later learned about the telescopes to watch animals, wish our guide had done that for us. Overall, lots of fun and loved the day.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour the hot springs was out of this world. The tour guide was great but he was not to good in explaining English one thing to take into consideration although it's a Spanish speaking country not all tourist is Spanish speaking

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was knowledgeable and perfectly billingual. Organized and on time. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide food and scenery was great hot springs amazing. Only negative is it ended up being a 16 hour day and the bus ride to and from is horrible. But not much you can do about bus ride. But other then that everything was perfect and I would definitely recommend it just be well rested

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

this was a lovely tour. The tourguides were friendly and I especially enjoyed the hotsprings waterpark! Never did I think my childhood would be rekindled like that! make sure that the day isnt cloudy when u are goin to visit the Volcano...or else the volcano may not be fully visible. :)

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Viator charged my account. And I was not taken on the tour. I have been unsuccessful with getting in touch with someone to retrieve my money. I am very disatisfied and would not recommend Viator to anyone to book tours.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message