San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 267 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip. Oscar was our guide, he was funny and informative and gave the tour in English and Spanish. The weather cooperated which gave us a great view of Arenal. Good lunch and dinner and the Tabacon springs were pretty amazing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent on every level. The guide and drivers were very experienced and made sure we got the most out of the day. We saw lots of wildlife including sloths, howler and spider monkeys, birds, caiman and reptiles. I thoroughly enjoyed my day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Kristie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The drive was long but it was very beautiful and the hot springs were the best part of the whole trip. Both of the meals were exceptional!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

James E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Guide and driver were great. Food was fine. However, it was a Saturday. Line to get into park was long in the hot sun. Park was packed with people. Drive back to hotel was endless. Too much time in the van and too little guided experience in the park itself. Don't go on a weekend.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Jay83

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

Island Girl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you have never seen a volcano in your life, then here's your chance. I hadn't and it was worth it. Thankfully, we were very lucky, as our guide told us who was terrific, by the way that it was a relatively clear day, so we could see it in all its glory. A word of caution to those with physical ailments: There are a number of steps to go up to the clearing to see the volcano. If you cannot climb steps, which are created into the grassy, slightly steep and rocky hill, you will not be able to enjoy this. The Hot Springs resort visit was INCREDIBLE. Great for adults. Great for children. Yes, there is a separate area for children to enjoy. Adults, however, must be present with them at all times. You must remember to take money with you to rent towels, but the money is returned once you return the towels. There are a number of springs to choose from. You are able to go from spring to spring. Bars are available, and restaurants are on site, including a buffet. Gratuities for the guide and bus driver are welcome. Note: Included with this tour is lunch. However, alcoholic beverages and soft drinks/sodas/juices, etc. are not. Those are to be paid for separately.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Zuriel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Despite the long drive from San Jose this tour is a MUST DO!!! The day we went the weather was perfect! The Hot Springs are amazing!!! Don't forget to bring swing suit!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Jing Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The whole trip was wonderful, we saw many beautiful plants and some animal along the bus ride to and from the river and the river boat ride. The meals were delicious, our tour guide is very nice and knowledgeable, bus driver and boat captain are very considerate and skillful. My husband and I loved the trip. It is the highlight of our Costa Rica vacation.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

inge e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour for day trip. Long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver. Beautiful scenery

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Pasi H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The trip was excellent and met most of my expectations! Timely pick-up and return to my hotel, good food and the guide was great! The only negative to say is that there were not many stops to go to boys' room and I did not see crocodiles or snakes, and wished to see more variety of birds and monkeys - but that is up to luck always anyway. I definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Catherine Eng C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Manuel Antonio beach is beautiful and calm enough for swimming, Leave snorkeling gear at home, since not much is seen even with calm waters. Be prepared for long van ride, 3-4 hours going and 4-5 hours returning to San Jose. We were picked up at 6 am, and did not arrive back at hotel until 9:30PM.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

Gustavo U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great views, I would have liked to see the lake and have a short trail rather than stopping on souvenir shops. The thermal springs are awesome, I didn't expect it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Avijit K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great experience. Weather cooperated. We got to see the volcano. Hot springs was incredible. It just a very very long day so plan for it

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The trip was really good, the Tabacon Hot Springs was really relaxing and enjoyable. The property is beautiful. We would have liked more time at the volcano. The view was nice but would have liked to be closer or more time to go on one of the trails.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lisa P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We had to coordinate with the local tour operator to pick us up at our hotel in Quepos. They said we would be picked up at 7am. At 7:20 the shuttle had not arrived so we called to ask where it was and were told it was 15-20 minutes away. At 8 I called again and was told that they didn't realize we were in Quepos and they were coming from Jaco 1.5 hour away and wouldn't be there til 9.
The park itself was nice, but we saw less wildlife than we had expected. Our guide was great and pointed out sloths, a poisonous grasshopper, some birds and bats. The tour breaks at the beach where the monkeys hang out. The beach was beautiful, but we hadn't brought swimwear as we didn't realize we would be there for about an hour. Back to the shuttle bus and off to lunch. Lunch was quite good and the view was spectacular.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park

Alexandra L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

If you want to do a tour that takes you to see a volcano for 10 mins and spend 3 hours relaxing at springs, it and #39;s a great tour. But if you are more interested in the volcano it and #39;s not really worth it.
However, the lunch was fantastic and the guide jorge was very good too.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Oscar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent day trip

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Alexandria E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We had a blast on this tour. It look awhile to get started, but our guide was very nice. Lunch was absolutely delicious, the volcano was stunning although mostly covered with clouds, and the hot springs were our favorite stop. I should mention the hike to the volcano is more or less walking up some stairs, but the view really is awesome. I'd recommend this tour- you get meals, transportation, and a nice informative guide. Can't go wrong. Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Krystal M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour of Manual Antonio was very nice, the guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. The tour itself was 2 hrs then we had 1.5 hrs after the tour to hike/sit on the beach in the park. The lunch location was very nice, it was outside the park right across the street from the public beach. The tour was not 12 hours as listed on the description, we were headed back to our hotel from the tour/lunch by 1:30pm.

The transportation from the hotel was okay, we didn't get much insight on the area and it was difficult to confirm the actual pick up time. If you have never been to the park I recommend the tour otherwise you may want to go on your own or visit the activities/beach outside the park.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park

stagecoach

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Too long. This trip took 14 hours. Much of the trip was in a small, crowded bus over some rough roads. It also included a boat ride of about 2 hours on very hard benches---then 2 hour boat ride back to the bus. We saw a lot of animals and interesting plants. The lunch was nice and the tour guide seemed to know the area quite well. The trip just took too long and the transportation was too uncomfortable.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Lindsay M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Our guide was very inexperienced, could barely speak english, and she kept needing to ask the other guides for help. Not only was she NOT knowledgeable, but the whole time the group was wishing we had one of the OTHER guides that knew what they were doing. We should've bought binoculars and did the tour ourselves, that's how useless the guide was, and what a waste of money the tour was. I would recommend to everyone to go through a different guide company.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park

Joyce C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was an exceptional way to spend the day! We had a small group and all but one of the guests were located in town. However, the pick up for the final guest was out near the airport and this resulted in wasting almost 2 hours in the morning while struggling with rush hour traffic. My only suggestion for improvement of this tour would be a central location meeting place3 so that only the guests who are outliers will have to content with the traffic. However, the rest of the day was wonderful! We made a breakfast stop and had a lovely typical Tyco breakfast in a lovely outdoor setting. Then we crossed a bridge on foot to get a better look path the hundreds of crocodiles that inhabit the river at that location. Fascinating! On to the park, where we took a nature walk on a well laid out path through the rainforest and on to the beaches. From that point on, you were free for three hours to swim, hike, or whatever. The meeting place for lunch was a local hotel/resort and the setting and the food was delightful. Had a great time and highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Manuel Antonio National Park Day Trip from San Jose

James A D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Saw some good things, but did not meet all of our expectations

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Krupali T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

worst tour ever- the guide was awful, the transportation was awful where too many people were cramped into a loud and smelly and old van - it was a complete wasted day :

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message