San Jose in Costa Rica is many things to many people. Looming skyscrapers, glitzy malls, busy businessmen and a fast-paced lifestyle is perhaps the more obvious appearance to those visiting on work or for short durations. But San Jose can also be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

great experience

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice tour. Unfortunately the best time to see Tutles is in August September and then again you need to overnight as they come out to lay their eggs only at night.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

By far one of the best tours I have even taken. The transportation bus was old and noisy and could not hear anything. The guide did not seem to care where you can hear him or not. On the way back the bus broke down. Luckily the driver was smart and able to fix it. Got back at 11 pm back to the hotel- too late for me.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

good volcano visit. Tabacon was fantastic

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was excellent in most respects but let me down with regards to the weather. We could see nothing on top of the volcano due to clouds, which was a real shame. Not anyones fault but from speaking / reading reviews, it appears to be more systemic than perhaps is advertised. Well worth it still. My advice: Check the weather forecast before booking. I only had the one day so didnt have the luxury.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Long day with only a distant look at the volcanoe. I was expecting to get a look at the crator so my expectations may have been the problem.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This started out badly when the tour guides were late then we had to wait for other people from our hotel (rudeness is part of traveling, not the tour company). Get on the road and the guide immediately starts warning of CRs unpredictable weather which was a red flag for us. The guide gave a running commentary of CR which was a nice feature, we learned some nice info about CR as a whole. Had to stop along the way to pick up some other people from a zip line tour which wouldn't have been a problem except they weren't ready and our guide was hesitant to prod them along (the rudeness factor again). Finally get to the volcano/hot springs area and sit down to a hour long lunch after sitting for 4-1/2 hours to get there after we were told it would take about 3 hours. Lunch was very good but ate up more time than expected. Then back on the bus to a scenic outlook at a volcano we couldn't see as the weather had gotten horrible during lunch. Based on the Viator tour description we thought the volcano part of the tour would have been more than standing miles from the base. Finally to the hot springs after getting stuck at the scenic outlook in rain as our guide wouldn't run back to bus in the rain. Tabacon hot springs was the high point of the day, this place was amazing, theres enough hot springs pools to satisfy everyone and the towel service was excellent and the locker rooms and showers were very clean. The dinner provided was top notch but the service to get drinks was a bit slow. We felt rushed during dinner as the guide wanted to get on the road so that lasted less than an hour. Back on the bus and we stop at a bar halfway to use the restrooms and endure harsh stares from the locals, gross toilet facilities and a longer than expected stop for the same people we waited on at the zip line stop and still the guide seems like hes friends with them so wont prod them along. All in all, over 7 hours on a bus for 3 hours in the hot springs. Very misleading Viator.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Tortuguero National Park, but if we had it to do over, we probably wouldnt have done it, at least for the price. During the turtle season, Im sure it would be really cool to do a tour to see the turtles nesting and everything. We did get to see monkeys, different varieties of birds, and even a caiman on this tour, so that was really cool. But my husband and I Im 26 and he is 32 prefer a little more adventure, and we felt that this tour is better suited for older or less active people. It was really beautiful and neat to go to Tortuguero Island, but if you do the one-day tour like we did, you only get about 45 minutes actually on land in Tortuguero. So you are basically paying for transportation and food. It was nice to have air conditioning, but we didnt realize until we got there that we could have just taken a public bus and caught the boat ride to Tortuguero for much cheaper. The meals the tour includes breakfast and lunch were delicious. And our tour guide was fantastic and very funny. Overall, we were very happy with the tour, it just wasnt the adventure that we, personally, were looking for.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

If you are looking for a van, with chairs hard like a brick, on a bumpy road for over 1.5h to see nothing spectacular, than this tour is for you! We had 13 people for 12 seats in that old van too. And that turtle in the picture, you are not gonna see it! The tour guide got into a fight with one of the passengers are refused to take him to his hotel. Highly NOT recommended!!

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Really great tour guide. Lots of information. Nice tour with a variety of sites. Great lunch in a beautiful location was a real surprise.

Doing what: Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

COULD ONLY SEE ABOUT 1/3 OF ARENAL AS IT WAS EXTREMELY CLOUDY AND MISTING RAIN. THE 2 MEALS WERE VERY GOOD WITH LUNCH BEING ALA CARTE AND DINNER AT ALBI HOT SPRINGS RESORT WAS A 5 STAR. YOU WON'T REGRET GOING TO THIS.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This trip was only satisfactory. The guide did not plan enough bathroom stops, and I had to literally force them to stop the van and allow me go to the bathroom in the middle of a dirt road. The guide stopped the bus for himself to go to the restroom,but he left us on the bus. After that, he paid more attention and the remainder of the trip, he did make sufficient stops for potty breaks. The scenery was beautiful, and the meals were very good. The guide spoke good English, and the explanations were good.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The park is beautiful and we had a tour guide with great knowledge of wildlife. We had seen many wildlife along the canals in the rainforest. It is sad that the beach was dirty trash.

Doing what: Tortuguero National Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Spent almost entire morning in a lame craft shop and then took us to a view point to see Volcano for 15 min. The best part of the tour is the hot spring in the resort Tabacon. The spring is awesome.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message