San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1091 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Isabel E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our Rain Forest Tour Guide Jerry was great. Very enthusiastic, great tour, would highly recommend it. Lunch was delicious.
Then you switch tour guides for the Bioluminescent part. I don't actually remember the name of the female tour guide that took us to the Bay she did make an effort to get us back to our ship on time though. She was just driving us to and from there. At the Bay we met Manolo, Mike, and Raphael, who then took us out on the kayaks.
The Bioluminescence looked nothing like the photos, or Avatar, or Life of Pie. It looks like static. Not sure if we just picked a bad night - I would give it another try, given the chance. But the guys were very friendly and fun. The kayaking through the mangroves was fun. We saw some iguanas on our way to the bay, and it was a cool eery paddling back in the dark.
I do recommend the tour. It is a great way to see the nature of Puerto Rico.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

James B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was a little disappointing to us. The tour guide did a fair job providing transportation and providing information about Puerto Rico and the rainforest on the way out. Once we arrived, we were dropped at the visitor center for a 30 minute stop, while our guide went off on his own. We then made five stops along the roadside to view some waterfalls and small rivers. Our tour didn't have any scheduled stops where the guests could get into the water and play under a waterfall, but after a few requests, the guide made an adjustment to the tour and allowed for some time in a great area, which had a great waterfall and small area to take a plunge, which turned out to be the highlight of the tour. Had the adjustment not been made, we would have missed out on some of the best pictures we got from this tour.
Once we were done with our stops at the rainforest, we headed back to the San Juan area without any stop for lunch or refreshments, which was not expected, but would have been a nice addition.
Overall, this tour should be called A snapshot of El Yunque. There is just so much to see here, that we felt the whole experience just felt rushed. Instead of a half day tour, I would recommend a full day at El Yunque, at a minimum. Furthermore, after getting a feel for the island on this trip, our next trip to Puerto Rico will include another tour of El Yunque, but instead of going with a tour group, we will most likely just rent a car so we can explore things at our own pace and get a little more adventure out of it.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you and #39;re ever in PR take this tour with Tony He is THE BEST! He and #39;s very well informed and his tour is amazing! Definitely a must tour when in PR

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

mark b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip was wonderful and arriving early made all the difference. The two guides were excellent, friendly and very helpful. They took the extra effort to take us all to a local restaurant in San Juan when the tour was over. I can't recommend it more highly. Thanks for a great day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to El Yunque National Forest Park with a Certified Tour Guide

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great trip for folks not interested in an intensive hike. Our tour guide, Javier, was fantastic. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Jerry gave us a wonderful tour of the rainforest. The princess waterfall was a highlight. The local dinner was delightful and the bioluminescent bay was unbelievable. Coming out of the mangrove trees to the sunset was wonderful. The guides on the bay made the excursion memorable.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was great fun -- the group, arrangements, the meal and especially our guide jerry-- super special guy! Many thanks!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Carrie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide, Tony was great! Very informative and enthusiastic. Rainforest was beautiful!! Only downside was we were picked up at 8:00 from our hotel, and not dropped back off until 2:30. There was no opportunity to get lunch. Luckily we had stashed a snack in our backpack! Advice: BRING A SNACK!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip. Great guide and lots of interesting information given. Plenty of time at each stop. Would recommend.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

chips57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. Our guide Jerry was very entertaining!! The scenery was beautiful ...the hike wasn't too strenuous, definitely wear good walking shoes that are good on slippery surfaces..no flipflops please. The water falls are really cool....with an opportunity to swim in one if you like. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Ted United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! The guide didn't simply tell us about the forest. He explained everything we saw on the way to the forest. Then, when he took us on foot, he searched, with expert knowledge for creatures and plants to show and teach us about. I real highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Ted United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An outstanding tour. The guide not only told us about the forest but everything we saw on the way to the forest! Ricky.... amazing knowledge of his country and a gem of a guide. He aggressively searched for creatures and plants on our walks to teach us as much as possible about this amazing forest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Ted United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. We were picked up by our tour guide Ricky, at our hotel, We were certainly expecting to hear about the forest but were delighted to discover that he was telling about everything that we were seeing on the way there. A good thirty minute drive, that rather than be boring was quite fascinating. At the forest we disembarked several times and were taken on walks where he expertly found living examples for his discussion, answered our questions and made sure hat everyone was able to keep up. Great experience for young or old.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Gail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was excellent. He made sure that everyone was engaged. Good job Ricky!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Toni F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Xavier was very infomative. We have a good time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Kimberly V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a great way to see some of the key sites outside of the city. Gerry was a wonderful guide and made sure that everyone was having a good time. The meal at the restaurant was delicious and about an extra 12-- they do take card. The rainforest hike was not strenuous but is uphill at the end. The biobay was a cool experience, but we had some people in our group not love it because they are scared of the dark. Keep this in mind when booking a nighttime activity. Also, set your expectations to be reasonable-- the biobay does not look like blue avatars, but rather like there are stars in the water around you. Wonderful group and a great value!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

michaela a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tony is the best! Very funny, good conversation but not TOO talkative. Knows his home for sure. Loved it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Wende S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! We had a great tour guide. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing the Rainforest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This excursion was the best of our whole trip. Javier, our guide, was excellent and very knowledgeable of San Juan history and horticulture. The scenery was breath taking. We took the driving tour as my husband has walking issues. There were parts that involved walking, but he waited in the vehicle.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Ted United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a terrific tour. Our guide Ricky picked us up at our hotel in an air conditioned bus and drove us to the rain forest. It was a fairly long drive but very pleasant. Significantly, he ran a steady dialogue on everything we were seeing along the way. Had he not done so, we would have not thought anything of it, since we had paid for a rain forest tour. He transformed what looked to be an otherwise boring bus ride through urban, industrial and rural areas into a fascinating opportunity to learn about the culture and history of those things we were looking at out of the window. At the forest, he did not simply lead our group and give a dissertation. He constantly physically searched the trees, bushes and plants seeking living examples to show us. Frogs, birds, lizards etc. He took into account the physical limitations of some of our group and paced the tour to accommodate. I would definitely recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Carmen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My granddaughter and I enjoyed the trip very much. Ricky , our guide, was knowledgeable and simpático friendly . I recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour with lots of good information. However, I am very active and I like to do things myself and probably would've enjoyed El Yunque a bit more if I had more time to hike around and explore.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Frankie was fantastic! His sense of humor combined with knowledge of El Yunque made this breathtaking trip a must. Our 10 and 13 year old boys enjoyed the tour. We were not able to visit Luquillo Beach simply because there were not enough people signed up for that part of the tour. Still worth it. Be cautious of bringing young children. There are narrow pathways with steep drop offs.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour! Honestly, this tour is what made Puerto Rico amazing. In the first part of the tour, you visit El Yunque and if you have Jerry as your tour guide... you are in for a treat. He is very knowledgeable and warm. Aside from that, the rain forest is a site you cannot forget! The second part, the bio-luminescent bay.. was amazing. Although it was not too bright watching the sunset was magical!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message