• USD ($)
  • English

San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 604 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was fantastic!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hike is a fantastic trip to take and well worth it. Only takes a few hours to complete so shouldn't be hard to fit into anyone's time table. The guide Tony, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about most anything you could ask during your rainforest hike.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time on this tour! The bus was spacious and comfortable. Our guide, Sammy, was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of Puerto Rico, and especially about El Yuque, the rain forest. Who knew that such a beautiful place existed?? It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Sammy pointed out so many beautiful plants and flowers. He also gave us plenty of time for making photos of the vistas and waterfalls and for exploring the trails, while keeping us on schedule to complete the tour on time. There is such a variety of geography, climate, plant and animal life. I would love to go back and spend the entire day. They have shelters where local people were cooking out, swimming, and just spending the day enjoying the beauty. After the tour, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant that served an array of delicious Puerto Rican food., and then each guest was taken back to his/her point of pickup. Great service and a great outing--don't miss it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! We took the half day tour to El Yunque. It was so beautiful. And the best part was our tour guide Richard! This guy was so very knowledgeable and personable. He was so funny and made the trip so wonderful!! Good job Richard!! He gave us a lot of information about the island.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was excellent - in particular our tourguide (Javier) was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in seeing El Yunque.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a great quick tour around the rainforest. You get to see some cool spots, however, we didn't get to see the La Mina falls, which was something my husband and I wanted to see. You do go to the lookout tower and the view from up there is phenomenal.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very fun tour - wish we spend more time hiking and less time at the initial visitors center spot. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and loved the restaurant we stopped at. Best food in PR we had!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the sight seeing. We made 4-5 different stops. Our tour guide was helpful. You have to be able and willing to do some hiking. There was an observatory that was 98 steps high and we hiked down a path to get to a river. Bring water with you and you should know that their aren't too many places to use the bathroom.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Robert was an excellent guide, keeping us entertained with stories and facts about Puerto Rico. We liked being driven through El Yunque instead of us trying to find our way. Wearing a swim suit would be a good idea when hiking down the river trail. Great swimming spot and the weather was quite hot.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Was a great day at the rainforest with surprisingly no bugs at all!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

On of my bucket list items was to visit a tropical rainforest and this trip accomplished this goal. We went on an alternative trail as damage from the rain the week prior prevented us for during the original trail. The tour was fantastic! Tony was an awesome tour guide :-), his knowledge of the rainforest as well as surrounding area was wonderful. The beautiful views, the waterfall, walking the trail, relaxing by the river bed, was just amazing! There is nothing I would change about this tour. By the end of the tour, you end up forming a bond with the tour guide as well as fellow participants in the tour. If you have the opportunity to visit El Yunque Rainforest, do so, an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour - worth the cost, mainly because of the tour guide. A good tour guide can make or break the experience. Our guide was flexible, full of facts and knowledge of all things PR and El Yunque, personable and tried to make sure that we got the most out of it for our time and money. We got to visit one of the falls, hiked down the Angelito trail to the river, and got to shop a little in the rainforest visitor's center. Great tour all in all!

Note - if you want to do the main falls in the forest, you'll have to book the full day trip. The half day trip only takes you to Coca Falls, which was enough for me, but there is a difference between the two tours.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing scenery and an awesome guide, well worth the money. Would do it again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The best part of our tour was our guide, Antonio (Tony). Throughout the tour, he discussed PR history, culture, details about the park and its flora and fauna. In fact, because he grew up and lives nearby, he also told us personal anecdotes about his childhood and family. He's a very knowledgeable guide, and a safe driver to boot!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message