San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 643 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply fascinating! Still thinking about which tour company to go with? Don't think anymore! Book with Viator and request a tour from Ricardo (or Ricky Ricardo). He is a native of Puerto Rico and one of the friendliest people we met on our honeymoon. You want a quality tour for the best price? Book now!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the highlight of our trip. Do not leave Puerto Rico without this half-day tour to El Yunque. Ricardo (or Ricky Ricardo) was the best tour guide we've ever had. As a native of Puerto Rico, he gave us great insight into the culture and customs of the beautiful island. If you want the best bang for your buck, don't hesitate and book this trip now!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip was fantastic. Our tour guide, Francisco, was incredibly knowledgeable, informative, and generally pleasant. The only thing I would say is that everyone on my tour was having a great time at the beach and it would have been nice to be able to stay a little longer, even if we had to pay a little more. But overall great trip and our tour guide was fantastic.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent Guide.He covered most of the important views in Rain Forest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, beautiful scenery and wonderful tour guide, Tony. Highlight of my trip. Highly recommended!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This rain forest trip was more driving in a van than hiking. But our tour guide Roberto was awesome, very informative and easy going. Just wish there was a little more hiking.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an amazing experience and I give most of the credit to our wonderful guide, Tony Caliz. Tony is a lifelong resident of the rainforest area and he knows the terrain and the people of the area well. He in informative, entertaining, and engaging. I can't believe the value I got for the money I paid, which included transportation to and from the rainforest from SJ, a couple of quick scenic photo ops, and a vigorous hike down and back from an impressive waterfall. Our hike (due to dodgy weather, thus low traffic) included a stop at the forest welcome center and concluded with a stop for local empanadas! I was lucky to get Tony Caliz via viator. You might also try looking him up individually. I know he gives all sorts of wonderful tours beyond what you see offered here!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great trip! Tony was a wonderful guide.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was great and we saw and learned many things about the rain forest. The one complaint is our van's air conditioning was not working so we were way too hot on the van

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was a shorter tour than expected.. did not do as much hiking and exploring as we had hoped for. Our tour guide Raymond was very knowledgeable about Puerto Rico and it's history.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

THERE IS NO HIKING ON THIS TOUR. The description says 'semi athletic hike' but it's really a very easy 20 minute walk along paved path to the waterfall where you get to swim, and another 10 minute walk along a mother paved path to be picked up and driven around the rest of the time. As an avid hiker I was very disappointed by this as I expected to get some exercise. The path is also quite busy with other visitors, which took away from the enjoyment and likely scared away any wild life we may have otherwise been able to spot. Also, the whole experience felt rushed and I did not feel that I had enough time to really enjoy any individual part of it.

There were some positives: the tour guide was very good - he was entertaining, informative, and was sure to warn us about the dangers of walking on the rocks around the waterfall so no-one would get hurt. Swimming in La Mina waterfall was also wonderful, but again I didn't feel that we had enough time to really enjoy ourselves.

Overall I would recommend renting a car and driving there yourself, and taking the $10 tour provided by the forest visitor center if you want to hear about the flora and fauna. La Mina would be a much better destination early in the morning on a weekday before it gets crowded, and I'm sure there are more interesting trails that are less busy, where you might actually be lucky enough to see some wildlife.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

See the "real" Puerto Rico! We absolutely loved our trip to the USA's only rain forest. Javier, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew SO much about the history of the island and he knew ALL about the rain forest. I could tell he loves Puerto Rico and being a tour guide. Thank You! Chris F.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

.Great trip into the rain forest. Our Guide Javier was excellent. He knew jis way around the trails, and was very knowledgeable about the fauna. Our Van was a little cramped, but this was worth the time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message