San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 637 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply fascinating! Still thinking about which tour company to go with? Don't think anymore! Book with Viator and request a tour from Ricardo (or Ricky Ricardo). He is a native of Puerto Rico and one of the friendliest people we met on our honeymoon. You want a quality tour for the best price? Book now!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the highlight of our trip. Do not leave Puerto Rico without this half-day tour to El Yunque. Ricardo (or Ricky Ricardo) was the best tour guide we've ever had. As a native of Puerto Rico, he gave us great insight into the culture and customs of the beautiful island. If you want the best bang for your buck, don't hesitate and book this trip now!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip was fantastic. Our tour guide, Francisco, was incredibly knowledgeable, informative, and generally pleasant. The only thing I would say is that everyone on my tour was having a great time at the beach and it would have been nice to be able to stay a little longer, even if we had to pay a little more. But overall great trip and our tour guide was fantastic.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was great and we saw and learned many things about the rain forest. The one complaint is our van's air conditioning was not working so we were way too hot on the van

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

THERE IS NO HIKING ON THIS TOUR. The description says 'semi athletic hike' but it's really a very easy 20 minute walk along paved path to the waterfall where you get to swim, and another 10 minute walk along a mother paved path to be picked up and driven around the rest of the time. As an avid hiker I was very disappointed by this as I expected to get some exercise. The path is also quite busy with other visitors, which took away from the enjoyment and likely scared away any wild life we may have otherwise been able to spot. Also, the whole experience felt rushed and I did not feel that I had enough time to really enjoy any individual part of it.

There were some positives: the tour guide was very good - he was entertaining, informative, and was sure to warn us about the dangers of walking on the rocks around the waterfall so no-one would get hurt. Swimming in La Mina waterfall was also wonderful, but again I didn't feel that we had enough time to really enjoy ourselves.

Overall I would recommend renting a car and driving there yourself, and taking the $10 tour provided by the forest visitor center if you want to hear about the flora and fauna. La Mina would be a much better destination early in the morning on a weekday before it gets crowded, and I'm sure there are more interesting trails that are less busy, where you might actually be lucky enough to see some wildlife.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

See the "real" Puerto Rico! We absolutely loved our trip to the USA's only rain forest. Javier, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew SO much about the history of the island and he knew ALL about the rain forest. I could tell he loves Puerto Rico and being a tour guide. Thank You! Chris F.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

.Great trip into the rain forest. Our Guide Javier was excellent. He knew jis way around the trails, and was very knowledgeable about the fauna. Our Van was a little cramped, but this was worth the time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tony, our guide, was great. He grew up in or near the rain forest, so he was very knowledgeable about the area. There were a lot of beautiful views and sites to see. We made several stops at scenic overlooks and took a short hike of easy difficulty on one stop. I would have liked to have gone to the big water falls, but the trail to get there is treacherous according to Tony and my wife has bad knees. So, this tour was a great compromise for those with limited mobility.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was willing to explain all the ancient history and gave us extra time to explore. Sammy had a great sense of humor and made my experience wonderful.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Tony was absolutely AMAZING!!!! Extremely knowledgeable, personable, and funny.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hiking in El Yunque Rainforest was fun! The group that I was with was rather small, so it made the experience more intimate and enjoyable. The hike itself was nice. I did, however, expect our driver/tour guide, Rob, to go on the hike with the group, but he stayed back. Despite this, we found our way to the waterfall, which was extremely crowded, but we were all able to get in the water. After hiking back and meeting up with Rob, he showed us some more locations in the forest, and took us to lunch (the lunch was amazing)! I would definitely recommend this tour. Thanks for a great time, Rob!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver/ tour guide Tony Caliz was very well informed about El Yunque (and actually lives in that area). He was charming, patient, and he seemed to have an inside track on the conditions involving the large numbers of tourists heading for El Yunque. We managed to stay ahead of the crowd, and we were able to leave the park just before a massive traffic halt caused by a serious injury to a tourist heading for waterfalls that Tony warned us were on a very steep path. I felt that he kept us safe and showed us fascinating things. We saw tiny things like snails and distant things like a tall tower far away that we had to stand up on a specific step to view. We were informed about the recent mud slides and could see the way roads had been damaged. We even saw claw marks from the legendary Chupa Cabara "monster."
El Yunque was what I had hoped for. I actually thought we would get wet in a waterfall, but after hearing about the injured tourist (and seeing the ambulance rushing to assist her) I did not mind at all that we only viewed a waterfall at a distance. I loved our hike through some of the woods. I took at least 100 photos. We climbed the Yokahu Tower to observe things at a good vantage point. We had time to purchase souvenirs.
On the way home (again, opposite the massive traffic jam), we even had time to stop for some truly delicious local foods!!! Everyone in our tour group seemed very happy with the tour, and those of us who ate the yummy food really appreciated the opportunity to sample inexpensive and truly delicious food where local residents lined up to join us in the deliciousness.
I had wished to take the full-day tour, but if I had done so, I would have been trapped there for much longer than anticipated (because of the medical emergency). I would like to visit El Yunque again, ideally when fewer tourists are there! Given the high volume of tourists, I think we had the best tour possible! I loved Tony Caliz!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver was very professional and knowledgable. He knew his Puerto Rican history and shared it all with us. He stopped at a local restaurant on the way back and we had a traditional Puerto Rican meal, what a treat.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Ricardo was an awesome guide! Totally worth the hike to the falls. Glad we went to the La Mina falls, swimming in the water and enjoying the forests was an experience we will never forget!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message