San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 631 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

See the "real" Puerto Rico! We absolutely loved our trip to the USA's only rain forest. Javier, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew SO much about the history of the island and he knew ALL about the rain forest. I could tell he loves Puerto Rico and being a tour guide. Thank You! Chris F.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

.Great trip into the rain forest. Our Guide Javier was excellent. He knew jis way around the trails, and was very knowledgeable about the fauna. Our Van was a little cramped, but this was worth the time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tony, our guide, was great. He grew up in or near the rain forest, so he was very knowledgeable about the area. There were a lot of beautiful views and sites to see. We made several stops at scenic overlooks and took a short hike of easy difficulty on one stop. I would have liked to have gone to the big water falls, but the trail to get there is treacherous according to Tony and my wife has bad knees. So, this tour was a great compromise for those with limited mobility.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was willing to explain all the ancient history and gave us extra time to explore. Sammy had a great sense of humor and made my experience wonderful.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Tony was absolutely AMAZING!!!! Extremely knowledgeable, personable, and funny.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hiking in El Yunque Rainforest was fun! The group that I was with was rather small, so it made the experience more intimate and enjoyable. The hike itself was nice. I did, however, expect our driver/tour guide, Rob, to go on the hike with the group, but he stayed back. Despite this, we found our way to the waterfall, which was extremely crowded, but we were all able to get in the water. After hiking back and meeting up with Rob, he showed us some more locations in the forest, and took us to lunch (the lunch was amazing)! I would definitely recommend this tour. Thanks for a great time, Rob!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver/ tour guide Tony Caliz was very well informed about El Yunque (and actually lives in that area). He was charming, patient, and he seemed to have an inside track on the conditions involving the large numbers of tourists heading for El Yunque. We managed to stay ahead of the crowd, and we were able to leave the park just before a massive traffic halt caused by a serious injury to a tourist heading for waterfalls that Tony warned us were on a very steep path. I felt that he kept us safe and showed us fascinating things. We saw tiny things like snails and distant things like a tall tower far away that we had to stand up on a specific step to view. We were informed about the recent mud slides and could see the way roads had been damaged. We even saw claw marks from the legendary Chupa Cabara "monster."
El Yunque was what I had hoped for. I actually thought we would get wet in a waterfall, but after hearing about the injured tourist (and seeing the ambulance rushing to assist her) I did not mind at all that we only viewed a waterfall at a distance. I loved our hike through some of the woods. I took at least 100 photos. We climbed the Yokahu Tower to observe things at a good vantage point. We had time to purchase souvenirs.
On the way home (again, opposite the massive traffic jam), we even had time to stop for some truly delicious local foods!!! Everyone in our tour group seemed very happy with the tour, and those of us who ate the yummy food really appreciated the opportunity to sample inexpensive and truly delicious food where local residents lined up to join us in the deliciousness.
I had wished to take the full-day tour, but if I had done so, I would have been trapped there for much longer than anticipated (because of the medical emergency). I would like to visit El Yunque again, ideally when fewer tourists are there! Given the high volume of tourists, I think we had the best tour possible! I loved Tony Caliz!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver was very professional and knowledgable. He knew his Puerto Rican history and shared it all with us. He stopped at a local restaurant on the way back and we had a traditional Puerto Rican meal, what a treat.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Ricardo was an awesome guide! Totally worth the hike to the falls. Glad we went to the La Mina falls, swimming in the water and enjoying the forests was an experience we will never forget!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Josh, our tour guide, was fun and knowledgeable about the island. The rainforest was beautiful, and we got to see many different types of trees and plants. We went to four different sites in the rainforest, the visitors center, a waterfall, a tower for viewing the rainforest, and another waterfall. There were plenty of opportunities for taking beautiful pictures, but the hiking portion was only 15 minutes or so (though this was great for me and my wife--I have a bad back and so can't do strenuous hiking, and she loves outdoors stuff, but this was a good balance between the two). If you're looking for a more hiking-based excursion, you might want to try another tour, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. On the way out of the rainforest, we stopped at a little cafe that served local food for a quick lunch, and then headed back. I'd recommend this tour to anyone who wants a quick tour of the rainforest and a chance to grab some pictures in this beautiful area.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was amazing!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect experience! Did the trip in August. Weather was great! Perfect if you don't want to spend the entire day at the forest! A little hiking, sight-seeing, and the falls. Recommend it.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

ALL is GOOD...
Service is the BEST...On TIME..Tony is the BEST...Knows the Forest well...
We had a GOOD TIME...

TAKE THE TRIP...

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Rainforest was beautiful.Our tour guide Tony was excellent! Very informative about the rainforest and of Puerto Rico

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message