San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 897 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a fantastic guide, named Sahid. He was knowledgeable and friendly. We had a wonderful time visiting El Yunque.

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was my boyfriend and I first trip to the rainforest. Jerry, our tour guide, was amazing. He is a living encyclopedia when it comes to the knowledge of the rainforest. He was so nice and answered all of our questions. The hike through the rainforest was beautiful! We got a good workout and swam in the waterfall. He even took us to a local Puerto Rican restaurant after the tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The overall trip was awesome, the water was amazing and kayaking was alot of fun.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was the highlight of my trip to San Juan, PR! Our guide was Victor Martinez. He was wonderful! He has such a wealth of knowledge of Puerto Rico and the rain forest. The tour was very laid back and relaxing with a nice easy hike in the forest and some stops to take photos of the beautiful scenery and views from the observation tower. If you are looking for a challenging hike, I suggest you take another tour, but it was perfect for what we were looking for. Luquillo Beach was also nice, but I think if I were to do this tour again, I would stick with just the rain forest, but it was nice to see another beach aside from the resort beach. I would definitely recommend this tour with Victor!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Marissa was the best guide. She was extremely knowledgeable and helpful for the entire half day excursion. We saw all types of wildlife and some awesome landmarks. Truly spectacular!

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was a wonderful full day experience. Jerry is a wonderful guide who has a great attitude and a wealth of knowledge about the rainforest, the island, and its incredible history. The hiking is more of walking along trails, but there are some great spots to jump into the river and swim in the waterfalls. Capping the day off with kayaking in the biobay is a must--a truly unique experience that you shouldn't pass up while in the area! Expert note: take the 6:30pm kayaking tour so it's light enough during the first half to see lots of iguanas and other wildlife in the mangrove forest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Such a great time! The tour was intimate with a very small group. Our guide Manuel was very charming, interesting and knowledgeable about Puerto Rico. In addition to taking us to El Yunque, he spoke at length about the history of the island and many of the locations we passed along the way to the rainforest. We learned so much and really enjoyed his company!

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

ellingston
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely a must see and do...Jorge was funny and provided a lot of information and answered questions freely. He was very knowledgeable of the area and willing to take extra time to make sure each person on the tour got what they were wanting from the tour.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the best tours ever! Extremely personable, safe, charismatic yet genuine. Really paid attention to the children, their insight and questions.....thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Lots of great opportunities to swim in waterfalls two and climb to amazing views. Nothing to hard, just perfect for a family

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

Jeff O
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Another must do, especially for first timers. The rainforest day tour was phenomenal for two reasons... The tour guide Jerry and the restaurant he took us for lunch Casa Boricuba. Jerry is just great at what he does. His passion is easy to see and he has an unmatched energy that is contagious. For the night kayak tour he handed is off to another crew who was just about as friendly, passionate, and energetic. This tour might've been the 1 highlight of my trip to Puerto Rico. If you've ever watched the movie Avatar, this tour is your chance to... experience it. The water really did glow and illuminate. The best part is when you paddle back through the mangroves and they term you to cup some water in your hands and let it stream strewn your arm. It looks amazing. You won't forget it. They give you snacks when you return on shore too. Thumbs up. Recommendation: For the night kayak, make sure you join a group that paddles early enough so that there's daylight to see where you're going. It helps to have that as a practice paddle for when you paddle back 90 pitch black through the mangroves.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jorge, our tour guide, was AMAZING! What a great person...wonderful humor, very knowledgeable. El Yunque was gorgeous and then two amazing hours in Luquillo. Honestly, the most beautiful beach I've been in to. Its a bit selfish but I'd love another hour in Luquillo. Thank you Jorge!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful scenery and great tour guide!

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting! Our guide Jorge was wonderful...truly interested in his job. He was very informative on the area as a whole, not just the rainforest.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was lots of fun . She was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable about lote, area, and details. She took us to places others weren't at, including a restaurant and local art shoppe. We got a great favor of PR. She made the say fun and relaxed. It was a great experience.
When I booked, I did not realize it was a private tour which was a great surprise.

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Let me start off by saying our tour guide was excellent and the tour was very enjoyable and I am very glad we did it. However I'm giving this only 4 stars because I felt the description for this tour was misleading. On this tour you will NOT be hiking AT ALL. Yes you will see wildlife, waterfalls, streams and hiking trails leading to enticing locations but you will not be going on any of those hiking trails. There is one road that winds up the mountain and the tour bus drives up this road and you stop at several locations to get out and see the sights.
All of this being said, I still recommend this tour if you plan on coming back to the rainforest at a later date because it familiarizes you with the area. We spoke to our tour guide and told her we wanted to come back in a few days and she helped us plan our hiking route. On a map she pointed out exactly where we should park, what trail to start out, how long and hard it would be, everything. We came back and did exactly what she recommended and it was AWESOME!! If hadn't done the tour and gotten a feel for the area and gotten advice from our tour guide I know our trip wouldn't been much more stressful and confusing.
Bottom line is, this tour is great for getting familiarized with El Yunque but it is NOT a hiking tour. I recommend taking the tour and then coming back another day to get the full El Yunque experience.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Guide Jorge was very nice and funny and knew his stuff.
Shame we didn't get to go in the water, but we understand there is a drought in Puerto Rico.
Beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Was disappointed that the waterfalls were not more as in the photo but I know the drought is beyond your control. I believe this was advertised as an easy walk and it was a bit strenuous and steep. Should be more accurate for those who have impairments.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

We were picked up on time at a nearby hotel, which was a good start. However, much of the day was spent traveling to and from the rainforest, instead of in the forest itself. We would have liked to spend more time exploring the beauty of El Yunque. Our guide, while friendly and knowledgeable, was soft-spoken and hard to hear at times, meaning some of the information shared was missed by most of us on the tour. The tour needs to allow more time for exploration in the forest, in order to allow people to appreciate all it has to offer.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This tour was not what I was expecting. I was hoping for more walking through the rainforest, but we mostly rode in the van. The guide was lovely, but a little difficult to understand. His knowledge and passion were evident and I would have loved to explore the rainforest with him in more depth.

This is not for active people! You'll go nuts wanting to get out and walk.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Again just like my last post of the ATV tour, the write up from Viator describing what one would experience on the tour is again false advertising and inaccurate. The write from Viator website reads After hiking through the rainforest to La Mina 35 minutes each way, cool off with a relaxing swim or dip in La Mina Falls 10-minute stop. Make sure you have a good breakfast before taking this tour! There was no 35 minute hike to La Mina or any part of the rainforest for that matter. There was no swim or dip opportunity in the falls. The tour included a drive on a van to 4 parts of rain forest where you looked for 10-25 minutes at the forest with tour guide doing alot of talking. Totally disappointing. Not what was Tour was described to be by Viator. My Tour was August 3, 2015.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Our trip, was a terrbible disappointment. We spent 2 hours in the rainforrest most of which was at the visitos centre watching the movie on it. The 'local' village is just driven through before you enter the rainforrest. We then went to a biewing platform...for 50 minutes....far too long. Although only about one mile into the rainforrest, we then turned back on the main road and went to one waterfall. Then to the visitor centre where some explanantion of plants was given around the car park by Charles who had very limited knowledge of the eco system. Most of the 5 1/2 hours described is spent doing hotel pick ups. If you go, find out the exact points you go to first as we didn't even scratch the surface of this rainforrest

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The tour guide was great. I just disliked how tourist-y the tour was. I was hoping for an adventurous hike, but we just stopped around and took pictures.
Maybe it was my own fault for not reading the descriptions closely, but regardless, I still would not recommend this tour. It would be more fun to find a tour that does an actual hike.

Doing what: Best El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jerry was extremely helpful, full of information and vitality i really needed that because i was actually hungover most of the tour and he was always willing to help out, and he kept a full stock of water!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Nararyan was entertaining and knowledgable, and it was wonderful to walk along a stream to get to the waterfall. The waterfall swimming hole is crowded and chilly but still a great experience. There are also smaller pools along the way if you want to take a dip in a less crowded spot. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great laidback experience on this trip. The perfect way to just experience the history and the laidback way of island life. Highly recommended if you have some more extreme tours on your lists to do. This will definitely slow things down and put things in perspective for you!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message