San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 623 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

See the "real" Puerto Rico! We absolutely loved our trip to the USA's only rain forest. Javier, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew SO much about the history of the island and he knew ALL about the rain forest. I could tell he loves Puerto Rico and being a tour guide. Thank You! Chris F.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

.Great trip into the rain forest. Our Guide Javier was excellent. He knew jis way around the trails, and was very knowledgeable about the fauna. Our Van was a little cramped, but this was worth the time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tony, our guide, was great. He grew up in or near the rain forest, so he was very knowledgeable about the area. There were a lot of beautiful views and sites to see. We made several stops at scenic overlooks and took a short hike of easy difficulty on one stop. I would have liked to have gone to the big water falls, but the trail to get there is treacherous according to Tony and my wife has bad knees. So, this tour was a great compromise for those with limited mobility.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was willing to explain all the ancient history and gave us extra time to explore. Sammy had a great sense of humor and made my experience wonderful.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver was very professional and knowledgable. He knew his Puerto Rican history and shared it all with us. He stopped at a local restaurant on the way back and we had a traditional Puerto Rican meal, what a treat.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Ricardo was an awesome guide! Totally worth the hike to the falls. Glad we went to the La Mina falls, swimming in the water and enjoying the forests was an experience we will never forget!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

guide was very nice and helpful, to bad some of the areas were closed due to mud slides

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed my tour of the rainforest and beach. The threat of storms prevented the full rainforest/beach experience. But overall I was satisfied. Richard, our tour guide was awesome as well.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was nice and information

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was EXCELLENT! El Yunque was gorgeous. He educated us...made us laugh...etc.! After TS Bertha hit PR, a lot of the trails were closed and trees were down but he made the best of it and found solutions. Advise...bring good walking shoes/sneakers....El Yunque is a work out!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was alright. The rain forest tour could have been better. We would have liked to have seen more but, only had a few minutes at each spot right off the road. Would have liked to have seen waterfalls. It was a long tour and it would have been nice if they offered bottled water because if the heat.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was fantastic!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hike is a fantastic trip to take and well worth it. Only takes a few hours to complete so shouldn't be hard to fit into anyone's time table. The guide Tony, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about most anything you could ask during your rainforest hike.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time on this tour! The bus was spacious and comfortable. Our guide, Sammy, was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of Puerto Rico, and especially about El Yuque, the rain forest. Who knew that such a beautiful place existed?? It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Sammy pointed out so many beautiful plants and flowers. He also gave us plenty of time for making photos of the vistas and waterfalls and for exploring the trails, while keeping us on schedule to complete the tour on time. There is such a variety of geography, climate, plant and animal life. I would love to go back and spend the entire day. They have shelters where local people were cooking out, swimming, and just spending the day enjoying the beauty. After the tour, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant that served an array of delicious Puerto Rican food., and then each guest was taken back to his/her point of pickup. Great service and a great outing--don't miss it!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message