San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 597 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was fantastic!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hike is a fantastic trip to take and well worth it. Only takes a few hours to complete so shouldn't be hard to fit into anyone's time table. The guide Tony, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about most anything you could ask during your rainforest hike.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the sight seeing. We made 4-5 different stops. Our tour guide was helpful. You have to be able and willing to do some hiking. There was an observatory that was 98 steps high and we hiked down a path to get to a river. Bring water with you and you should know that their aren't too many places to use the bathroom.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

On of my bucket list items was to visit a tropical rainforest and this trip accomplished this goal. We went on an alternative trail as damage from the rain the week prior prevented us for during the original trail. The tour was fantastic! Tony was an awesome tour guide :-), his knowledge of the rainforest as well as surrounding area was wonderful. The beautiful views, the waterfall, walking the trail, relaxing by the river bed, was just amazing! There is nothing I would change about this tour. By the end of the tour, you end up forming a bond with the tour guide as well as fellow participants in the tour. If you have the opportunity to visit El Yunque Rainforest, do so, an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour - worth the cost, mainly because of the tour guide. A good tour guide can make or break the experience. Our guide was flexible, full of facts and knowledge of all things PR and El Yunque, personable and tried to make sure that we got the most out of it for our time and money. We got to visit one of the falls, hiked down the Angelito trail to the river, and got to shop a little in the rainforest visitor's center. Great tour all in all!

Note - if you want to do the main falls in the forest, you'll have to book the full day trip. The half day trip only takes you to Coca Falls, which was enough for me, but there is a difference between the two tours.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing scenery and an awesome guide, well worth the money. Would do it again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The best part of our tour was our guide, Antonio (Tony). Throughout the tour, he discussed PR history, culture, details about the park and its flora and fauna. In fact, because he grew up and lives nearby, he also told us personal anecdotes about his childhood and family. He's a very knowledgeable guide, and a safe driver to boot!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great place to visit, the guide was very helpful

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was well done and Ricardo our guide was excellent. He was very informative and also gave us many recommendations I would definitely use viator again

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Informative and pleasant tour... Might have preferred the full day for more time in the forest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

For those who don't want to do much hiking yet want to see the rainforest, this is a good tour. Tony was our guide and he did a very good job. The rainforest is beautiful and the hiking is easy.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good tour, though not enough forest time relative to bus time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We had an excellent tour. Our tour guide, Sammy, was very knowledgeable about the history of Puerto Rico and the diverse flora and fauna of El Yunque. This half-day trip involves transportation to El Yunque, a stop at the Visitor's Center to watch a brief (~15 min) film about El Yunque, and then several stops where we'd have about 10 minutes to walk around the areas. My only regret is that we weren't able to schedule one of the longer rain forest tours--the half day trip is great for an overview, but there just isn't quite enough time to get outside the bus to explore and hike around. [I knew that when we booked it, so this isn't intended as a critique of the tour itself, but rather which tour we chose.] But it was a great introduction to El Yunque, and particularly if you are looking for a low-key visit to the rain forest, it's great.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message