San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 693 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great tour for our group of nine people. The weather was beautiful and we had the best host (tour guide), Ricky Ricardo. We were joined by a "dynamic-duo" and a "sole adventurer" to fill our tour group. Ricky provided great stories on the history of the rainforest and his knowledge of the ecology of the rainforest was awesome. Our tour group ranged in age from 18 years old to 60 years old, so this was the perfect tour to accommodate varying individual mobility capacities and desires for adventure. It included extensive site-seeing by air-conditioned van with short periods for walking and exploring light trails. During a previous visit to the rainforest, I participated in a full-day rainforest tour that included serious hiking on long trails. Accordingly, I was pleased that the half-day rainforest tour worked out to be a good choice for our group. Group members with some history of knee and back issues were able to handle it well and they had the option to remain in or near the van during any short walks they did not want to do. However, all our tour members were able to complete every walk on this tour and for many of them, this was the first time they experienced a real life rainforest!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The hike was challenging enough but not too hard. The guide was great.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was a great tour!
We had to call ahead and set up a pickup time at our hotel. The numbers provided by you were always busy and I could never get an answer. Finally got a working number from our hotel concierge.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour was excellent. While it was an hour drive from our hotel, Ricky our tour guide, provided us with information about the areas we were passing and Puerto Rico during the entire drive. We made several stops in the Rainforest, and it gave us an opportunity to see waterfalls, the Atlantic meeting the Caribbean and a large variety of fauna and flora.
Tips: We brought with some granola bars and a bottle of water. Some is available in the park as well.
We didn't bring with a pillow, but could have used on on the trip back as we tired from the walking - haha.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I really liked the tour. Tony, our tour guide, was excellent. The rain forest is a fascinating place. A wonderful part of our Puerto Rico vacation.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was cool, I liked it.
If you want to get your body and mind relaxed, it is worth visiting.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

if you want to relax but still feel like doing something, this is an easy tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was an amazing experience! If you stay near San Juan area, I suggest you get the bio bay tour and this tour together. That way you can save time and money for transportation.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area. This tour provided a high level overview of the rainforest. We did not have the opportunity to do much exploring or see more interesting areas of the rainforest. This was an OK tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my first time in a tropical rainforest and was I ever impressed! The variety of vegetation was amazing and at virtually every stop along the way you could hear the sound of water gushing from the many streams and waterfalls. Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us about many of the plants in the forest. We had many great photo opportunities of waterfalls and the forest along the way. At the end of the tour we stopped at a roadside cafe for lunch, which included several menu items unique to the area.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and not too tiring of a hike. We were picked up at a location close to our B and B in Ocean Park, San Juan and had a very informative, nice ride to the El Yungue Rainforest. If you don't mind having a relaxing stroll (do have comfortable, non-slipping shoes), then do take this tour. It's just enough of a hike to see a waterfall and climb a tower, and enjoy the rainforest. . This is just perfect for those who don't want a wild, extensive rainforest experience. It sure was perfect for my daughter and I.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was amazing and our tour guide was fantastic! He made the tour a complete success!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Francis was very hospitable and was very educated about the area and the rainforest. This was one of the best experiences we have had during our travels. The price was a bargain for the transportation and the great experience!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was fun and informative. He took good care of his seniors.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message