San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 877 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a fantastic guide, named Sahid. He was knowledgeable and friendly. We had a wonderful time visiting El Yunque.

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Our trip, was a terrbible disappointment. We spent 2 hours in the rainforrest most of which was at the visitos centre watching the movie on it. The 'local' village is just driven through before you enter the rainforrest. We then went to a biewing platform...for 50 minutes....far too long. Although only about one mile into the rainforrest, we then turned back on the main road and went to one waterfall. Then to the visitor centre where some explanantion of plants was given around the car park by Charles who had very limited knowledge of the eco system. Most of the 5 1/2 hours described is spent doing hotel pick ups. If you go, find out the exact points you go to first as we didn't even scratch the surface of this rainforrest

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jerry was extremely helpful, full of information and vitality i really needed that because i was actually hungover most of the tour and he was always willing to help out, and he kept a full stock of water!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking and Waterfall Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Nararyan was entertaining and knowledgable, and it was wonderful to walk along a stream to get to the waterfall. The waterfall swimming hole is crowded and chilly but still a great experience. There are also smaller pools along the way if you want to take a dip in a less crowded spot. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great laidback experience on this trip. The perfect way to just experience the history and the laidback way of island life. Highly recommended if you have some more extreme tours on your lists to do. This will definitely slow things down and put things in perspective for you!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

ABU SIKDAR
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing! Me and my wife had an amazing time with this tour. Our tour guide Jerry and Chamile were great! they were very friendly and assertive. They made the tour even more exiting and it was a great experience.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Prepare to get a little wet as it rains daily but it was refreshing in July. Our tour guide Ricky was awesome and very knowledgeable about the history and plant life.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was the absolute highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico. My friend and I had Sahid Perez as our guide, and could not have asked for someone more warm, genuine and fun! The day was like experiencing Puerto Rico with a cool local friend. Sahid does the tours himself if there are 2-4 people it was only me and my friend, so it was incredibly personal. When we went swimming in the waterfalls in the rainforest, Sahid not only let us hang out as long as wanted, but joined in too, swimming around, making rock sculptures, and even making face paint out of pigmented rocks. He took us to a great local spot for lunch on Luquillo beach afterwards and then we just chilled in the water. He was kind enough to let the tour run almost 2 hours longer than slated, just because we were having so much fun in the waterfalls and at the beach! I honestly cannot recommend this tour highly enough, at least given our personalized experience. If you want to experience the El Yunque rainforest and Luquillo beach away from tourists, and spend time with a knowledgeable, fun and friendly person, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jerry was our tour guide to el yunque rain forest, and he is awesome guy. The other guy who took us to bio bay was also very friendly. We enjoyed the tour. Kayak is a little tiring and needs strength. Have a good coordination is the key while kayaking

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful all-day excursion. Pricey, but overall we thought it was worth it. Our tour guide for the rainforest, Jerry, made this trip amazing. Extremely informative and overall just a great guy to hang out with for the day. He shows you the best parts of the park and takes you the easy way DOWN the trail whereas most people hike UP because they don't know any better! Swimming in the waterfall was fun even though it was kind of crowded. The restaurant they bring you to is also excellent. But the best part of this tour is definitely kayaking the BioBay. You will be on the earlier tour so you can actually see where you are going through the mangroves, although you will crave more time in the bay. The sun sets and the water lights up as you run your hands through it - absolutely breathtaking. Everything was perfect - from communication, pick-up, and hugs. Highly recommended!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great intimate trip for me and my wife. Sahir (guide/mgr) was very pleasant, knowledgeable and a great guy to befriend. He took us to the waterfall that was secluded and then drove us down the coast where the beaches trump the resort beaches. Hasta la proxima amigo.

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Tour with Waterfall Swimming from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing! Sammy our tour guide was great , I had hurt my knee the day before and he made sure to stay with me to help me through out the hike. I would defiantly do this again. Sam was very knowledgeable, I learned a lot.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing! What an amazing beautiful place. We would do it again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, especially with our guide Sami. We learned a lot about the island and got to see quite a bit. Definitely worth it and highly recommended!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a good tour for my wife and myself. We are in our late 50's and the pace was excellent. Our tour guide Jorge was the best he was very knowledgable, funny and made the tour interesting.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Not sure if it was due to weather or other factors but did not see any birds or wildlife. Tour guide was not always clear when he spoke - there were more times than I liked where I did not understand what he was saying. Hiking trail we took was in disrepair and I would have preferred knowing that before I booked because I'm 1 years past a hip repair. I enjoyed the flowers and scenic view of the mountains. - that made trip worth doing.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Was not what I expected. Just felt like we didn't see enough or walk through much of the jungle. Pick a different trip if you want to walk and see more.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was amazing! The tour guide was funny and knowledgeable. I had a great time.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience, Ricky was a great tour guide.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative and fun half day tour. Our driver/guide was great
Would recommend!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tony was outstanding! Highly recommend him as a tour guide.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert my tour guide was fantastic! I learned a lot about Puerto Rico on the tour. And he made great recommendations for dining and other activities which is making this the best trip ever!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tony c was our guide. He was extremely knowledgable and entertaining. Highly recommend. Perfect amount of time and very affordable.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable and able to navigate us around the crowds for a more enjoyable experience. This was a great way to get out of San Juan and see more of the island.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message