San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

El Yunque Rainforest

El Yunque Rainforest is the only tropical rainforest under the protection of the US Forest Service and also the largest nature reserve in densely-populated Puerto Rico. It is situated in the mist-wreathed Luquillo Mountains where year-round ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 988 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our day was very enjoyable and the smaller group size was nice!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Dave K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour took place on January 31st. Our tour guide, Robert, was very knowledgeable and informative. Not only did we learn about the rain forest and the beach, Robert also explained to us about the history, culture and people of Puerto Rico. After hiking, it was wonderful to be able to relax and swim at a beautiful beach. There are food stands on the beach and wonderful drinks. Thank you, Robert, for all that you did for us on our tour. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

Erika L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was wonderful. My husband, my two boys, and I had a great time. Kevin and Jerry were great!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tony did a good job explaining everything we encountered during the tour and more. His knowledge and experience of living just outside El Yunque made the experience feel like you had an inside scoop. The trail you hike on is one of the common paths so it can get crowded depending on the the time of day.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

Ronald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I can and can't say enough how much we enjoyed this tour!! Jerry and Michael were amazing tour guides. Treated us like family! The lunch between the rainforest and biobay kayaking was FANTASTIC!! Will definitely go back to this tour company next time we are in Puerto Rico!!!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Mellisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Totally amazing. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Glad we went on this tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Barb B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour from start to finish! Jerry picked us up and greeted us at our hotel and kept everyone comfortable, informed and entertained throughout the day. The day was beautiful and lunch was delicious! The second part of the tour was also excellent and our second driver/guide, Michael, was also very good. The guides on the bioluminescent bay kayaking were very helpful, informative and took very good care of the whole group. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Gaston G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Felt like the tour could have been deeper into the rainforest but considering the age of the other members of the tour it was just right.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Christopher C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The rain forest was spectacular and the guide was very informative. The luminescent bay was only fun, the guys did a great job.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour

Vince P

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Although we did see the rainforest, the amount of time spent in the van vs. the amount of time spent outside was not what we were expecting. I realize it takes time to get from place to place but we just felt more time could have been spent especially at the last stop by the trail. Our driver as real nice. Unfortunately, the tour wasn't what we expected. We didn't even see one bird!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

ed

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Our guide was informative and entertaining. The tour was rather ordinary, and not physically challenging. Great views from the tower. 96 steps to the top but really an easy climb. The falls were not in their full glory as they obviously depend on the rain It was the dry season for us. The half-day tour does not include a longer hike and time to play under the falls, which we liked.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Micah S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Waited almost an hour for the tour van to arrive. Our guide was not very inspirational and a fair amount of his commentary was reading directly off of the informational placards posted by the Park Service. We saw very little of the rain forest itself -- taking pictures from the road and avoiding any hikes longer than 10 minutes. Would not recommend this tour unless you are less physically active and want to view the forest from the comfort of your plush car seat.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Vickie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a wonderful and informative trip, Manuel was wonderful. I would recommend this trip with high ratings. The scenery was beautiful and breath taking.

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Adventure - Off the Beaten Path - from San Juan

Lior G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was amazing. If you want to experience the bio-luminescent bay - this is your best option.
Make sure you pick a moonless night, preferably without clouds.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time on the tour. Our guide/driver was friendly, knowledgeable and took great pride telling us about the sites and history of San Juan and Puerto Rico.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the tour very much. The tour guide was excellent. The El Yunque Tropical Rain Forest was beautiful and an experience we will not forget. The views and sites we visited were wonderful.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Bruce A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Very relaxed, informative and personal only 2 couples. Our guide was very sweet and personable. Our only regret is that we did not do this on our first day. The knowledge we gained about the island would have made our trip much better. Reasonably priced and worth every penny. We would defiantly book with this company again.

Doing what: El Yunque Rain Forest Adventure - Off the Beaten Path - from San Juan

Lena W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

the tour of the Rainforest was the highlight of our trip! The tour guides were phenomenal!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Although a little late, our tour guide, Sammy, was friendly, energetic, flexible and knowledgeable! We had a great mix of people and with me being 7 months pregnant, I felt like the walking was just right. We'd drive a bit, then stop for exploring, drive higher, stop and explore. There was a bathroom break towards the end which was perfect for me, ha ha. My husband would have liked something more adventurous but overall found it very interesting and diverse. One of the best things we did in our 5-day stay in Old San Juan!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Dianne M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time on this tour and would love to go back soon and take the tour that includes Mina Falls. Beautiful place!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Lanello

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the rainforest, and the waterfalls are beautiful.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Mignon L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Jerry was awesome! Best guide you could have in a tour.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Guided Hiking with Waterfall Tour

Mara L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Would have liked more time out walking/hiking. We only had 25 minutes out in the jungle to hike / explore. Too much time in the van. And why did we have to stop to get the money for the park fees - shouldn't the tour guide already have it? That was a waste of time. Also, he drove too slowly, lessening the time in the actual jungle.
Overall, a good tour and tour guide was very knowledgeable / professional!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message