San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortaleza (Palacio de Santa Catalina)

The Wedgwood blue and white Santa Catalina Palace was built in 1533 and makes an impressive sight as you approach through a narrow Old San Juan street. While the building exudes an air of calm authority, it occupies a site that was long one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1064 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guides were wonderful! The tour was unbelievably amazing and we loved it. The highlight of our PR vacation. Don't miss this excursion!

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fabulous. The island we visited was beautiful, and the coral reef was great. It might no be as exotic as reefs in other parts of the world but it was a lot of fun and there were lots of fish to see. Unlike some other tours I've been on, we were given more than enough time to enjoy each part of the tour as well as the complimentary lunch and drinks. The staff was very friendly and clear about safety, which is important too. I have no complaints. I definitely recommend this.

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip was fantastic. Our tour guide, Francisco, was incredibly knowledgeable, informative, and generally pleasant. The only thing I would say is that everyone on my tour was having a great time at the beach and it would have been nice to be able to stay a little longer, even if we had to pay a little more. But overall great trip and our tour guide was fantastic.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the greatest vacation experiences I've had! The crew was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food and drinks were good and the snorkeling sights were very good as well. My lady friend and I received snorkeling instructions that had us swimming with the fishes in no time. The scenery, the music and meeting new friends made the experience the best time we had while visiting San Juan.

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

"Do this!"
We highly recommend Viator's Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour, which we did on our first full day in Old San Juan. Our driver was friendly, knowledgeable, and generous. At the distillery, we learned lots of very interesting information about how rum is made and the history of the Baccardi enterprise. There were generous samples of the product in question, and excellent prices in the "company store." We definitely got our money's worth out of this tour, and discovered a new favorite rum as well: Baccardi's Oakheart--which we were surprised and delighted to find in the local Safeway back home! Oh, yeah, the tour also gave us a great introduction to the rest of Old San Juan as well. :-)

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

crew and experience was awesome!!! they really did a great job making you feel comfortable and the fresh fruit at the end was amazing.

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Scenery was great. Way too expensive, and the price does not include the admission to either the caves or the radar. You'd be better off renting a car and doing it yourself, or doing a completely different trip all together.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This tour was convenient, but honestly I'd pass on it if I were coming to San Juan. The guide didn't give a lot of information about the city, but rather drove us to the distillery, then drove us to the fort, then let us walk around for dinner. It would have been much cheaper to just get a taxi and a book like Fodor's or Lonely Planet and look around Old San Juan. The distillery tour wasn't bad, but it wasn't nearly as good as the bourbon distillery tours in Kentucky (like the ones on the Bourbon Trail). I'd recommend saving your money, unless you're terrified of walking around without a guide.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

THERE IS NO HIKING ON THIS TOUR. The description says 'semi athletic hike' but it's really a very easy 20 minute walk along paved path to the waterfall where you get to swim, and another 10 minute walk along a mother paved path to be picked up and driven around the rest of the time. As an avid hiker I was very disappointed by this as I expected to get some exercise. The path is also quite busy with other visitors, which took away from the enjoyment and likely scared away any wild life we may have otherwise been able to spot. Also, the whole experience felt rushed and I did not feel that I had enough time to really enjoy any individual part of it.

There were some positives: the tour guide was very good - he was entertaining, informative, and was sure to warn us about the dangers of walking on the rocks around the waterfall so no-one would get hurt. Swimming in La Mina waterfall was also wonderful, but again I didn't feel that we had enough time to really enjoy ourselves.

Overall I would recommend renting a car and driving there yourself, and taking the $10 tour provided by the forest visitor center if you want to hear about the flora and fauna. La Mina would be a much better destination early in the morning on a weekday before it gets crowded, and I'm sure there are more interesting trails that are less busy, where you might actually be lucky enough to see some wildlife.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was absolutely an amazing experience. Everyone involved was very helpful and my daughter and son in law along with myself had a fantastic time. I felt very safe while we were doing the zipline through the canopy. I would recommend this to everyone!!

Doing what: Zipline Canopy Eco-Adventure from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The entire event was amazing!! My son in laws birthday was July 20 and he had wanted to do this so I gave it to him as part of his present. HE LOVED IT!! The crew was very attentive and took really good care of everyone. I island was beautiful and very peaceful. The snorkeling was wonderful. I would recommend this to anyone going to Puerto Rico!!

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really fun way to get to experience Old San Juan. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Old San Juan Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message