San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortaleza (Palacio de Santa Catalina)

The Wedgwood blue and white Santa Catalina Palace was built in 1533 and makes an impressive sight as you approach through a narrow Old San Juan street. While the building exudes an air of calm authority, it occupies a site that was long one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1119 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour that I can remember. It combined tasting of local foods at local Old San Juan restaurants with a walking tour of Old San Juan as well. Our guide, Victor, was excellent. The tour is an entirely walking tour, so there's no getting in an out of buses. The distances are short and the pace is leisurely. Great Fun.

Doing what: Old San Juan Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great time!

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour truly was amazing and our driver was fantastic. He made it fun and shared a lot of historical information about old San Juan. Only thing I will change was that it was hard to understand him at times.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Trip was excellent, Guide was knowledgeable and showed all as per trip. Bacardi Factory, Fort and Old SanJuan are greate to visit.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well worth the money!! From our pickup in San Juan to drop off it was a wonderful day with friendly, knowledgable staff. The first stop is a small deserted island where you snorkel for about an hour and eat lunch. The spread was much better than I expected with a variety of sandwiches and salads. You then move on to the second snorkel location which has a great view of the coral reef. On the way back to shore you relax and have some fresh fruit. I only wish we had more time to do some of the other tours with this company, they were absolutely exceptional!!

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was Robert Garcia. He was FANTASTIC!!! I highly recomend any tour that Robert is leading. He provided us with a ton of information about Puerto Rico and the Rainforest. The drive to the rainforest wasn't long at all. And once we got there the sights and sounds were magnificent. Luquillo Beach was nice also. It was great to relax by the water after exploring the rainforest.

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommended. Beautiful trip. I would not call this hike especially "athletic" unless you're really out of shape. Highly informative guide, very helpful and courteous, enthusiastic. A nice way to spend the day outside of San Juan!

Doing what: El Yunque Rainforest Hiking from San Juan

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Enjoyed the trip- the funniest part was kayaking through the mangrove trees at night - running into them, running into other kayaks, etc. We laughed and laughed and laughed. I think I may have had a different expectation as to what I was going to see when I got to the lagoon. I thought the whole lagoon was going to light up - not just when you put your paddle in. All in all, a good time.

Doing what: Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The Old San Juan tour and the fort were good. The distillery tour was boring. The free rum drinks were the exception. Most of the day was spent at the distillery and in traffic. Slow.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour itself was fascinating. The only problem was the tour guide. His English language was hard to understand and he had a tour van that the back speakers were shot and you could not hear anything except for buzzing. The van also had the first step crooked so when you stood on it to get on or off, you would slip and fall.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Biluminus Bay excursion was extremely over booked to many people in each group and too many people combined. I assume each set of tour guides are trying to run numerous groups per night. The reason for my assumption and extrem displeasure is they went out too early let us stay till it had just gotten dark and then headed out. We were in the Bay Area/area that glowers, only once it is dark, about 10 minutes. I feel it would have been worth the money if we would have been able to stay at least 30 minutes in the Bay Area AFTER it was dark. We had been on a cruise the week prior and this was the one excursion I was looking forward to the most. I am sorry to tell you this excursion was the biggest disappointment of my trip. Wast of money. Please consider rectifying the over booking this is a once in a lifetime opportunity for some people and could be a wonderful experience if it was not rushed and over crowded. There were others that were making the same comments. If you need to make more money increase your rates and lessen the number of people each night. When people are unsatisfied they are unwilling to tip as well.

Doing what: Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan

SaraG
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great way to spend the day and see the beauty of the East Coast of PR. Make sure you allow plenty of time to find the Marina if you're driving yourself (rather than doing hotel pick-up) as the directions are a bit challenging to follow.

Doing what: San Juan Snorkel and Picnic Cruise

SaraG
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely a MUST DO in PR! Impossible to capture the beauty of this experience on camera, you must do it yourself.
Yes, it's dark on the way back, but absolutely worth the trip.

Doing what: Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan

SaraG
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Delicious food and incredibly knowledgeable guide (thank you Luli!). Take advantage of this tour at the beginning of your visit so you know just what to eat the rest of the time :)

Doing what: Old San Juan Food Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

The Rum distillery part of the trip was fine. We signed up for this tour so we could experience both the distillery and Old San Juan. After the driver walked us to the fort we were told to walk around the fort and around Old San Juan he would meet us in 1 1/2 hours for the ride back to the pickup point. There was NO tour of the Old town, VERY disappointing.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message