San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortaleza (Palacio de Santa Catalina)

The Wedgwood blue and white Santa Catalina Palace was built in 1533 and makes an impressive sight as you approach through a narrow Old San Juan street. While the building exudes an air of calm authority, it occupies a site that was long one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edward O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I both enjoyed the tour. It was very interesting and our guide, Robert, did a wonderful job of bringing some of the historical events to life.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very educational, learned a lot.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Gregory S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Guide Xavier well informed and educated on San Juan. Greg and Florence Silver

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Betsy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

For the cost - I would say just barely worth doing. Javier, the tour guide, was great and knowledgeable but we spent the first hour picking everyone up from their hotels. Then, we were so rushed throughout first stop - El Museo - I barely had time to visit all the galleries and have time to shop and get something to eat before we had to leave. We went to San Cristobal Fort which had great picture taking opportunities. We also visited a beautiful cemetery near El Morro, although it was closed and we could only see from the gates and quickly went to a nearby beach in 'La Perla' for more picture taking opportunities. We had 1/2 hour to shop at the end of the tour which also felt rushed as most stores were closed or were closing by 6:30 or 7pm.

As far as exploring Old San Juan - we were in the van as we passed by the Capitol Building, Casa de Espana and the City Wall - you do not get out of the van. So a quick glimpse is all you get. Ambling along cobblestone streets in Old San Juan, as the description of the tour says - is mostly done while in the van, I would have preferred to explore on my own.

Next time - I would most likely just get a cab into Old San Juan and check out these sites on my own. I was taken aback when I noticed admission to the museum and the fort was not that expensive and neither place was particularly crowded so I wasn't sure why our tour cost so much.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

mauricio g

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jorge H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice tour and quite pleasant trip with the tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Marline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative our guide Robert was very knowledgeable. I love it. It's worth the money

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Steve W B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour guide very informative.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Marilyn D K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was so informative and funny. He also gave very clear instructions about where and when to meet when he dropped us off.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Beverly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was just as described. The guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. When he saw me on a different tour the next day just passing by he remembered me and said, Hola! Now, that is friendly service!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Srinivasan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family had a wonderful time on the tour. Our tour guide robert was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Stephanie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining. We visited many great locations for a good overview of the history of San Juan!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Selby S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful and informative tour. Very friendly tour guide John knows his business and answered our many questions. El Morro and the Museum of the Americans were simply breath taking. We enjoyed our walk through Old San Juan and stops for shopping. Just enough time to see what we wanted.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Cathy M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was outstanding. He just needs to speak a little slower so English speaking only tourist can understand what he is saying.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

carlosfrancoz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A must-do attraction in Puerto Rico, the driver was an amazing and funny guy! Pls note that you won't visit El Morro Castle

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

carrie

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Not really worth the money.Tour guide/driver not very knowledgeable and he ranted about his dislikes. There are better tours available.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Marcey U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide and fantastic sights. Heartily recommend.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Evelyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver was very informative and funny. Had a great time.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. I got collected exactly at the time requested and we were all given a ton of information all day. Nothing was rushed or too much trouble and loads of great photo opportunities. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Carl N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Out tour guide Robert was unbelievably knowledgeable about everything pertaining to Old San Juan. We ate at an amazing restaurant afterwards the Café Puerto Rico and had traditional cuisine. We were traveling with our 18 and 20 year old sons who loved it.We would do this again!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Aselin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome!! Roberto is a wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide. He knew how to tell the history in a fun and entertaining way. Old San Juan is beautiful! If you really want to see everything in Old San Juan and learn something - go on this tour!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Philip J A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great guide. Very nice trip

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

BARRY W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing and interesting very informative, you will go away understanding the history of Old San Juan!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Judson K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour and the tour guide were great. We were picked up at our hotel and given a great introduction to the old San Juan city. The tour met my expectations and was very educational.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message