San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

La Fortaleza (Palacio de Santa Catalina)

The Wedgwood blue and white Santa Catalina Palace was built in 1533 and makes an impressive sight as you approach through a narrow Old San Juan street. While the building exudes an air of calm authority, it occupies a site that was long one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Trip to museum was interesting but museums guides English was not understandable. Neither was the tour guides English. Trip to fort was good, and got enough time to explore the fort.
Got time to spend in Old San Juan, which was beautiful, but didn't have enough time there.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was great, we learn a lot in just a few hrs. Tour guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was just what we wanted to see in Puerto Rico.We really enjoyed the tour of the fort.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The museum tour was a bit long for me and boring, however that is just my personal opinion - I would have loved to learn about what it is like living in Puerto Rico now rather than the history of all the Amazon tribes. The fort tour was amazing. Beautiful views of the entire island! The shopping stop was nice, we found a frozen yogurt shop just around the corner from where we were dropped off, enjoyed outside tables to eat and take in being in the heart of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice, relaxing tour. I thought the crew was very attentive and worked very hard to make sure that everyone was enjoying their trip. The beach we went to was just beautiful and the lunch we had on board consisted of sandwiches, tuna salad, chicken salad, and Caesar Salad. It was a fun trip

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a great tour to get you knowledgeable about the basics of the Puerto Rico and San Juan. This tour is also a great opportunity for taking pictures and seeing the culture of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This wasn't a tour it was little more than a taxi ride. The driver's accent was so heavy no one could understand what he said and the "tour" consisted of driving to a museum and dropping us for an hour, then driving to the fort and dropping us off for an hour, then driving around ending up two blocks from the fort and dropping us off again for an hour. No recommendations about what to see, good places to eat or much of anything else.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Roberto was an excellent guide. He not only knew a lot of info about the Spanish fort and the Museum of the Americas, but lots of interesting tidbits about the local communities through which we traveled. He went to great lengths to answer our questions, especially about the issue of Puerto Rican statehood and the way the government works in Puerto Rico. His knowledge of the history of the island was outstanding, and he was very personable and friendly as well. We loved this tour!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Our tour operator, Ricardo had a very thick Spanish accent, and consequently he was not easily understood during explanations. He was knowledgeable and helpful, but unclear.
As well, when visiting the museum, some displays were not written in English. These two issues did not enhance what should have been an excellent trip in Puerto Rico, and are very important to English speaking tourists. Additionally, the pick up was 20 minutes late, and consequently left us with a poor impression.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The drive around the city was fine. The museum was not really guided at all. Staff there not our tour guide opened doors and pointed at the rooms for half of the museum. Our guide was on the phone most of the time when we were not in the vehicle, except at the fort. He actually gave a good historical overview of the fort, that was the best part.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The tour operator was great. The tour was not as promised. Didn't go to the Bacardi Factory as mentioned in itinerary, and I was made to waste an hour shopping....

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Could be a little longer, wanted to see the El Morro fort but ran out of time.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Excellent itinerary and pace. Tour guide was knowledgeable and attentive but his Spanish accent was hard to understand for all four on the tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Extremely disappointed-others reviews listed this tour as awesome so not sure what happened to ours; called prior to check and was told pickup was noon; 12:15pm I called and was told pickup for our hotel was 1:30pm (she apologized); there were 7 in the van so squeezed into back seat; no air way back there until he started driving; truly disappointed that we could not hear any of Ricky Ricardo’s narration even after many comments from other passengers-he would speak louder for a while then back to "can't hear you"; traffic was always heavy but never felt unsafe; rum tour is exactly as described by others except we were behind a large group of deaf folks and were held up several times during the tour-guide kept apologizing (a 1-hour stop turned into 2); Castillo de San Cristobal-given 45 minute, steep hill to enter then many stairs; Old San Juan-given another 45 minutes to “shop”–it was dark by then so no chance to admire the architecture, only noticed heavy police presence and flashing blue lights all over the square; we can say we've been here but did not experience; delivered back to hotel; I hope you have a better experience.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour truly was amazing and our driver was fantastic. He made it fun and shared a lot of historical information about old San Juan. Only thing I will change was that it was hard to understand him at times.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Trip was excellent, Guide was knowledgeable and showed all as per trip. Bacardi Factory, Fort and Old SanJuan are greate to visit.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Ricardo was awesome!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The Old San Juan tour and the fort were good. The distillery tour was boring. The free rum drinks were the exception. Most of the day was spent at the distillery and in traffic. Slow.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour itself was fascinating. The only problem was the tour guide. His English language was hard to understand and he had a tour van that the back speakers were shot and you could not hear anything except for buzzing. The van also had the first step crooked so when you stood on it to get on or off, you would slip and fall.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

The Rum distillery part of the trip was fine. We signed up for this tour so we could experience both the distillery and Old San Juan. After the driver walked us to the fort we were told to walk around the fort and around Old San Juan he would meet us in 1 1/2 hours for the ride back to the pickup point. There was NO tour of the Old town, VERY disappointing.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message