Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour truly was amazing and our driver was fantastic. He made it fun and shared a lot of historical information about old San Juan. Only thing I will change was that it was hard to understand him at times.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The Old San Juan tour and the fort were good. The distillery tour was boring. The free rum drinks were the exception. Most of the day was spent at the distillery and in traffic. Slow.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

The Rum distillery part of the trip was fine. We signed up for this tour so we could experience both the distillery and Old San Juan. After the driver walked us to the fort we were told to walk around the fort and around Old San Juan he would meet us in 1 1/2 hours for the ride back to the pickup point. There was NO tour of the Old town, VERY disappointing.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. I got a little confused by the instructions of my guide and wandered off into Old San Juan. When I got back to the spot we were to depart he was not there and I thought I had been left. However, he showed up in about 10 minutes and we were able to pick up where we left off. The only problem was that I had a hard time understanding his English at times but he is a very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Both tours were good. Our guide was very informative. I did have a hard time understanding him at times but he definitely made the effort to show us a good time. When in Old San Juan I misunderstood his instructions and got turned around and missed the pick up time. I was just about to take a taxi when he showed back up! The only suggestion I would make is to give tourists the option of going into the fort or just wandering around the city. When you are in Old San Juan for a short time you want to make the most of your time.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

"Do this!"
We highly recommend Viator's Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour, which we did on our first full day in Old San Juan. Our driver was friendly, knowledgeable, and generous. At the distillery, we learned lots of very interesting information about how rum is made and the history of the Baccardi enterprise. There were generous samples of the product in question, and excellent prices in the "company store." We definitely got our money's worth out of this tour, and discovered a new favorite rum as well: Baccardi's Oakheart--which we were surprised and delighted to find in the local Safeway back home! Oh, yeah, the tour also gave us a great introduction to the rest of Old San Juan as well. :-)

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was wonderful. We got to see a lot of Old San Juan which is beautiful. The tour to the Run Distillery was great and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This tour was convenient, but honestly I'd pass on it if I were coming to San Juan. The guide didn't give a lot of information about the city, but rather drove us to the distillery, then drove us to the fort, then let us walk around for dinner. It would have been much cheaper to just get a taxi and a book like Fodor's or Lonely Planet and look around Old San Juan. The distillery tour wasn't bad, but it wasn't nearly as good as the bourbon distillery tours in Kentucky (like the ones on the Bourbon Trail). I'd recommend saving your money, unless you're terrified of walking around without a guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Someone warned me that this tour would be a bit boring, but I actually enjoyed it (the two free drinks probably helped with that). The rum distillery portion of the tour was quite interesting. If you're into history and learning about how things are made, then you might like it. The second half of the trip was great, too. We were able to explore the Castillo de San Cristóbal fort, and walk around Old San Juan for awhile. I wish more time could have been spent in Old San Juan, but overall, I enjoyed the tour as a whole.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very fun trip; we had drinks, toured the impressive distillery, and then visited Old San Juan. Loved it!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful day we had spending time on a sail boat and hearing the history about Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Our Captain was fun and very knowledgeable. Judith gave us a chance to see some beautiful sights. Yes, the sights were incredible! What a way to take in the sights and history...
D and J

Doing what: San Juan Small-Group Sailing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a lot of fun in a short amount of time. Absolutely loved our tour guide Ricky who was very informative and had a great sense of humor.. Wish we spent less time at the Bacardi factory and more time in Old San Juan. Overall, I would recommend this tour because of our amazing guide and how punctual everything was!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a lot of fun in a short amount of time. Absolutely loved our tour guide Ricky who was very informative and had a great sense of humor.. Wish we spent less time at the Bacardi factory and more time in Old San Juan. Barcardi factory was very mehh and a way too corporate or my taste. Overall, I would recommend this tour because of our amazing guide and how punctual everything was!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The Rum Tour to me was boring and not worth it...but the Old San Juan Tour was amazing taking us through the Fort of Old San Juan was amazing.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Ricardo, "Ricky" Ricardo, was an awesome tour guide! Very knowledgeable of Puerto Rico history and had great personality. The Rum Distillery portion was good but I wished we had more time there and possibly tour the actual distillery ant not just the museum. The distillery tour includes the two free drink coupons with gift and food shops. The number of staff at the cash bar and the gift shop was low. Waited in line longer than I expected to and felt rushed to get on the tram to the museum. The Old San Juan your was amazing, we had time at Fort Cristobal as well as downtown Old San Juan. I wished we had more time, maybe a full day tour but I enjoyed myself. Would recommended this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message