Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The museum tour was a bit long for me and boring, however that is just my personal opinion - I would have loved to learn about what it is like living in Puerto Rico now rather than the history of all the Amazon tribes. The fort tour was amazing. Beautiful views of the entire island! The shopping stop was nice, we found a frozen yogurt shop just around the corner from where we were dropped off, enjoyed outside tables to eat and take in being in the heart of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The museum tour was a bit long for me and boring, however that is just my personal opinion - I would have loved to learn about what it is like living in Puerto Rico now rather than the history of all the Amazon tribes. The fort tour was amazing. Beautiful views of the entire island! The shopping stop was nice, we found a frozen yogurt shop just around the corner from where we were dropped off, enjoyed outside tables to eat and take in being in the heart of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The museum tour was a bit long for me and boring, however that is just my personal opinion - I would have loved to learn about what it is like living in Puerto Rico now rather than the history of all the Amazon tribes. The fort tour was amazing. Beautiful views of the entire island! The shopping stop was nice, we found a frozen yogurt shop just around the corner from where we were dropped off, enjoyed outside tables to eat and take in being in the heart of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The museum tour was a bit long for me and boring, however that is just my personal opinion - I would have loved to learn about what it is like living in Puerto Rico now rather than the history of all the Amazon tribes. The fort tour was amazing. Beautiful views of the entire island! The shopping stop was nice, we found a frozen yogurt shop just around the corner from where we were dropped off, enjoyed outside tables to eat and take in being in the heart of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a great tour to get you knowledgeable about the basics of the Puerto Rico and San Juan. This tour is also a great opportunity for taking pictures and seeing the culture of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great short tour for our group of nine people. It occurred at a designated bar in Old San Juan and our host provided many laughs as we learned about the history of 4 top-shelf tasting rums and Puerto Rican culture. We did an early afternoon tour and it lasted for 1 hour. Fortunately for us, this tour occurred on the only day that it rained for a long period of time during our 4-night stay in San Juan. With being an indoor event, it provided us a welcomed break from the rain. When our tour ended, the sky had cleared up and we were able to enjoy walking around and shopping in Old San Juan. Be sure to book this tour 1-2 months ahead of time if you want to do the rum tasting tour at night. The early afternoon tour worked out for us, despite mother nature's weather plan for the day.

Doing what: San Juan Premium Rum Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

I loved the tour, it was such a relaxing and romantic feeling to sail in the sea away from the crowd. Our captain was very nice lady , she explained in such detail the history and even the present of Old San Juan. I know it sounds pricey but it was worth it.

Doing what: San Juan Small-Group Sailing Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Extremely disappointed-others reviews listed this tour as awesome so not sure what happened to ours; called prior to check and was told pickup was noon; 12:15pm I called and was told pickup for our hotel was 1:30pm (she apologized); there were 7 in the van so squeezed into back seat; no air way back there until he started driving; truly disappointed that we could not hear any of Ricky Ricardo’s narration even after many comments from other passengers-he would speak louder for a while then back to "can't hear you"; traffic was always heavy but never felt unsafe; rum tour is exactly as described by others except we were behind a large group of deaf folks and were held up several times during the tour-guide kept apologizing (a 1-hour stop turned into 2); Castillo de San Cristobal-given 45 minute, steep hill to enter then many stairs; Old San Juan-given another 45 minutes to “shop”–it was dark by then so no chance to admire the architecture, only noticed heavy police presence and flashing blue lights all over the square; we can say we've been here but did not experience; delivered back to hotel; I hope you have a better experience.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour truly was amazing and our driver was fantastic. He made it fun and shared a lot of historical information about old San Juan. Only thing I will change was that it was hard to understand him at times.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Not what I expected but was pleasantly surprised. We thought we were going to tour a rum distillery so disappointed as first but by the end of the "tour" we determined we actually had a better time than if we were walking through a rum factory. The location was awesome! The Mezzanine at St .Germain was very chic. We may not have made it to "Old San Juan" had it not been for this planned event, which would have been a shame.The tastings were excellent and the information provided by our guide was very informative. The tapas were delicious

Doing what: San Juan Premium Rum Tasting Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The Old San Juan tour and the fort were good. The distillery tour was boring. The free rum drinks were the exception. Most of the day was spent at the distillery and in traffic. Slow.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

The Rum distillery part of the trip was fine. We signed up for this tour so we could experience both the distillery and Old San Juan. After the driver walked us to the fort we were told to walk around the fort and around Old San Juan he would meet us in 1 1/2 hours for the ride back to the pickup point. There was NO tour of the Old town, VERY disappointing.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. I got a little confused by the instructions of my guide and wandered off into Old San Juan. When I got back to the spot we were to depart he was not there and I thought I had been left. However, he showed up in about 10 minutes and we were able to pick up where we left off. The only problem was that I had a hard time understanding his English at times but he is a very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

"Do this!"
We highly recommend Viator's Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour, which we did on our first full day in Old San Juan. Our driver was friendly, knowledgeable, and generous. At the distillery, we learned lots of very interesting information about how rum is made and the history of the Baccardi enterprise. There were generous samples of the product in question, and excellent prices in the "company store." We definitely got our money's worth out of this tour, and discovered a new favorite rum as well: Baccardi's Oakheart--which we were surprised and delighted to find in the local Safeway back home! Oh, yeah, the tour also gave us a great introduction to the rest of Old San Juan as well. :-)

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was wonderful. We got to see a lot of Old San Juan which is beautiful. The tour to the Run Distillery was great and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message