Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An excellent introduction to Old San Juan: We benefited by being the only two travelers on a morning tour. Our guide, David, was pleasant and knowledgeable. He texted preliminary information and meeting location. This made us feel comfortable before and during the tour. He had photographs and diagrams which helped in explaining the historic roots of the sites we visited. For first time visitors, this is a first tour must. We heard the historic/architectural tour is good, too. Take the walking tour in the morning unless you are totally accustomed to humidity and heat.

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Darryl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I have done a number of Segway tours, through Viator, over the last few years and we would rank this at the top of list (It was as good as Paris). Jorge was our guide and a fantastic job explaining the history of Old San Juan. The sites are also very nice. Well done !

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is the best way to tour Old San Juan. Our guide was great! I would recommend a Segway Tour to everyone wanting to see a lot in a short amount of time. After the tour, we went back to places we spotted during the tour.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Shelly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great time - only way to see old San Juan. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Andre K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

David was great! He is knowledgeable, enthusiastic, personable and the tour was a great way to get our feet wet in Old San Juan. I'm just sorry that we were a bit tired from traveling!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of the best tours we took as a family. We ranged in age from 11 to 62 with varying physical limitations. a great way to see San Juan and out Leader was very knowledgeable on the history of Old San Juan

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Amy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

David was a great tour guide! In 3 hours, we had a wonderful tour of Old San Juan. David loves his town, and shared so much history with us. Be prepared to walk a lot!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Kim L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The visit to Casa Bacardi was the highlight of the tour, definitely worth seeing.
I did enjoy visiting the old fort very much.
I would have preferred if this tour would have started in the morning and then finished in Old San Juan.
When we made it to Old San Juan, I thought we were going to have a tour, but all we had was about 45 minutes or so on our own. It was too dark to really appreciate things and we did not know where to go to see anything.
Thanks.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

DIANNE W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

David Rodriguez was an exceptional guide around Old San Juan. His knowledge made our day trip worthwhile. We had to stop without seeing his last two sights due to being worn out. At 67 years old, the three hours of walking worn us down. We would do it again because we know David had more to tell. Thanks for an excellent tour and tour guide

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was so much fun and very knowledgeable about Old San Juan. LOVED it!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

GROVER J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Segway tour of Old San Juan was fabulous! The tour guide was very patient as I learned to operate the Segway. The tour guide was VERY informative. We learned a LOT about Old San Juan. Sadly, less than a month after returning home my husband died suddenly of a brain aneurysm. I treasure the memories of that day together.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Betsy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

For the cost - I would say just barely worth doing. Javier, the tour guide, was great and knowledgeable but we spent the first hour picking everyone up from their hotels. Then, we were so rushed throughout first stop - El Museo - I barely had time to visit all the galleries and have time to shop and get something to eat before we had to leave. We went to San Cristobal Fort which had great picture taking opportunities. We also visited a beautiful cemetery near El Morro, although it was closed and we could only see from the gates and quickly went to a nearby beach in 'La Perla' for more picture taking opportunities. We had 1/2 hour to shop at the end of the tour which also felt rushed as most stores were closed or were closing by 6:30 or 7pm.

As far as exploring Old San Juan - we were in the van as we passed by the Capitol Building, Casa de Espana and the City Wall - you do not get out of the van. So a quick glimpse is all you get. Ambling along cobblestone streets in Old San Juan, as the description of the tour says - is mostly done while in the van, I would have preferred to explore on my own.

Next time - I would most likely just get a cab into Old San Juan and check out these sites on my own. I was taken aback when I noticed admission to the museum and the fort was not that expensive and neither place was particularly crowded so I wasn't sure why our tour cost so much.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Colette P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time with a fantastic guide. Much nicer way to get around old San Juan. We heard about the history and got to see its beauty up close. The segways were easy to use and I like that we had plenty of practice time before we even started the tour. They have you practice going around cones and going up and down a hill. By the time we left, you feel totally comfortable. It was fun driving the segways up the road and into El Morrow.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Henry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I would give this ten stars if I could! Terrific way to see Old San Juan. Our guide Jorge was the BEST! He patiently taught us how to use the Segway devices, gave us time to practice, and we were off on our Segway adventure. Jorge clearly is proud of the history of San Juan and he vividly described each site that we visited and shared his deep knowledge of Old San Juan with us. A great way to cover a lot of ground without tiring yourself out. In fact, we would have repeated the tour later in the week if it had not been completely booked. Not to be missed!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Terry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Horhay was really great, our tour of old San Juan was excellent and our guide was very informative. We will do this tour again.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Calvin E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The segway tour of Old San Juan topped our list of tours for the trip. Jorge, our guide, was both knowledgeable and personable. He was able to share not only some of the history but also the impact of that history on current events. A must see!!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Norman R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

An excellent tour! Tour van picked us up as scheduled at the Marriott Hotel and Casino in the Condado area only one block from our hotel. Three couples in a well air-conditioned van with plenty of window space to take photographs as the driver/tour guide drove us to our destinations. The Casa Bacardi is an excellent tour the history of Bacardi was interesting and the Bacardi folks we met throughout the tour of the plant were very knowledgeable. I think we spent too much time on the San Cristobal fortress, but that was because all three couples enjoyed the many vistas and history of the fort. Subsequently, we got to Old San Juan a bit late, so rather that 1.5 hours even that is not long enough we only had 45 minutes to enjoy the area--just enough time for the wife and I to enjoy some tapas and a cocktail each at small cafe around the corner from our pickup point. The charm of Old San Juan requires at least two days to absorb the atmosphere of this beautiful place.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Marian M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Not at all what I expected at the Bicardi, boring and uninteresting.
The Old San Juan Tour was a very interesting experience and the guide did a very good job of explaining everything, was very well informed, and very curteous.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Annemarie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

David did a terrific job! He amazed us with his knowledge of the history and the current happening of this beautiful town. Old San Juan is truly a special place and a spot we would highly recommend visiting. The people are friendly and inviting, the views spectacular, and the food was wonderful!

Ask for David and enjoy!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Robert, our guide, was amazing!! He was very personable, gave much history/insight, and guided us through every step of the tour. We only had an hour in Old San Juan, so we ate at a place based on Robert's recommendation (fabulous!). We're going back to Old San Juan because we weren't able to.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Jerilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time! I was grateful that you allowed me to go even though I had a previous leg injury and couldn't walk very far. I would have never been able to see Old San Juan if we hadn't taken the Segway tour! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to see a lot in a short amount of time!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Beth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

David made the tour very enjoyable - I felt like I got to see all that make Old San Juan beautiful. He was very informative but made it really fun. The recommendation for food in the area was great too!

Doing what: Old San Juan Walking Tour

ellingston United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Great way to see Old San Juan. Easy to learn to use a segway.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

Robert H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

After the Bacardi Tour which was done by another guide we were supposed to be taken to El Morro and the Old San Juan for that tour. The guide simply dropped is off and told us that he would meet back with us in a couple of hours ! If I had wanted to tour by myself I would never have paid the for this so called tour. Basically we paid almost 200 for a drink at Bacardi.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Jennifer D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Not good value for the money. Very professional, clean transportation. Tour guide was on time and well informed, but, the Bacardi tour was underwhelming really more of a tour of their museum and not the actual distillery/facilities which is what we thought it was going to be based on other tours we've done like this. Tour of Old San Juan was fine until the end. Fort tour was too long and then driver, basically drove us all around the streets at a slow speed and pointed things out through the window. We couldn't see much, were annoying traffic behind use all the honking created anxiety more than anything and we would much preferred to get out and walk around. The tour was 5 HOURS LONG!!!! We were starving, tired, cranky, and then only had 1 hour to shop/eat in old San Juan before we were to get back in the van. We ended up staying and taking a cab home on our own, so transportation was NOT included as the tour indicates only if you are staying at select hotels in San Juan by the airport- anywhere else, expect to fork over 70-80, each way, for a cab. Ended up costing us an additional 150 in cab cost on top of the tour cost. NOT WORTH IT. It ended up being a waste of an afternoon for us. You would be better taking a cab and doing a foot tour yourself, rather than pay for this and be trapped in a van for almost 5 hours.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message