Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a really laid back and enjoyable tour! It was great to take a break from all the outdoor adventures and learn more about Puerto Rico. The tour bus arrived promptly at our hotel and was incredibly comfortable and was well air conditioned. Our tour guide, Robert was very friendly and had lots of information. Our tour started at Casa Bacardi. We were given complimentary glasses and a ticket for a complimentary drink we had three options. There were more drink options that you could get at an additional cost. The drink had an ample amount of Bacardi and was very flavorful. The bar area was open and lots of seating. We also had a buzzer to tell us when we would get to go on the guided tour. The tour started with a super short 100 feet tram ride. The tram ride ended at the visitor's center, where we watched an 8 minute film including old Bacardi ads and a tidbit of Bacardi's history. This was followed by a short tour of a reproduction of the distillery and some historical artifacts. There were also small rooms where you could smell the different scents of all Bacardi flavors. Just like a theme park ride, it ended at the gift shop. The gift shop as a cool photo booth where you can take a photo to send to yourself. The Bacardi tour was overall underwhelming but still fun. We then went to Fort Castillo, where Robert gave us a tour. He was very informative and even entertaining! You can choose to forgo the tour of the fort and have more time in Old San Juan, but you won't regret going to the Fort. The Fort is massive and has beautiful views of the ocean and the city, which is great for photo ops! Following this, we went to Old San Juan where we were given an hour to wonder on our own. There's lots of restaurants and shops in the area. You can choose to spend more time there and forgo the tour bus ride back and instead take a cab back at an addition price of course.

Doing what: Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

BEST TOUR IN OLD SAN JUAN!!! WORTH EVERY DOLLAR!!!!

OUR GUIDE WAS THE BEST, HE WAS VERY PATIENT WITH US SINCE WE WERE A PARTY OF 6 HE TEACHED US HOW TO OPERATE THE SEGWAY AND IN ABOUT AN HOUR WE WERE CRUISING ALL OVER THE TOWN.

HE SHOWED US EVERY SINGLE HISTORICAL SPOT AND TOLD US THE WHOLE STORY ABOUT IT HE REALLY KNOWS BEST WHEN WE GOT TO EL MORRO HE GLADLY HELPED US WITH OUR GROUP PICTURES AND GAVE US TIME TO WALK IT AROUND.

AS WE CAME BACK WE HAD PLENTY OF TIME TO STOP BY AND HAVE A BEER OR A DRINK IN BETWEEN STOPS. HES ALWAYS IN THE BEST MOOD AND GAVE US SUGGESTIONS FOR AFTER THE TOUR.

WHEN WE FINISHED OUR TOUR WE HAD COLD BEERS NOT INCLUDED IN THE TOUR BUT THERES A LITTLE SHOP AT THE CORNER WHERE U CAN GET THEM,

IT WAS ACTUALLY THE BEST WELCOME TO PUERTO RICO WE COULD EVER HAVE!

THANKS A LOT, SUPER RECOMENDED!!!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful and informative tour. Very friendly tour guide John knows his business and answered our many questions. El Morro and the Museum of the Americans were simply breath taking. We enjoyed our walk through Old San Juan and stops for shopping. Just enough time to see what we wanted.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Segway Tour is the BEST way to see Old San Juan! Fun, requires no effort, very informative! Jorge was our guide and he was the best!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Out tour guide Robert was unbelievably knowledgeable about everything pertaining to Old San Juan. We ate at an amazing restaurant afterwards the Café Puerto Rico and had traditional cuisine. We were traveling with our 18 and 20 year old sons who loved it.We would do this again!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome!! Roberto is a wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide. He knew how to tell the history in a fun and entertaining way. Old San Juan is beautiful! If you really want to see everything in Old San Juan and learn something - go on this tour!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing and interesting very informative, you will go away understanding the history of Old San Juan!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour and the tour guide were great. We were picked up at our hotel and given a great introduction to the old San Juan city. The tour met my expectations and was very educational.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed my trip to old San Juan. Robert did a wonderful job in accommodating everyone and giving the history of OSJ. I learned a lot!!
Frances

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Our tour guide was great and seeing Old San Juan was really nice. However, the first half of the trip was spent riding in a van in which the air conditioning was barely working. Things happen, but that van shouldn't have gone out in the 1st place. They did replace the van, however.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best tour ever. Had a blast! Anyone considering it, you want be disappointed! Love love love! Saw so much of old San juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Last minute decision .... Could not have been more happy with tour. Jorge was our guide... Very knowledgable regarding the history of San Juan, friendly and fun. Great way to see Old San Juan and have fun!!

Doing what: Old San Juan Segway Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Trip to museum was interesting but museums guides English was not understandable. Neither was the tour guides English. Trip to fort was good, and got enough time to explore the fort.
Got time to spend in Old San Juan, which was beautiful, but didn't have enough time there.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The museum tour was a bit long for me and boring, however that is just my personal opinion - I would have loved to learn about what it is like living in Puerto Rico now rather than the history of all the Amazon tribes. The fort tour was amazing. Beautiful views of the entire island! The shopping stop was nice, we found a frozen yogurt shop just around the corner from where we were dropped off, enjoyed outside tables to eat and take in being in the heart of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a great tour to get you knowledgeable about the basics of the Puerto Rico and San Juan. This tour is also a great opportunity for taking pictures and seeing the culture of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great short tour for our group of nine people. It occurred at a designated bar in Old San Juan and our host provided many laughs as we learned about the history of 4 top-shelf tasting rums and Puerto Rican culture. We did an early afternoon tour and it lasted for 1 hour. Fortunately for us, this tour occurred on the only day that it rained for a long period of time during our 4-night stay in San Juan. With being an indoor event, it provided us a welcomed break from the rain. When our tour ended, the sky had cleared up and we were able to enjoy walking around and shopping in Old San Juan. Be sure to book this tour 1-2 months ahead of time if you want to do the rum tasting tour at night. The early afternoon tour worked out for us, despite mother nature's weather plan for the day.

Doing what: San Juan Premium Rum Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

I loved the tour, it was such a relaxing and romantic feeling to sail in the sea away from the crowd. Our captain was very nice lady , she explained in such detail the history and even the present of Old San Juan. I know it sounds pricey but it was worth it.

Doing what: San Juan Small-Group Sailing Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Extremely disappointed-others reviews listed this tour as awesome so not sure what happened to ours; called prior to check and was told pickup was noon; 12:15pm I called and was told pickup for our hotel was 1:30pm (she apologized); there were 7 in the van so squeezed into back seat; no air way back there until he started driving; truly disappointed that we could not hear any of Ricky Ricardo’s narration even after many comments from other passengers-he would speak louder for a while then back to "can't hear you"; traffic was always heavy but never felt unsafe; rum tour is exactly as described by others except we were behind a large group of deaf folks and were held up several times during the tour-guide kept apologizing (a 1-hour stop turned into 2); Castillo de San Cristobal-given 45 minute, steep hill to enter then many stairs; Old San Juan-given another 45 minutes to “shop”–it was dark by then so no chance to admire the architecture, only noticed heavy police presence and flashing blue lights all over the square; we can say we've been here but did not experience; delivered back to hotel; I hope you have a better experience.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour truly was amazing and our driver was fantastic. He made it fun and shared a lot of historical information about old San Juan. Only thing I will change was that it was hard to understand him at times.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Not what I expected but was pleasantly surprised. We thought we were going to tour a rum distillery so disappointed as first but by the end of the "tour" we determined we actually had a better time than if we were walking through a rum factory. The location was awesome! The Mezzanine at St .Germain was very chic. We may not have made it to "Old San Juan" had it not been for this planned event, which would have been a shame.The tastings were excellent and the information provided by our guide was very informative. The tapas were delicious

Doing what: San Juan Premium Rum Tasting Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The Old San Juan tour and the fort were good. The distillery tour was boring. The free rum drinks were the exception. Most of the day was spent at the distillery and in traffic. Slow.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

The Rum distillery part of the trip was fine. We signed up for this tour so we could experience both the distillery and Old San Juan. After the driver walked us to the fort we were told to walk around the fort and around Old San Juan he would meet us in 1 1/2 hours for the ride back to the pickup point. There was NO tour of the Old town, VERY disappointing.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. I got a little confused by the instructions of my guide and wandered off into Old San Juan. When I got back to the spot we were to depart he was not there and I thought I had been left. However, he showed up in about 10 minutes and we were able to pick up where we left off. The only problem was that I had a hard time understanding his English at times but he is a very nice tour guide.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

"Do this!"
We highly recommend Viator's Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour, which we did on our first full day in Old San Juan. Our driver was friendly, knowledgeable, and generous. At the distillery, we learned lots of very interesting information about how rum is made and the history of the Baccardi enterprise. There were generous samples of the product in question, and excellent prices in the "company store." We definitely got our money's worth out of this tour, and discovered a new favorite rum as well: Baccardi's Oakheart--which we were surprised and delighted to find in the local Safeway back home! Oh, yeah, the tour also gave us a great introduction to the rest of Old San Juan as well. :-)

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was wonderful. We got to see a lot of Old San Juan which is beautiful. The tour to the Run Distillery was great and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message