• USD ($)
  • English
Old San Juan sits on a small island guarding the entrance to the Bahía de San Juan, the “rich port” which gave Puerto Rico its name. Its strategic position was backed up by fortifications include the forbidding San Felipe del Morro fort at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We just loved Robert, our tour guide. He is very knowledgable, funny, polite and a joy to be with. Our tour of the Rum Distillery was great. Then we headed to Castillos San Cristobal. So much to see and so little time. From there Robert took us to Old San Juan for about an hour of free time to wonder and shop. Or eat frozen yogurt ice cream as we did. A must see tour..and hopefully your driver/guide and new friend will be Robert.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The best part of the Barcardi Rum Factory tour was the drinks. You don't really see much of the whole process, but there is some interesting information they explain in the video and in the demonstration of making the drinks. Robert was a very knowledgeable guide when we got to the fort in Old San Juan.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour!! Picked up right in front of our hotel, taken to the Rum Distillery, and then Old San Juan Tour!! Our Tour guide was great Ricardo!! He was very informative and gave us great laughs and information! Must do when visiting San Juan!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Even though it's free to tour the distillery and I could have walked into Old San Juan from my hotel, I enjoyed this tour. It prevented me from having to figure out how to go about making it happen on my own. My tour guide, Ricardo, was great. As I wanted more time in Old San Juan, he even told me how to get back to my hotel if I decided I didn't want to jump back on the van for a return ride home. I ended up spending more time there and took the bus (for only $0.75 straight back to my hotel later that night).

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our trip to San Juan! The tour was interesting and a lot of fun. We would have like to spend more time in Old San Juan seeing the sites in Old San Juan. However, Fort Castillo San Cristobal is definitely worth seeing it may have been better as a separate tour. I would also like to add that our tour guide was very knowledgeable and quite entertaining. I would recommend doing the same tour in a full day instead of half a day.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Bacardi was interesting, but wish we had spent a little less time there and more time at Old San Juan. I wish our tour guide had given us better information on times and places to meet him back to leave. The van we were on was small and we had to sit in the back which was difficult to get into. The good part was we didn’t spend a lot of time riding in the van.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

A complete rip-off. The tour provides nothing much more than mere transportation. The tour guide drove you to the Rum Distillery (which has its own free tour), then brought you to the old San Juan to visit the fort museum (entrance fee $3; the tour guide's guidance didn't add much value), then dropped you off at old san juan and asked you to take a break on your own for an hour. Unless you're traveling by yourself and you don't know how to drive, otherwise you can just do your own tour.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

For us, the tour was just the right length. The tour guide was well informed but at times both my wife and I had trouble understanding him. The rum tour was a little weak compared to other distillery tours we have been on. I guess they are protecting their "trade secrets". The old San Juan part was good and the right length. Overall, worth the money.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Our tour guide was a joke, from start to finish! We were the last ones to be picked up, 20mins late. I gave him our confirmation print out and got on the bus. As were sitting on the bus my phone goes off asking where I'm at. I respond on your bus, mind you this was after waiting for another 15mins on the bus for the "other couple" he was picking up. So we head to the Bacardi Distillery and when we get there he shoves tickets in our hands and tells us to run for the bus. One of the women on the tour was 84 and another was 7 months pregnant. When we were done with the distillery tour we were rushed threw our complimentary cocktails. We less then 45-a hour for old San Juan. We get rushed back to the bus and the tour guide had the audacity to stand with a hand out while we were getting off the bus.The tour guide was horrible! This has the potential to be a wonderful tour with the right guide!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was AMAZING!! My sister and I were visiting for a quick weekend getaway and we wanted to see PR and relax. When we booked this tour we thought we would only be driven to the rum distillery but we got a tour of the city and historic monuments, shop in old San Juan... It was a great suprise

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The trip was good. The Bacardi tour was interesting, but you are not able to tour the actual facility. The tour is restricted to the visitor center, which is set up for a walking tour. It shows a history of Bacardi film, which is very good. Then a room with a minimized version of the distillery process, which allows you to smell the different rums and then gives a brief how to mix Bacardi Rum drinks presentation (the bartender presentation was the best for me, he was really good).

However, the van used for the Old San Juan tour was hot and stuffy. The air conditioner vents were missing for the back seat passengers, but the air was blasting in the front seats, so much so, that the passengers closed the vents near their seats making it even hotter for us in the back. It was very difficult to hear what the tour guide was saying because of the muffled speaker sound. I would have liked more touring and less shopping (maybe stop at more sights and get more of a detailed history as we walk the area). We shopped at the Bacardi Distillery, then we shopped in San Juan, but merely drove by the sights.

We did stop at the fort and were able to independently tour the facility, which was good and quite interesting (only because my husband is a history buff and was able to be a personal tour guide for me).

The tour guide was very nice, funny, and accommodating. Overall, the tour is worth taking. The absolute best part of it all, we were able to buy Bacardi from the plant for a very, very cheap price!!!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

I was not impressed by the tour provider/tour guide. It almost seemed as though the "tour" only provided transportation to Bacardi, the old fort, and dropped us in Old San Juan. Other than during the drive, the guide provided little "guiding". At Bacardi, the Bacardi staff did the tour. At the fort, he dropped us off and let us explore on our own. Unfortunately, the other members of the tour group didn't seem like a very considerate group and basically had us wait on them for over 30 minutes at the fort. Don't known if it was planned or whether it was late, but the tour didn't cover 90% of the sights in Old San Juan. There was no explanation of the history of the area. I don't know if it was the style of the tour, the tour guide, or the other members of our group, but this really doesn't qualify as a "guided tour". We could have gotten much of the same level of service from a taxi. We also went on the El Yunque Rainforest Tour with the same tour provider. Our experience was similar there. The tour guide didn't seem that engaging. I almost got the impression from both tour guides that they couldn't wait to get off duty. Of all the "tours" around the world that I've been on, I would have the rate these two experiences as being in the lower 25% percentile. I most likely would not book with this tour operator again.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Do not take this tour. It is a waste of time and money. They picked our party of 8 from ritz Carlton from there we drove to Rum distellery. From the Rum Distellery they drove us to the fort where we were left on our own. From there the driver dropped us off in old San Juan which was 2 mins away.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Ricardo made this tour fun and interesting! The Bacardi tour was very interesting and well done, plus free drinks! Touring Old San Juan and walking the 500 year old cobble stone streets and the old fort was more than worth the trip to beautiful Purto Rico itself!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

The tour is definitely not worth the amount being paid. First it took us to the Rum Distillery where the Bacardi Corporation have their own tours for people visiting so all the tour guide had to do was to take your there. Second, the tour guide skipped the all important El Morro Fort and instead took us to the other fort San Cristobal. Third, the tour guide gave us 30 minutes to walk around few blocks in old San Juan. The real happening place in San Juan was somewhere else and there are many more interesting things in Old San Juan which were skipped (I realized this when after being disappointed with the tour, I drove on my own the next day and covered rest of the places including El Morro). If you have a car and possess reasonable intelligence with driving directions, I would strongly recommend to make it on your own. When you go along on route 1 all the way to the end (nearby where the cruises are parked), you will find public parking which costed me around $3 for 5 hours. So there is no need to dread about parking as well. You can take all your time to completed you shopping, visiting restaurants and all the historic sites. Note: if you park where I suggested above, you walk along the city walls to EL Morro Fort and trust me you will enjoy the walk. The walk takes around 10 minutes.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message