San Juan ATTRACTIONS See all

Rio Camuy Cave Park

You don’t have to be a seasoned spelunker to enjoy Río Camuy Cave Park, one of the largest such sites in the world. The caves, sculpted by the underground river from which it derives its name, were only discovered in 1958 and haven’t yet ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was well worth the money spent for our family of three. We were picked up at the hotel on time though it would be nice if the vans/busses themselves also has the company logo... even if a magnet... on the outside because the number of tour busses that passed through our hotel made it difficult to tell which bus was what and we had to rely on the guide's shirt logo. As we drove to the cave, Ricky our tour guide provided us with a running commentary about San Juan and the different areas of Puerto Rico we were passing through.

At the caves, park officials take over. You're given a number for the tram and told where to purchase your admission ticket. You will likely have to wait 20-60 minutes for the tram down to the caves. It's OK because there are some vendors in the waiting area and you can get food and drink while looking at small souvenirs. However, be ready to go when they call you. The caves are very open, so claustrophobia isn't an issue. Once we were done with our tour, we were given the chance to use the restroom again before boarding our bus.

Our bus driver took us to a nearby restaurant where we were able to dine cafeteria-style cost is 8 for a main dish, two sides and a soda... not included in your ticket price. Though the food was decent, it wasn't great. Still, it was a quick stop and we were on our way.

Arecibo Observatory is located in the mountains and you have to pass through some pretty narrow and twisty roads to get there. For this reason alone, we were glad we booked a tour versus renting a car and navigating there ourselves. Once at Arecibo, the bus parks and you have to walk 5-10 minutes up a hill to get to the observatory. You will pay for admission at the top of the hill. There's a small museum with lots of activities suited for elementary aged kids, but the unquestionable highlight is the radiotelescope. Take time to listen to the movie and then enjoy the views. Don't miss Taylor's Nobel Prize which is on display on the second floor of the museum.

Once you are done, you will board the bus and be returned to your pick-up point.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great places to see outside San Juan. It was my first time to go in a cave . It was scary at first but I enjoyed it anyway. The Observatory is one of a kind and a must see since it's one of its kind in the world. Our driver/ guide was amazing!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was great he answered every question and was very enthusiastic about his job and culure. He directed us to some amazing shops and restaurants in old San Juan.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Joshua, the tour guide, was knowledgable, engaging, and resourceful. I highly recommend the tour as an overview of Old San Juan.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful time! Your driver was very friendly and informative, even finding a wonderful "local" place for lunch.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

the tour was great, and the guides were very informitive

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

had great time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide/driver (Ricky) is very good, fun and friendly. He introduced us (all the tourists in his vehicle) to a word "¡Ay, caramba!" and we still think of him. And his partner (who is an employee, but taking the tour along with us) is also very helpful explaining things, guiding and friendly. We would love to go with these two gentlemen again when we revisit.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good organization, great driver and good timing. Caves were awesome! So was the observatory.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Caves were awesome! Tour guide for the caves was not awesome. Observatory in my opinion was boring but if you like that stuff u will love it. Best part about our viator tours was our tour guide Robert! He was the best!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide, Robert, was the BEST, and he was friendly, personable and professional. He told us stories about growing up in Puerto Rico, as well as informing us of interesting sights along the way to the Caverns and the Arecibo Observatory. I highly recommend this tour! We hope to come back to Puerto Rico again!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The cavern experience was amazing. Mother Earth offers us some amazing wonders.
Arecibo is incredible, I had no idea we were still waiting to hear from ET again. A must see.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Amazing cavern and surrounding area. We stopped for lunch between attractions and were able to sample some of the local cuisine - delicious! The telescope and museum was really interesting to see in person.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a wonderful chance to see more of the island and the caverns and observatory were great. We were both really glad we had chosen this tour.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The caves were aweson! I highly recommend going to the caves. The observatory was ok

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful Experience with and Excellent Guide who was very knowledgeable and helpful. Took his time to answer questions and did not provide a Hurried Environment". Rain Forest is a must.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Tony Caliz was an excellent guide. He knew a lot of Puerto RIcan history. After the Cave tour, we didn't want to eat in the Rio Camuy cafeteria, so he took us to a local eatery to get some authentic Puerto Rican food which was delicious. Both the caves and the observatory were fascinating. Two of our party couldn't walk up the hill to the observatory, so Tony got a park ranger to drive them up the hill. It's a steep climb!

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our guide Robert from Castillo Tours was the best--knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We had Tony as our driver. He was very knowledgeable and gave us some great history and stories on Puerto Rico. The cave and Arecibo were both something to see. I would highly recommend you ask for Tony.

Doing what: Rio Camuy Cave Park and Arecibo Observatory from San Juan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message