Pop culture meets tradition in this uniquely diverse city where funky restaurants and glamorous casinos nestle comfortably next to 15th-century Spanish forts and people mingle freely at all hours of night or day. Whether you’re enjoy hiking or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

"Do this!"
We highly recommend Viator's Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour, which we did on our first full day in Old San Juan. Our driver was friendly, knowledgeable, and generous. At the distillery, we learned lots of very interesting information about how rum is made and the history of the Baccardi enterprise. There were generous samples of the product in question, and excellent prices in the "company store." We definitely got our money's worth out of this tour, and discovered a new favorite rum as well: Baccardi's Oakheart--which we were surprised and delighted to find in the local Safeway back home! Oh, yeah, the tour also gave us a great introduction to the rest of Old San Juan as well. :-)

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This tour was convenient, but honestly I'd pass on it if I were coming to San Juan. The guide didn't give a lot of information about the city, but rather drove us to the distillery, then drove us to the fort, then let us walk around for dinner. It would have been much cheaper to just get a taxi and a book like Fodor's or Lonely Planet and look around Old San Juan. The distillery tour wasn't bad, but it wasn't nearly as good as the bourbon distillery tours in Kentucky (like the ones on the Bourbon Trail). I'd recommend saving your money, unless you're terrified of walking around without a guide.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Someone warned me that this tour would be a bit boring, but I actually enjoyed it (the two free drinks probably helped with that). The rum distillery portion of the tour was quite interesting. If you're into history and learning about how things are made, then you might like it. The second half of the trip was great, too. We were able to explore the Castillo de San Cristóbal fort, and walk around Old San Juan for awhile. I wish more time could have been spent in Old San Juan, but overall, I enjoyed the tour as a whole.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very fun trip; we had drinks, toured the impressive distillery, and then visited Old San Juan. Loved it!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing! Very nice tour guides and lots of beautiful sights. Cannot wait to go back and do this again!

Doing what: Culebra Day Trip by Catamaran from Fajardo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was amazing! The tour at the Bacardi distillery was informative and fun.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved the Bacardi Rum Tour, the other part was great but too short of a time to really enjoy.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

While this was a great experience, I wish I would have really understood the concept of swimming to shore in order to get to the beach. I am a novice swimmer, so the floaty was helpful, but it took me sometime to convince myself that I would not drown out there. It would have been great to have an experienced member from the crew out in the water with us, assuring our safety.

Doing what: Culebra Day Trip by Catamaran from Fajardo

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was a rip off! The tour guide was nice, but not very entertaining. All of the destinations are free to the public, so the fee is for the ride.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! Our tour driver was great and was very informative. He loves his country and his Job. Thanks Ricardo! Anyone visiting San Juan, PR should definitely include this half day tour into their vacation plan!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My best friend and I had many highlights on our trip to Puerto Rico, but this excursion set the tone! It was an incredible experience and I felt like it was worth every penny. The driver that came to pick us up in Fajardo, Jose, was friendly and knowledgeable. The beginning of the trip was a bit rocky for me, literally. We were pushing against the current and it felt very much like a 40 min. roller coaster ride and I hate roller coasters. I've been on many boats before, but never a smaller, fast craft and I felt quite greenish. Fortunately, Dramamine saved the day and one of the crew members, Levi checked in on me to make sure that I was ok, which I highly appreciated. Once we arrived, I realized it was all worth it. The view and the water were spectacular! My friend went snorkeling and I took photos from the boat. From the snorkel spot, we went on to Flamenco Beach. Due to new restrictions implemented this year (probably becaue it was rated the 2nd most beautiful beach in the world), only the state-run ferries can dock on Culebra, so the boat docked a few yards away, and we swam safely with our swim belts and fins to shore though it was shallow and the waves were gentle. We had food throughout the trip from breakfast pastries to a lunch spread and a fruit-filled afternoon snack prepared by Sorren. It was all delicious and I am a picky eater. The trip back was smooth sailing, which was great because we were all full and fatigued, but in the best of ways. I would suggest booking this trip to anyone planning to travel to Puerto Rico and I would gladly take it again!

Doing what: Culebra Day Trip by Catamaran from Fajardo

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a lot of fun in a short amount of time. Absolutely loved our tour guide Ricky who was very informative and had a great sense of humor.. Wish we spent less time at the Bacardi factory and more time in Old San Juan. Overall, I would recommend this tour because of our amazing guide and how punctual everything was!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was a lot of fun in a short amount of time. Absolutely loved our tour guide Ricky who was very informative and had a great sense of humor.. Wish we spent less time at the Bacardi factory and more time in Old San Juan. Barcardi factory was very mehh and a way too corporate or my taste. Overall, I would recommend this tour because of our amazing guide and how punctual everything was!

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Guide was great but parking gate was closed at fort. We felt that we could have gone inside the fort. We were little disappointed. Bacardi tour was great.

Doing what: Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message