Not a single drop of water has fallen onto the Moon Valley in hundreds of years, thus the wind-sculpted salt statues inhabiting its eerie bowl have continued their slow, centuries-old dance uninterrupted. Come moonrise, when valley's light dusting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic, very satisfied and highly recommend to travel with Viator to Atacama desert. We felt very well taken-cared of during the whole trip. First of all, Ivan the coordinator and chauffeur, went out of his way to accommodate our schedule to change the program of the tour!! Thank you, Ivan! Our guide Leo is amazing, speaks fluent English and knows everything and explains it well he even had books to show us the different types of wildlife. The details that he knows is impressive! It is such a delight to be guided by a professional who loves his job! Thank you Leo! Our other chauffeur José is fantastic as well! We would like to thank Viator for the attention in detail in organizing this tour and making our stay in the hotel very comfortable. We are currently searching a tour to Machu Pichu with Viator.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience, it felt like a private tour, we had the guide and a driver to ourselves. They were very professional and well organised. We were picked up always on time, the driver was very helpful, he also had great knowledge of the local history and geography and knew where to stop to show us some interesting points. We were provided all the required information on arrival and everything was organised for us. I'd fully recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

A 2 star rating for the spectaculat scenery, but zero for the guide.
He had to be reminded to explain ings in English as well as Spanish, and delayed our viewing of Death Valley with a long drawn out story concerning his grandfather, while the othe spanish speaking visitos were able to look around. We then had 5 minutes to see features of the valley before getting back on the bus.On arrival in Moon Valley carpark, we were route marched to the top of the ridge, with no explaination of the geology along the way. He appeared disintersted, and mentioned he had been guiding for 10 years - perhaps it is time for new career.

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

fantastic and more. very good :

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our airplane delayed one day due the mechanical problem. The travel agency helped us postponed one day at no charge . The guide and driver were very nice and we had an amazing tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Yimin C
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We arrived one day later than the starting date due to LAN fight problem but the program run as normal without cutting any activities. Both driver and tour guider are very professional.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good and the guides were also very good. The hotel was rather basic, and the staff of the hotel was not very helpful.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Atacama is magical. We have traveled to many places but the combination of natural wonders there is unique. The hotel was lovely and fit right in to the surroundings. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful especially when it came to my mother and her friend who are elderly and needed some extra assistance.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Moon Valley was great, Geysers are not worth the effort.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Wesley S
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Having been on over a dozen tours across South America, I had found this Moon Valley Tour run by Turistour to be unsatisfactory. To begin with, I had not expected such a large group (of 16+) and such little intimacy. It didn't help that our guide, Leonardo, turned out not to be much of a guide. He lagged behind much of the way and failed to direct the majority of the group. With the itinerary I had expected drop-dropping landscapes, and the experience had fallen much short of what i had imagined. Luckily the sunset finale at Moon Valley had saved me from ripping my hairs out. The exotic crevasses in the valley gradually mutated in iridescent shades into darkness as the sun descended on to the horizon. Was it worth the USD$30 i had splashed out? Definitely not.

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour and the guides are very helpful and informative. The pickups are prompt and the tour is designed to keep you away from the crowds. Day 1 there were 6 people on the tour, day 2 we have 4 people, and on day 3 it was just the 2 of us. The tour guides go above the norm, and the food and drinks at the sites and lunch stop offs is a nice touch.

Only down side was the hotel. We decided on the 3 star hotel. The hotel was clean and tidy, but it was very cold at night, a bit noisy, and the hotel food was really bad. The hotel has hot water and was a good location, for the price its worth a stay, but eat out in the many local restaurants. Adobe was one that we enjoyed with friendly service.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed everything about this trip. The hotel, our guide (Pamela) and the places we visited. We just wished someone would have told us to bring sub zero clothing. The geysers are at 4300m and we arrived before dawn, temperature was -9oC. Very cold, but well worth having breakfast up there. Wine and cheese watching the sunset over moon valley was another highlight. Atacama Desert was better than Easter Island and should not be missed.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If I could give six stars for this tour I would. The local operatives took us from geysers to salt lakes, sampling lunch at a very local village in the Andes and drinking Chilean wine and eating cheese and local delicacies while watching the sun set over the Valley of Mars. I could write an essay but I just want to say that anyone choosing this tour will have a trip of a lifetime. We had the undivided attention of a very knowledgeable guide who was passionate about the region. The group was nice and small so we could ask a lot of questions, we were not rushed and we were shown things we could tell the bigger bus loads of tourists were not shown. We really felt like we got a local's view. They are taking very good care of the fragile desert landscape and our tour guide encouraged responsible tourism, not picking plants or veering away from paths etc. The drivers were superb on what is difficult terrain. I cannot praise our experience enough. Viva Atacama! And a very special thank you to our tour guide Leo who gave us such a memorable time. Viator - if the quality of the tours you choose are even half as good we'll be back!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Breath taking, out of this world landscapes. Well organised and hitel staff were amazing!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a great trip, to say it's a beautiful place is an understatement. The guides are really friendly and helpful always giving recommendations and explanations about the area, the hotel was a dream too with it's own pool, great breakfast included. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message