Not a single drop of water has fallen onto the Moon Valley in hundreds of years, thus the wind-sculpted salt statues inhabiting its eerie bowl have continued their slow, centuries-old dance uninterrupted. Come moonrise, when valley's light dusting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good and the guides were also very good. The hotel was rather basic, and the staff of the hotel was not very helpful.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Atacama is magical. We have traveled to many places but the combination of natural wonders there is unique. The hotel was lovely and fit right in to the surroundings. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful especially when it came to my mother and her friend who are elderly and needed some extra assistance.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Moon Valley was great, Geysers are not worth the effort.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Wesley S
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Having been on over a dozen tours across South America, I had found this Moon Valley Tour run by Turistour to be unsatisfactory. To begin with, I had not expected such a large group (of 16+) and such little intimacy. It didn't help that our guide, Leonardo, turned out not to be much of a guide. He lagged behind much of the way and failed to direct the majority of the group. With the itinerary I had expected drop-dropping landscapes, and the experience had fallen much short of what i had imagined. Luckily the sunset finale at Moon Valley had saved me from ripping my hairs out. The exotic crevasses in the valley gradually mutated in iridescent shades into darkness as the sun descended on to the horizon. Was it worth the USD$30 i had splashed out? Definitely not.

Doing what: Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour and the guides are very helpful and informative. The pickups are prompt and the tour is designed to keep you away from the crowds. Day 1 there were 6 people on the tour, day 2 we have 4 people, and on day 3 it was just the 2 of us. The tour guides go above the norm, and the food and drinks at the sites and lunch stop offs is a nice touch.

Only down side was the hotel. We decided on the 3 star hotel. The hotel was clean and tidy, but it was very cold at night, a bit noisy, and the hotel food was really bad. The hotel has hot water and was a good location, for the price its worth a stay, but eat out in the many local restaurants. Adobe was one that we enjoyed with friendly service.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed everything about this trip. The hotel, our guide (Pamela) and the places we visited. We just wished someone would have told us to bring sub zero clothing. The geysers are at 4300m and we arrived before dawn, temperature was -9oC. Very cold, but well worth having breakfast up there. Wine and cheese watching the sunset over moon valley was another highlight. Atacama Desert was better than Easter Island and should not be missed.

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If I could give six stars for this tour I would. The local operatives took us from geysers to salt lakes, sampling lunch at a very local village in the Andes and drinking Chilean wine and eating cheese and local delicacies while watching the sun set over the Valley of Mars. I could write an essay but I just want to say that anyone choosing this tour will have a trip of a lifetime. We had the undivided attention of a very knowledgeable guide who was passionate about the region. The group was nice and small so we could ask a lot of questions, we were not rushed and we were shown things we could tell the bigger bus loads of tourists were not shown. We really felt like we got a local's view. They are taking very good care of the fragile desert landscape and our tour guide encouraged responsible tourism, not picking plants or veering away from paths etc. The drivers were superb on what is difficult terrain. I cannot praise our experience enough. Viva Atacama! And a very special thank you to our tour guide Leo who gave us such a memorable time. Viator - if the quality of the tours you choose are even half as good we'll be back!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Breath taking, out of this world landscapes. Well organised and hitel staff were amazing!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a great trip, to say it's a beautiful place is an understatement. The guides are really friendly and helpful always giving recommendations and explanations about the area, the hotel was a dream too with it's own pool, great breakfast included. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: 4-Day Atacama Desert Tour: Moon Valley, Geysers del Tatio and the Chilean Salt Flats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message